Atlanta, GA 
Perkerson Park Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #14 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Red Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
DG in the ATL, for the win!

1    1/1/2014   1/6/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 173  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Variety: Wonderful terrain has you playing uphill, downhill, over gullies, and on a few relatively flat fairways through a mix of wooded/well-wooded/semi-open holes, over short/med/long distances, with enough twists and turns to make you use every shot in your bag. Elevation brought into play in several ways off the tee and also on pin placements to make you think about putts and approaches. Distances vary enough to encourage using putters, mids, fairways and distance drivers off the tee, with several holes playing longer or shorter than posted due to the elevation change from tee to pin.
• Equipment: Tees of recycled rubber look and feel good under foot and are present on most tees (but not all... yet). Carpeted mats are employed where rubber hasn't been installed yet. Dual tees provide reasonably different looks, challenges, and sometimes elevations. Titan baskets were in great shape, caught well and seemed particularly very heavy duty to perform well for a long time. Lacks decent tee posts/signs (but I won't ding for that as the Course Info page says they're coming).
• Aesthetics: Genuinely a beautiful course that's a pleasant walk in the woods with delightfully hilly terrain, complete with a babbling brook that winds its way through the park, coming into play on several holes. A few have you throwing over it, but it's more formidable on the fairways runing along it. Fortunately, it isn't deep enough to pose a serious threat of disc loss. Nice touches abound, with nicely framed tee boxes and an interesting pin placement on 15 that's up on a hillside, nicely shored up with timbers to combat erosion and enhance eye-appeal. Several bridges and natural steps add ambience while helping you get from hole to hole. I noticed several lengths of stuffed netting and rope which seem placed to fight erosion on some of the hilly terrain.
• Challenging without ever feeling unfair. Some holes are tight, some more forgiving, and most offer a few lines with some being more obvious, but all were quite executable and all present a reasonable challenge. Beginners may feel a bit overmatched on some of the tighter holes, but I'd still say it's reasonably well-suited for beginners to advanced players because of the fact that all holes seem quite executable, and the tighter ones can give beginners an appreciation for what they might reasonably expect to achieve over time.
• Memorable holes: I love the way the creek flirts with you on 2, and pin treatment on 15. 12, 13, and 18 also stood out for me, and 4 was a fun Ace run… your preference may vary.
Cons: Admittedly still a work in progress, Perkerson's make-over seems quite successful on the whole, and is likely to improve over the next year or so as signs and more tees are installed. Nonetheless, I feel obliged to state the following:
• My biggest beef is with the "drop-off" at the front of a few of the tee pads … stepping off the front edge of a few tees would prove quite hazardous. Granted, they're so obvious as to not pose much of a "hazard" per se, but they certainly prevent a normal follow through.
• PRINT THE MAP - signs may be on the way, but until then, navigation will very difficult without the map.
• Neighborhood's a bit rough. Locals were very friendly and I had no problems, but it would behoove you to keep anything of value out of your vehicle (or at least out of sight), and to turn down the volume before you pull up to avoid drawing attention to that killer stereo you're so proud of.
• Hard to spot Titan baskets in the woods and shadows - shot of bright paint on the pole would do wonders to enhance visibility.
• Didn't find the short tee for #18.
• A few longish walks between holes, but nothing too bad. Likewise, travelers may need to walk fairways to spot pins, but again, nothing that should affect ratings.
• Leaves, leaves and more leaves - comes with the territory, but it can be tough to find discs that slide under layers of leaves. I won't ding ratings for this, but list it more as a heads up to stock your bag with appropriately colored discs if you can, and that you might want to leave dyed and tie-dyed discs in your car.
Other Thoughts: Job well done! My thanks to those who've donated their blood, sweat and tears, or otherwise had a hand in renovating this course to make it what it is (and will be): an excellent course and a lot of fun to play.

Because Atlanta is a reasonable destination for DG'ers, and the park is 2 measly miles off I-75/85, it's bound to get a lot of visitors, deservedly so. Even though it won't benefit locals (who know the course well), the effort to make baskets more visible in the woods would be well worth it.

It's still a work in progress and I can only rate what's in place when I play, but most of the improvements affecting actual disc play are already in place, with much of the remaining improvements likely to be in terms of signage (other than a few additional tee pads). Perkerson's one of those courses with the variety, beauty and fun factor that make it better than very good, but lacking the kind of epic feel I need to say it's phenomenal, and earns every bit of 4.0 IMHO.

While there may be better courses in the area, there's a good chance this one's the most conveniently located if you're just passing through and don't have the time to venture anywhere. Even if you plan on spending some time in the area, you'll be glad you came.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome inner city course

1    12/30/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: BSumners
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Having played on dirt and concrete pads, I loved the rubber pads. Wonderful feel. Great layout of the course, utilizing elevation gain/loss. Definitely challenging. Great erosion control.
Cons: Would be nice to have a few shorter holes for some birdie opportunities. Could have cut the stumps a little more flush with the ground. Maybe a more clear marking of where hole one is.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    10/14/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very challenging layout - newly created tee pads , very nice park setting . A couple very challenging island greens .
Cons: Borderline dangerous neighborhood , several long walks to tees , including steep climbs , difficult to navigate first time playing , occasional pedestrian interference .
Other Thoughts: Will test your cardio a bit , definitely worth playing .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

trying to be upbeat

1    10/19/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: friskydiscy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: So much potential, some great holes, good location
Cons: layout was confusing, barely anything marked, save some money from the goats and put up signs please.
Other Thoughts: It's in the building stages and they are doing it right, but I just hated playing it at this stage of the game. We got lost even playing with a friend who has played it a few times before. Going to be one of the best around very soon though.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course in city limits

2-4    10/16/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 190  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 22.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a lot of hard work that has gone into developing this course - it's evident in the beautiful new baskets, teepads, and sheep-eaten shule that seems to be under control. There are stone steps going up many of the hills and a wonderfully tiered green on hole #15. Much of the course has great risk-reward factors with a creek that runs along the edges of fairways, and a few well-placed pins on steep slopes. There are many drives that must be controlled, or you will lose much ground having to pitch out of thick rough.

I never usually mention anything about baskets or tees, but these are unique to me - so I will give them props. The pins are the new Gateway Titans - very thick metal, bomber, and chains that attach to rings at 3 points, which dampen the disc speed greatly and catch fast-moving discs nicely. The baskets are deep too. The tees are recycled rubber and are soft and cushy (more than the Flypads). I really liked these - and there are two tees on every hole - a bonus.

I enjoyed my play here - as the course was a mix of heavy woods and city park wooded grass fairways. The challenges were many.
Cons: Hole #3 pin was uncomfortably close to Hole #4 tee pad.

The walks between many holes were quite long. Hole #1 for starters is quite far from the parking area. Other long walks are to the tees of #5, #7, #12, #15, and from #18 back to #1. Fortunately, these walks yielded good holes, but nothing mind blowing.

Use the map. If you don't, you will become lost and angry. There is no signage yet, except for a few random signs sitting on the ground (#12 tee has a sign leading to it).

A few old carpeted tees need to be replaced, but it seems that this will be happening soon, since all the others have been.
Other Thoughts: This course should mature nicely. I would have given it a higher rating, but somehow this lacked a WOW factor for me. How do you make holes more exciting? I have only a couple of recommendations so far: Hole 18 lacks a great landing zone (from the long tee especially). It seems more of a pitch to achieve a reasonable 2nd shot. I feel the same about the landing zone on #9 from the long tee. It just is a very weirdly shaped fairway.

I felt the long pins were catered to the 350-375' thrower. If your drives don't reach this distance, you will have trouble scoring any birdies. I think longer tees should be not just longer, but require more skill, not just distance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Becoming one of the best in GA!

2-4    9/22/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: KatanaFrenzy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perkerson is developing into a very high quality course. It has really sweet Titan baskets that have 3 sets of chains and are surprisingly and strangely quite. They also are adding new recyclabled rubber teepads that are really really nice. The teepads are also all very nice, very level and very long. They have 16 pads finished and have left #11 and #18 original pads as of the end of Sept.

The Perkerson Park Course uses most of its avalible land and it uses it well. You play up and down several hills and play along and over the creek on several holes. Those aspects along with large trees, and short green grass make some tee shots very scenic as you try to navigate toward the basket.

Most of the holes also have a very well defined fairways that also have multiple routes to reach the basket. Earlier in the year when I played this course there were a lot of briars and vines on the sides of the fairways (Shule). Recently there have been some goats that have helped out and are making the course look amazing! They just eat that shule right up! It makes the course look much more professional and high caliber course. (Which it is!)

I know this course is also going to continue to get better because of the maintenance and upgrades it continues to receive. Can't wait to see this course in a few more months!




OUTLINE:
- Great use of land.
- Lots of elevation changes.
- Well defined fairways.
- Variety of shots.
- Tee pads.
- Titan Baskets.
- Groomed well. (Thanks to the Goats!)
- Constant upgrades and maintenance by locals.
Cons: Like everyone else said it is in a rough side of town. But I went on a Sunday and had no problem and felt no worry.

There aren't any noticeable teesigns or tee notifiers at the moment.

Flow is not the greatest because of the longish walks between different holes. Examples include hole #4 to hole #5, hole #6 to hole #7, hole #11 to hole #12 (Walk through #14's fairway here) and hole #14 to hole #15. Those transitions can be difficult to navigate for a first timer. When next tee signs and tee signs are added this wouldn't be too big of a problem besides walking through #14s fairway to #12.

The teepads are awesome when dry. But they are slick when wet.

Hole #1 is in a strange position. I think it should start at #4 or on #6 near either of the parking lots.

Also it can be slick and sort of difficult walking up to hole #1 and hole #5. I would like to see some sort of steps or maybe just gravel. The clay there now is slick when wet.

OUTLINE:
- Ghetto.
- No teesigns or next tee signs.
- Not the best of flow.
- Teepads slippery when wet.
- Awkward starting point.
- Difficulties on walk up to #5 and #1.
Other Thoughts: Perkerson Park really is a phenomenal course. It has numerous of beautiful shots that display wonderful types of elevation and well groomed landscapes. I am giving it a 4.5 because my cons are really minor things and I'm sure the locals are preparing to fix those things soon. And I played a day after it rained so some of those things will not matter as much when it's dry. Like the walk to #1 to #5 and slippery teepads. Also the goat fence was on those paths for that day so it made it an extra challenge.

Please take the time and head out to that park. It is starting to get popular and less sketch so don't be scared homie and go play disc golf on this beautiful course!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Love the new tee pads!

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: D Slanger
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tee pads are amazing!! Challenging holes mixed with a few easy birdies. Very good up keep of the fairways with multiple routes to the bucket on some holes. Sweet water park to play in when you need to cool off. A great variety of shots with long and short holes. The baskets are pretty cool, but I wish they were louder. I like to hear them clank, lol. Over all it is a great course. I can't wait to see the finished product.
Cons: It's in the ghetto, don't go alone. The course is not very well marked from tee to tee. Holes 1 and 5 are tough to get to.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

It's close, that's where the positives end

2-4    8/5/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: captain_d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
6 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: It's the only course in city limits. Parking is easy (lock your doors). Hole #1 and Hole #16/17 are pretty fun as well.
Cons: Where to start? First off, it's completely ghetto, so get your round in early in the day. There will be random bums walking around the course, so don't play alone either. In addition to a lot of litter throughout the course, there is zero signage as to where the next hole is located, you have to guess. The supplied map on this site is a good reference point, but they have moved the pins/tees since the file has been uploaded.

The tees are too far from the pins. Most of the time you can't even see the pin from even the front tees, and if you can see it, EVERY shot will be extremely tight and discouraging to new players trying to enjoy themselves.

The tee pads are almost non-existant (with the zero signage and guides), and are usually muddled up gravel which makes it extremely hard to get a good stance when teeing off.

The course is borderline unplayable as of August '13 due to extremely high grass, kudzu, bugs, etc. You will lose a disc if you don't hit a tee shot perfectly almost every time. My friends and I have to improvise tee boxes and/or skip a couple holes just for piece of mind and to make it playable. Terrible course in my opinion. I'd rather just drive the extra 20-25 minutes and play Redan or East Roswell. This course is extremely difficult even when it is well manicured and not in the good way.

Hole 18 is completely shoehorned in. It shows that they didn't really have a good design initially and just threw #18 in to get you back to the lot. 800+ feet for no good reason other than terrible design.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my least favorite course I've ever played. I know it is still "under construction" but I've played here for almost a year now, and doubt it's ever going to be completed. A concealed permit would be advisable to play out here as well.

6 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Good But Not Great

1    7/25/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Nice layout for many of the holes along the creek. Challenging but fair
*Excellent use of elevation changes
*Very good baskets
*Good mix of left and right curves
*Good variety of holes (until you reach the woods)
*Several holes are really well designed. 2 and 3 use the creek nicely. 16 is brilliant, the basket is perfectly placed among the trees.
Cons: *Tees are not yet finished. They'll be nice when done. They'll be concrete with stone walls around them on the elevation. The day we were there workers were doing the stone work. They had one the wood forms for the concrete for the tees backwards (15 or 16 I think), with the narrow part pointing away from the basket. We pointed this out to them, hopefully they fix it before pouring concrete.
*It is very hard to find your way around the park. A few simple signs directing you to the next hole, or even helping you find the basket from the tee, would help.
*Some of the holes in the woods have very little realistic "fair"way. I'm OK with this as long as the course is balanced with woods/open shots, and if there is variety in the wooded holes. Perkerson is right on my personal edge of having too many tightly wooded holes. Also, some of the wooded holes seemed too much alike. This is totally subjective, and I'd gladly play again, but it will never be a favorite because of this.
*The tee for the fifth hole was right behind a wall of trees/brush. That's fine for a "pro" tee, but there should be an option for beginners that allows for an open throw. Maybe there is one that we couldn't find (see note about finding your way around the course).
*18 is 850 feet uphill with a creek on the left and a narrow pathway through trees to reach the basket. Nice idea, but it seemed difficult for the sake of being difficult, nothing more. Why not divide that section of the course into two holes and eliminate one of the repetitive pinball holes in the woods?
*Add some benches or seating to give people a chance to rest.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed myself at Perkerson Park. Many of my "cons" are based on the fact that the course is still under construction. Given some time, my rating could go up. I'm rating it as it was when I played it, not on its potential.

Speaking of potential...Courses mature as they are used, as things like navigation signs, benches, etc. are added. This course should mature into a close to great one.

FEB 2014 UPDATE: I received a personal message from an ATL DGer that may of my "cons" have been addressed (I noted the park was under construction when I played it in the summer of 2013.) I would love to play this course again to see how the improvements have been incorporated into what I described last summer as "close to a great" course. I'm not sure if I'll make it back to ATL (from Michigan) any time soon, but I would highly recommend that if you're in the area, you should check out this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Emotions

1    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: alex513ninja
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely fantastic course with all the shots. Although still in installation phase the course plays like a well established course. Very tough and challenging yet very fair. Most shots are fairly open and utilize mature trees while some play through very tight woods. Nice use of elevation change. Gateway baskets almost guarantee putts that hit chains will drop in basket.
Cons: My car got broken into in the parking lot, probably due to out of town plates. Ipod, iphone gps and two wallets stolen. Definitely carry all valuables on person or leave them at home.
Other Thoughts: Flow can be a little confusing at times, even with the map due to basic design that lacks wooded areas of course. Once course is totally complete i would rate it a 5. Would easily be one of my favorite courses except i'm still salty about the theft issue. People who say this is not in a sketchy neighborhood are a little off base. I would agree that its just a typical urban setting if i had left my car unlocked and items stolen but the lock was busted out. Forced entry into a vehicle symbolizes a bad neighborhood in my book. I have accidentally left my doors unlocked several times, at other courses, and returned to find nothing missing.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.