Atlanta, GA 
Perkerson Park Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #6 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 184ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee Sign



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Perkerson Park

5+    6/19/2016   6/22/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 69  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has rubber tee pads for both tees

Has excellent tee signs

Has many benches throughout course

Has multiple basket placements for all holes

Has next tee signs posted throughout

Good mix of open/wooded fairways with doglegs and elevations

Water comes into play on some of the holes but holes #11 and #18 are the only ones that are really a factor in losing a disc

Challenging, long course with variety of pars

Free parking at multiple locations

Restrooms
Cons:
Baskets are hard to locate on some holes - need flags or bright paint

Some holes such as 5, 7, 9 have rough areas and need more maintenance

Canal running through the course can be treacherous to get in and out of if you throw your disc in

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are long walks between 4&5, 6&7, 14&15, and 11&12 requires crossing over hole #14 fairway

Not in the best of Atlanta's neighborhoods - recommend parking in the lot near hole #4 tee pad

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with parkgoers and players
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice challenging multi-use course that is the only one with 18 holes inside the perimeter of Atlanta and is tournament-quality. This course is pretty solid and will require a variety of shots to shoot a low score. The park is scenic and well established with tall, mighty trees and a good amount of shade. Playing the black tees are definitely challenging. I have heard of break-ins at this course via Facebook but have not experience this personally. The parking lot near hole #6 seems to be more secluded so I would recommend not parking at this one. Watch out for yellow jackets here...I got stung multiple times after accidentally disturbing a nest on hole #7 while looking for my disc from an errant drive.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Course So Far.

1    3/13/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: Codiferus
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This area is clearly dedicated to disc golf, where most courses seem to just be wooded areas with disc golf catchers.
-The course is long and offers a huge variety of holes.
-This is the only course I've played on that actually had a par 5 hole.
Cons: -Might be a bit much for newer players, because of length of the course and also the skill required on certain holes.
-The location of the course isn't that good.
Other Thoughts: -I've only played on 7 courses so far and I've only played this one once, but it's my favorite course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful & Challenging

2-4    1/6/2016   1/6/2016
Review By: TroyBurns
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging pro and intermediate course in an old city park with old oaks and pine. Wooded holes are highly navigable and long from black tees. I'm an intermediate and have thrown mid 70's from the black tees. Just after you have ben bogied all over the course you hit a par 5 18 to kick you in the nethers. This is a course I will return to play often.
Cons: Its in the hood. Don't pass go and head straight to the course, someone might jack you on the way for that $200. Inside the park there have always been lots of golfers, walkers, kids on playground and activity. Seems safe enough to me with a clean and empty car.
Other Thoughts: Oregon Park remains my favorite course in the metro ATL. This is my second favorite

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    12/2/2014   9/28/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Solid course with quite a bit of elevation changes and a ton of variety in hole type. From wooded holes to open ones and a ton that are pretty much in-between, you will throw discs down and to the right or up to the left and every fairway is fair. Approachable for new players and interesting for veterans. The design here is really top notch and the play itself is highly recommended. The park is multi-use but the footprint is huge so while you will see plenty of other facilities, none come into conflict with the course itself besides random walkers who just see grassy areas. The course has some solid length and I think most will appreciate the challenge that is provided by the lines that it demands. For those who aren't up for that, the short tees are muchsimpler.
Cons:
Navigation has some rough spots and 1 can be particularly difficult to find. You will definitely need to bring the map with you as many transitions are not obvious. This will get frustrating at times, even with the map.
Other Thoughts:
The course can feel unsafe but you likely won't see many issues in day light hours apparently. However, do not take a cab there. A lot of people may fly into Atlanta and have things to do downtown and it may be tempting to skip out to the course but unless you have a car this is a bad idea. Getting another cab to come out there to get you when you are done is going to be a struggle as they don't want to come out there to get you. If you want a pick up after 18 holes, your best bet is calling on hole 3. Good course but not worth the hassle of dealing with any public transportation in the area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good intown course

5+    7/1/2015   7/1/2015
Review By: DonSavory
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 10/9/2015
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. Some technical holes, some clear holes, some right, some left, some heavily wooded, some with elevation up and some down. Really good mix. The canal that runs through isn't too deep so if you're willing to get down in canal, you should be able to pull your disc out.

Really is a great course. Long and short pads, well designed, very playable. Baskets are moved every so often which makes it interesting.
Cons: Lot of complaints about it being in a rougher part of town. Don't leave valuables visible in your car and you should be fine. This is something you should do anyway.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with a good amount of variety. It will punish errant shots. 18 is brutal. Infinitely playable. Really love the course. It is a great exercise course because of the elevation changes which adds a great element to the course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beginner's review

1    5/15/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: BluePhish
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging layout with lots of lines and strategy.

Teepads are really cool recycled rubber.

Lots of signature feeling holes.

Nice to have the creek running through the course, adds a lot to the experience.

ITP discgolf in Atlanta

Cons: As most have said the location is the biggest con. I personally never felt uncomfortable, but the maintenance of the park is a bit lacking. Lots of litter/trash on the course, beer cans and butts everywhere. Definitely puts a blemish on a nice natural layout.

There are definitely some spots on the course where you can lose a disc with a bad drive. We found 5 discs while looking for some of ours.
Other Thoughts: I consider this my home course as it is the only one within half an hour of me. I really enjoy the layout and the challenge of it. Great design on many holes. I wish the park were a bit cleaner but the neighborhood is trending in a positive direction so maybe good things are on the way!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

City of Atlanta Park

5+    3/8/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 30.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of elevation change, distance, clear vs forested, etc. Well maintained and continues to improve.
Multiple tees.
Cons: Directional signage in between holes could be a bit better. Probably hard for a 1st timer to figure out some of the holes but it has and continues to improve
Some holes are a bit long for me, especially towards the end.
Other Thoughts: This is the the first City of Atlanta park to have disc golf course since Chastain in the 1980s and it is long overdue. There is heavy demand for in-town courses and this is a step in the right direction. Definitely one of the nicest "new" courses to pop up in Atlanta over the last decade.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I Like It!

1    5/10/2015   5/10/2015
Review By: chuckbob
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some really nicely laid out holes; multiple tee pads and pin locations for every hole; nice mix of tight shots through trees and more open shots. It's in a very beautiful park.
Cons: Wish the creek come into play more than just as a penalty for an overhyzered shot. Some of the holes on the back nine were a little confusing to try to find the next tee pad but I downloaded a copy of the course map from dgcoursereview.com and found them all.
Other Thoughts: The neighborhood may not be the best but I've played in parks in much worse ones in several other cities. It's a 1 mile walk from the MARTA station but easily doable. It's a real winner and, I think, the only course ITP. You really should play this course if you're in Atlanta.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Technical and WIDE open Course

1    3/15/2015   3/16/2015
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 70  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 7.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is solid 4.25 course. Better than excellent, not quite phenomenal. It is also a blast to play with some really cool shots. Playing from the black tees, you start with a nice crush from up on a hill, over the creek/valley to basket 350'+ away. Nice way to start. There's two creeks that run through the course that add a nice set of OB lines that quickly come in to play.

Hole 3 is a down hill hyzer shot that if you come it without the brakes fully engaged, you're skipping OB. Fun stuff! Forehands throwers or lefty's, you guys are good.

The course then winds along and up a ridge to hole #6(?) by the basket ball courts. Another fantastic shot is a long fading left shot to a basket down in the trees. Fun to watch the disc fly, then drop out of the sky toward the basket.

For the next 7-8 holes it's picking the sight lines through the trees and executing. Hit your line, putt for bird. Miss the line, putt for 4 or worse!

If the previous 14 holes haven't worn you out, your're good. 'Cause you're about to hit the 'crush zone'. Long Uphill/Down hill and cross hill shots drain the last of your strength! But tough to play 2 rounds from the black.

Also...major, major kudos to the tee pads. Those lowest level of course design was the best I think I've ever played. NIce, poured rubber pads. Very grippy with just a touch of give. Super nice on the knees. Best pads I've ever played on.
Cons: You have to be careful for walkers. They don't know you're there and screaming 'FOUR!!!' like possessed banshee's will not get their attention. They ain't expecting to be hit by plastic are non-too-happy when it happens. Trust me on this.

Neighborhood a block off the course is NOT where you want to be after dark or with a flat tire. Check you gas and don't leave any valuables exposed. Just sayin'...
Other Thoughts: Hole one is a bit tough to find. It's below the main building, and across the creek. Following the water, find the tee pad.

Hole 12 is not where you would expect. You have to cross over 14's fairway to find the tee.

15's is back across the creek after 14.


10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good course, but holy trees.

1    3/15/2015   3/15/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 51  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perkerson is an interesting Park to define. It's a fairly mixed bag multi use park, in a not great part of Atlanta with playgrounds, baseball and basketball courts and a variety of amenities in various stars of repair ranging from pretty good to falling to bits.

The DG course is equipped with two sets of rubber mulch teepds for a short and long layouts that bur the park a ton of looks. These are long grippy and wonderful as long as they are not very wet. Some of the best pads I've thrown from.

The holes are mostly fairly wooded as is the norm for even park style courses in the Atl metro(think Wills or East Roswell).

And there are some very long technical holes. Honestly because of the lines you are forced to hit I threw a lot more airway drivers than normal. And the only time that I could bust out a full power drive was on 18 and even then there are obstacles to contended with.

It's a real challenge but not in a bad way.

The shorts take away some of the most difficult aspects and if your a beginner, not in great shape or playing with a group over 4 play those it will e more fun.

Many holes are difficult to birdie, so make the most of the few less demanding ones like 1, 4and 6 that aren't too hard to get a good look on.

I had a good time because there are such an array of shots you need to be able to throw and execute! That is a key word here. To be successful.

Baskets were fine too nothing special or very new but they can put them in 3 locations and move them frequently. Thank you to who does that!
Cons: This is a bit of a roughish neighborhood, don't play at night.

Also it's a good course in a major metro for free so to s of chuckers and people wandering through.

I also wish the brush were clears out a bit more, there are a few places where there aren't many lines due to not so great landscaping.

Overall to complain much would be nitpicking but I wuld have liked one open bomber hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun place for a round and I would highly recommend it for an Atl metro trip. Though I would put it slightly lower than some other area parks that get less acclaim.

I like it a lot buts it's not quite a 4 to me.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.