Atlanta, GA 
Perkerson Park Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #18 (Taken 7/2014)
5 / 460ft.   5 / 750ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Red Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
Mixed Emotions

1    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: alex513ninja
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely fantastic course with all the shots. Although still in installation phase the course plays like a well established course. Very tough and challenging yet very fair. Most shots are fairly open and utilize mature trees while some play through very tight woods. Nice use of elevation change. Gateway baskets almost guarantee putts that hit chains will drop in basket.
Cons: My car got broken into in the parking lot, probably due to out of town plates. Ipod, iphone gps and two wallets stolen. Definitely carry all valuables on person or leave them at home.
Other Thoughts: Flow can be a little confusing at times, even with the map due to basic design that lacks wooded areas of course. Once course is totally complete i would rate it a 5. Would easily be one of my favorite courses except i'm still salty about the theft issue. People who say this is not in a sketchy neighborhood are a little off base. I would agree that its just a typical urban setting if i had left my car unlocked and items stolen but the lock was busted out. Forced entry into a vehicle symbolizes a bad neighborhood in my book. I have accidentally left my doors unlocked several times, at other courses, and returned to find nothing missing.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Perkerson's pleasures

1    6/29/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 242  Reviewed: 135  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perkerson Park is a fantastic disc golf course, and an instant favorite for me. So many great holes. A high percentage of the holes are lengthy and/or up or downhill. The trees are mature, and there are open, grassy portions, but the woods are prominent about half the time, and will provide clear and defined fairway lanes. The first hole tells the story perfectly. A downhill, anhyzer (RHBH) around 360'. Two is 400' downhill, hyzer this time. Several holes on this course will tempt you to throw multiple drives, sometimes out of frustration, sometimes for fun. Through 5 or six holes, it may not seem too difficult. Once you enter the woods it adds another layer of demands. Around hole 7 you ease into the woods. On hole 8 the trees take over. 8 is steep downhill through mature woods. Loved the consistent and usually considerable changes in elevation. 9, 10, and 11 are all solid. I think it was hole 12 preceded by al stair climb. At the top, is a long hole, way uphill. 14 is another fun, lengthy downhiller, and if you can keep it centered a deuce is in order. Better eat your Wheaties and some spinach before this one, it is a hike. We played there on a hot day, and I almost ran out of gas on the second nine. 15 over the hill and far away. 16 is average. 17 is downhill hyzer-city bomb. The last hole, at 850 feet, uphill all the way, laughs in your face before dismissal.

Course conditions were good, even following a week of considerable rainfall. Several other players were helpful in navigating the course when we went astray. Course design is a very nice mixture of challenging holes, however many are still within reach of the tee box. A few white signs point directions on paths in between holes. The front and back nine could be played independently if your pressed for time. I liked finally getting to play some Gateway Titan baskets in a park somewhere east of the Mississippi River. They are very cool if you ask me.
Cons: I started on the wrong hole (it turned out to be 5) before asking directions from somebody else. The first hole is not closest to the parking, but I understand why it is first. The tee boxes are not concrete in most cases, usually a black mat, and signage could be added or improved as well. Some of the transitions between holes are long, and a few stairs are thrown in there, too. We did waste some time looking for the next box once or twice, and also teed in the wrong direction on hole 16, way downhill, instead of way uphill. There were many other park goers on the Saturday we played, once or twice we were delayed by pedestrians. Dogs must be on a leash.
Other Thoughts: Perkerson Park is still in the process of finishing touches, but a great course as is. You should have this one on the wish list if you haven't played it already. Some really amazing holes! If there was no other traffic other than disc golfers, and concrete tee pads, I would strongly consider giving Perkerson a 5. I think my rating will remain at 4.5, even after installation is complete. Somewhat reminds me of Flat Rock Park in Columbus, VaDuMar in Boiling Springs, SC, and Robert L. Smith in Charlotte, NC.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Gem in Atlanta!

1    3/30/2013   4/16/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout - The course design is simply fantastic. It plays through a public park which incorporates a nice open area with nice green grass and tall hardwoods, along a nice old stone channeled creek (no real danger of losing a disc, but you might get wet), and through a heavily wooded hillside. The creek is the centerpiece, and hills rise on both sides. There are holes playing both across and along the creek, as well as up, down, and along the hillsides. There is a great mix of hole lengths as well. Hole 4 is 220 ft with a 20ft elevation drop easily reachable with a putter, and hole 18 is 850 ft uphill through the woods to a basket that is about 30ft higher in elevation than the tee pad.

The Baskets - I am not sure if these are custom built or production baskets, but they are much nicer than what I am used to. There were 3 rows of chains and the thickest basket metal that I have ever seen. They caught discs nicely, and barely made a sound.

Plenty of parking and public restrooms available.
Cons: There were a few, but most of them are likely to be remedied in the near future. As mentioned by the course description, this course is a work in progress.

Tee pads - The tee pads are carpet, and while most appear to be in their permanent positions, some have flags in new locations.

Benches - There aren't any, and this course is a serious walk. They will be a welcome addition when they go in.

Signage - Since the course design has changed some in the last year, the current tee sings (laminated paper stapled to wooden stakes) are not accurate for several holes. The distances listed on the DGCR scorecard appear to be correct.

The hillside walking up to hole 1 (which is also used to access 3 other tee pads for different holes, looks like it will be prone to erosion issues. Hopefully the volunteers that are putting in this course have a plan for landscaping and shoring up this area. I would likely be slippery after rain, and could really use better stairs cut into the hillside.
Other Thoughts: I read a lot of the reviews before playing this course, and was very excited to play the new layout. It did not disappoint, and was quite challenging from the first hole to the last.

Several previous reviewers mentioned the neighborhood as a con. While not one of Atlanta's richer areas, I would definitely not call this a 'bad neighborhood'. The park itself is beautiful and peaceful (which is amazing considering its proximity to Downtown Atlanta.

I will definitely play this course again on my next trip to the ATL. Hopefully I can make it to a tournament!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful park! Some people mention that it is in a sketch neighborhood, but that is not at all the case...Yes, you are in south Atlanta, but the park is very serene and non-discgolfers are only present on the first couple of holes and have never been an issue in my experiences at this course. And as for the course itself, Perkerson has a little bit of everything; great uphill, downhill, left-turning, right-turning, straight, heavily-wooded, moderately-wooded, and lightly-wooded holes! It is a difficult course that will test your accuracy. Also, the creek that runs through the middle of the course adds some extra beauty to the course. If your in the area, Perkerson shouldn't be missed!
Cons: This course is relatively new, and as such is still somewhat a work in progress. For the time being, the lack of good signage and the carpet teepads (often very short) are the two most noticeable cons. The good news is that there is a group of dedicated golfers that are putting in A LOT of time to making the necessary improvements. I hear that teepads and signage are in the near future for this course!
Other Thoughts: For the time being, you should definitely print off a course map or try and play with a local if it is your first time here. Great course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse

5+    3/17/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: SystemTramp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: A coarse that is short in Ft but is still pretty tough. Tons of elevation. Trees hills and the creek running though the park provide awesome obstacles to make this a favorite of mine
Cons: #1 can be tricky to find for newcomers. the trails can be a little mushy after rains. carpeted tee box could be a little nicer
Other Thoughts: i live about a half mile from this coarse so send me a message if you wanna play a round.

Perkerson Park

5+    2/8/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 97  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2014
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perkerson Park is a beautiful city park nestled in the Sylvan Hills/Capitol View neighborhood in downtown Atlanta. Among other things, the park offers a playground, ball fields and pavilions but most importantly, it is home to what many regard as one of the best disc golf courses in Atlanta.

The park itself seems like a place that just radiates disc golf. You cannot deny that you have driven by some random piece of property and said to yourself, "There's a disc golf hole!" Well, this whole park is full of areas like that. Mature trees pepper the property as rolling hills define the landscape. Deeper in the course you will play through a more wooded area/hardwood forest. Nearly century old stacked stone walls line a creek that meanders through the park and shows itself several times as you play through. There are old stone fireplaces throughout the course that just add to its character. The course has a one of a kind atmosphere and it will certainly be memorable.

After several years of folks only being able to enjoy playing it as a temporary course, it is finally a permanent fixture. As any of the locals will tell you, it was well worth the wait. Many folks will miss some of the holes in the old temporary layout that were not included in the final design. However not many will complain about what the new design has to offer. After all, the new design incorporates something that the old design was missing, wooded holes.

From hole one's memorable tee shot shooting off a cliff all the way through hole eighteen's challenging par 5, you see a little bit of everything. Complementing the round finishing par 5 is a trio of par 4's on holes nine, twelve, and fifteen. Overall, depending on which pads you choose and the current pin placements, you will be playing somewhere between 5284' and 6867' on this par 59 layout.

You will discover that just about every design element is here! You will see plenty of elevation changes with both up and down shots scattered throughout the design. In addition, they are not just straight up and down either, most of them sweep left and right as well. Hole nine's par 4 is especially nice as it plays up and over a hill, across a shallow valley, then finishes slightly uphill again. You will find a great balance of open to tightly wooded shots as well. While the open holes allow for the big arms to "air it out", they cannot just indiscriminately throw without concern. The designs on the open holes ask for good placement for follow up shots and there are some obstacles to navigate. Once you get into the woods, you will have to be much more precise. Not many folks will accuse these holes of being unfair, but you will have to play smart. Overall, you will find that many of the park's features come into play including the creek. Almost half of the holes have a risk of OB water with some more dangerous than others. Eleven and eighteen are probably the most common OB water shots as the holes play alongside the creek. You will find unique holes throughout with greens situated on an island peninsula, a rocky hillside and even a terraced elevated basket. Overall this a well thought out and well-designed course.

As far as amenities go, this course has a lot to offer. Beginning with tee pads, they are a really nice and unique rubber surface. From what I understand, the pads poured in place from a batter of ground tires and EPMD rubber. It created a synthetic surface similar to what you may have seen on playgrounds or walking trails. They work great and appear to be holding up pretty well. All but one hole has duel locations with the shorter of the two geared to the recreational level player. 6x6 timbers border the pads and they look great. On a few, they are elevated with some nice hand laid stacked stone retaining walls. In both cases, they are unique and everyone seems to love them. The baskets are the very rugged and heavy duty Gateway Titans and they are top notch. Interestingly, they are much quieter than any basket I have ever played before. There are multiple pin locations with the majority holes boasting three placements. The tee signs are custom-made galvanized steel stands with Houck Design "Premium" signs. As a bonus, there is a second sign on the short pad as well the long pad. Volunteer installed stone steps (repurposed from an old structure in the park) on a few holes are also a welcome addition. Three bridges existed prior to the course. As luck would have it, they are in the perfect locations and work great for the course's layout. There is a nice pavilion between the parking lot and hole one that is great for tourney central or just a place to have lunch. There is also a covered area with several charcoal grills if cooking out is of interest.
Cons: As far as course design or playability is concerned, I really do not have a whole lot of complaints. There is a time or two where weird transitions from hole to hole can trip you up. The transition from eleven to twelve and from fourteen to fifteen comes to mind. Some good next tee signs would be helpful in this area. Printing a course map your first visit will save you some time looking around.

No bathroom (or at least it is usually closed) and no drinking water at the course. There are no trashcans on the course and some say that is a con. Pack it in/pack it out. (There are trashcans at the pavilion)

Not unlike a handful of other Atlanta courses, most of the maintenance is by volunteer labor. The city takes care of the grass in the open areas but during the summer, some of the wooded areas can be overgrown. (Note that a volunteer/adopt-a-hole program has recently been implemented. I am hopeful the majority of this will not be an issue in the future).

The course, although in a neighborhood undergoing revitalization, is in an economically and culturally diverse area. It may not hurt to be cautious and observant during solo rounds, and maybe even while playing in small groups. The bigger issue is car break-ins. While comparatively rare given the number of visitors to the course, I certainly would recommend you leave valuables at home and not in the car.
Other Thoughts: It has been fun watching and playing this course as it has transformed into what it is today. I remember when it was a temporary course set up for a weekly league and occasional tourneys. The tee pads were flag marked grass areas and the majority of the baskets were fabric. To see where it is today is just special.

To John Ritger and the others who made this course possible, thank you! Moreover, thanks to the countless others who put in the incalculable hours to make the course what it is today. This course is one of the reasons Atlanta disc golf is great. I cannot wait to see it improve even more in the years to come.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.