Nelsonville, OH 
Hocking College DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #15 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 250ft.   4 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Long Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun, aggressive terrain

1    6/29/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: xZombiEx
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
Pros: -A great variety of terrain that will force you to you to use every shot type you are capable of.
-Every hole was different from the last, so you never got that feeling of repetition.
-Next tee signs were helpful in keeping you on track.
-Large cliffs and drop-offs behind a few of the baskets that can turn an easy 2 into a 4 or 5 if you choose to go for it.
-The nature path that went through the woods was just plain fantastic. Lots of work went into the wooden logs built into the hillside producing steps. Without them, this walk could be pretty dangerous in wet weather.
Cons: -Signage could use some work. This was our first time playing and we had a hard time finding hole 1. Finding hole 16 after you left the woods was also challenging. We just kept walking and happened to stumble upon it near the basket for hole 2.
-Tee pads could use some work as well. A lot of them were quite slippery, and had standing water. A few holes on them as well from peoples plant foot.
-Lots and lots of thorns. It is to expected in the middle of the woods, just be careful. A slight jerk from pain could cause you to lose your footing.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was an extremely fun course to play. It rained a little while we were there, so the tee boxes got a bit messy. The sharp, wet terrain also made an errant shot a bit more challenging to retrieve. The course also did seem a bit short. I am not calling this a con, because it was a par 54, and I had all the footage going in so I knew I wasn't going to really test my strength. But after playing through and seeing some of the long walks between holes, I feel that the land could be better utilized to make some REALLY interesting holes.

 first time on this course.

1    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: valiant
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots. Technical course. Very rugged terrain. Nice placement of trashcans and benches.
Cons: Almost half of the tee signs are missing. Some tee pads had mud and standing water on them.
Other Thoughts: Has potential to be a very good course. I personally don't think it is all par threes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

5+    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 129  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I agree with everything foofoohead said. I can't say it any better than that.
Cons: While I don't know foofoohead, I again agree with what he says.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. This is one you need to throw. A great day here can be ten down. But don't get the woods mad at you because it can be mean. If you find hole one you will follow the trail easy enough. I always have a blast when I throw here. If you can throw with Big Mike do it. If you are throwing it for the first time be early enough to throw it two times. I'm in good physical condition and I hurt after two rounds. It is a very hilly course so be smart. But it is lots of fun to throw.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This is it!

2-4    8/6/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes, for sure!
Trees, trees, and more trees!
Good baskets with defined fairways.
Very scenic, a great workout!
Great support team maintaining course.
Good signs direct you around the course.


Cons: Tees could use some work.
Holes on the campus could use some work.
Could be dangerous if you get too far off the fairway.
If it rains the wooded area holes become very treacherous!
A little difficult find tee 1, that first time out.
Other Thoughts: What a great course layout! I was here under excellent dry conditions, so no bugs, spiders, or snakes. When wet, the hills could be a problem. Not a course for the unfit! Hills and more hills! I will make this course a regular must do on my list of courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Warrior Day!!

2-4    7/20/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking
- Bathrooms are at the Student Center
- The map is handy but the trails are very defined as well
- 8 holes have multiple tees
- There are next tee signs that are extremely helpful!
- Tee signs are great and you can see that a lot of work went into them
- Baskets are in excellent condition (I believe they were also labeled but don't quote me)
- The overall flow is good. #18 ends at #1 right by the parking lot. There are some long walks between a few holes. #3 to #4 has a long walk across the road up a hill but is marked by a next tee sign. #15 to #16 has a walk down hill on a path out of the trees and back into the area with the college buildings. #16 actually starts next to building F and wraps around it to the right down a hill.
- Technical! You will use absolutely every shot you have. There are some very tight spots and a lot of decisions to be made on how to play a hole. You may choose to go for it in dangerous situations such as #7 that has a tight fairway with cliffs on either side along with a huge cliff farther down the fairway and to the left. A safe throw keeps you on top, and unsafe throw can score an ace or send you deep DEEP down the hills. It's just a complete melting pot of shots and if you are uncareful, you will always be trying to get out of trouble.
- Beautiful wooded scenery and rolling mountainous landscape. By Hole #10 you feel like you are miles from civilization. The woodwork and stonework on the pathways are fantastic along with the great tees with log borders. Obviously some of these had to be redone over time and the stairs had to have upkeep as well so I really tip my hat to those that work the upkeep on this course. Moving Hole #3 to it's new location half way up the long hill was an AWESOME idea!!
- Distance is a bit short but the elevation changes are just constant and insane
- There could be some traffic of walkers on the 5 holes that are not deep in the woods, but all those holes in the forest will only have light traffic and only then from the few disc golfers
- Very clean course, no vandalism, lots of trash cans
- Benches scattered throughout the course
Cons: - There is no sign designating the start of the Disc Golf Course so finding Hole #1 the first time can be tough. Bring a course map the first time.
- Even though there are some next tee signs in some very good locations, there could be a few more signs located. For example #15-#18ish.
- Hole #18 has no short tee and could really use one. Not everyone wants to try their luck over the pond. My group threw from in between the railroad tracks at an even distance with the tee.
- No place to drive for distance. Hole #2 is the closest thing to an attempt at a distance shot but you still have the trees blocking the straight shot and there's a low overhang of branches.
- Hole #1. This hole feels like it was forced, like it's there just to make 18 holes on the course. The immediate and short left turn in between two buildings just has no appeal and gives the course a bland start. One possible suggestion is to add a hole similar to how #3 was added on the hill and just start the course at #2… or add a hole to connect #15 & #16.
Other Thoughts: - Spiders, spiders & more spiders. Be careful going over the cliffs. We had a large group so we went out looking for our share of discs. Mainly anytime you go into the rough on Holes #9-#15 you are in some seriously large spider territory.
- Bring your bug spray for the mosquitoes. And there's lots of poison ivy.
- I haven't played this course in rainy conditions but there was quite a bit of muddy spots from rain that was days old. I'd expect that the hills can become a slippery mess.
- The challenge factor is off the charts. I've only played this course 3 times but all 3 were in 95 degrees, 97% humidity, and each time I played this course it was like running a Warrior Day course. Not only is the course a physical challenge, but there are so many trees and obstacles that every throw is a challenge.
- The most challenging hole for some reason is #15 for me. I just cannot turn the corner to the right without slamming into every tree. But the most challenging hole with risk vs. reward is #7. Because of the cliffs located to the left and the multitude of trees that you could possibly hit, this hole has many changes to go very wrong. But if you get down the fairway with a bit of distance you could land it for the ace.
- My favorite hole is #14. I loved throwing off the cliff down the hill and trying to drop my shot by the basket without tanking it in the nasty areas in front of the basket or shanking it into the fairway to the left. Long climb to the long tee but it's really beautiful to look down and throw.
- Lots to do locally like visiting the local caves, camp grounds & fishing. Nearby you have Happy Hills Camp Grounds and Disc Golf Course, and also Hocking Peaks Adventure Park Disc Golf Course. Hocking Peaks has other things like OGO Ball, paint ball, zip lines etc… But Hocking College DGC is the best course in the area and a must go to course if you are anywhere near it! If you are someone that doesn't live by hilly land this will be the most unique course you could ever visit. Worth many hours of travel to try this beast out. Hocking is a great place to visit and make a vacation out of. I plan on coming here every year.

Edit: 07/31/2012
I played this course on vacation and saw a picture posted of a black bear swimming in Lake Hope which is nearby. Just FYI.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  On it's way to be the best.

5+    6/27/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: etbphotography
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Technical with tight fairways, but also forgiving enough to make par off bad drives. Easily navigated by the signage and developed trails. Long tee pads are available on a large number of holes. The use of natural building materials for the tee pads and steps throughout the course adds to the beauty and theme of this course. Trash cans and Benches are plentiful throughout the course.
Cons: Hole one can become overgrown fast leading many players disc's being lost on the first drive, but don't be discouraged the remaining 17 holes are worth playing through.

Stays wet and muddy for up to three days after a rain, but lots of trail work is in progress to fix this issue.

Mosquitos and poison ivy thrive in this environment so bring the bug spray and long pants.
Other Thoughts: Hocking College Outdoor Pursuits has done an incredible amount of work on this course and at the rate of improvements added to the course it will become one of the best in the state in no time. Every tuesday night Outdoor Pursuits holds a (doubles round) that is open to all students and the community.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: 3dunlap3
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -all holes have a map of the hole so you know where the basket is
-there are signs that show you the way to the next hole which is helpful because some holes would be hard to find without them
-wide variety of elevations
-trash cans at almost every hole
-once you get into the woods most of the holes have a wooden bench to sit on if you want to rest
-blue and white tees
-challenging holes in the woods
Cons: -not a course for people outta shape
-discs can be really tough to find in the thick brush on some holes if you don't make a good throw
Other Thoughts: -the course gets pretty muddy if it rains so definately bring boots and even if it hasn't rained hiking boots would be a good idea
-bug spray would be nice to bring mosquitoes have been bad up in the woods
-love this course I play it all the time because I live right on campus

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great little college course!

1    5/14/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: Mulligan
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nested in the hills of Hocking College, this is a really interesting short course. If this was my college course, I'd be super happy.
-Nice tee signs on all, and almost every tee had a long and short.
-Most all holes could be played as 3's, but they are all different, interesting, and challenging.
-Some fantastic cliff shots, uphills, over ravine shots, and an over water shot for 18. The layout provides a unique feel for each hole that keeps you guessing and finishes strong with a couple of nice short holes, with 17 being a treelined tunnel shot, and 18 a short, tight toss over a pond.
-Great exercise. Expect to get a workout, its a lot of uphill hiking, but worth it.
-Excellent opportunity to work on your accuracy/approach game. This is a very technical course.
-Many of the holes have built in steps in the hills which was a big help.
-Natural tees were in generally good shape.
-They are obviously still improving this course and it has signs of good upkeep.
Cons: -There were several areas of standing water, which led to a really bad mosquito problem. Tracks from 4 wheelers also didn't help. Bring the bug juice!
-Don't wear shorts if you don't have to...plenty of poison oak and thorny bushes...which you WILL end up in. At least go with some Nikko-high socks!
-If you aren't ready to get a good hiking workout, then you might want to pass it up. You will work off some calories! Bring plenty of H2O.
-A couple of the areas that did not have built in steps really needed them. The walk up to 13s pin, which is also the walk down from 14s tee, was steep and slippery, as were a few other spots.
-If you miss a shot, you will pay. Some of the areas where your disc will end up are treacherous and very difficult to get to, so I'd suggest playing with a friend. One shot I thought was going to hole out barely clipped a tree and ended up 100ft down a ravine.
-I don't think I'd attempt to play the holes in the woods when wet. It was pretty slippery when I played and it hadn't rained in a day or so.
-The distance between finishing 15 and the tee for 16 is silly and confusing.
Other Thoughts: Beware hole 15. You have to walk back down its fairway to meander back out of the woods to 16.
Make sure to pay attention where 16 is when you finish 2 to help you get back.
The student center is available for bathroom use, and all the students I talked to were very friendly.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf on the western edge of Appalachia.

1    4/23/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: hipster
Played: 77  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scorecards are located in the mailbox at #1 tee.
The long and short tees provide a different level of challenge on most holes. Laminated tee signs on post at all tees.
The risk reward factor has been elevated a notch or two on this course. Players have to take note of the terrain on holes 3 through 15 and minimize the errant shots to avoid retrieving disc from treacherous rough, casual water, or deep ravines.
The fairways are clearly defined and course navigation is well marked not considering the transition from #15 to #16.
The elevation changes, wooded terrain, and hole shapes require stamina, accuracy and a varied shot arsenal to do well.
The course architecture adds a rustic character to this natural beauty. Sturdy split log steps provide safe passage in certain areas. Split log benches placed through out the course. Interesting rock formations makes this an enjoyable yet strenuous course. Plays longer than the listed 4500 ft due to elevated terrain and distance between some of the tees.
Ace and birdie opportunities for most skill levels on a majority of holes if tee shots are accurate.
Cons: Locating #1 tee is done by parking in front of the Student Center and walking around the left corner of building
The natural tee pads are well done but slippery when wet.
Informative tee signs consist of laminated paper attached to a post.
Noticed poison oak growing around the trees. Be careful where you place your hands.
Due to the terrain, should not play this course alone considering a bad step could mean a serious injury. Suspect the rough gets ridiculous in the summer.
Imagine the mosquitos will rule this summer considering the amount of rain the area has received. Bumblebees seem to like this place and they tend to be huge.
Navigation between hole 15 and 16 is confusing. After holing out on what is now hole #2, take notice of the building located behind the basket to see the #16 tee. Try to remember this after holing out 15.
Played this course alone and in the rain, an action I would recommend only to other foolhardy types.
Other Thoughts: There are places in this area of the world that could pass for Tolkien's Middle Earth and Hocking College DGC made me feel a bit like a Hobbit born with small feet traipsing and skipping through the Shire with emotions alternating between glee and doom.
Based on the pictures listed on DCGR, I believe a few of the later wood holes have been redesigned.
Holes 1, 2, and 3 have been redesigned.
#1 is a short to mid right to left shot to hidden basket.
#2 is a straight shot through a grove trees with road OB right and a building on the left. After holing out take a right across the road to #3, an uphill right to left shot.
#7 was an interesting hole over a ravine to a basket located on top of 15 ft mound.
#12 a right to left mid range hyzer to a blind pin.
#13 is a 200 ft 30 degree uphill shot. Don't miss left.
#14 is now the tee shot off the cliff rock. Be sure to checkout the mailbox the to the tee. Don't stumble here, you'll be sorry.
#15 after holing out here go back to the dirt road heading down the hill. It comes out in the emergency services training area. At the road, turn right to get to next tee located on the other side.
#16 is a little left to right turn over shot around the corner of the building to a hidden basket.
#17 is a tight little tunnel shot through flowering trees, very pretty at the moment.
#18 is a straight shot over the pond to a basket located behind/between two tall stones. Trees also protect the basket side of the pond. Of course, I lost my second DX Whippet of the season when my shot smacked the tree located 15 ft to the left of the left stone and rolled into the pond.
Had a blast playing this course even though it was raining.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/24/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: Django
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of variety
Love the woods
Lots of ace opportunities
Lots of technical play
Cons: Not in love with the tees
Some very unforgiving areas
Excessive walking
Multiflora rose

Other Thoughts: always a fun playable course
would like to see more modifications

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.