Lexington, KY 
Shadybrook Park Share
Uploaded By: JamesN Hole #12 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 253ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Both Challenges and Forgives

5+    10/7/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good mix of holes, many in the open, some more wooded
-some challenging holes but also birdie opportunities
-usually almost nobody there, very uncrowded
-most brush is easy to find discs in, not super dense
-road adds OB interest
Cons: -tee signs have no map or par of any sort
-no proper creek crossing/creek "may contain raw sewage"
-private, so it's a con if you aren't a Lexmark employee
-baskets could be a little better
-no tee pads for red tees, rubber instead of concrete for blue tees
Other Thoughts: This is a good course overall, though some of the holes are a little too open. It is private so you must know a Lexmark employee or be one yourself to play. Crossing the creek is possible due to rocks in it but a formal bridge would be nice, as would new tee signs with maps. I'm not honestly sure if I like concrete tees more than the rubber ones they have here, I like throwing off of the rubber but obviously concrete holds up much better over time. There shouldn't be much trouble finding your discs at Shadybrook and you almost never have to wait since it's usually empty. All in all, it's definitely worth playing and a decent course, but not my favorite in Lexington.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course with an Invitation

1    6/30/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well-maintained course that, for the most part, is friendly for beginning and lower level players. Either of the 9s play quickly, which is why it is so popular with Lexmark employees during their lunch hour.

The course has some nice shots. It uses some OB roads well (I especially liked holes 3 & 4). It also uses its elevation well. The course has a nice variety of hyzer, straight, and anhyzer drives.

A major plus for the course is that two sets of tees have been laid out for each hole. In essence, then, you can play two 18 hole courses.

The course has adequate baskets and functional tee signs. On the top of the signs for holes 1 and 10, there are also index card-sized scorecards with the hole distances.
Cons: This is a private course. This limits its exposure and play. We played with two Lexmark employees at their invitation, but in 9 years of living and playing disc golf in the Lexington area, this was the first time I played the course.

The biggest issue here is the separation between the front 9 and the back 9. While they are physically very close together, a large creek (with potential raw sewage) separates them. You have, then, either a short drive or a long walk between the front and back. In addition, within each 9, there are some long walks between holes. After hole 4, you must walk across a softball field to get to the next tee. After holes 11 and 17, you must cross a two-lane road.

There are some fairway interference issues. Hole 1's basket is perfectly positioned for a black ace hyzer shot on hole 5. Many of the parallel fairways are not separated enough so that drives from one land in the line of fire of the other.

There is also the potential for bad shots to land on or across the two-lane road on several holes, or to land in the raw sewage creek.

The tees are grass/dirt, and there is no map at the course or on the signs to help direct you. If we had not had a guide, it would have been very difficult to find several of the holes.

On the back 9, where there are more trees, there are some maintenance issues that need to be addressed (especially on hole 13 where there is a desparate need for underbrush clearing). However, because it is a company owned park, there are some constraints on what may be cut out.
Other Thoughts: The course has recently been redesigned (and for the better I am told). In addition, there are plans in the near future to address some of these issues such as basket #1 and the long walk between the 9s.

This is a nice course, but for some it may be too wide open. It had enough interesting shots that I would love to go back and play it again.

While it has some major issues with flow, if I worked at Lexmark, I would play this course a lot. My recommendation is to find someone who works there and try it out.

As of 8/23/09, hole #14 has been re-routed due to some construction, while Hole #15 has temporarily disappeared.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Laid Back.

1    6/30/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a private course, and so, as you might expect, it is very well kept. The grass is closely mowed. There is no garbage; I don't even recall seeing sticks on the ground. Clean, garffiti-less picnic tables abound. Young children frolick in the nearby field, and older men play horse shoes. It's what a park should be - and the disc golf rolls right into that package.

The course is filled with shots which range from easy birdies, to slightly tricky, to long par opportunities, but any missed shot will be easy to recover. There is some challenge here, and good competition, but no sweat.

There are score cards available, and both the long and short (A and B) tee signs are easy to find (though it's not always immediately clear what basket the tees correlate with). It's an easy course, but very enjoyable.
Cons: This is a private course, so you must be invited by someone to play (or work at Lexmark). Also, this seems almost like (and once was) two nine-hole courses sitting very near one another. There is now a walking path crossing the creek between the front and back nine, but they have very different type fairways. The front is open while the back is in and out of woods. (The back feels longer but is in reality about the same length.) The front is surrounded by other park facilities and activities. The back is all by itself.

On both the front and back nine, the tee signs are only numbers. There are no other signs or maps. This is problematic because the course has lots of unmarked OB and real flow issues. I don't think you could find your way through the course the first time without a guide. There is a fair walk between 4-5, 11-12, 17-18 and, 9-10. Also the course has smaller issues like folliage which could use trimming, and tee signs that are at the front of the tees, which can interfere with throws if you aren't careful.
Other Thoughts: This course has all grass tees, which I would usually rate as a con, but this course is so carefully used that the tees have remained grass rather than turning to uneven mud. I think they add to the experience; I like them.

My favorite thing on the course is a sign by the creek which reads "Warning! Creek may contain raw sewage." That, my friends, is a water hazard. Rein in that hyzer!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice perk for Lexmark Employees

1    12/6/2006   12/6/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 63  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation as the front 9 and back 9 play along 2 opposite hill sides. There are a couple neat shots on the front 9, but most of the shots are pretty typical. The back 9 is shorter with more trees. I enjoyed this part of the course - the layout seemed to be more thought out, with a couple nice elevation shots.
Cons: Only open to employees of Lexmark, or sneaky disc golf fiends...

Front 9 and Back 9 are completely seperate, requiring a good walk from 9 to 10. The Front 9 is a little too open. This is definitely a beginner/recreational course.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 seems to be the favorite of the lexmark employees... I wouldn't recommend sneaking in to get a round in, even though that is what I ended up doing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.