Cheyenne, WY 
Romero Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 - Pin looking back at tee.



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Eh... Okay Course

5+    4/26/2014   5/3/2014
Review By: zmangin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Short 9-hole course that can be played in under an hour.
2. Not very busy like Dry Creek and Mylar.
3. Several holes are aceable.
4. Hole #5 is the best as you tee off from on top of a hill. I even aced this hole in mid-April 2014.
Cons: 1. Marshy, muddy most of the time.
2. Hard to find best path around water at times; need to build wooden bridge for easier crossing.
3. Hole #8 is very long. 700+ ft.
4. During late summer, very tall weeds and little park maintenance is done.
Other Thoughts: Decent mix of aceable baskets and one really long basket. Good course to play in early summer before weeds grow too high.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent Nine Holes

2-4    4/11/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 83  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After reading some of the reviews I was expecting a crappy little course, but I enjoyed myself.

The biggest "pro" for me is the elevation on the course. There are several holes where you are playing significantly uphill or downhill, or even across the side of the hill. On the sidehill shots you have to consider forehand vs. backhand as the final fade may carry your disc on down the hill.

Crazy variety of lengths, from 160' to 940'. Includes a couple of good ace runs, several birdie holes, and one long downhill bomber hole.

Enjoyed Hole 5 which is a blind shot over a crest and down a hill to the basket in low area.

I also enjoyed Hole 8 because I seldom get to play a hole that is that long, but actually reachable. The tee is elevated and driving toward a basket 940 feet away is a great experience. With a couple of good drives you can birdie this Par 5 hole.

Cons: Teepads are cleared off spots on the ground, and are uneven and rough. I don't use a run-up so they were fine for me, but they aren't anything to admire.

The only markings at the tee pad are 4x4 posts with the hole number on them. Distance information would be welcome, especially on Hole 8 so that you realize that the basket is 900+ feet away!

Several of the short holes are pretty simple drives to a basket near a tree. The trees add some interest, but these are pretty much "birdie or die" type holes.
Other Thoughts: I played in early April. The ground was a little soggy but the grass hadn't started to grow. So I "missed" one of the biggest complaints on this course which is the tall grass.

Not an great course, but certainly worth playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better than it Looked...

1    10/26/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course wasn't too difficult to navigate. The flow of the course made sense, and it was just a matter of looking for the post that marked the next tee, which were usually visible from the last hole
-Baskets are in good shape and since they are yellow they are easy to spot, and you spend very little time looking for the baskets.
-The course features a good variety of distance. It had a couple ace runs and some longer holes, including hole 8, which is a long downhill bomber shot.
-The course makes good use of the few available trees on this course.
-Course makes good use of the elevation the land has. There are a couple holes that play uphill and then a couple holes that are downhill shots.
-There were fairways mowed into the grass, which was nice since the grass was kinda tall, and the cut fairways seemed fair.
-Multiple pin positions on most holes
-Some trashcans on the course
-Out of the way of other park users so they won't interfere with the course.
Cons: -Parts of the course get really marshy, and they need to build bridges over some of the spots that get really wet.
-Most of the holes are straight shots that are pretty wide open, so the course starts to feel a little repetitive, because you aren't forced to use a large variety of shots.
-Some of the grass was still quite tall in October, so I imagine during the summer the grass gets out of control and you will probably spend time looking for an errant throw.
-The tee-pads need work. They are dirt and are quite uneven. Some aren't level either, especially hole 8's tee-pad as it is slanted downhill.
-No tee-signs showing the layout of the hole or the distance of the hole.
-No benches on the course
-The basket on 8 is a little messed. The distance between the actual basket and the top of the basket was a lot smaller than usual on hole 9's basket.
Other Thoughts: This course was a little better than I thought it would be. It has some fun holes, but none of the holes really have much of a wow factor. If you are in the area give it a try, but don't go out of your way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

It wasn't that bad!

2-4    9/3/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some shots had decent elevation. 4 and 5 stood out in my mind.
-Nice baskets
-A few ace runs are always appreciated
-Huge variance in distance.
-Probably won't be busy, mosy locals play at Dry Run Creek.
-Probably won't lose a disc if you play at the right time.
-There is a nice big parking lot and community center right next to this park.
-A good course for beginners. Only one crazy hole.
Cons: -Hole 8 was probably too long
-I could see how the grass could get high and the creek could be muddy but it didn't bother me one bit.
-Natural tees, not really a big deal but could be improved on.
-Not many trees, just one or two for most holes.
Other Thoughts: -The only navigating difficulty I found was from 1 to 2. Just go behind the basket and you will find a warn path and some boards over the creek.
-The land isn't great but it was used well enough. If this course is taken care of it can be an enjoyable experience for players of all levels.
-None of Cheyenne's 4 courses are all that great. This one, Dry Creek and Mylar are all pretty similar in quality in my opinion. This one is the easiest to get to from the interstates.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I Guess I Missed The Worst It Has To Offer!

1    7/19/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I must have missed the worst this course has to offend. The wind wasn't bad, the grass was a reasonable height. It was pretty hot and dry. The natural teepads aren't the best, they're pretty lumpy in places. The course has simple little tee signs showing the hole number only, no distance or par. A problem is that the signs are often located at the front left corner of the pad or right in a way of a RHBH throwers follow through. Be careful and keep that little tidbit in mind here.

# 5 is a cool downhill throw over the creek. # 8 is a monster, 940' where you throw out towards the trains.The fairways were mowed in places (No 4-5' high grass today). The course has a nice variety of shorter ACE runs complimented by the two big downhill bombs. The creek comes into play on a couple of holes.
Cons: It wouldn't be that tough to build a simple bridge over the creek in a couple of places, would it? The course is hot and dry and dusty. Bring water! No wind today, I must have been lucky.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent little 9 hole course. The two long downhill throws give it a little character and spice things up a bit. I'd love to see some work done on the tee boxes. How about some patio blocks installed? They'd be a wonderful addition. A primitive bridge or two over the creek would also be nice additions. All in all, a pretty average type course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Don't go into the long grass!

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For a nine hole, the course actually had some considerable length. One hole in fact was over 500'. The course is very easy to follow and hard to get lost.
Cons: This course being in an open field gets very windy, and makes throwing far hard. The course has wildlife so beware of droppings. The course also has a creek, which you have to cross with no bridge. It is very muddy, but I assume this is only a seasonal problem. Nevertheless, prepare to walk a long ways out of your way back to a bridge, or get your socks wet. As the title suggests, the course has very very tall grass. Try to throw pink and red discs so they are easy to find. Green and especially yellow blend in. The biggest problem with the grass is that it lines every very skinny fairway. The fairways are at most 20' wide making them hard to hit, and if you miss, well, good luck. Long pants and boots suggested.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it was a decent course, next time I go through WY I'm going to go to the other courses maybe they are better. This one isn't anything special. Title is a reference to jurassic park.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?...YQQE&NR=1

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good Time!

1    5/4/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: coltermckay
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was easy to find and when I arrived I had it all to myself. The first tee was easy to locate and was marked by a wood post and numbered. From a glance it looked like it was all tall grass (4-5 Ft tall) but I was suprised to see that it had mowed green fairways. The layout was easy to follow as I didn't have to waste a lot of time looking for the next hole. Most of the holes were pretty short but had a fair amount of elevation change that kept it interesting. I noticed that many of the holes had changed location to make for more challenging shots (old post holes were capped off). My favorite hole was #8. It was almost 1000 Ft. and had a dog-leg that bordered a wash.
Cons: The tees were dirt and were not maintained very well (iffy footing). Some of the numbers on the baskets were hard to read and were not allways visable line-of-site. It was sometimes hard to find a place to cross streams to get to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: In previous reviews people complained about some of the holes not being accessible due to construction. Update: construction in now complete and all holes were playable. This is great course for begginers or someone that just wants to get in a quick 9 holes :)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Serious Case of when Good Courses go Bad

1    6/24/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The biggest pro of this course its use of elevation in about half of the holes. The general layout is good considering the piece of land it's on, and they designers made interesting use of the few trees as obstacles by the pins. Other highlights may happen in years to come as the park develops.

BEST HOLE/S: #5
Cons: Where to begin? This was one of the poorest disc golfing experiences I have ever had. There are a few things one must consider about these cons: construction and the fact that I played the course recently after Cheyenne had a one of the wettest last four weeks on record.

First, the grass was horrendously tall. I felt like Malikai from Children of the Corn could have stepped out from multiple areas and strike me dead - which might have been okay. Again, Cheyenne just had ample rain, but some areas of grass were seriously chest high. I was lucky but thought I lost a disc multiple times.

Interesting side note - there was a group of Angora goats going to town on the far end of the park, so at least they are in heaven. (Cheaper than mowers and probably more effective on the hills I guess.)

Second, the current construction project has destroyed all parking off of Parsley as well as holes one and nine. I parked on the opposite side of the course one the far right side of hole eight. The poor pins to holes one and nine were lying by a tree rusting away.

Third, the mosquitoes are worth a mention. Again note the rain, but I have never, never been attacked by so many mosquitoes in Cheyenne in my life. It felt like I was back home in Houston it was so bad. I'm sure this problem could be remedied however is the corn fields of grass were chopped down.

Fourth, and maybe most important is the general layout, hole length, and shot variation. All shots are straight with trees and don't force much imagination. Also, the lengths on the site are dreadfully inaccurate. I know I didn't drive my Boss 350' up a slope in windy conditions on hole seven, but it sure made the ego feel good. Hole eight is also much shorter than indicated.

Finally I wonder why only one area of the "park" (the park term is loosely used since it's more of a field) was in use. The far more interesting area of the Ramero was covered in goats, so maybe the thought is nine more holes at a future date. One can hope.

WORST HOLE/S: #3
Other Thoughts: Let me say how excited I was to get a crack at Ramero being the only course in my hometown I hadn't played yet. I think the worst part of the course was simply the let down at how much it underperformed in almost every aspect. If it weren't for the great elevation and the potential this place has I would have nothing good to say about.

I hope the city follows through on its promises about what the park will become - but for now, please mow the grass (or eat it), spray, finish the construction, replant the pins, fix the yardage problems, use the rest of the land better, and improve the tee boxes (which everything else was so bad they didn't get it big mention) and I will play it again. Maybe.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 a work in progress

5+    3/29/2008   3/29/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***Update*** The construction is finally here and the course is suffering at the moment. (I'll change my grade as the results of construction dictate).

This is my favorite of the southeast Wyoming nine hole courses. Cheyenne is not a very hilly place so it is cool to have hills come into play. The wind is tricky here and there are plenty of different shot variations based on that. There are very few trees but this course finds them. Until the park is put in this a Wyoming prairie course. Fight the wind and let it rip, especially on the 940 foot #8. The tee area of #5 provides you a great view of the rail road, and the capital.
Cons: The area that is being redeveloped is a sketchy place not far from the railroad. You may see plenty of shady characters wandering around through the field. There is heaps of old junk piled up waiting for the park to be created and be a thing of the past. I've noticed that golfers are starting to just leave their trash on the ground for now too. The tee markers are tall and I smacked my hand hard against one. (But hey, at least its marked). The alternate pin placements are only feet from each other on most holes. The course will be easy on the rare day without wind due to few trees and short distances.
Other Thoughts: For the next few years (hopefully not longer than that) a review of Romero will be unreliable until construction of the park is finished. I hope they do build the proposed pond, and it comes into play. The city does not want any drinking in the park by disc golfers.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Beginner's Course

1    3/28/2008   3/28/2008
Review By: DGadvocate
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 39.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's there, and it's free. A good little course for beginners. Hole 8 is 940' long down hill. Slight change in elevation on 4 uphill,5 downhill, 6 and 7 uphill.
Cons: Wide open, little challenge and short holes, except hole 8. No restrooms (yet). As of March 2009 Baskets 1 and 9 are not in the ground due to construction.
Other Thoughts: It's the first activity in a space the city wants to make a nice park someday, but for now it's just wide open with about 7 trees. Installed to get people on the South Side of Cheyenne into Disc Golf so for that reason it's great, and might lead to more people picking up the game, which is a good thing for DG. This has proved a much more popular course than I would have imagined when it went in.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.