Disc Golf Center
Lexington, KY 
Shadybrook Park Share
Uploaded By: amryan11 Hole #18 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 321ft.   4 / 366ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I feel like Robert Plant!?

2-4    8/23/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 166  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shadybrook Park DGC has 18 really nicely maintained holes of play with well marked red and blue tee pads (rubber mat material, flush with the ground), quality DGA baskets, and holes ranging from 194 to 532 feet in length. Most of the holes are well-scaled for the Recreational to Intermediate player, being fairly open along the scenic, rolling terrain, and in and out of some woods edges. The variety of shots needed is pretty good here, and they've used the elevation and tree lines effectively to make it a very fun mid-level course. With the option to play longs or shorts, there's plenty of replay-ability.

The holes that play into gaps in the woods - 7 & 13 - are very tight. Hole tip for #13: lay up, or you might have to herd it through the grapevine! On holes 1 & 6, there is clearly OB (creek & road, respectively), and they've added a cute, small mat for a drop zone on each. There are picnic tables and trash cans (plus recycle bins) near holes 3 & 10, and a kiosk sign near the practice basket nearest to the 10th hole. When they install a bridge at the crossing, these features will be handy to the middle of the front & back nine loops (see below).

The course has hosted a very enthusiastically supported Lexmark Open tournament, which has gotten good reviews. In all, it's actually pretty impressive that this nice a course has gotten installed here, and continues to be a great source of fun and exercise for their employees.
Cons: The biggest challenge at this park has been mentioned as a needed service project: a small bridge where the map says "creek crossing". The two times I've been there, it was treacherous or worse to cross at the rocky spillway indicated. The warning signs say to stay out of the creek ("may contain raw sewage"), and today, after a rain, it was flowing fast and relatively deep. I walked the half mile extra around to the ball field park entrance to play the front nine, then made the mistake of trying to reach the other bridge on the way back, before abandoning the attempt in the marsh and retracing all the way to the other end of the park. Probably added about two miles to my round, in temperatures in the mid 80's and high humidity. Not fun. I kept running the last minute of a Led Zeppelin song through my head ("where's that confounded bridge!") My advice: if the creek isn't dry, drive around to hole three, play the front nine, then drive around to the back nine to finish.

The middle of the course is situated near the cooling plant, which generates a lot of noise. Finally, some of the (really nice and visible) signage needs to be repaired. Though the signs are large and visible, they currently only have the hole number. Might be wise to pre-print a scorecard for hole distances. They have a box for scorecards at 3 & 10, but there weren't any in them today. You'll likely be playing this with a guide, but if you don't, the (apparently redesigned) flow is pretty logical for each side of the creek. I always take a map, but you might not totally need it. PS: they've done a nice job reversing 5 & 6 (for even better flow) since the map was drawn up.
Other Thoughts: The park is designated for Lexmark employees, and I was invited the first time I played there. On my most recent visit, I just dropped by on a quiet Saturday morning (shhh!). If they'd asked me to leave, I would have, politely. It's their place. And by the way, the park is also designated no pets, alcohol, or tobacco, so plan on that being enforced.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Top 2 In Lexington

1    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: brettricewku
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fairly wide open course with some trees in order to shape some shots. Good uses of elevation makes sure that you are not throwing flat all the time. Good use of multiple tees allows for a group with varying skill levels to play the same course at the same time. Signage was excellent and the flow of the course was nice.
Cons: The rubber tee pads I didn't mind that much but if you are a concrete only teepad kind of person, they only have rubber here. The pro/blue tees were the only ones with the pads. The am/red tees were just marked off. A bridge from the parking lot to hole one would be mega helpful.
Other Thoughts: I played this course by myself on a Saturday around 11 and didn't know anyone or work at Lexmark. Im pretty sure if you mind your own and don't cause a scene that they wouldn't mind you playing here. Not better than Veterans but better than Shilito. If you are looking for something new check it out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little hidden course

2-4    8/27/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 231  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shadybrook sits hidden among the Lexmark grounds for those that know the right people or just show up at the right time. This private course provides dual tees, nice elevation changes, excellent baskets, a few ace runs, and a few to really let loose on. Two sets of tees accompany each hole. The longer blue tees have nice flypads that grip well while the shorter reds do not. There are plans to have flypads placed on the short tees though so fear not. Most all holes incorporate some sort of elevation change with a few baskets placed a short distance from OB lines (creek bed, access roads). While the front nine is shorter and more allowing of ace runs, the back nine forces more shot shaping to have a chance at birdie. The moderately wooded course only has a couple places where you can really get into deep trouble or lose a disc, but for the most part there is minimal underbrush. The outfield gate through the baseball field was a nice touch to shorten the walk between 6's basket and 7's tee.
Cons: The tee signs left a lot to be desired. They only mentioned what hole number and tee color you were on; no distances, hole diagram, nothing. Since this is a private course either you know it or you don't. The same could be said for a few spots in navigation. Several long walks await you (6->7, 9->10, 17->18) and only after playing here would you know where to go. I'm gonna put this as a con though am not sure if it truly is but the fact that this course is always private to Lexmark employees and their guests. There is plenty of parking in satellite lots near 2's basket and 3's tee that wouldn't interfere with the rest of the complex that this could be a semi-public course. I say semi-public because I'm sure they wouldn't want people on their land during business hours.
Other Thoughts: I'd rate this course as beginner friendly up to intermediate level. Advanced and open players shouldn't have much trouble capitalizing on the many birdie opportunities here while lesser skilled players have ample chances to snag a few negative numbers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing...

2-4    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well manicured course. There are no two holes alike which is good design. There are both blue and red tee signs (blue has rubber pads, red are grass only). The park/corporate campus is easily accessible from the local interstate. Restroom & water fountain near hole #1, multiple shelter houses, a playground, and basketball courts on site.
Cons: No concrete pads, no hole layout signs (although you can see just about every hole from it's respective tee), no benches. There needs to be a bridge over the small creek; so that there is safer access to the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Although the course is not overly technical, there are multiple low lying branches and other obstacles to make the course fun to play and rewarding of precision shots. The entire property has a very tall chain link fence around it; so you feel secure there. Tis a shame you gotta know an employee, or sign up for a tourney just to play here; but such is life right? Some of the locals stated that this is the best course in the Lexington area; and if I lived nearer I'd play it more often. If the groundsfolk address the con's listed above this course could get in the 4 star territory.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.