Atlanta, GA
Perkerson Park Share
Uploaded By: WAS1  
Park Sign



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Journeying Through Atlanta

1    3/12/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: moore1927
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Wow I really loved this course. A couple friends and I played 4 courses in the Atlanta area, and this was the best by far. This is a beautiful park located in the middle of Atlanta. Visually, it is a beautiful place with streams, forested area, open spaces and bridges and more. It was like a breath of fresh air to play at this course. As far as play, the course was also very dynamic. There are short and long holes, wooded and open, with a variety of directions and turns required. It looks like they rotate basket locations as well, because there are 3 different spots on the diagram, and 3 boxes near the basket, which one is occupied by a basket. I will go back this Sunday while I'm in town for sure.
Cons: I haven't played many courses, but this is the best I have ever played. I can't think of any cons.
Other Thoughts: This is more than a good course to play, it's a great experience to have. If you're choosing a place to go throw in the Atlanta, you have to come here.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Course Designer's Review

5+    3/9/2014   3/20/2014
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 91  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 15.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perkerson is one of Atlanta's most beautiful and little known parks. The park is about 50 acres that was previously used as a farm. The terrain features moderate sloping hills, mature trees (both widely scattered and a mature hardwood forest), and Perkerson Creek - which flows the length of the park in a historic hand-stacked-stone channel. It's perfect disc golf terrain and is the reason a course was pursued in this park specifically. Perkerson is one of the most scenic courses in Atlanta (along with JP Moseley and Flyboy). This park is pleasant year-round with ample shade in the hot summer months, and a recently added splash-park to cool off in or to let your kids play in while you play a round.

The design is fair and devoid of lucky spots, so if you play smart you can score well. Lots of risk and reward: many holes have OB in play from the creek or roads, and most holes feature sloped terrain. Most holes have multiple lines supporting a variety of shots, no real advantage to being right or left handed.

Due to grant funding, we have amazing teepads and hole signage. Due to volunteer labor we have sculpted fairways and incredible stone stairs and other improvements.

Long tees are designed for advanced level and most holes have gold level pin placements for tourney play; short tees are designed for beginners through rec/int level tourney players.

This is meant to be a challenging course. It is one of Atlanta's longest courses and has several legit par 4's and a 750' par 5 #18. Beginners will find it difficult and longer than some other courses, but it's still very enjoyable for beginner players due to the scenic setting.
Cons: The main con is that the course is maintained fully by volunteers at this point in time. The course is still very new and plays through many areas where invasive species (privet, ileagnus, etc) had fully invaded before the course came. We've cut much of it out, but it still grows back, so the course can get overgrown at times during the summer.

We have tight restrictions about tree removal, so there are a few trees that we would remove if we could, but we can't. Other restrictions prevent us from adding a kiosk; we are not allowed to build one, and would have to pay $5,000 to use the one allowed by design ordinances.

Navigational signage and trash cans have not yet been installed. The teepads ate up most of the grant funding, so these items have not been funded yet. Hopefully coming soon and until then, please pack it out and bring a map. Inter-hole navigation is very easy except for the transitions through the creek area.

The neighborhood isn't as rough as it appears, you will probably see women walking their dogs alone in the park while playing. But definitely be aware that Southwest Atlanta has the highest crime rates in Atlanta. Don't leave valuables in plain view in your car or you are asking for a break-in (same goes for parking anywhere in Atlanta). I only know of one car break-in from 2007 to 2012 at the park, but we have had increased recent issues as people have noticed the increased disc golf traffic.
Other Thoughts: I designed and helped build this course. It has evolved from 2007, when we set it up for weekly league play with portables, to the final installed version that opened in March 2014 after we spent a nearly $50,000 grant in 2013/2014 to install teepads and signage. I have reviewed many courses and this rating is where Perkerson fits in to me relative to other courses I've played and is as non-biased as I can make it. I've been waiting to review it until it's finished, which just happened. Some of the earlier reviews are a bit misleading and don't reflect the finished product.

This course is located in a high profile city of Atlanta park. After the course was initially approved in late 2010, we spent all of 2011 going through master plan process for Perkerson Park by the Atlanta Beltline group. The master plan is the reason Hole #1 seems to be located in the middle of the park. In the master plan, the main gravel parking lot is removed and turned into green-space. The master plan is also the reason for many long transitions; we are using every inch of land we're able to, and are not allowed to play through many areas. Many areas are purposely not, or are minimally used for safety reasons.

Most of the grant funding was spent installing teepads (27 installed summer 2013 and 9 installed winter 2014) and signage (installed march 2014). We also installed over 30 new pin positions in early 2013, so most holes have 3 pins and a few have 2. The course has dramatically improved since summer 2013 because of these changes, so if you played it prior to then, it's gotten much better. That said, we still lack trash cans, a kiosk and navigational signage. Any further improvements must be self-funded and self-installed, which takes time.

The teepads use a poured-in-place rubber material that is made from rubber tires. This is the first course that we know of using this material; it's unique and awesome in every respect (grip, feel, etc) except for durability, which is unknown. The pads poured during the cold months don't appear to be holding up and will likely be replaced soon.

The wooded parts of this course, stairs and trails were built entirely by volunteers using hand tools with somewhere between 1,500 - 2,000 man hours of volunteer labor. The granite stairs were repurposed from an old building (used to be the crack-house bathroom by #6 basket). Volunteers also maintain it.

If you are local to this course, we need your help in maintaining and improving the course to sustain it.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Love this course!

2-4    3/15/2014   3/17/2014
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has been recently redesigned and it is brilliant! Who ever designed this course really understands disc golf...It has the perfect combination of short and longs (distance) and ups and downs (elevation). Also a good mix of tunnel shots (heavily wooded) and wide open shots containing a bit of water (flowing stream). Nearly all of the holes have a recreational and pro tee pad. All of the holes have multiple pin locations making the replay value of this course VERY HIGH.
Cons: The only con of this course is that hole number 1 can be tricky to find. The recreational tee pad is located in the middle of the course.. right next to the stone stream and two bridges. The pro tee pad is directly behind up on the hill. Once you find hole one the signs on each hole make it easy to navigate the course.

One other note; as you drive into this course you may pass through a couple of "rough" neighborhoods". However, the park itself feels very safe.
Other Thoughts: I am not a local.. my buddy and I were only in town for a couple of days and after we played this course the first time we moved around our schedule to fit in another round before we left town. PLAY THIS COURSE!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Best of Atlanta

5+    3/8/2014   3/8/2014
Review By: mullethead326
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Location. It's the only course inside the 285 perimeter. Some reviewers might call the neighborhood/other park users a little rough, but I've never had a problem with vehicle or personal safety any hour between 0600 and 2200. It's within walking distance of a MARTA station--I've met a couple folks coming directly from the airport. On all but a few busy summer weekends, there is ample parking in any of four lots.

-Excellent design--to score well from either set of pads, it requires a mix of power and accuracy. The course uses almost all of the available space in the park. The lines are valid, on most holes there's an advantage to finishing in a particular location on the green. There's a good mix of putter, mid, and driver shots, and with the elevation changes and multiple pin placements, none of the holes feel redundant. About half the course is open with mature trees requiring some shot shaping, and the other half is predominantly cut from the woods. Shot selection is largely at the choice of the thrower rather than imposed by the design, so neither lefties nor righties should feel slighted.

-The teepads are glorious, made from a poured rubber mixture that's porous, grippy, durable, and unlike any others I've ever seen. I rarely slip on them, even when playing during or after rain. Some were played on before curing fully and consequently deteriorating; the ones that were unharmed are in fine shape.

-There's a wonderfully antiqued feel to certain parts of the course, as the main creek is contained by a stone and mortar wall, and four similarly constructed fireplaces framing holes 11 and 18. All of the creekbed plays as OB, which can come into play on 8 holes. Several of the teepads were reinforced by masonry walls, and some trails have granite steps laid into the hillsides. Character out the wazoo. There's additional wooden steps, wooden hillside reinforcements, and drainage ditches throughout the park. Those earthworks are tastefully made so that they're not intrusive.

-I love the Gateway Titan baskets--in over 200 rounds I've had only about three unjust spitouts. They're deep and quiet. Nearly all of them are located so that they're visible from both teeboxes. 14 holes have three basket positions; 4 have two. Most are distinctly different from the other pin placements. Most are framed by 4x4 squares to prevent damage from or to mowers.

-The par 4s and 5 (9, 12, 15, 18) are definite multi-shot holes, but with plenty of ways to get in trouble by straying from the fairway. All of them run substantially uphill, so they play much longer than the posted distances.
Cons: -This course grows super-fast. At certain times of the year, privet, kudzu, and other brushy stuff can make some sightlines and finding discs difficult. The fairways in the woods have some small residual stumps, most cut at ground level but some stragglers remaining.

-In certain light, the baskets can be challenging to spot. Reflective tape or similar would be nice.

-After lots of rain there are some parts of the course that retain lots of water. The paths on 1, 5, down from 10, up to 15, and 17 can be slick and need more erosion control.

-Aside from mowing, all of the course maintenance is done by volunteers and limited contract work. Consequently, it takes time for improvements to be made. "Next tee" signage and a kiosk/large course map are in the works.

-Although the course does not shoot towards any purposely busy areas (as the park includes a playground, tennis courts, baseball fields, basketball courts, and picnic facilities), many dog walkers or local families will walk alongside the creek or cut through the woods. Regular park users have an idea of what disc golf is, and where the course flows, but please be courteous and remember that it's their park as much as it is disc golfers'. Don't throw on them, don't yell at them to move; just be polite and don't throw unless you're certain it's safe for everyone.
Other Thoughts: Favorite holes: Hole 1 is a gorgeous hole driving off a cliff and over the creek; long enough that it's a challenge to reach while maintaining good control. With the OB creek on the left and trees preventing a strictly hyzer route (BH or FH), you've got to know your disc in order to get close enough to putt.

9: This, the first of three par 4s on the course, is tightly wooded and uphill off the tee. Some play this aggressively by flipping or anhyzering a driver and trying to shorten a second shot, but an early mistake often results in jail. Playing a little more conservatively with a midrange isn't a bad play, but just getting to the top of the hill leaves a substantial upshot. Approaching the green is a little more open, but with branches on the edges of the holes that can knock down an errant approach.

17: I love throwing this beautiful downhill par 3 with several ways to get to the pin. The creek on the right is OB, but avoidable; the early trees to the hyzer route are formidable as well.

18: Nearly everyone has strong feelings, positive or negative, about 18. This par 5 can make or break a round. With OB running the entire left side of the hole, and thick shule to the right, staying in the fairway is key, especially as twin uphill fairways approach the green.

Overall, Perkerson Park mixes great elements of disc golf and scenery in a way that doesn't feel like it's 2 miles from downtown Atlanta, and is absolutely worth the experience.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

DG in the ATL, for the win!

1    1/1/2014   1/6/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 144  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 9.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Variety: Wonderful terrain has you playing uphill, downhill, over gullies, and on a few relatively flat fairways through a mix of wooded/well-wooded/semi-open holes, over short/med/long distances, with enough twists and turns to make you use every shot in your bag. Elevation brought into play in several ways off the tee and also on pin placements to make you think about putts and approaches. Distances vary enough to encourage using putters, mids, fairways and distance drivers off the tee, with several holes playing longer or shorter than posted due to the elevation change from tee to pin.
• Equipment: Tees of recycled rubber look and feel good under foot and are present on most tees (but not all... yet). Carpeted mats are employed where rubber hasn't been installed yet. Dual tees provide reasonably different looks, challenges, and sometimes elevations. Titan baskets were in great shape, caught well and seemed particularly very heavy duty to perform well for a long time. Lacks decent tee posts/signs (but I won't ding for that as the Course Info page says they're coming).
• Aesthetics: Genuinely a beautiful course that's a pleasant walk in the woods with delightfully hilly terrain, complete with a babbling brook that winds its way through the park, coming into play on several holes. A few have you throwing over it, but it's more formidable on the fairways runing along it. Fortunately, it isn't deep enough to pose a serious threat of disc loss. Nice touches abound, with nicely framed tee boxes and an interesting pin placement on 15 that's up on a hillside, nicely shored up with timbers to combat erosion and enhance eye-appeal. Several bridges and natural steps add ambience while helping you get from hole to hole. I noticed several lengths of stuffed netting and rope which seem placed to fight erosion on some of the hilly terrain.
• Challenging without ever feeling unfair. Some holes are tight, some more forgiving, and most offer a few lines with some being more obvious, but all were quite executable and all present a reasonable challenge. Beginners may feel a bit overmatched on some of the tighter holes, but I'd still say it's reasonably well-suited for beginners to advanced players because of the fact that all holes seem quite executable, and the tighter ones can give beginners an appreciation for what they might reasonably expect to achieve over time.
• Memorable holes: I love the way the creek flirts with you on 2, and pin treatment on 15. 12, 13, and 18 also stood out for me, and 4 was a fun Ace run… your preference may vary.
Cons: Admittedly still a work in progress, Perkerson's make-over seems quite successful on the whole, and is likely to improve over the next year or so as signs and more tees are installed. Nonetheless, I feel obliged to state the following:
• My biggest beef is with the "drop-off" at the front of a few of the tee pads … stepping off the front edge of a few tees would prove quite hazardous. Granted, they're so obvious as to not pose much of a "hazard" per se, but they certainly prevent a normal follow through.
• PRINT THE MAP - signs may be on the way, but until then, navigation will very difficult without the map.
• Neighborhood's a bit rough. Locals were very friendly and I had no problems, but it would behoove you to keep anything of value out of your vehicle (or at least out of sight), and to turn down the volume before you pull up to avoid drawing attention to that killer stereo you're so proud of.
• Hard to spot Titan baskets in the woods and shadows - shot of bright paint on the pole would do wonders to enhance visibility.
• Didn't find the short tee for #18.
• A few longish walks between holes, but nothing too bad. Likewise, travelers may need to walk fairways to spot pins, but again, nothing that should affect ratings.
• Leaves, leaves and more leaves - comes with the territory, but it can be tough to find discs that slide under layers of leaves. I won't ding ratings for this, but list it more as a heads up to stock your bag with appropriately colored discs if you can, and that you might want to leave dyed and tie-dyed discs in your car.
Other Thoughts: Job well done! My thanks to those who've donated their blood, sweat and tears, or otherwise had a hand in renovating this course to make it what it is (and will be): an excellent course and a lot of fun to play.

Because Atlanta is a reasonable destination for DG'ers, and the park is 2 measly miles off I-75/85, it's bound to get a lot of visitors, deservedly so. Even though it won't benefit locals (who know the course well), the effort to make baskets more visible in the woods would be well worth it.

It's still a work in progress and I can only rate what's in place when I play, but most of the improvements affecting actual disc play are already in place, with much of the remaining improvements likely to be in terms of signage (other than a few additional tee pads). Perkerson's one of those courses with the variety, beauty and fun factor that make it better than very good, but lacking the kind of epic feel I need to say it's phenomenal, and earns every bit of 4.0 IMHO.

While there may be better courses in the area, there's a good chance this one's the most conveniently located if you're just passing through and don't have the time to venture anywhere. Even if you plan on spending some time in the area, you'll be glad you came.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome inner city course

1    12/30/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: BSumners
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Having played on dirt and concrete pads, I loved the rubber pads. Wonderful feel. Great layout of the course, utilizing elevation gain/loss. Definitely challenging. Great erosion control.
Cons: Would be nice to have a few shorter holes for some birdie opportunities. Could have cut the stumps a little more flush with the ground. Maybe a more clear marking of where hole one is.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    10/14/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very challenging layout - newly created tee pads , very nice park setting . A couple very challenging island greens .
Cons: Borderline dangerous neighborhood , several long walks to tees , including steep climbs , difficult to navigate first time playing , occasional pedestrian interference .
Other Thoughts: Will test your cardio a bit , definitely worth playing .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

trying to be upbeat

1    10/19/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: friskydiscy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: So much potential, some great holes, good location
Cons: layout was confusing, barely anything marked, save some money from the goats and put up signs please.
Other Thoughts: It's in the building stages and they are doing it right, but I just hated playing it at this stage of the game. We got lost even playing with a friend who has played it a few times before. Going to be one of the best around very soon though.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course in city limits

2-4    10/16/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a lot of hard work that has gone into developing this course - it's evident in the beautiful new baskets, teepads, and sheep-eaten shule that seems to be under control. There are stone steps going up many of the hills and a wonderfully tiered green on hole #15. Much of the course has great risk-reward factors with a creek that runs along the edges of fairways, and a few well-placed pins on steep slopes. There are many drives that must be controlled, or you will lose much ground having to pitch out of thick rough.

I never usually mention anything about baskets or tees, but these are unique to me - so I will give them props. The pins are the new Gateway Titans - very thick metal, bomber, and chains that attach to rings at 3 points, which dampen the disc speed greatly and catch fast-moving discs nicely. The baskets are deep too. The tees are recycled rubber and are soft and cushy (more than the Flypads). I really liked these - and there are two tees on every hole - a bonus.

I enjoyed my play here - as the course was a mix of heavy woods and city park wooded grass fairways. The challenges were many.
Cons: Hole #3 pin was uncomfortably close to Hole #4 tee pad.

The walks between many holes were quite long. Hole #1 for starters is quite far from the parking area. Other long walks are to the tees of #5, #7, #12, #15, and from #18 back to #1. Fortunately, these walks yielded good holes, but nothing mind blowing.

Use the map. If you don't, you will become lost and angry. There is no signage yet, except for a few random signs sitting on the ground (#12 tee has a sign leading to it).

A few old carpeted tees need to be replaced, but it seems that this will be happening soon, since all the others have been.
Other Thoughts: This course should mature nicely. I would have given it a higher rating, but somehow this lacked a WOW factor for me. How do you make holes more exciting? I have only a couple of recommendations so far: Hole 18 lacks a great landing zone (from the long tee especially). It seems more of a pitch to achieve a reasonable 2nd shot. I feel the same about the landing zone on #9 from the long tee. It just is a very weirdly shaped fairway.

I felt the long pins were catered to the 350-375' thrower. If your drives don't reach this distance, you will have trouble scoring any birdies. I think longer tees should be not just longer, but require more skill, not just distance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Becoming one of the best in GA!

2-4    9/22/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: KatanaFrenzy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perkerson is developing into a very high quality course. It has really sweet Titan baskets that have 3 sets of chains and are surprisingly and strangely quite. They also are adding new recyclabled rubber teepads that are really really nice. The teepads are also all very nice, very level and very long. They have 16 pads finished and have left #11 and #18 original pads as of the end of Sept.

The Perkerson Park Course uses most of its avalible land and it uses it well. You play up and down several hills and play along and over the creek on several holes. Those aspects along with large trees, and short green grass make some tee shots very scenic as you try to navigate toward the basket.

Most of the holes also have a very well defined fairways that also have multiple routes to reach the basket. Earlier in the year when I played this course there were a lot of briars and vines on the sides of the fairways (Shule). Recently there have been some goats that have helped out and are making the course look amazing! They just eat that shule right up! It makes the course look much more professional and high caliber course. (Which it is!)

I know this course is also going to continue to get better because of the maintenance and upgrades it continues to receive. Can't wait to see this course in a few more months!




OUTLINE:
- Great use of land.
- Lots of elevation changes.
- Well defined fairways.
- Variety of shots.
- Tee pads.
- Titan Baskets.
- Groomed well. (Thanks to the Goats!)
- Constant upgrades and maintenance by locals.
Cons: Like everyone else said it is in a rough side of town. But I went on a Sunday and had no problem and felt no worry.

There aren't any noticeable teesigns or tee notifiers at the moment.

Flow is not the greatest because of the longish walks between different holes. Examples include hole #4 to hole #5, hole #6 to hole #7, hole #11 to hole #12 (Walk through #14's fairway here) and hole #14 to hole #15. Those transitions can be difficult to navigate for a first timer. When next tee signs and tee signs are added this wouldn't be too big of a problem besides walking through #14s fairway to #12.

The teepads are awesome when dry. But they are slick when wet.

Hole #1 is in a strange position. I think it should start at #4 or on #6 near either of the parking lots.

Also it can be slick and sort of difficult walking up to hole #1 and hole #5. I would like to see some sort of steps or maybe just gravel. The clay there now is slick when wet.

OUTLINE:
- Ghetto.
- No teesigns or next tee signs.
- Not the best of flow.
- Teepads slippery when wet.
- Awkward starting point.
- Difficulties on walk up to #5 and #1.
Other Thoughts: Perkerson Park really is a phenomenal course. It has numerous of beautiful shots that display wonderful types of elevation and well groomed landscapes. I am giving it a 4.5 because my cons are really minor things and I'm sure the locals are preparing to fix those things soon. And I played a day after it rained so some of those things will not matter as much when it's dry. Like the walk to #1 to #5 and slippery teepads. Also the goat fence was on those paths for that day so it made it an extra challenge.

Please take the time and head out to that park. It is starting to get popular and less sketch so don't be scared homie and go play disc golf on this beautiful course!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.