Lexington, KY 
Shadybrook Park Share
Uploaded By: amryan11 Hole #18 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 321ft.   4 / 366ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
I feel like Robert Plant!?

2-4    8/23/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 163  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shadybrook Park DGC has 18 really nicely maintained holes of play with well marked red and blue tee pads (rubber mat material, flush with the ground), quality DGA baskets, and holes ranging from 194 to 532 feet in length. Most of the holes are well-scaled for the Recreational to Intermediate player, being fairly open along the scenic, rolling terrain, and in and out of some woods edges. The variety of shots needed is pretty good here, and they've used the elevation and tree lines effectively to make it a very fun mid-level course. With the option to play longs or shorts, there's plenty of replay-ability.

The holes that play into gaps in the woods - 7 & 13 - are very tight. Hole tip for #13: lay up, or you might have to herd it through the grapevine! On holes 1 & 6, there is clearly OB (creek & road, respectively), and they've added a cute, small mat for a drop zone on each. There are picnic tables and trash cans (plus recycle bins) near holes 3 & 10, and a kiosk sign near the practice basket nearest to the 10th hole. When they install a bridge at the crossing, these features will be handy to the middle of the front & back nine loops (see below).

The course has hosted a very enthusiastically supported Lexmark Open tournament, which has gotten good reviews. In all, it's actually pretty impressive that this nice a course has gotten installed here, and continues to be a great source of fun and exercise for their employees.
Cons: The biggest challenge at this park has been mentioned as a needed service project: a small bridge where the map says "creek crossing". The two times I've been there, it was treacherous or worse to cross at the rocky spillway indicated. The warning signs say to stay out of the creek ("may contain raw sewage"), and today, after a rain, it was flowing fast and relatively deep. I walked the half mile extra around to the ball field park entrance to play the front nine, then made the mistake of trying to reach the other bridge on the way back, before abandoning the attempt in the marsh and retracing all the way to the other end of the park. Probably added about two miles to my round, in temperatures in the mid 80's and high humidity. Not fun. I kept running the last minute of a Led Zeppelin song through my head ("where's that confounded bridge!") My advice: if the creek isn't dry, drive around to hole three, play the front nine, then drive around to the back nine to finish.

The middle of the course is situated near the cooling plant, which generates a lot of noise. Finally, some of the (really nice and visible) signage needs to be repaired. Though the signs are large and visible, they currently only have the hole number. Might be wise to pre-print a scorecard for hole distances. They have a box for scorecards at 3 & 10, but there weren't any in them today. You'll likely be playing this with a guide, but if you don't, the (apparently redesigned) flow is pretty logical for each side of the creek. I always take a map, but you might not totally need it. PS: they've done a nice job reversing 5 & 6 (for even better flow) since the map was drawn up.
Other Thoughts: The park is designated for Lexmark employees, and I was invited the first time I played there. On my most recent visit, I just dropped by on a quiet Saturday morning (shhh!). If they'd asked me to leave, I would have, politely. It's their place. And by the way, the park is also designated no pets, alcohol, or tobacco, so plan on that being enforced.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Top 2 In Lexington

1    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: brettricewku
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fairly wide open course with some trees in order to shape some shots. Good uses of elevation makes sure that you are not throwing flat all the time. Good use of multiple tees allows for a group with varying skill levels to play the same course at the same time. Signage was excellent and the flow of the course was nice.
Cons: The rubber tee pads I didn't mind that much but if you are a concrete only teepad kind of person, they only have rubber here. The pro/blue tees were the only ones with the pads. The am/red tees were just marked off. A bridge from the parking lot to hole one would be mega helpful.
Other Thoughts: I played this course by myself on a Saturday around 11 and didn't know anyone or work at Lexmark. Im pretty sure if you mind your own and don't cause a scene that they wouldn't mind you playing here. Not better than Veterans but better than Shilito. If you are looking for something new check it out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Both Challenges and Forgives

5+    10/7/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good mix of holes, many in the open, some more wooded
-some challenging holes but also birdie opportunities
-usually almost nobody there, very uncrowded
-most brush is easy to find discs in, not super dense
-road adds OB interest
Cons: -tee signs have no map or par of any sort
-no proper creek crossing/creek "may contain raw sewage"
-private, so it's a con if you aren't a Lexmark employee
-baskets could be a little better
-no tee pads for red tees, rubber instead of concrete for blue tees
Other Thoughts: This is a good course overall, though some of the holes are a little too open. It is private so you must know a Lexmark employee or be one yourself to play. Crossing the creek is possible due to rocks in it but a formal bridge would be nice, as would new tee signs with maps. I'm not honestly sure if I like concrete tees more than the rubber ones they have here, I like throwing off of the rubber but obviously concrete holds up much better over time. There shouldn't be much trouble finding your discs at Shadybrook and you almost never have to wait since it's usually empty. All in all, it's definitely worth playing and a decent course, but not my favorite in Lexington.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little hidden course

2-4    8/27/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shadybrook sits hidden among the Lexmark grounds for those that know the right people or just show up at the right time. This private course provides dual tees, nice elevation changes, excellent baskets, a few ace runs, and a few to really let loose on. Two sets of tees accompany each hole. The longer blue tees have nice flypads that grip well while the shorter reds do not. There are plans to have flypads placed on the short tees though so fear not. Most all holes incorporate some sort of elevation change with a few baskets placed a short distance from OB lines (creek bed, access roads). While the front nine is shorter and more allowing of ace runs, the back nine forces more shot shaping to have a chance at birdie. The moderately wooded course only has a couple places where you can really get into deep trouble or lose a disc, but for the most part there is minimal underbrush. The outfield gate through the baseball field was a nice touch to shorten the walk between 6's basket and 7's tee.
Cons: The tee signs left a lot to be desired. They only mentioned what hole number and tee color you were on; no distances, hole diagram, nothing. Since this is a private course either you know it or you don't. The same could be said for a few spots in navigation. Several long walks await you (6->7, 9->10, 17->18) and only after playing here would you know where to go. I'm gonna put this as a con though am not sure if it truly is but the fact that this course is always private to Lexmark employees and their guests. There is plenty of parking in satellite lots near 2's basket and 3's tee that wouldn't interfere with the rest of the complex that this could be a semi-public course. I say semi-public because I'm sure they wouldn't want people on their land during business hours.
Other Thoughts: I'd rate this course as beginner friendly up to intermediate level. Advanced and open players shouldn't have much trouble capitalizing on the many birdie opportunities here while lesser skilled players have ample chances to snag a few negative numbers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

1    8/27/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: Johnny Conservative
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained course. The grass was cut pretty low and there was not alot of high brush to lose a disc into. There are a wide variety of long and short shots. Shot shaping will be necessary on some holes. Front nine is mostly open with a few trees to contend with. The back nine is somewhat more wooded with some holes cleverly tucked into the treeline. Back nine is tougher than front. Another thing that I really liked were the rubber tee pads instead of the normal concrete. There are two tees for each hole, the blue have the rubber pads and the red tees are on natural grass.
Cons: The worst part is that this is a private course for Lexmark employees or friends of employees. Tournaments are open to all so that is how I got to play there. The only other real complaint I would have is that there is a creek separating the front nine from the back with no bridge to cross. Instead there is a rather treacherous path of rocks and cinderblocks that you must walk across.
Other Thoughts: Best holes IMO are #5;#6;#12:#17. 5 and 6 remind me of my home course because of the OB dangers nearby the baskets. It is challenging but not overly so. #12 is a uphill shot that you must carefully navigate because of three large cedars guarding the basket. It would take a big hyzer or anny to possibly ace it. #17 is another hole that reminds me of my home course because of the tightly wooded shots you must make between the tee and the basket. Overall I think that this course is great fun and one of the best I have ever played.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing...

2-4    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well manicured course. There are no two holes alike which is good design. There are both blue and red tee signs (blue has rubber pads, red are grass only). The park/corporate campus is easily accessible from the local interstate. Restroom & water fountain near hole #1, multiple shelter houses, a playground, and basketball courts on site.
Cons: No concrete pads, no hole layout signs (although you can see just about every hole from it's respective tee), no benches. There needs to be a bridge over the small creek; so that there is safer access to the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Although the course is not overly technical, there are multiple low lying branches and other obstacles to make the course fun to play and rewarding of precision shots. The entire property has a very tall chain link fence around it; so you feel secure there. Tis a shame you gotta know an employee, or sign up for a tourney just to play here; but such is life right? Some of the locals stated that this is the best course in the Lexington area; and if I lived nearer I'd play it more often. If the groundsfolk address the con's listed above this course could get in the 4 star territory.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New and Improved

5+    4/25/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: broken_star
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Both long and short tee's, long pads are flypads that are in very good condition, most shots require skill (shooting through a gap between trees and/or throwing over OB to get the duece on most holes), Course is usually fairly windy, has several elevated holes and to score well you need to be able to do more than throw a hyzer
Cons: Standing water in several places and course has a tendancy to flood due to small creek that seperate the back nine and the front nine, If water is up there is not way to cross over from the front to the back without a quarter of a mile walk (I'm sure that this issue is being rectified), Some poinson ivy has been noted within close proximity of a few baskets. Hole 7 and 13 are extremely tight and require more luck than skill to get dueces on these holes. Course is kind of hard to navigate without maps which are available on hole 10 not hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Course has been fastly improved due to new teepads and a few new pin locations. This is personally my favorite course in Lexington. The only thing that I could think of that could make this course any better is to possbile plant a few more trees on a few of the open holes, some more man made OB's on a few of the dinkers and maybe a touch more length.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course with an Invitation

1    6/30/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well-maintained course that, for the most part, is friendly for beginning and lower level players. Either of the 9s play quickly, which is why it is so popular with Lexmark employees during their lunch hour.

The course has some nice shots. It uses some OB roads well (I especially liked holes 3 & 4). It also uses its elevation well. The course has a nice variety of hyzer, straight, and anhyzer drives.

A major plus for the course is that two sets of tees have been laid out for each hole. In essence, then, you can play two 18 hole courses.

The course has adequate baskets and functional tee signs. On the top of the signs for holes 1 and 10, there are also index card-sized scorecards with the hole distances.
Cons: This is a private course. This limits its exposure and play. We played with two Lexmark employees at their invitation, but in 9 years of living and playing disc golf in the Lexington area, this was the first time I played the course.

The biggest issue here is the separation between the front 9 and the back 9. While they are physically very close together, a large creek (with potential raw sewage) separates them. You have, then, either a short drive or a long walk between the front and back. In addition, within each 9, there are some long walks between holes. After hole 4, you must walk across a softball field to get to the next tee. After holes 11 and 17, you must cross a two-lane road.

There are some fairway interference issues. Hole 1's basket is perfectly positioned for a black ace hyzer shot on hole 5. Many of the parallel fairways are not separated enough so that drives from one land in the line of fire of the other.

There is also the potential for bad shots to land on or across the two-lane road on several holes, or to land in the raw sewage creek.

The tees are grass/dirt, and there is no map at the course or on the signs to help direct you. If we had not had a guide, it would have been very difficult to find several of the holes.

On the back 9, where there are more trees, there are some maintenance issues that need to be addressed (especially on hole 13 where there is a desparate need for underbrush clearing). However, because it is a company owned park, there are some constraints on what may be cut out.
Other Thoughts: The course has recently been redesigned (and for the better I am told). In addition, there are plans in the near future to address some of these issues such as basket #1 and the long walk between the 9s.

This is a nice course, but for some it may be too wide open. It had enough interesting shots that I would love to go back and play it again.

While it has some major issues with flow, if I worked at Lexmark, I would play this course a lot. My recommendation is to find someone who works there and try it out.

As of 8/23/09, hole #14 has been re-routed due to some construction, while Hole #15 has temporarily disappeared.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Laid Back.

1    6/30/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a private course, and so, as you might expect, it is very well kept. The grass is closely mowed. There is no garbage; I don't even recall seeing sticks on the ground. Clean, garffiti-less picnic tables abound. Young children frolick in the nearby field, and older men play horse shoes. It's what a park should be - and the disc golf rolls right into that package.

The course is filled with shots which range from easy birdies, to slightly tricky, to long par opportunities, but any missed shot will be easy to recover. There is some challenge here, and good competition, but no sweat.

There are score cards available, and both the long and short (A and B) tee signs are easy to find (though it's not always immediately clear what basket the tees correlate with). It's an easy course, but very enjoyable.
Cons: This is a private course, so you must be invited by someone to play (or work at Lexmark). Also, this seems almost like (and once was) two nine-hole courses sitting very near one another. There is now a walking path crossing the creek between the front and back nine, but they have very different type fairways. The front is open while the back is in and out of woods. (The back feels longer but is in reality about the same length.) The front is surrounded by other park facilities and activities. The back is all by itself.

On both the front and back nine, the tee signs are only numbers. There are no other signs or maps. This is problematic because the course has lots of unmarked OB and real flow issues. I don't think you could find your way through the course the first time without a guide. There is a fair walk between 4-5, 11-12, 17-18 and, 9-10. Also the course has smaller issues like folliage which could use trimming, and tee signs that are at the front of the tees, which can interfere with throws if you aren't careful.
Other Thoughts: This course has all grass tees, which I would usually rate as a con, but this course is so carefully used that the tees have remained grass rather than turning to uneven mud. I think they add to the experience; I like them.

My favorite thing on the course is a sign by the creek which reads "Warning! Creek may contain raw sewage." That, my friends, is a water hazard. Rein in that hyzer!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice perk for Lexmark Employees

1    12/6/2006   12/6/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation as the front 9 and back 9 play along 2 opposite hill sides. There are a couple neat shots on the front 9, but most of the shots are pretty typical. The back 9 is shorter with more trees. I enjoyed this part of the course - the layout seemed to be more thought out, with a couple nice elevation shots.
Cons: Only open to employees of Lexmark, or sneaky disc golf fiends...

Front 9 and Back 9 are completely seperate, requiring a good walk from 9 to 10. The Front 9 is a little too open. This is definitely a beginner/recreational course.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 seems to be the favorite of the lexmark employees... I wouldn't recommend sneaking in to get a round in, even though that is what I ended up doing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.