Atlanta, GA 
Perkerson Park Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #8 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 280ft.   3 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A true pleasure to play.

1    11/27/2016   11/29/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 73  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 2.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (4.125 Rating) This course is a true pleasure to play.
- UNIQUENESS - What I enjoyed most about Perkerson Park was the uniqueness and variety in the holes themselves. There are a couple of dogleg 4's, A short but challenging par 5, water elements in play, pocket shots, window shots, tunnel fairways, unique pin placement elements and so on. There are not too many bomb it holes if you're the type that can push it over 400. I did find 15 to be a good hole to let it rip. I also tried ripping it on 9 but smacked a tree. I ended up 100 foot dead right of the tree it hit, and took a 6.
- ELEVATION - A nice amount of elevation changes. A couple up shots and several down shots. However, the max elevation change on any one hole is about 40-50 feet.
- SHOT SELECTION - I probably played 70% backhand and the rest flicks. Most drives need to be well thought out and placed, especially on the holes thru the woods (Holes 7,8,9,10,12,13)
- CHALLENGING - One of the more challenging courses I've played. It will definitely challenge your game as you'll have to tactically attack each hole and be willing to settle or scramble for par and even boggy when things don't go your way. Probably only pros and higher end advanced players break course par on a routine basis.
- CHARACTER - There is fairly accurate hole signage throughout the course. Most of the tees are shaded well and there are two tees for pros and ams at nearly all the holes. There are multiple pin placements on every hole, most with an A, B, and C location. There is seating at a few holes. There is a practice basket by tee #1 as well. The community board however, was void of a course map and any club material. Not sure if it was the day I played or if it's normally that way.
- TEE PADS - Rubber pads of adequate length and width. The traction and footing on them is solid. As good as concrete, or better.
- SPACING - Pretty good, except for the journey between 11 to 12. There's really no shot of ending up in another fairway in lieu of grip-lock or pinging a tree. Tees are generally separated well from the prior baskets but not annoyingly far with a couple of exceptions. 4-5 and 6-7 and 14-15 are all over a 200 foot walk.
- NAVIGATION QUES - There are next tee signs everywhere. Among the most I've seen on any course I've played thus far. It really helped out a lot. I did however have to refer to my phone map a few times though.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The raw beauty was well above average. Most courses I've played it's just an afterthought... not here. Not every course is so lucky to be partially located on a 60 foot ledge and have a gentle 10 foot wide creek running though it. I'm glad that several pin locations took use of these natural features.
Cons: I find no major complaints about Perkerson but I'll add a few minor ticky tack things.
- TIME PLAY - Course is not a quick play. Plan to be here 3 hours or more for a group of 4 to complete 18 holes.
- OVERGROWTH - Although I played at a time when the overgrowth was mostly dead, I still spent significant time looking for my disc on the holes through the woods. Lots of leaves just wanted to conceal my disc. I predict the overgrowth must get bad towards the end of the rainy season.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This is not a beginners course. The odds of losing a disc here is probably higher than normal, especially when the overgrowth peaks or when the creek is at its banks.
- LOCATION - Although easy to get to from I75. The journey from the freeway to the park runs through some blighted areas. However, the area directly adjacent to the park itself, appears nice.
- VANDELISM - The hole signage on 11 was heavily damaged. There was also a bit more trash than you'd typically see on an average course. I've read on earlier posts that much has improved in terms of the trash clean-up with the help of the club. So kudos to them in their work thus far.
- PIN LOCATION PEG - I had to run up a few fairways to judge the pin locations. It would be nice to incorporate a pin location peg system at the tee area. I'll add that there are bright yellow flags on top of the baskets to help with locating the basket down fairway.
Other Thoughts: Perkerson Park is the 50th new course I've played in 2016 as well as my 50th review. What a treat. One of the best of the 70 courses I've played as of this review. If your an Intermediate player or above and in the Atlanta area, you need to play this course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

An adventure in the forest.

2-4    10/18/2016   11/13/2016
Review By: programchaos32
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perkerson park is in a gorgeous forest in the heart of Atlanta, this course was very challenging, which is a pro to me, lots of opportunities to use forehand or backhand, clearly delineated pathways, lots of twists and turns and overall a very varied and balanced course that did not easily give up her birdies to me and my buddy.
Cons: Random people wandering through the course, the course is partially in a neighborhood where car theft is a little more prevalent apparently, if you catch it right after a hurricane there may be a few leaves here and there.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really loved Perkerson park and I'd come here over and over again if I lived in Atlanta. It has a variety of uphill and downhill shots and a lot of twists and turns that make it challenging from either tee it seems (we only did the hard tees). There was a good variety of distances between each hole and the flow to each hole was very consistent also. The only drawback that I could find to the course was that it was only kinda in a shady neighborhood. Just don't be there after dark!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Perkerson Park

5+    6/19/2016   6/22/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 87  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has rubber tee pads for both tees

Has excellent tee signs

Has many benches throughout course

Has multiple basket placements for all holes

Has next tee signs posted throughout

Good mix of open/wooded fairways with doglegs and elevations

Water comes into play on some of the holes but holes #11 and #18 are the only ones that are really a factor in losing a disc

Challenging, long course with variety of pars

Free parking at multiple locations

Restrooms
Cons:
Baskets are hard to locate on some holes - need flags or bright paint

Some holes such as 5, 7, 9 have rough areas and need more maintenance

Canal running through the course can be treacherous to get in and out of if you throw your disc in

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are long walks between 4&5, 6&7, 14&15, and 11&12 requires crossing over hole #14 fairway

Not in the best of Atlanta's neighborhoods - recommend parking in the lot near hole #4 tee pad

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with parkgoers and players
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice challenging multi-use course that is the only one with 18 holes inside the perimeter of Atlanta and is tournament-quality. This course is pretty solid and will require a variety of shots to shoot a low score. The park is scenic and well established with tall, mighty trees and a good amount of shade. Playing the black tees are definitely challenging. I have heard of break-ins at this course via Facebook but have not experience this personally. The parking lot near hole #6 seems to be more secluded so I would recommend not parking at this one. Watch out for yellow jackets here...I got stung multiple times after accidentally disturbing a nest on hole #7 while looking for my disc from an errant drive.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Course So Far.

1    3/13/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: Codiferus
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This area is clearly dedicated to disc golf, where most courses seem to just be wooded areas with disc golf catchers.
-The course is long and offers a huge variety of holes.
-This is the only course I've played on that actually had a par 5 hole.
Cons: -Might be a bit much for newer players, because of length of the course and also the skill required on certain holes.
-The location of the course isn't that good.
Other Thoughts: -I've only played on 7 courses so far and I've only played this one once, but it's my favorite course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful & Challenging

2-4    1/6/2016   1/6/2016
Review By: TroyBurns
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging pro and intermediate course in an old city park with old oaks and pine. Wooded holes are highly navigable and long from black tees. I'm an intermediate and have thrown mid 70's from the black tees. Just after you have ben bogied all over the course you hit a par 5 18 to kick you in the nethers. This is a course I will return to play often.
Cons: Its in the hood. Don't pass go and head straight to the course, someone might jack you on the way for that $200. Inside the park there have always been lots of golfers, walkers, kids on playground and activity. Seems safe enough to me with a clean and empty car.
Other Thoughts: Oregon Park remains my favorite course in the metro ATL. This is my second favorite

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    12/2/2014   9/28/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Solid course with quite a bit of elevation changes and a ton of variety in hole type. From wooded holes to open ones and a ton that are pretty much in-between, you will throw discs down and to the right or up to the left and every fairway is fair. Approachable for new players and interesting for veterans. The design here is really top notch and the play itself is highly recommended. The park is multi-use but the footprint is huge so while you will see plenty of other facilities, none come into conflict with the course itself besides random walkers who just see grassy areas. The course has some solid length and I think most will appreciate the challenge that is provided by the lines that it demands. For those who aren't up for that, the short tees are muchsimpler.
Cons:
Navigation has some rough spots and 1 can be particularly difficult to find. You will definitely need to bring the map with you as many transitions are not obvious. This will get frustrating at times, even with the map.
Other Thoughts:
The course can feel unsafe but you likely won't see many issues in day light hours apparently. However, do not take a cab there. A lot of people may fly into Atlanta and have things to do downtown and it may be tempting to skip out to the course but unless you have a car this is a bad idea. Getting another cab to come out there to get you when you are done is going to be a struggle as they don't want to come out there to get you. If you want a pick up after 18 holes, your best bet is calling on hole 3. Good course but not worth the hassle of dealing with any public transportation in the area.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good intown course

5+    7/1/2015   7/1/2015
Review By: DonSavory
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 10/9/2015
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. Some technical holes, some clear holes, some right, some left, some heavily wooded, some with elevation up and some down. Really good mix. The canal that runs through isn't too deep so if you're willing to get down in canal, you should be able to pull your disc out.

Really is a great course. Long and short pads, well designed, very playable. Baskets are moved every so often which makes it interesting.
Cons: Lot of complaints about it being in a rougher part of town. Don't leave valuables visible in your car and you should be fine. This is something you should do anyway.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with a good amount of variety. It will punish errant shots. 18 is brutal. Infinitely playable. Really love the course. It is a great exercise course because of the elevation changes which adds a great element to the course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beginner's review

1    5/15/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: BluePhish
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging layout with lots of lines and strategy.

Teepads are really cool recycled rubber.

Lots of signature feeling holes.

Nice to have the creek running through the course, adds a lot to the experience.

ITP discgolf in Atlanta

Cons: As most have said the location is the biggest con. I personally never felt uncomfortable, but the maintenance of the park is a bit lacking. Lots of litter/trash on the course, beer cans and butts everywhere. Definitely puts a blemish on a nice natural layout.

There are definitely some spots on the course where you can lose a disc with a bad drive. We found 5 discs while looking for some of ours.
Other Thoughts: I consider this my home course as it is the only one within half an hour of me. I really enjoy the layout and the challenge of it. Great design on many holes. I wish the park were a bit cleaner but the neighborhood is trending in a positive direction so maybe good things are on the way!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

City of Atlanta Park

5+    3/8/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 30.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of elevation change, distance, clear vs forested, etc. Well maintained and continues to improve.
Multiple tees.
Cons: Directional signage in between holes could be a bit better. Probably hard for a 1st timer to figure out some of the holes but it has and continues to improve
Some holes are a bit long for me, especially towards the end.
Other Thoughts: This is the the first City of Atlanta park to have disc golf course since Chastain in the 1980s and it is long overdue. There is heavy demand for in-town courses and this is a step in the right direction. Definitely one of the nicest "new" courses to pop up in Atlanta over the last decade.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I Like It!

1    5/10/2015   5/10/2015
Review By: chuckbob
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some really nicely laid out holes; multiple tee pads and pin locations for every hole; nice mix of tight shots through trees and more open shots. It's in a very beautiful park.
Cons: Wish the creek come into play more than just as a penalty for an overhyzered shot. Some of the holes on the back nine were a little confusing to try to find the next tee pad but I downloaded a copy of the course map from dgcoursereview.com and found them all.
Other Thoughts: The neighborhood may not be the best but I've played in parks in much worse ones in several other cities. It's a 1 mile walk from the MARTA station but easily doable. It's a real winner and, I think, the only course ITP. You really should play this course if you're in Atlanta.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.