Disc Golf Store
Sidney, NE
Deer Run Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Whisker Biscuit Hole #1 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 312ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nicely Kept City Park

1    8/9/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nicely kept. The grass was green and watered, excercise equipment, nice path, bathrooms, etc.
-Decent length. No gimme 2s here, some holes are kind of easy but not too easy.
-Young trees for challenge, will get better with time.
-Nice baskets and tee boxes. Signage was adequate enough and the flow was pretty easy to follow for a first timer.
-You probably won't lose a disc here unless you don't watch where your disc goes into a pine or something.
-They throw OB into most holes to make it a little more challenging.
-Good for a quick round or for teaching a new player.
-It has some open holes to practice pure distance drives.
Cons: -Pretty open, could be windy.
-The overall design is lacking. The first 3 holes were somewhat challenging but not really in a fun way and they were all similar. Throw down a row of pines then cut in towards the basket. It is an awkward line if you plan on reaching in one.
-Other park activities could come into play with a very errant throw.
-The course is kind of in the backyard of some nice homes and some of the holes play pretty close to them. It just has an awkward and almost creepy feel about it.
-Very flat and no water.
Other Thoughts: This course is for beginners to intermediate players. It has some unique challenges that can be amplified by the wind. The designers did what they could with this W Nebraskan land. They put some money and work into it and I respect that. Like I said before, the course will continue to get better and harder as the trees get bigger. I would recommend a stop here if you are on I-80 simply because you don't have many options.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Give her some love

5+    6/6/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: jongolf07
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this course several times. I have shot -7 to +15 on 9 holes depending on the wind.
The trees are slowing growing and becoming more of an issue. (good as trees don't grow well in this area of the U.S.) It's in a park with sprinklers so the trees have a good chance.

Park: City park so it's always maintained and grass is cut and trimmed around signs and baskets.

Tees: Nice concrete tees.

Baskets: ChainStars seem to hold faster shots. Good choice given the wind here.

The course feels like you are on a stick golf course with all the nice large houses backing the course. I even had a couple of guys barbecuing on their back deck and betting on me to make or miss my putt.

Hole 9 is one of the toughest holes as the trees are getting larger and coming into play.

OB: Even though the course is pretty wide open your errant shots can still find the OB. All holes have a walking path that is out of bounds. Doesn't really come into play unless you have a gorilla arm or fight the wind.

Speed of Play: The course flows well and can be played in 45 minutes. Not a lot of traffic on this course either.

Signage: Nice signage as the holes are clearly marked and easy to follow. Nice park sign with a course map as you come in to the park.

Cons: Wind! I played a turnover shot on hole 5 and ended further away than when I started.
It can be easy on a calm day.
Other Thoughts: Nice use of a park with a walking path in the middle of it. This is a good layout given the area and lack of trees. Trees were planted in 05 and more have been planted since. Given some time this course should be a challenge. I've heard rumors they might be expanding the course to 18 when the walking path gets extended.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: Oklahoma Outlaw
Played: 95  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 34.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage is great. Easy to follow. Tee pads and baskets are in great shape. Park is very well kept. Hole 9 is a great finishing hole and probably the most difficult. Lots of OB.
Cons: No real thought required to play, just step up and throw. An easy hyser tee shot works on every hole, except No. 4.
Other Thoughts: The designer used the land available, there were not many options. Not much possibility of alternate hole locations, but there is a lot of room for additional tee locations for almost every hole that could make this course a much better play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wind Tunnel

1    5/14/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 75  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close attention is given to this course. The grass was freshly moved and there was no litter to be found. Tee pads are medium sized. The course signs are accurate and helpful as well as easy to spot.
Cons: Houses line two sides of this park. Any arrant disc may collide with several of the very nice houses in Sidney. The course has no hills, which is indicative of the area, but it creates a sameness for all the holes. A couple holes have great tree obstacles, and the rest try to incorporate the trees. The worst part about this course is what you expect from courses in open plains, and that is wind. There were 40 mph gusts when I played, and it seems there is always wind in western NE. This is, by far, the worst part.
Other Thoughts: This course is good, but what holds it back are things that cannot be changed. First, the size of the trees can only be changed by time, because at the moment they cause no challenge, and secondly the wind, and well that will never change.
Since this is the only one of about 5 courses in the panhandle, it is a good stop if you need a break, but I would not recommend going out of your way for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 new car smell

4/8/2008   4/8/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right now there is nine holes lined with baby trees and there isn't much scenery unless a good looking rollerblading chick makes her way down the bike path. I'm sure you will be shocked to learn that there is corn, and wind. As a Disc Golf tourist, I totally appreciated the fact that there is a course in Nebraska that has a corn field as part of its out of bounds. Corn is the type of local flavor I love on a frolf trip. The baskets and pads are in great shape, so new that it smells like new car.
Cons: The park is new, and the course is also new, therefore the trees are babies. There is really not much challenge unless the wind kicks up.
Other Thoughts: I played the course during its official grand opening and have not been back. I am very keen on discovering how things evolve in the future.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and soon to be sweet

1    4/7/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: Whisker Biscuit
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2010
Pros: Great for beginners, most shots are dead ahead, very few obstacles to avoid yet out-of-bounds on every hole.
Cons: No Elevation change with very few young trees. Often challenging with strong winds.
Other Thoughts: Course shares park with walking trail. More trees are being planted and in 5 years will be of sufficient size as to make this an excellent technical course.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.