Atlanta, GA 
Perkerson Park Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #18 (Taken 7/2014)
5 / 460ft.   5 / 750ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Red Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best in Atlanta

5+    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid rubber composite tees, great baskets. Excellent golf lines through a great variety of landscape. Great use of elevation and existing landscaping, such as the creek that runs through the course in a hand stacked rock walled culvert. Nice signs. 3 pin placements, two tees per hole (usually).

Fantastic start to the course.. Hole one starts on a cliff over the creek, with a challenging long drive (many choices of shot, forehand or backhand as on most holes here) on a grassy slope with scattered large trees guarding the pin. All but hole 11 have some sort of elevation change, sloped landing, or both.

The constant elevation change is balanced.. I never felt like I was sick of throwing one direction or the other. There's a great flow through the more open parts of the park, and up and down the forested hillside.

The fairways never felt lucky to me. There is a definite line on every hole, and it's totally reasonable. Most holes have more than one line which is wonderful. Getting off the fairway is always punishing as it should be, but still possible to save par with a stellar recovery shot, which is very refreshing in Georgia where courses are often carved out of a thicket and the rough is totally unplayable.

Several standout holes that I always remember and look forward to playing again, especially hole one off the cliff, hole two throwing through a row of large pines toward a pin on the edge of an OB culvert, hole 11 which is the only flat hole, needing a long controlled drive to stay out of the woods and the rock walled creek, and the very challenging par 5 hole 18, which requires three perfectly placed drives along one of two routes to birdie or par. This hole can be a score killer.. I've teed off on 18 at -3 and finished the round over par.

Cons: Everyone mentioned navigation.. I used the map on my phone the first time back when there weren't tee pads or signs and didn't have a problem. You'll need a map of some sort.

Holes 8 and 13 are very similar, and when the pins are in the same position the similarity is exaggerated. Should always have one in the long and one in the short. Especially since 14 is the same shot.. Though I love hole 14, it's the only area where the course feels repetitive. Another straight shot downhill.

An indicator of which position the basket is in would be great. I've seen this on other championship courses (which this is) such as Tyler in PA and it's such a nice feature. No big deal, but helpful when the distances are pretty different and it's hard to tell by eye.

Reviewers mentioned long walks.. I didn't really mind any of them, but yeah there are a couple of longish connections. Again, not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I first played this course when it was barely permanent, and have waited to see it finished before reviewing it. I think the designers and volunteers did a fantastic job, especially considering all the restrictions that come with building inside a city if Atlanta park. The length and variety of the course are excellent, and most importantly it's been fun to play since I first started and couldn't break +10 to now when I can get a couple under par. Always a challenge and always rewarding even at various skill levels. I've only played the long tees, but now that there are short tees installed I'd be curious to see how they play. Very nice to have the choice.

I play mostly championship difficulty courses in the northeast, and not only is this the best course in Atlanta, it stands favorably with the other highly rated courses I've played. Really enjoy it and always look forward to a round when I'm in Atlanta.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

DG in the ATL, for the win!

1    1/1/2014   1/6/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 167  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Variety: Wonderful terrain has you playing uphill, downhill, over gullies, and on a few relatively flat fairways through a mix of wooded/well-wooded/semi-open holes, over short/med/long distances, with enough twists and turns to make you use every shot in your bag. Elevation brought into play in several ways off the tee and also on pin placements to make you think about putts and approaches. Distances vary enough to encourage using putters, mids, fairways and distance drivers off the tee, with several holes playing longer or shorter than posted due to the elevation change from tee to pin.
• Equipment: Tees of recycled rubber look and feel good under foot and are present on most tees (but not all... yet). Carpeted mats are employed where rubber hasn't been installed yet. Dual tees provide reasonably different looks, challenges, and sometimes elevations. Titan baskets were in great shape, caught well and seemed particularly very heavy duty to perform well for a long time. Lacks decent tee posts/signs (but I won't ding for that as the Course Info page says they're coming).
• Aesthetics: Genuinely a beautiful course that's a pleasant walk in the woods with delightfully hilly terrain, complete with a babbling brook that winds its way through the park, coming into play on several holes. A few have you throwing over it, but it's more formidable on the fairways runing along it. Fortunately, it isn't deep enough to pose a serious threat of disc loss. Nice touches abound, with nicely framed tee boxes and an interesting pin placement on 15 that's up on a hillside, nicely shored up with timbers to combat erosion and enhance eye-appeal. Several bridges and natural steps add ambience while helping you get from hole to hole. I noticed several lengths of stuffed netting and rope which seem placed to fight erosion on some of the hilly terrain.
• Challenging without ever feeling unfair. Some holes are tight, some more forgiving, and most offer a few lines with some being more obvious, but all were quite executable and all present a reasonable challenge. Beginners may feel a bit overmatched on some of the tighter holes, but I'd still say it's reasonably well-suited for beginners to advanced players because of the fact that all holes seem quite executable, and the tighter ones can give beginners an appreciation for what they might reasonably expect to achieve over time.
• Memorable holes: I love the way the creek flirts with you on 2, and pin treatment on 15. 12, 13, and 18 also stood out for me, and 4 was a fun Ace run… your preference may vary.
Cons: Admittedly still a work in progress, Perkerson's make-over seems quite successful on the whole, and is likely to improve over the next year or so as signs and more tees are installed. Nonetheless, I feel obliged to state the following:
• My biggest beef is with the "drop-off" at the front of a few of the tee pads … stepping off the front edge of a few tees would prove quite hazardous. Granted, they're so obvious as to not pose much of a "hazard" per se, but they certainly prevent a normal follow through.
• PRINT THE MAP - signs may be on the way, but until then, navigation will very difficult without the map.
• Neighborhood's a bit rough. Locals were very friendly and I had no problems, but it would behoove you to keep anything of value out of your vehicle (or at least out of sight), and to turn down the volume before you pull up to avoid drawing attention to that killer stereo you're so proud of.
• Hard to spot Titan baskets in the woods and shadows - shot of bright paint on the pole would do wonders to enhance visibility.
• Didn't find the short tee for #18.
• A few longish walks between holes, but nothing too bad. Likewise, travelers may need to walk fairways to spot pins, but again, nothing that should affect ratings.
• Leaves, leaves and more leaves - comes with the territory, but it can be tough to find discs that slide under layers of leaves. I won't ding ratings for this, but list it more as a heads up to stock your bag with appropriately colored discs if you can, and that you might want to leave dyed and tie-dyed discs in your car.
Other Thoughts: Job well done! My thanks to those who've donated their blood, sweat and tears, or otherwise had a hand in renovating this course to make it what it is (and will be): an excellent course and a lot of fun to play.

Because Atlanta is a reasonable destination for DG'ers, and the park is 2 measly miles off I-75/85, it's bound to get a lot of visitors, deservedly so. Even though it won't benefit locals (who know the course well), the effort to make baskets more visible in the woods would be well worth it.

It's still a work in progress and I can only rate what's in place when I play, but most of the improvements affecting actual disc play are already in place, with much of the remaining improvements likely to be in terms of signage (other than a few additional tee pads). Perkerson's one of those courses with the variety, beauty and fun factor that make it better than very good, but lacking the kind of epic feel I need to say it's phenomenal, and earns every bit of 4.0 IMHO.

While there may be better courses in the area, there's a good chance this one's the most conveniently located if you're just passing through and don't have the time to venture anywhere. Even if you plan on spending some time in the area, you'll be glad you came.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome inner city course

1    12/30/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: BSumners
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Having played on dirt and concrete pads, I loved the rubber pads. Wonderful feel. Great layout of the course, utilizing elevation gain/loss. Definitely challenging. Great erosion control.
Cons: Would be nice to have a few shorter holes for some birdie opportunities. Could have cut the stumps a little more flush with the ground. Maybe a more clear marking of where hole one is.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    10/14/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very challenging layout - newly created tee pads , very nice park setting . A couple very challenging island greens .
Cons: Borderline dangerous neighborhood , several long walks to tees , including steep climbs , difficult to navigate first time playing , occasional pedestrian interference .
Other Thoughts: Will test your cardio a bit , definitely worth playing .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Gem in Atlanta!

1    3/30/2013   4/16/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout - The course design is simply fantastic. It plays through a public park which incorporates a nice open area with nice green grass and tall hardwoods, along a nice old stone channeled creek (no real danger of losing a disc, but you might get wet), and through a heavily wooded hillside. The creek is the centerpiece, and hills rise on both sides. There are holes playing both across and along the creek, as well as up, down, and along the hillsides. There is a great mix of hole lengths as well. Hole 4 is 220 ft with a 20ft elevation drop easily reachable with a putter, and hole 18 is 850 ft uphill through the woods to a basket that is about 30ft higher in elevation than the tee pad.

The Baskets - I am not sure if these are custom built or production baskets, but they are much nicer than what I am used to. There were 3 rows of chains and the thickest basket metal that I have ever seen. They caught discs nicely, and barely made a sound.

Plenty of parking and public restrooms available.
Cons: There were a few, but most of them are likely to be remedied in the near future. As mentioned by the course description, this course is a work in progress.

Tee pads - The tee pads are carpet, and while most appear to be in their permanent positions, some have flags in new locations.

Benches - There aren't any, and this course is a serious walk. They will be a welcome addition when they go in.

Signage - Since the course design has changed some in the last year, the current tee sings (laminated paper stapled to wooden stakes) are not accurate for several holes. The distances listed on the DGCR scorecard appear to be correct.

The hillside walking up to hole 1 (which is also used to access 3 other tee pads for different holes, looks like it will be prone to erosion issues. Hopefully the volunteers that are putting in this course have a plan for landscaping and shoring up this area. I would likely be slippery after rain, and could really use better stairs cut into the hillside.
Other Thoughts: I read a lot of the reviews before playing this course, and was very excited to play the new layout. It did not disappoint, and was quite challenging from the first hole to the last.

Several previous reviewers mentioned the neighborhood as a con. While not one of Atlanta's richer areas, I would definitely not call this a 'bad neighborhood'. The park itself is beautiful and peaceful (which is amazing considering its proximity to Downtown Atlanta.

I will definitely play this course again on my next trip to the ATL. Hopefully I can make it to a tournament!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    4/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful park! Some people mention that it is in a sketch neighborhood, but that is not at all the case...Yes, you are in south Atlanta, but the park is very serene and non-discgolfers are only present on the first couple of holes and have never been an issue in my experiences at this course. And as for the course itself, Perkerson has a little bit of everything; great uphill, downhill, left-turning, right-turning, straight, heavily-wooded, moderately-wooded, and lightly-wooded holes! It is a difficult course that will test your accuracy. Also, the creek that runs through the middle of the course adds some extra beauty to the course. If your in the area, Perkerson shouldn't be missed!
Cons: This course is relatively new, and as such is still somewhat a work in progress. For the time being, the lack of good signage and the carpet teepads (often very short) are the two most noticeable cons. The good news is that there is a group of dedicated golfers that are putting in A LOT of time to making the necessary improvements. I hear that teepads and signage are in the near future for this course!
Other Thoughts: For the time being, you should definitely print off a course map or try and play with a local if it is your first time here. Great course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Diverse

5+    3/17/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: SystemTramp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: A coarse that is short in Ft but is still pretty tough. Tons of elevation. Trees hills and the creek running though the park provide awesome obstacles to make this a favorite of mine
Cons: #1 can be tricky to find for newcomers. the trails can be a little mushy after rains. carpeted tee box could be a little nicer
Other Thoughts: i live about a half mile from this coarse so send me a message if you wanna play a round.

Perkerson Park

5+    2/8/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2014
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perkerson Park is a beautiful city park nestled in the Sylvan Hills/Capitol View neighborhood in downtown Atlanta. Among other things, the park offers a playground, ball fields and pavilions but most importantly, it is home to what many regard as one of the best disc golf courses in Atlanta.

The park itself seems like a place that just radiates disc golf. You cannot deny that you have driven by some random piece of property and said to yourself, "There's a disc golf hole!" Well, this whole park is full of areas like that. Mature trees pepper the property as rolling hills define the landscape. Deeper in the course you will play through a more wooded area/hardwood forest. Nearly century old stacked stone walls line a creek that meanders through the park and shows itself several times as you play through. There are old stone fireplaces throughout the course that just add to its character. The course has a one of a kind atmosphere and it will certainly be memorable.

After several years of folks only being able to enjoy playing it as a temporary course, it is finally a permanent fixture. As any of the locals will tell you, it was well worth the wait. Many folks will miss some of the holes in the old temporary layout that were not included in the final design. However not many will complain about what the new design has to offer. After all, the new design incorporates something that the old design was missing, wooded holes.

From hole one's memorable tee shot shooting off a cliff all the way through hole eighteen's challenging par 5, you see a little bit of everything. Complementing the round finishing par 5 is a trio of par 4's on holes nine, twelve, and fifteen. Overall, depending on which pads you choose and the current pin placements, you will be playing somewhere between 5284' and 6867' on this par 59 layout.

You will discover that just about every design element is here! You will see plenty of elevation changes with both up and down shots scattered throughout the design. In addition, they are not just straight up and down either, most of them sweep left and right as well. Hole nine's par 4 is especially nice as it plays up and over a hill, across a shallow valley, then finishes slightly uphill again. You will find a great balance of open to tightly wooded shots as well. While the open holes allow for the big arms to "air it out", they cannot just indiscriminately throw without concern. The designs on the open holes ask for good placement for follow up shots and there are some obstacles to navigate. Once you get into the woods, you will have to be much more precise. Not many folks will accuse these holes of being unfair, but you will have to play smart. Overall, you will find that many of the park's features come into play including the creek. Almost half of the holes have a risk of OB water with some more dangerous than others. Eleven and eighteen are probably the most common OB water shots as the holes play alongside the creek. You will find unique holes throughout with greens situated on an island peninsula, a rocky hillside and even a terraced elevated basket. Overall this a well thought out and well-designed course.

As far as amenities go, this course has a lot to offer. Beginning with tee pads, they are a really nice and unique rubber surface. From what I understand, the pads poured in place from a batter of ground tires and EPMD rubber. It created a synthetic surface similar to what you may have seen on playgrounds or walking trails. They work great and appear to be holding up pretty well. All but one hole has duel locations with the shorter of the two geared to the recreational level player. 6x6 timbers border the pads and they look great. On a few, they are elevated with some nice hand laid stacked stone retaining walls. In both cases, they are unique and everyone seems to love them. The baskets are the very rugged and heavy duty Gateway Titans and they are top notch. Interestingly, they are much quieter than any basket I have ever played before. There are multiple pin locations with the majority holes boasting three placements. The tee signs are custom-made galvanized steel stands with Houck Design "Premium" signs. As a bonus, there is a second sign on the short pad as well the long pad. Volunteer installed stone steps (repurposed from an old structure in the park) on a few holes are also a welcome addition. Three bridges existed prior to the course. As luck would have it, they are in the perfect locations and work great for the course's layout. There is a nice pavilion between the parking lot and hole one that is great for tourney central or just a place to have lunch. There is also a covered area with several charcoal grills if cooking out is of interest.
Cons: As far as course design or playability is concerned, I really do not have a whole lot of complaints. There is a time or two where weird transitions from hole to hole can trip you up. The transition from eleven to twelve and from fourteen to fifteen comes to mind. Some good next tee signs would be helpful in this area. Printing a course map your first visit will save you some time looking around.

No bathroom (or at least it is usually closed) and no drinking water at the course. There are no trashcans on the course and some say that is a con. Pack it in/pack it out. (There are trashcans at the pavilion)

Not unlike a handful of other Atlanta courses, most of the maintenance is by volunteer labor. The city takes care of the grass in the open areas but during the summer, some of the wooded areas can be overgrown. (Note that a volunteer/adopt-a-hole program has recently been implemented. I am hopeful the majority of this will not be an issue in the future).

The course, although in a neighborhood undergoing revitalization, is in an economically and culturally diverse area. It may not hurt to be cautious and observant during solo rounds, and maybe even while playing in small groups. The bigger issue is car break-ins. While comparatively rare given the number of visitors to the course, I certainly would recommend you leave valuables at home and not in the car.
Other Thoughts: It has been fun watching and playing this course as it has transformed into what it is today. I remember when it was a temporary course set up for a weekly league and occasional tourneys. The tee pads were flag marked grass areas and the majority of the baskets were fabric. To see where it is today is just special.

To John Ritger and the others who made this course possible, thank you! Moreover, thanks to the countless others who put in the incalculable hours to make the course what it is today. This course is one of the reasons Atlanta disc golf is great. I cannot wait to see it improve even more in the years to come.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.