Atlanta, GA 
Perkerson Park Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #9 (Taken 7/2014)
4 / 374ft.   4 / 526ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Red Tee Sign



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Good intown course

5+    7/1/2015   7/1/2015
Review By: DonSavory
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 7/21/2015
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. Some technical holes, some clear holes, some right, some left, some heavily wooded, some with elevation up and some down. Really good mix. The canal that runs through isn't too deep so if you're willing to get down in canal, you should be able to pull your disc out.

Really is a great course. Long and short pads, well designed, very playable. Baskets are moved every so often which makes it interesting.
Cons: It is in a rougher area of town. Don't leave stuff in your car in the open. Break ins do happen at at the park. Be smart and you'll be fine. I've never felt uncomfortable but feel that if proper precautions are taken like not leaving valuables visible in your car, you should be fine. With that said, I've met a ton of very nice people at the course. Just use proper caution.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with a good amount of variety. It will punish errant shots. 18 is brutal. Infinitely playable. Really love the course. It is a great exercise course because of the elevation changes which adds a great element to the course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beginner's review

1    5/15/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: BluePhish
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging layout with lots of lines and strategy.

Teepads are really cool recycled rubber.

Lots of signature feeling holes.

Nice to have the creek running through the course, adds a lot to the experience.

ITP discgolf in Atlanta

Cons: As most have said the location is the biggest con. I personally never felt uncomfortable, but the maintenance of the park is a bit lacking. Lots of litter/trash on the course, beer cans and butts everywhere. Definitely puts a blemish on a nice natural layout.

There are definitely some spots on the course where you can lose a disc with a bad drive. We found 5 discs while looking for some of ours.
Other Thoughts: I consider this my home course as it is the only one within half an hour of me. I really enjoy the layout and the challenge of it. Great design on many holes. I wish the park were a bit cleaner but the neighborhood is trending in a positive direction so maybe good things are on the way!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

City of Atlanta Park

5+    3/8/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 29.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of elevation change, distance, clear vs forested, etc. Well maintained and continues to improve.
Multiple tees.
Cons: Directional signage in between holes could be a bit better. Probably hard for a 1st timer to figure out some of the holes but it has and continues to improve
Some holes are a bit long for me, especially towards the end.
Other Thoughts: This is the the first City of Atlanta park to have disc golf course since Chastain in the 1980s and it is long overdue. There is heavy demand for in-town courses and this is a step in the right direction. Definitely one of the nicest "new" courses to pop up in Atlanta over the last decade.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I Like It!

1    5/10/2015   5/10/2015
Review By: chuckbob
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some really nicely laid out holes; multiple tee pads and pin locations for every hole; nice mix of tight shots through trees and more open shots. It's in a very beautiful park.
Cons: Wish the creek come into play more than just as a penalty for an overhyzered shot. Some of the holes on the back nine were a little confusing to try to find the next tee pad but I downloaded a copy of the course map from dgcoursereview.com and found them all.
Other Thoughts: The neighborhood may not be the best but I've played in parks in much worse ones in several other cities. It's a 1 mile walk from the MARTA station but easily doable. It's a real winner and, I think, the only course ITP. You really should play this course if you're in Atlanta.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Technical and WIDE open Course

1    3/15/2015   3/16/2015
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 64  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is solid 4.25 course. Better than excellent, not quite phenomenal. It is also a blast to play with some really cool shots. Playing from the black tees, you start with a nice crush from up on a hill, over the creek/valley to basket 350'+ away. Nice way to start. There's two creeks that run through the course that add a nice set of OB lines that quickly come in to play.

Hole 3 is a down hill hyzer shot that if you come it without the brakes fully engaged, you're skipping OB. Fun stuff! Forehands throwers or lefty's, you guys are good.

The course then winds along and up a ridge to hole #6(?) by the basket ball courts. Another fantastic shot is a long fading left shot to a basket down in the trees. Fun to watch the disc fly, then drop out of the sky toward the basket.

For the next 7-8 holes it's picking the sight lines through the trees and executing. Hit your line, putt for bird. Miss the line, putt for 4 or worse!

If the previous 14 holes haven't worn you out, your're good. 'Cause you're about to hit the 'crush zone'. Long Uphill/Down hill and cross hill shots drain the last of your strength! But tough to play 2 rounds from the black.

Also...major, major kudos to the tee pads. Those lowest level of course design was the best I think I've ever played. NIce, poured rubber pads. Very grippy with just a touch of give. Super nice on the knees. Best pads I've ever played on.
Cons: You have to be careful for walkers. They don't know you're there and screaming 'FOUR!!!' like possessed banshee's will not get their attention. They ain't expecting to be hit by plastic are non-too-happy when it happens. Trust me on this.

Neighborhood a block off the course is NOT where you want to be after dark or with a flat tire. Check you gas and don't leave any valuables exposed. Just sayin'...
Other Thoughts: Hole one is a bit tough to find. It's below the main building, and across the creek. Following the water, find the tee pad.

Hole 12 is not where you would expect. You have to cross over 14's fairway to find the tee.

15's is back across the creek after 14.


10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good course, but holy trees.

1    3/15/2015   3/15/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 38  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perkerson is an interesting Park to define. It's a fairly mixed bag multi use park, in a not great part of Atlanta with playgrounds, baseball and basketball courts and a variety of amenities in various stars of repair ranging from pretty good to falling to bits.

The DG course is equipped with two sets of rubber mulch teepds for a short and long layouts that bur the park a ton of looks. These are long grippy and wonderful as long as they are not very wet. Some of the best pads I've thrown from.

The holes are mostly fairly wooded as is the norm for even park style courses in the Atl metro(think Wills or East Roswell).

And there are some very long technical holes. Honestly because of the lines you are forced to hit I threw a lot more airway drivers than normal. And the only time that I could bust out a full power drive was on 18 and even then there are obstacles to contended with.

It's a real challenge but not in a bad way.

The shorts take away some of the most difficult aspects and if your a beginner, not in great shape or playing with a group over 4 play those it will e more fun.

Many holes are difficult to birdie, so make the most of the few less demanding ones like 1, 4and 6 that aren't too hard to get a good look on.

I had a good time because there are such an array of shots you need to be able to throw and execute! That is a key word here. To be successful.

Baskets were fine too nothing special or very new but they can put them in 3 locations and move them frequently. Thank you to who does that!
Cons: This is a bit of a roughish neighborhood, don't play at night.

Also it's a good course in a major metro for free so to s of chuckers and people wandering through.

I also wish the brush were clears out a bit more, there are a few places where there aren't many lines due to not so great landscaping.

Overall to complain much would be nitpicking but I wuld have liked one open bomber hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun place for a round and I would highly recommend it for an Atl metro trip. Though I would put it slightly lower than some other area parks that get less acclaim.

I like it a lot buts it's not quite a 4 to me.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/7/2015   3/7/2015
Review By: pjhayes7
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tough course, not impossible, but gives you the score you deserve. Although a little long for me to have legit birdie opportunities more than a couple of times, it is always fun to play a challenging course.
-Excellent shredded rubber tee pads.
-Multiple angles of attack. I rarely knew for sure whether to throw backhand or forehand.
Cons: -Could be difficult to navigate without a map, but a map is available if you just take the time to print it out or pull it up on your phone.
-More trash on the ground than I would like to see, including glass. It was better than when I played last summer though.
-As others have mentioned, not the best part of town. I never felt unsafe for my person, but was slightly concerned for my vehicle. I think just like in any city if you make sure not to leave valuables in the open, you would be fine. There were plenty of other patrons including individuals and families using the parks other facilities, so it can't be that bad.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

ITP Heaven

1    10/20/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: kasonmoody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Some of the best tee pads in the Atlanta area.
- Great mix of open and wooded holes, the open holes are still very challenging.
- Varying levels of difficulty per hole, which keeps it fun. You may have an ace chance one hole, and a double bogey the next. Keeps you on your toes.
- To be the only course in the city of Atlanta, it is a gem!
Cons: - Bad side of town, go during day-light hours!
- Make sure you play with someone who has played the course before! Confusing to find the next holes in many locations.
- Random people walking through the course, one lady was taking a nap on one of the tee-pads.
Other Thoughts: This course is simply awesome. Not too much to add. Visiting Atlanta? This HAS to be on your list of courses to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best in Atlanta

5+    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid rubber composite tees, great baskets. Excellent golf lines through a great variety of landscape. Great use of elevation and existing landscaping, such as the creek that runs through the course in a hand stacked rock walled culvert. Nice signs. 3 pin placements, two tees per hole (usually).

Fantastic start to the course.. Hole one starts on a cliff over the creek, with a challenging long drive (many choices of shot, forehand or backhand as on most holes here) on a grassy slope with scattered large trees guarding the pin. All but hole 11 have some sort of elevation change, sloped landing, or both.

The constant elevation change is balanced.. I never felt like I was sick of throwing one direction or the other. There's a great flow through the more open parts of the park, and up and down the forested hillside.

The fairways never felt lucky to me. There is a definite line on every hole, and it's totally reasonable. Most holes have more than one line which is wonderful. Getting off the fairway is always punishing as it should be, but still possible to save par with a stellar recovery shot, which is very refreshing in Georgia where courses are often carved out of a thicket and the rough is totally unplayable.

Several standout holes that I always remember and look forward to playing again, especially hole one off the cliff, hole two throwing through a row of large pines toward a pin on the edge of an OB culvert, hole 11 which is the only flat hole, needing a long controlled drive to stay out of the woods and the rock walled creek, and the very challenging par 5 hole 18, which requires three perfectly placed drives along one of two routes to birdie or par. This hole can be a score killer.. I've teed off on 18 at -3 and finished the round over par.

Cons: Everyone mentioned navigation.. I used the map on my phone the first time back when there weren't tee pads or signs and didn't have a problem. You'll need a map of some sort.

Holes 8 and 13 are very similar, and when the pins are in the same position the similarity is exaggerated. Should always have one in the long and one in the short. Especially since 14 is the same shot.. Though I love hole 14, it's the only area where the course feels repetitive. Another straight shot downhill.

An indicator of which position the basket is in would be great. I've seen this on other championship courses (which this is) such as Tyler in PA and it's such a nice feature. No big deal, but helpful when the distances are pretty different and it's hard to tell by eye.

Reviewers mentioned long walks.. I didn't really mind any of them, but yeah there are a couple of longish connections. Again, not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I first played this course when it was barely permanent, and have waited to see it finished before reviewing it. I think the designers and volunteers did a fantastic job, especially considering all the restrictions that come with building inside a city if Atlanta park. The length and variety of the course are excellent, and most importantly it's been fun to play since I first started and couldn't break +10 to now when I can get a couple under par. Always a challenge and always rewarding even at various skill levels. I've only played the long tees, but now that there are short tees installed I'd be curious to see how they play. Very nice to have the choice.

I play mostly championship difficulty courses in the northeast, and not only is this the best course in Atlanta, it stands favorably with the other highly rated courses I've played. Really enjoy it and always look forward to a round when I'm in Atlanta.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course in the heart of Atlanta

2-4    7/13/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: Rich.Carrozza
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Where do I start? Perkerson Park is simply gorgeous. This course may seem like it's in a not so great part of town, but it really is. The park is well maintained. Tee pads are the composite rubber blend and are great! The money spent for the pads and tee signs was well worth it. Signs are phenomenal. Each hole has multiple pins and most have multiple tees.
Cons: Fairways were a little bit overgrown but it is the dead of summer. Not too many cons to talk about here. No trashcans or benches, but I'm sure they'll be added in time.
Other Thoughts: This course really is pro material. Tons of elevation changes. The designers really worked hard and it shows. This truly is a high risk, high reward course. Go big or go home. Nice few wooded holes and some great open bombs to be had here. Perkerson offers plenty of technical holes, but nothing to get frustrated over. All in all a solid course. Definitely worth the trip if you're within 100 mile radius.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.