Nelsonville, OH
Hocking College DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #14 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 150ft.   3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Short Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
first time on this course.

1    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: valiant
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots. Technical course. Very rugged terrain. Nice placement of trashcans and benches.
Cons: Almost half of the tee signs are missing. Some tee pads had mud and standing water on them.
Other Thoughts: Has potential to be a very good course. I personally don't think it is all par threes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/24/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: Django
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of variety
Love the woods
Lots of ace opportunities
Lots of technical play
Cons: Not in love with the tees
Some very unforgiving areas
Excessive walking
Multiflora rose

Other Thoughts: always a fun playable course
would like to see more modifications

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice public course at local college.

1    8/10/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course takes great advantage of wooded terrain, and the hike through the forest itself is just as enjoyable as the round. Caretakers have done a tremendous amount of work building trails, steps, and bridges to accomodate the course.

- Good variety of holes requiring plenty of shot types. Elevation changes and varying shot shapes abound. Also has a decent mix of open versus wooded holes.

- Signage is great in terms of hole layout and navigating from one hole to the next tee.
Cons: - Finding the start of the course isn't necessarily obvious. No welcome signs at the start of campus reference where the course is located. I found Hole 18 near the lot where I parked and walked around a little until I figured things out.

- The first three holes are right in the middle of campus, and even during summer session it was a bit crowded. I'm not generally a huge fan of being on display to ambivalent spectators, let alone having to throw around them.

- The hike to the wooded portion of the course is fairly long and the hikes in general are steeper than I imagine some older or casual players may be able to comfortably navigate.

- I only found out about the "don't miss left" rule from the course website after my round, which included a thirty minute period scaling the side of a ravine looking for my driver on Hole 7. It's worth walking each hole tee to green before throwing off to get a feel for course layout, as there are some pretty significant dropoffs.

- New hole maps on the tees look like they're using hieroglyphics. Old signs with drawings were better, but this is probably a nitpick.
Other Thoughts: Please note that the course has been redesigned since some of these pictures have been posted. Course configuration is drastically different since adding new holes, it seems.

I often travel to Hocking County for work and, having taken up frisbee golf earlier this summer, I was delighted to find a public course at the college, as I pass through Nelsonville on each trip. Generally speaking, the course is a lot of fun and it's nice that something like this is available to the community. I was in a hurry and wish I had more time to enjoy the course, but I felt like it was challenging yet fair and provided good variety. It is unforgiving in spots, but I know that now and will adjust next time. It may not be perfect for the total novice player to learn on, but it's definitely a course I would recommend.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Hocking College DGC

1    9/6/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: Magilicutty
Played: 172  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic wooded holes. A lot of work has been done with staircases, bridges etc.. Tons of elevation through wooded fairways, without anything being a poke and hope.
If you like wooded courses and are in the area, it is definately worth stopping.
Also very close to the freeway.
Cons: No concrete. Most of the tees were manageable, but a few weren't level or had some interfering roots. It appears there has been some effort at signage, but is still not enough to smoothly navigate the course. There was a sign on either 13 or 14 which stated: "Copperheads spotted in the area 9/2/2009" (3 days prior to me playing)
Other Thoughts: Some discers we ran into said that there was some construction going on which was affecting several holes, plus they have recently expanded from 12 to 18 holes, so given some time, i'm sure the course will just get better. At present hole 2 didn't have an actual teepad. We found the remnents of a spraypainted line and #2 so threw from there. Never found the true teepad for 16, but were able to play what we believed was the general hole. (the only way that didn't have buildings coming into play) Hole 18's teepad is literally 7 feet from 17's basket. And hole 18's tee sign (which still reads hole 12 from before the expansion) is actually between those.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.