Atlanta, GA 
Perkerson Park Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #11 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 318ft.   3 / 425ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Red Tee

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    12/2/2014   9/28/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 265  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid course with quite a bit of elevation changes and a ton of variety in hole type. From wooded holes to open ones and a ton that are pretty much in-between, you will throw discs down and to the right or up to the left and every fairway is fair. Approachable for new players and interesting for veterans. The design here is really top notch and the play itself is highly recommended. The park is multi-use but the footprint is huge so while you will see plenty of other facilities, none come into conflict with the course itself besides random walkers who just see grassy areas. The course has some solid length and I think most will appreciate the challenge that is provided by the lines that it demands. For those who aren't up for that, the short tees are muchsimpler.
Navigation has some rough spots and 1 can be particularly difficult to find. You will definitely need to bring the map with you as many transitions are not obvious. This will get frustrating at times, even with the map.
Other Thoughts:
The course can feel unsafe but you likely won't see many issues in day light hours apparently. However, do not take a cab there. A lot of people may fly into Atlanta and have things to do downtown and it may be tempting to skip out to the course but unless you have a car this is a bad idea. Getting another cab to come out there to get you when you are done is going to be a struggle as they don't want to come out there to get you. If you want a pick up after 18 holes, your best bet is calling on hole 3. Good course but not worth the hassle of dealing with any public transportation in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

I Like It!

1    5/10/2015   5/10/2015
Review By: chuckbob
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some really nicely laid out holes; multiple tee pads and pin locations for every hole; nice mix of tight shots through trees and more open shots. It's in a very beautiful park.
Cons: Wish the creek come into play more than just as a penalty for an overhyzered shot. Some of the holes on the back nine were a little confusing to try to find the next tee pad but I downloaded a copy of the course map from and found them all.
Other Thoughts: The neighborhood may not be the best but I've played in parks in much worse ones in several other cities. It's a 1 mile walk from the MARTA station but easily doable. It's a real winner and, I think, the only course ITP. You really should play this course if you're in Atlanta.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Technical and WIDE open Course

1    3/15/2015   3/16/2015
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 66  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is solid 4.25 course. Better than excellent, not quite phenomenal. It is also a blast to play with some really cool shots. Playing from the black tees, you start with a nice crush from up on a hill, over the creek/valley to basket 350'+ away. Nice way to start. There's two creeks that run through the course that add a nice set of OB lines that quickly come in to play.

Hole 3 is a down hill hyzer shot that if you come it without the brakes fully engaged, you're skipping OB. Fun stuff! Forehands throwers or lefty's, you guys are good.

The course then winds along and up a ridge to hole #6(?) by the basket ball courts. Another fantastic shot is a long fading left shot to a basket down in the trees. Fun to watch the disc fly, then drop out of the sky toward the basket.

For the next 7-8 holes it's picking the sight lines through the trees and executing. Hit your line, putt for bird. Miss the line, putt for 4 or worse!

If the previous 14 holes haven't worn you out, your're good. 'Cause you're about to hit the 'crush zone'. Long Uphill/Down hill and cross hill shots drain the last of your strength! But tough to play 2 rounds from the black.

Also...major, major kudos to the tee pads. Those lowest level of course design was the best I think I've ever played. NIce, poured rubber pads. Very grippy with just a touch of give. Super nice on the knees. Best pads I've ever played on.
Cons: You have to be careful for walkers. They don't know you're there and screaming 'FOUR!!!' like possessed banshee's will not get their attention. They ain't expecting to be hit by plastic are non-too-happy when it happens. Trust me on this.

Neighborhood a block off the course is NOT where you want to be after dark or with a flat tire. Check you gas and don't leave any valuables exposed. Just sayin'...
Other Thoughts: Hole one is a bit tough to find. It's below the main building, and across the creek. Following the water, find the tee pad.

Hole 12 is not where you would expect. You have to cross over 14's fairway to find the tee.

15's is back across the creek after 14.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

2-4    3/7/2015   3/7/2015
Review By: pjhayes7
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tough course, not impossible, but gives you the score you deserve. Although a little long for me to have legit birdie opportunities more than a couple of times, it is always fun to play a challenging course.
-Excellent shredded rubber tee pads.
-Multiple angles of attack. I rarely knew for sure whether to throw backhand or forehand.
Cons: -Could be difficult to navigate without a map, but a map is available if you just take the time to print it out or pull it up on your phone.
-More trash on the ground than I would like to see, including glass. It was better than when I played last summer though.
-As others have mentioned, not the best part of town. I never felt unsafe for my person, but was slightly concerned for my vehicle. I think just like in any city if you make sure not to leave valuables in the open, you would be fine. There were plenty of other patrons including individuals and families using the parks other facilities, so it can't be that bad.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best in Atlanta

5+    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid rubber composite tees, great baskets. Excellent golf lines through a great variety of landscape. Great use of elevation and existing landscaping, such as the creek that runs through the course in a hand stacked rock walled culvert. Nice signs. 3 pin placements, two tees per hole (usually).

Fantastic start to the course.. Hole one starts on a cliff over the creek, with a challenging long drive (many choices of shot, forehand or backhand as on most holes here) on a grassy slope with scattered large trees guarding the pin. All but hole 11 have some sort of elevation change, sloped landing, or both.

The constant elevation change is balanced.. I never felt like I was sick of throwing one direction or the other. There's a great flow through the more open parts of the park, and up and down the forested hillside.

The fairways never felt lucky to me. There is a definite line on every hole, and it's totally reasonable. Most holes have more than one line which is wonderful. Getting off the fairway is always punishing as it should be, but still possible to save par with a stellar recovery shot, which is very refreshing in Georgia where courses are often carved out of a thicket and the rough is totally unplayable.

Several standout holes that I always remember and look forward to playing again, especially hole one off the cliff, hole two throwing through a row of large pines toward a pin on the edge of an OB culvert, hole 11 which is the only flat hole, needing a long controlled drive to stay out of the woods and the rock walled creek, and the very challenging par 5 hole 18, which requires three perfectly placed drives along one of two routes to birdie or par. This hole can be a score killer.. I've teed off on 18 at -3 and finished the round over par.

Cons: Everyone mentioned navigation.. I used the map on my phone the first time back when there weren't tee pads or signs and didn't have a problem. You'll need a map of some sort.

Holes 8 and 13 are very similar, and when the pins are in the same position the similarity is exaggerated. Should always have one in the long and one in the short. Especially since 14 is the same shot.. Though I love hole 14, it's the only area where the course feels repetitive. Another straight shot downhill.

An indicator of which position the basket is in would be great. I've seen this on other championship courses (which this is) such as Tyler in PA and it's such a nice feature. No big deal, but helpful when the distances are pretty different and it's hard to tell by eye.

Reviewers mentioned long walks.. I didn't really mind any of them, but yeah there are a couple of longish connections. Again, not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I first played this course when it was barely permanent, and have waited to see it finished before reviewing it. I think the designers and volunteers did a fantastic job, especially considering all the restrictions that come with building inside a city if Atlanta park. The length and variety of the course are excellent, and most importantly it's been fun to play since I first started and couldn't break +10 to now when I can get a couple under par. Always a challenge and always rewarding even at various skill levels. I've only played the long tees, but now that there are short tees installed I'd be curious to see how they play. Very nice to have the choice.

I play mostly championship difficulty courses in the northeast, and not only is this the best course in Atlanta, it stands favorably with the other highly rated courses I've played. Really enjoy it and always look forward to a round when I'm in Atlanta.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

DG in the ATL, for the win!

1    1/1/2014   1/6/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 186  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 11.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Variety: Wonderful terrain has you playing uphill, downhill, over gullies, and on a few relatively flat fairways through a mix of wooded/well-wooded/semi-open holes, over short/med/long distances, with enough twists and turns to make you use every shot in your bag. Elevation brought into play in several ways off the tee and also on pin placements to make you think about putts and approaches. Distances vary enough to encourage using putters, mids, fairways and distance drivers off the tee, with several holes playing longer or shorter than posted due to the elevation change from tee to pin.
Equipment: Tees of recycled rubber look and feel good under foot and are present on most tees (but not all... yet). Carpeted mats are employed where rubber hasn't been installed yet. Dual tees provide reasonably different looks, challenges, and sometimes elevations. Titan baskets were in great shape, caught well and seemed particularly very heavy duty to perform well for a long time. Lacks decent tee posts/signs (but I won't ding for that as the Course Info page says they're coming).
Aesthetics: Genuinely a beautiful course that's a pleasant walk in the woods with delightfully hilly terrain, complete with a babbling brook that winds its way through the park, coming into play on several holes. A few have you throwing over it, but it's more formidable on the fairways runing along it. Fortunately, it isn't deep enough to pose a serious threat of disc loss. Nice touches abound, with nicely framed tee boxes and an interesting pin placement on 15 that's up on a hillside, nicely shored up with timbers to combat erosion and enhance eye-appeal. Several bridges and natural steps add ambience while helping you get from hole to hole. I noticed several lengths of stuffed netting and rope which seem placed to fight erosion on some of the hilly terrain.
Challenging without ever feeling unfair. Some holes are tight, some more forgiving, and most offer a few lines with some being more obvious, but all were quite executable and all present a reasonable challenge. Beginners may feel a bit overmatched on some of the tighter holes, but I'd still say it's reasonably well-suited for beginners to advanced players because of the fact that all holes seem quite executable, and the tighter ones can give beginners an appreciation for what they might reasonably expect to achieve over time.
Memorable holes: I love the way the creek flirts with you on 2, and pin treatment on 15. 12, 13, and 18 also stood out for me, and 4 was a fun Ace run... your preference may vary.
Cons: Admittedly still a work in progress, Perkerson's make-over seems quite successful on the whole, and is likely to improve over the next year or so as signs and more tees are installed. Nonetheless, I feel obliged to state the following:
My biggest beef is with the "drop-off" at the front of a few of the tee pads ... stepping off the front edge of a few tees would prove quite hazardous. Granted, they're so obvious as to not pose much of a "hazard" per se, but they certainly prevent a normal follow through.
PRINT THE MAP - signs may be on the way, but until then, navigation will very difficult without the map.
Neighborhood's a bit rough. Locals were very friendly and I had no problems, but it would behoove you to keep anything of value out of your vehicle (or at least out of sight), and to turn down the volume before you pull up to avoid drawing attention to that killer stereo you're so proud of.
Hard to spot Titan baskets in the woods and shadows - shot of bright paint on the pole would do wonders to enhance visibility.
Didn't find the short tee for #18.
A few longish walks between holes, but nothing too bad. Likewise, travelers may need to walk fairways to spot pins, but again, nothing that should affect ratings.
Leaves, leaves and more leaves - comes with the territory, but it can be tough to find discs that slide under layers of leaves. I won't ding ratings for this, but list it more as a heads up to stock your bag with appropriately colored discs if you can, and that you might want to leave dyed and tie-dyed discs in your car.
Other Thoughts: Job well done! My thanks to those who've donated their blood, sweat and tears, or otherwise had a hand in renovating this course to make it what it is (and will be): an excellent course and a lot of fun to play.

Because Atlanta is a reasonable destination for DG'ers, and the park is 2 measly miles off I-75/85, it's bound to get a lot of visitors, deservedly so. Even though it won't benefit locals (who know the course well), the effort to make baskets more visible in the woods would be well worth it.

It's still a work in progress and I can only rate what's in place when I play, but most of the improvements affecting actual disc play are already in place, with much of the remaining improvements likely to be in terms of signage (other than a few additional tee pads). Perkerson's one of those courses with the variety, beauty and fun factor that make it better than very good, but lacking the kind of epic feel I need to say it's phenomenal, and earns every bit of 4.0 IMHO.

While there may be better courses in the area, there's a good chance this one's the most conveniently located if you're just passing through and don't have the time to venture anywhere. Even if you plan on spending some time in the area, you'll be glad you came.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome inner city course

1    12/30/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: BSumners
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Having played on dirt and concrete pads, I loved the rubber pads. Wonderful feel. Great layout of the course, utilizing elevation gain/loss. Definitely challenging. Great erosion control.
Cons: Would be nice to have a few shorter holes for some birdie opportunities. Could have cut the stumps a little more flush with the ground. Maybe a more clear marking of where hole one is.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1    10/14/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very challenging layout - newly created tee pads , very nice park setting . A couple very challenging island greens .
Cons: Borderline dangerous neighborhood , several long walks to tees , including steep climbs , difficult to navigate first time playing , occasional pedestrian interference .
Other Thoughts: Will test your cardio a bit , definitely worth playing .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Gem in Atlanta!

1    3/30/2013   4/16/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout - The course design is simply fantastic. It plays through a public park which incorporates a nice open area with nice green grass and tall hardwoods, along a nice old stone channeled creek (no real danger of losing a disc, but you might get wet), and through a heavily wooded hillside. The creek is the centerpiece, and hills rise on both sides. There are holes playing both across and along the creek, as well as up, down, and along the hillsides. There is a great mix of hole lengths as well. Hole 4 is 220 ft with a 20ft elevation drop easily reachable with a putter, and hole 18 is 850 ft uphill through the woods to a basket that is about 30ft higher in elevation than the tee pad.

The Baskets - I am not sure if these are custom built or production baskets, but they are much nicer than what I am used to. There were 3 rows of chains and the thickest basket metal that I have ever seen. They caught discs nicely, and barely made a sound.

Plenty of parking and public restrooms available.
Cons: There were a few, but most of them are likely to be remedied in the near future. As mentioned by the course description, this course is a work in progress.

Tee pads - The tee pads are carpet, and while most appear to be in their permanent positions, some have flags in new locations.

Benches - There aren't any, and this course is a serious walk. They will be a welcome addition when they go in.

Signage - Since the course design has changed some in the last year, the current tee sings (laminated paper stapled to wooden stakes) are not accurate for several holes. The distances listed on the DGCR scorecard appear to be correct.

The hillside walking up to hole 1 (which is also used to access 3 other tee pads for different holes, looks like it will be prone to erosion issues. Hopefully the volunteers that are putting in this course have a plan for landscaping and shoring up this area. I would likely be slippery after rain, and could really use better stairs cut into the hillside.
Other Thoughts: I read a lot of the reviews before playing this course, and was very excited to play the new layout. It did not disappoint, and was quite challenging from the first hole to the last.

Several previous reviewers mentioned the neighborhood as a con. While not one of Atlanta's richer areas, I would definitely not call this a 'bad neighborhood'. The park itself is beautiful and peaceful (which is amazing considering its proximity to Downtown Atlanta.

I will definitely play this course again on my next trip to the ATL. Hopefully I can make it to a tournament!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    4/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful park! Some people mention that it is in a sketch neighborhood, but that is not at all the case...Yes, you are in south Atlanta, but the park is very serene and non-discgolfers are only present on the first couple of holes and have never been an issue in my experiences at this course. And as for the course itself, Perkerson has a little bit of everything; great uphill, downhill, left-turning, right-turning, straight, heavily-wooded, moderately-wooded, and lightly-wooded holes! It is a difficult course that will test your accuracy. Also, the creek that runs through the middle of the course adds some extra beauty to the course. If your in the area, Perkerson shouldn't be missed!
Cons: This course is relatively new, and as such is still somewhat a work in progress. For the time being, the lack of good signage and the carpet teepads (often very short) are the two most noticeable cons. The good news is that there is a group of dedicated golfers that are putting in A LOT of time to making the necessary improvements. I hear that teepads and signage are in the near future for this course!
Other Thoughts: For the time being, you should definitely print off a course map or try and play with a local if it is your first time here. Great course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.