Eldon, MO
Airpark Field Share
Uploaded By: Redshirt Hole #9 (Taken 11/2013)
-- / --   3 / 400ft.   3 / 471ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
nice coarse

5+    2/15/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: kirk
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads, well maintained, great use of available space, good signage, alternate tee's
Cons: A little close to ball field , but not really a problem
Other Thoughts: You can tell that the local club has put a lot of work into this coarse, this is a very enjoyable well thought out coarse, I look forward to every round there... thanks for all the hard work, you guys are aces

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/30/2013   1/3/2014
Review By: dakota_dummermuth
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Just recently got all concrete tee pads on the course, as well as trimmed up some of the wooding around a few pads to make them easier to see from the walkway. new signs will be the next thing going in. should be looking great in 2014!
Cons: can get a little swampy through the winter, but most courses do.
Other Thoughts: Really excited to see the improvement of this course of the next couple years.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course to play

1    5/28/2012   6/4/2012
Review By: Bleedblue34
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There seems to be a good variety of holes at the course.
The park is always well manicured and seems to be well cared for an updated.
It is not the most challenging course, but is a fun course and alt tees make it longer and completely changes how some of the holes play.
I am new to disc golf and the local/league players have been very helpful, supportive and friendly.
Tee signs at every hole
New concrete tee pads!
Cons: A few of the tee signs have been beat up a little.
While the walking path serves as a good OB, it does get some walkers from the nearby park, not a huge deal.
The tee box for 1 can be a little inconvenient on evenings when there are softball games going.
Other Thoughts: This is my first review and I have only played a few courses, but it is what it is...

As far as variety of shots...
1 is pretty basic, slightly uphill
2 offers the chance for a nice long anhyzer to a well protected basket
3 offers a tight tunnel shot or a throw up and over the trees. Alternate tee makes it one of the best holes at the course, it is a long straight tunnel shot that if thrown well leaves you a good birdie chance.
4 is a long straight hole with OB very close on the right side...looking for a disc on the other side of the fence is never fun.
5 is open to whatever you want to do, as long as you don't go long.
6 is narrow, OB on the left with a nasty tree line on the right.
7 is a little tight out of the tee box and has OB on the left (nasty thorn bushes).
8 is short, but with well protected green long, left and right are bad news.
9 is straight and long.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A Quick and Fun Challenge

1    7/19/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: Schirm
Played: 42  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good tee signs and I found it easy to navigate the course.

- It's been very dry in the area for the last month, so the creek was dried up.

-Nice Innova Discatchers all in great shape. Elevated pin on #4.

-It was 95+ degrees out when I played but playing 3 or more rounds of 9 holes would be easy in a little cooler weather.

Cons: -Dirt tee pads. Since the holes didn't play very long, this wasn't a huge bother.

-If your staying anywhere around the Lake of the Ozarks, this is pretty much your only option outside of driving 90 or more minutes.
Other Thoughts: I take a week vacation to the Lake of the Ozarks area every year and I will plan to play this course each time.

The Ozarks are such a beautiful part of the country, I wish there was more courses around. This course, however, was a plesant surprise.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/26/2010   10/26/2010
Review By: wraithman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: 1. a dg course in middle MO.
2. Nice baskets with yellow rims.

This course was a surprise to find. The park is nice. Each hole marked with a sign most with multiple pin selections. They are hand made at this point but do the trick. There is a few shots that contend with a water hazard. Has a good tunnel shot.
Cons: The drainage wasn't the greatest but it has rained a bunch the day before. Need cement tees and i dont think i saw any trash cans.
Other Thoughts: If you at the lake of the ozarks and going back west hit this up on the way through and knock it off the list.

 Nice quiet course

2-4    6/27/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Duramax86
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
Pros: Excellant beginners coarse an a nice variety of shots. The creek made it quite interesting since there were trees close by. No real long shots for those who dont have as much throwing power.
Cons: Basket 3 a little hard to find. (its on a ridge in the trees). On the back side of the course the is a row of apartment housing. could be marked a little better.
Other Thoughts: Will play it again when I come thru that area!

  Nice tight course in small village park

2-4    5/22/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: Drewn3ss
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A pleasant suprise to find a dg course in the middle of nowhere. Short tees provide a very nice course for the beginner. All tees have a nice sign detailing pin location. Pins are all nice big Yellow Innova baskets...Can't miss 'em. 3 is a nice hard tunnel drive 100 feet to a 90 degree dog-leg right. 4's pin up in the tree is an excellent touch. 6 has a 45 degree dog-leg right, that if you try to take it too early gets you into some brush that'll add two strokes. 8 plays 250 feet to a creek crossing up to the tree speckled green. 9 plays left to right up a slight incline and tucked into a huge goalie of a tree.
Cons: Hard to find long tees.

Hard to find 7 & 8 after 6. Hint, go to through the creepy/muddy wooded path to the right of 6's pin, walking about 10 feet off the creek. You'll see 7 after you poke back out into that big field where 5 was.

Holes 1, 5, 7 are just wide open fields without much interest and very hot in the direct sun w/out shade.

The creek crossing for hole 6 requires finagling yourself from a muddy creek bank onto some pallets. An excellent scout project would be to fashion a permanent bridge over this path.

Lots of trash back in the woods between 6 and 7, probably from local kids hanging out.
Other Thoughts: After playing this course a second time after being told by some locals where to find 7&8, I think 8 is one of my favorite holes on this course. Some arrows on the top of the baskets to point to the next tee would be a great addition to this course for new visitors.

Perfectly playable park, and I gather they've been doing some development as the tees are now well marked with nice signage.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Eldon Airpark

1    6/21/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 118  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets in great shape and hole signs readable. I've only played four DG courses and this is my favorite so far. I enjoyed the holes that were located in or behind the trees as it provide a little more difficult shots.
Cons: Some of the holes were hard to find. Holes 7 and 8 especially. A walking path zig zags through the course and a ballfield is nearby. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the closest courses to my house at this time. I'll play this one over and over again. I really enjoyed the layout and the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Vacation in Ozarks

1    7/22/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: G-MIL
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of small area of land. For a 9 hole course this was decent play through the strip of wooded area and open area. Easy to find.
Cons: Long tees need to be marked out better and direction from hole to hole could be addressed differently. Plays near ball diamonds which I can imagine gets busy during games.
Other Thoughts: For a 9 hole course this actually impressed me. I've played plenty of 9 holers in my day and this one was the best lain out i've played before. I wish this would have been 12-18 since it's the only course I played while in the Ozarks but like said above DG is better than no DG.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/6/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: nick65049
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a good challenging course but can be played by everyone. It was enjoyable for the whole family. I found all the tee's easily.
Cons: There were people just walking around because it is a park by a residential area. So there are a lot of people always taking their kids to the park and just taking a walk around the park.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the park. I have played a few other parks including all the parks in springfield and the one at Southwest Baptist University and i would say that this one will be one i wouldn't mind playing over and over again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.