Layout Extinct

Menasha, WI 
O'Hauser Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: t's kitty   (Taken 3/2009)
Welcome to O"Hauser, even the snow can't stop us



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Vandalism

5+    6/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: theycallmejg15
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging. The holes don't all go in one particular direction. If you want an added challenge play it on a windy day or if the wind is coming from another angle.. it changes things. Back is a little more challenging but isn't undoable.
Cons: VANDALISM(i'll get to that more in the other thoughs)
Couple holes are a little tough to get into in the recommended par 3 but that goes without saying that it can't be done.. cause it can..
The way they changed hole 13 really really really dissapointed me. I loved the way it went over the gully and down. it was the signature hole before they changed it.
Other Thoughts: VANDALISM...

I tell you all that are reading this what. If you see anyone wreaking havoc on the small trees/sapplings in the woods or anywhere on the course(even if its buckthorn..yes I know its invasive) get a picture or video of them doing it and call the cops. I disc out here almost every day and in the last couple of weeks I have noticed that it has gotten TERRIBLE. It really makes me sad to see that some knucklehead has to go and ruin the beauty of the woods for everyone that plays just because their shot hit a tree(s). Thats why they changed hole 13 to what it is now.
I know I just joined this site but I got so irritated the other day that I just had to post this.Eventually its going to come down to them just removing all the baskets. and none of us want that. They do occasionally have TMPD officers walking around but its not enough.

Also bring bug spray.. they are HORRIBLE right now.


Also just found out tonite that the town of Menasha just recieved a 20,000 grant to upgrade and improve the disc golf course and baseball diamonds. There are plans in the works to re-vamp the disc golf course and rearrange the holes a little. Work is slated to begin next year so stay posted!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to the Jungle

1    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great facilities. All tees are concrete, nice tee signs with distances, and decent hole maps. Multiple pin positions on a few holes (7, 13, & 16 were the only ones I saw, but there could be more). At many of the tees, there is a bench, covered swing, or covered picnic table to sit at. Sweet!!

This course can sneak up on you. It starts off fairly easy. After hole 6, I was already starting to write my review in my head "Flat, not too challenging..."

Then I step up to hole 7. Wait, the basket is through that tiny opening to the left? Holy crap! Step up to hole 8: Holy crap! For the rest of the round, this course kicks it into high gear, with one tough technical hole after another. It made me realize its been awhile since I was blown away impressed/scared by a hole before I even teed off. This course has quite a few nailbiters on it.

This course is not the longest, but it achieves things with technical shots that no amount of length could equal, and thus doesnt play like a short course (Valley View, for example) Many longer courses than this will have many more deuce opportunities.

The holes aren't just technical, they are memorable and unique. They are very tough, some would say unfair. I've played course with tough holes that are all luck and not really fun. I thought these holes were fun, even though they force some crazy shots.

This course throws some real tricky stuff at you, but it does have a favorite trick thats repeated enough times, that I came to expect it by the end.
The trick is as follows: The hole seems like it has a normal flight path (straight, hyzer, annie) off the tee, but down near the basket theres a jumble of trees to thread through. Usually, you have several choices, but all of them are tough.

Case in point: Hole twelve is a short, very hard right curve through a tree-lined fairway. Around the curve: a dozen tree trunks in front of the basket like jail bars, all across the fairway. The biggest opening is a left curving walking path-sized route on the right side, up against the shule.

I can't think of another course that demands such precise and strategic shot placement. This is a thinking man's course. You can't just hyzer it as far as you can. Many times longer is much worse because you need it to break at the right distance to set up your second shot. Great care is needed to give yourself even a vague chance at a deuce on most holes, but there are opportunities.

The signature hole, IMO, is hole 13. The fairway heads almost 90 degrees right from the long tee, then slowly curves left down a narrow trail (where the short tee is), and then
abruptly cuts to the right into the woods, thus its shaped like this
_
)

From the long tee, to the left of the tight fairway, directly in front of the tee, is a 10 ft dropoff to the river, thus youre forced to carry the river and curve it right into an opening in the tree-lined bank, then navigate the tunnel carved into the woods that the basket is at the end of. Yikes!!!!! If you hit the back of the riverside opening, you'll be past the tunnel opening, and itll cost you 1, maybe 2 strokes, so you have to shoot about 230 and try to curve it in as hard right as you can to get further down the tunnel, without falling in the marshy river valley below.

The care needed, and the danger present here reminded me of ball golf (in a good way) at times, because this course, like in ball golf, really punishes you for straying off the fairway, also because of the numerous hazards presented on most holes.

It shows that this course has been around since 92', and even after all those years of being broken in, its still awesome. Some good courses, like good wines, improve with age. I believe this was likely the case here.

Make no mistake about it, this course is IN the woods, not just playing into or out of patches of woods. And the WILL be trees on the fairway. Lots of them. And choke points, sometimes as narrow as a walking path at points. If that doesn't make you lick your chops, then you might want to pick a different course, but if you're like me, you'll just want to know when its time for seconds.
Cons: Very flat. When the river is in play, there might be a slight elevation change, but not really. This course makes up for that with tons of trees and some well-placed water (like Blue Ribbon Pines in MN). But back to cons.

The course map at the start is no longer accurate. They have changed the pin placement for 13 and one other hole (i think 16), apparently making them both harder. Also, on the hole maps at each tee, it doesnt look like the basket is marked on most of them. There is usually a screw holding the plastic covering on around where the basket should be, but thats not always where it actually is. Due to the technical nature of this course, I found myself scouting out most holes before I threw, to make sure. However, I'm not sure any kind of tee map would be good enough to read these holes without walking them, or having a local guide (which I did not)

I do not think this course was designed with lefty's in mind, or maybe to purposely spite us, but either way, this course is waaay skewed towards left-curving holes, aka hyzer line for RHBH. Only about 6 holes curve right.

This makes it alot easier for RHBH players to naturally curve it in on most holes, and IMO is disappointing bc it favors those who havent cultivated a FH or turnover shot to bend it the other way.

However, the holes that do curve right are all really nasty, like the aforementioned holes 12 and 13, both hard right curves, so that kinda makes up for it. It means RHBH players are screwed 1/3 of the time, but they are really really in deep when those holes come around.

My guess is that in 1992, when this course was built, they probably weren't thinking as much about right-left balance and things of that nature, just building a good course. If this course was newer than the millenium, then i would be more surprised/annoyed at this design flaw, but hey, its a classic.

Though the last 12 holes are money, the first 6 contain a few throwaways, most notably hole 3. Yes, i suppose its one of the longer holes on the course, but its wide open and boring compared to the rest of it, and definitely not worthy of being a par 5, much less the only par 5 on the course.

Which shows another thing. I was a bit puzzled by the listed par here. While hole 3 is par 5, 420 ft hole 15, a tough shot through the woods, is only par 4? What gives. Strangely, it seemed like the hole listed as par 3's were some of the toughest holes on the course, which I found funny. It seemed like the longer par holes listed as par 4's were not quite as tough to get a 3 on (except the twin terrors of 13 &14). It seems like the par is a little screwy, but played it as all 3s anyways, so whatev.

Realize what type of course this is. If you like more open, longer holes with few trees in the middle of the fairways, go a few miles up Hwy 41 and play Plamann Park. If you like threading the needle through some trees and don't get easily frustrated, this is your spot.
Other Thoughts: This isnt a course for everyone. Personally, I loved it. I realize that may not be the case for everyone else. That, I suspect, is why the average rating of Plamann is higher than here (I disagree), because this course is quite mean. However its a wonderful course for 2/3 of the way, after a slow start, which maybe is a relief because it builds your confidence before you properly enter the jungle.

this course was very memorable, and a blast to play, the kind of course you want to tell your friends about later. I will definitely be coming back here. Put it on your list, it'll be worth it to experience it at least once so you'll have it as a measuring stick.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

5+    4/27/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: rusch_bag
Played: 52  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this course. The hardest course in the area for sure. It has an excellent mix of short and long holes and makes you hit your lines or you will be in trouble. It has multiple pads and placements, good signs, and is easy to follow. I love it.
Cons: Lack of elevation, can be crowded and wet but what course can't be? The pads are cement instead of concrete so they are huge but they are really slippery when they are wet.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course around the area for sure. It really makes you work like a course should. Bring your A game.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: mojo2090
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -very difficult lanes to shoot through.
-holes mapped out perfectly
-good variety in holes
-decently long
-concrete tee boxes
Cons: -pretty tough
-the par rating on holes is too easy
-the course is a little bit in the boondocks
Other Thoughts: favorite course that ive played in wisconsin. very fun.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 College Stomping Grounds

5+    11/4/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Sweet swamp hole when wet..fairly wooded but a couple deep holes to chuck on..Hole 2 on the right is the "pit of dispair" just play a safe hyzer with a putter or midrange or youll be looking for a long stick to fish out the wraith that got away from you!! Winter Frolf is available..creative course layout..great stop on your way from Dredska in Milwaukee to Plaman in Appleton..They are all right off highway 41..
Cons: Has changed alot since i was goin to school in oshkosh..Weather affects the courses difficulty in a big way..Drainage problems after rainfall..
Other Thoughts: There used to be a teepee after the 13th hole which was a great spot for a session..We called the final five holes the "high five"..it works on a few levels..

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Woods

5+    1/3/2009   10/28/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Front nine gets you rolling; back nine can kick you in the rear when the pins are back and the leaves are in. Open year-round.
Cons: Can get soggy after a deep rain.
Other Thoughts: League in the Spring. Lots of fun. Check out the Appleton Area Disc Golf Club for details.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

4/20/2008   4/20/2008
Review By: nvrwlkalone911
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course open year-round, with winter and summer pin placements. Course layout has changed drastically over the history of the park (not much too big recently though) so there is always something slightly different each year.
Cons: Weather is a huge factor for this course. Early spring and after heavy rains leave the fairways covered in massive puddles or extremely muddy. Vandalism, unfortunately, has taken it's toll as well over the year resulting in the loss of trees resulting is some layout changes and causing some holes to become easier than in the past.
Other Thoughts: Course does get busy during the summer, but typically not until the afternoon. Always fun to play an early morning round before work when the weather is nice.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two Sides

3/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent use of available land. Long tunnel shots on back nine are some of the more challenging holes in the area. Need every drive in the book. High, low, long, straight, hyzer, thumber, you name it.
Cons: Loss of significant trees over the years on the front nine. Redesign on front needed to keep up with disc technology.
Other Thoughts: Home course. Would like to see it grow into a course that a club uses to promote disc golf. Many local young players could benefit.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 O'Hauser Park Review

2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun, course overall. Has a little bit of everything but nothing too special. Starts out more open and ends with wooded holes.
Cons: Usually VERY packed, especially with younger high school kids. This can result in lots of people cluttered together, which I am not a fan of at all.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.