Nelsonville, OH 
Hocking College DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 155ft.   3 / 155ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 fun course

5+    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 129  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I agree with everything foofoohead said. I can't say it any better than that.
Cons: While I don't know foofoohead, I again agree with what he says.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. This is one you need to throw. A great day here can be ten down. But don't get the woods mad at you because it can be mean. If you find hole one you will follow the trail easy enough. I always have a blast when I throw here. If you can throw with Big Mike do it. If you are throwing it for the first time be early enough to throw it two times. I'm in good physical condition and I hurt after two rounds. It is a very hilly course so be smart. But it is lots of fun to throw.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This is it!

2-4    8/6/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes, for sure!
Trees, trees, and more trees!
Good baskets with defined fairways.
Very scenic, a great workout!
Great support team maintaining course.
Good signs direct you around the course.


Cons: Tees could use some work.
Holes on the campus could use some work.
Could be dangerous if you get too far off the fairway.
If it rains the wooded area holes become very treacherous!
A little difficult find tee 1, that first time out.
Other Thoughts: What a great course layout! I was here under excellent dry conditions, so no bugs, spiders, or snakes. When wet, the hills could be a problem. Not a course for the unfit! Hills and more hills! I will make this course a regular must do on my list of courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Warrior Day!!

2-4    7/20/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking
- Bathrooms are at the Student Center
- The map is handy but the trails are very defined as well
- 8 holes have multiple tees
- There are next tee signs that are extremely helpful!
- Tee signs are great and you can see that a lot of work went into them
- Baskets are in excellent condition (I believe they were also labeled but don't quote me)
- The overall flow is good. #18 ends at #1 right by the parking lot. There are some long walks between a few holes. #3 to #4 has a long walk across the road up a hill but is marked by a next tee sign. #15 to #16 has a walk down hill on a path out of the trees and back into the area with the college buildings. #16 actually starts next to building F and wraps around it to the right down a hill.
- Technical! You will use absolutely every shot you have. There are some very tight spots and a lot of decisions to be made on how to play a hole. You may choose to go for it in dangerous situations such as #7 that has a tight fairway with cliffs on either side along with a huge cliff farther down the fairway and to the left. A safe throw keeps you on top, and unsafe throw can score an ace or send you deep DEEP down the hills. It's just a complete melting pot of shots and if you are uncareful, you will always be trying to get out of trouble.
- Beautiful wooded scenery and rolling mountainous landscape. By Hole #10 you feel like you are miles from civilization. The woodwork and stonework on the pathways are fantastic along with the great tees with log borders. Obviously some of these had to be redone over time and the stairs had to have upkeep as well so I really tip my hat to those that work the upkeep on this course. Moving Hole #3 to it's new location half way up the long hill was an AWESOME idea!!
- Distance is a bit short but the elevation changes are just constant and insane
- There could be some traffic of walkers on the 5 holes that are not deep in the woods, but all those holes in the forest will only have light traffic and only then from the few disc golfers
- Very clean course, no vandalism, lots of trash cans
- Benches scattered throughout the course
Cons: - There is no sign designating the start of the Disc Golf Course so finding Hole #1 the first time can be tough. Bring a course map the first time.
- Even though there are some next tee signs in some very good locations, there could be a few more signs located. For example #15-#18ish.
- Hole #18 has no short tee and could really use one. Not everyone wants to try their luck over the pond. My group threw from in between the railroad tracks at an even distance with the tee.
- No place to drive for distance. Hole #2 is the closest thing to an attempt at a distance shot but you still have the trees blocking the straight shot and there's a low overhang of branches.
- Hole #1. This hole feels like it was forced, like it's there just to make 18 holes on the course. The immediate and short left turn in between two buildings just has no appeal and gives the course a bland start. One possible suggestion is to add a hole similar to how #3 was added on the hill and just start the course at #2… or add a hole to connect #15 & #16.
Other Thoughts: - Spiders, spiders & more spiders. Be careful going over the cliffs. We had a large group so we went out looking for our share of discs. Mainly anytime you go into the rough on Holes #9-#15 you are in some seriously large spider territory.
- Bring your bug spray for the mosquitoes. And there's lots of poison ivy.
- I haven't played this course in rainy conditions but there was quite a bit of muddy spots from rain that was days old. I'd expect that the hills can become a slippery mess.
- The challenge factor is off the charts. I've only played this course 3 times but all 3 were in 95 degrees, 97% humidity, and each time I played this course it was like running a Warrior Day course. Not only is the course a physical challenge, but there are so many trees and obstacles that every throw is a challenge.
- The most challenging hole for some reason is #15 for me. I just cannot turn the corner to the right without slamming into every tree. But the most challenging hole with risk vs. reward is #7. Because of the cliffs located to the left and the multitude of trees that you could possibly hit, this hole has many changes to go very wrong. But if you get down the fairway with a bit of distance you could land it for the ace.
- My favorite hole is #14. I loved throwing off the cliff down the hill and trying to drop my shot by the basket without tanking it in the nasty areas in front of the basket or shanking it into the fairway to the left. Long climb to the long tee but it's really beautiful to look down and throw.
- Lots to do locally like visiting the local caves, camp grounds & fishing. Nearby you have Happy Hills Camp Grounds and Disc Golf Course, and also Hocking Peaks Adventure Park Disc Golf Course. Hocking Peaks has other things like OGO Ball, paint ball, zip lines etc… But Hocking College DGC is the best course in the area and a must go to course if you are anywhere near it! If you are someone that doesn't live by hilly land this will be the most unique course you could ever visit. Worth many hours of travel to try this beast out. Hocking is a great place to visit and make a vacation out of. I plan on coming here every year.

Edit: 07/31/2012
I played this course on vacation and saw a picture posted of a black bear swimming in Lake Hope which is nearby. Just FYI.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated!!

1    10/27/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The land they have to work with is remarkable and they did a great job taking advantage of it
Altitude changes, plenty of them.
Bonus Nature hike
Not crowded
Good variety of shots
Scenery
It's a Workout
Cons: It was easy to get lost, some of the trails weren't well marked
A few of the tees were tough to find and when you did find them they were just spray painted lines in the grass.
I didn't much care for the first couple holes but after that.........
Potential death by falling off a cliff
Potential death by Copperheads
Other Thoughts: I heard some bad things about this course but I thought it was Amazing! I love Altitude changes, I love wooded holes, and I love nature hikes so this was the course for me.

The first couple of holes are nothing special they are right in the middle of a crowded campus but from hole #4 on, the course makes up for it. Like one of the previous reviewers said, land that they put this course on is phenomenal for Disc Golf. It's very wooded but not so dense that its frustrating. Plenty of shots that go up and down hills and through valleys all with reasonably open fairways

I didn't mind the long walks between some of the holes. If they need to make you walk for a few minutes so that they can make the best possible use of the land then so be it. The walk to hole number 4 was straight up a hill and it was a little exhausting but it wasn't too hard, I'm a fat guy with bum knee and I made up without much effort.

Be careful though some of the paths can be narrow or steep, Trust me, you wouldn't want to fall, some of the drop offs looked dangerous. Also look out for Copperheads (I didn't see any but they had a warning sign up)
Hole 14 was my favorite it went right off a cliff, but there were plenty of other holes that I loved

Lots of the Disc Catchers were located in such a way that you would pay for a short or long throw. Me and they guy I was with had to climb down more than one steep bank.

The only problem I had with it was it was tough to navigate. They had some signs up telling you which way to go but they needed more I got lost multiple times. Some of the holes need to be marked better. To some people dirt Tee Pads are a bad thing but not to me, I think I actually prefer them

But all in all I loved it! Very very underrated, weather permitting I'll be back later this week.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a nice surprise

1    10/11/2008   10/15/2008
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: cliff hole (# 10)
lots of steep hills ,
tricky greens and fairways
very well kept on friendly campus
great views in the woods after # 2
Cons: the walks in between holes.
the first 4 holes are boring and could be better
tee signs had wrong distances on them
Other Thoughts: For all that is wrong with this course it is easily forgiven because the unforgettable views and great design on of the holes

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.