University, MS 
Ole Miss DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 269ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Needs a renovation!

5+    12/5/2012   12/20/2012
Review By: AceOnBase
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 23 holes, Only 5 that are over 300ft, Really makes you focus on technique and form over power.
Great baskets and changing elevation that allows for uphill and downhill shots. Convenient for all students and residents of Oxford. Intermural fields can be used during the day and at night for field practice.
Cons: **Updated:**
Some of the teepads have been moved around recently, some of which have improved holes, but most of which have flawed design. Trees directly in front of the teepad are really fun for the majority of your group to hit.
Other Thoughts: Our doubles rounds usually come out around -8 to -12. Our best round was -18, absolutely on fire. As has been stated, there are only 3 holes that require you to go for big distance, #'s 3, 19, and #23. All others should be within fairway, midrange, or driving putter territory. Accuracy is key!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

the better of the 2 courses in Oxford

5+    5/25/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: rhynoman
Played: 26  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Disc golf on campus. I would have loved it when I went to school!
- Some nice holes since the 2011 upgrade.
- 18 + holes
Cons: - No risk/reward design elements to be found. For the most part, if you don't birdie you can definitely par.
- Many really rough, uneven tee boxes.
- The few holes which feature challenging design elements favor RHBH players.
- There's a "goofy golf" feel to some of the older, wooded holes, like they didn't take into consideration how discs actually fly. There are bizarre short doglegs that don't make for natural shot shaping.
Other Thoughts: They've got a decent location for a course. Also, they apparently have the permission to cut some trees, and manpower with which to do it. They desperately need a pro from Tupelo, MS to come over for the day and help this course with some design. Tupelo is about the best place in the state to live and play disc golf. They need some of that great design magic here at the University. There's a lot of potential here.

BTW, bjreagh's signature hole is gone with the redesign due to campus construction. It's really a shame, but with the addition of the newer holes that play around the south and west sides of the fields, the course is better overall than it was.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/3/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: codyroberts18
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has been somewhat redesigned in the past year. The front 9 holes are very good holes that are well designed. A good score on the front 9 is about -4 for an am but even is not a bad place to sit. The back 9 are very short but fun holes as the gaps are a little tight on a couple holes. A good score on the back 9 would be about -6 for an am but a pro should easily shoot -9. The other 5 holes are very neat holes that require some accuracy. Hole 19 goes a long the road and is a big flick or anny at about 320'. The next 3 are technical holes which require you to hit the gap. The last hole, 23, is a flick No look flick. An am could shoot -6 at this course. There are garbage cans and benches spread throughout the course. Nicely kept for It to be on a college campus.
Cons: Unfortunately, there are some cons of this course. There are concrete pads on 7 of the holes but they are only about 3 1/2 feet long. The other tee pads are covered in roots and are very unlevel making it hard to get a good run up. Also, the back 9 are very short, longest being 160' and the shortest being about 130'.
Other Thoughts: This course would be a fun course to play a casual round and with a little work could be tournament caliber. I hope everyone can come enjoy this course. Hole 9 is a very cool hole as it throws over a big creek to a basket that is tucked to the deep left.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, read bjreagh's excellent review just after this one. He is more of a local and has a lot of good information that I am not going to repeat.

Hole 14 is the signature hole and plays very challenging as it doesn't give you much of a birdie possibility. You either have to throw a HUGE spike hyzer RHBH or else lay up at the base of the hill by the gap in the woods and shoot for par.

As far as dirt tees go these are very well done.

I also really enjoyed what I think was hole 9. It shoots over a big gorge like riverbed and out to a fence with the basket at the end. It was challenging to put it out far enough and keep it accurate enough to play the gap just right and have a shot at birdie. You can very easily end up at the bottom of the pit and have to climb down to retrieve your disc.
Cons: This course lacks length and variety. It is mostly back in the woods and very short. It could be pretty difficult for someone just beginning. The tees need to be concrete as the elevation and possibility of slipping are much higher in this setting. I will say though, for dirt tees, these do as well as any I have seen as they are boxed in to help prevent erosion.
Other Thoughts: Come ready to climb all over the place as this course is full of hills. It has some variety of open and forested but the majority of the course is back in the woods. Fences help if you like throwing rollers on a few of the open holes, especially hole 18 as a backhand roller could make for an easy birdie.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/26/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ole Miss is an 18 hole course with excellent baskets. The course plays mostly in the woods with a handful of more open holes. Elevation is used effectively to add the challenge of what is a fairly short and easier course. The wooded holes can be tight, but there is usually some semblance of a fairway. A practice basket is isolated in an open area across from the parking lot near (but not in the way of) hole 1.

The signature hole is #14- you tee off from a hill, throw out into the open, OVER THE ROAD, and up to the basket located on a hill on the other side! (Be sure to look both ways before teeing off!!!)

This is a great course for the college students to get a round in between/after classes.

There is large parking area. Very nice restrooms nearby. The parking lot appeared to be open parking for all- that is no parking permit/permission required and no tickets/tow aways/the boot, etc. as is the case for some college courses.
Cons: The natural tee pads are pretty worn. I played after a rain and some tee pads were mud puddles. The course is pretty easy for the seasoned disc golfer as most of the holes are pretty short. There is an ROTC course mixed in the with the course on some of the holes, and could interfere if it were in use. (I guess it could add to the challenge of climbing the wall if discs were being throw at them while they climb!)

The biggest con for me was the high volume of quick playing, 1 disc, college kids in large groups. I have never seen a group of 7-8 people play so quickly! Many times they would throw into you while you putting (and remember, this is a short course!) I guess maybe they had to get their rounds in quickly before their next class or the frat parties begin! I felt rushed the entire time. *Note- I played on a weekday afternoon.
Other Thoughts: The course is set in a piece of land that is off the main campus, so you are not actually playing around the buildings like is the case on many college courses.

There are some decent holes (1,3,14,15,18), but the other 13 holes are your typical short, tight woods holes. Again, this is a great course for the college kids to have a place to play, but if you are a serious disc golfer looking to play on the road, skip Ole Miss; there are plenty of great courses in northern/central Mississippi to choose from.

*Directions note- If you go by the DGCR directions, turn left at the soccer complex like it says and stay on this road for a ways (it looks like it goes nowhere, but eventually you get to the intramural fields and disc golf parking lot.) I would recommend coming in off of Hwy. 278 and exit right onto Jackson Ave. Then turn right onto Mall Drive and the parking lot will be straight ahead at the sharp curve in the road.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One-Disc Wonders Everywhere!

1    3/25/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Baskets are in solid condition. There are a decent variety of shots needed. The course plays up and down and around a hill. After it crosses the campus road, it flattens out. The throw over the road is a pretty neat hole. Dangerous, but different.
Cons: The course design is really basic. The natural tees need some definite improvement. As has been previously noted, there are roots that are exposed on the tees. This makes the course a little treacherous. The course is crowded by college disc golfers. They will rush you if you are a casual/seasoned player.
Other Thoughts: The course had its plusses and minuses. It seemed a little "gimmicky" with such tight woods. Luck is definitely something you want on your side at this course.

Let me start this next paragraph by saying I encourage growth in disc golf as much as anyone else. I think it is great that campuses install courses as a feature for the students and other visitors. However, if you like to take your time, think about your lines, and enjoy the experience of a course...Ole Miss DGC is not for you. We were in a group of 4...and we really don't play very slowly. We were passed by at least 5 groups with 6 or more players. Each with only one disc, flinging them at will. With the holes as close together as they were, you can get on the tee pad and here a "whack" into the tree about 10 feet away. On the hole over the road, we allowed two guys to play ahead. They threw their discs over the highway...and were pretty close. While they were on the next tee, two of my buddies parked their tee shots with their putters. (we were playing RIPT to add challenge to the course) Those guys just stared with open mouths. It was kind of funny to watch their reaction.

In short, I hope many of these kids grow up to play a lot of disc golf, but most of these kids are just looking for something to do. If you are an "etiquette"-loving person, you will probably leave this course pissed unless you play early in the morning when nobody is there.

There are bathrooms in the intramural complex which are fairly close to the course. There are also a few benches scattered throughout the course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Round

1    10/25/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: mcdavis17
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very logical course flow, and a good use of the available terrain. The course makes you use a lot of different types of shots -- I used more forehand throws in 1 round than I have used in over a year playing Central Park in Southaven, MS (my home course). Trash cans are fairly prevalent (every 2 or 3 holes) and the course has been kept fairly clean. A few holes on the Front 9 have alternate teepads that change the way the hole is played or bring certain obstacles more into play. A few holes (such as 17) offer multiple paths to the basket.
Cons: The natural tee pads can be sloppy after a rain and roots are present in some of them (putting in concrete pads is going to be a chore, though). Just watch your step or throw without a run-up.
Other Thoughts: Several holes can be considered "tight", but a line is there if you look -- you may just have to throw something other than a RHBH. # 1's basket placement is "unique", to say the least. # 14 is a throw that will make you (and possibly others!) pause for a moment in consideration.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/26/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets. There are a few good holes to practice on, but the best use of the land is probably the nice, flat distance field nearby and the practice basket to putt on. Holes 1, 14, and 18 are decent shots, but the rest of the course is best played by newcomers.
Cons: The tee pads are natural, with big roots coming up in a few of them, and can get quite muddy when it rains. The course is stupid short with a lot of retarded shots, and super tight gaps. There are no benches and the course does not loop around at the half way point.
Other Thoughts: This course is on a college campus, so it gets decent play and it can be a decent course for new players to learn on. However, I would not recommend this course if you are a seasoned disc golfer. I'm glad they have a course on the campus to help introduce new college kids to the game, but the course could use a good renovation by an experienced course designer. There seems to be some potential, but only if they use it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.