Leander, TX 
Benbrook Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: BELLYRUBS Hole #3 (Taken 1/2009)
4 / 462ft.   4 / 462ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Fairway: Basket is on other side of narrow creek



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
It's not bad, but...

5+    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the course - it's fun and has a good variety of holes. Maybe too much variety. It's well-maintained and generally not very crowded. There are some pretty memorable holes. I think #17 in particular is a lot of fun - a mid-range hyzer over water with the hole nestled against the water to provide all sorts of risk-reward. (If you're a lefty you probably hate the hole.)

There's nothing special about it, it's certainly not championship-level, but it provides a reasonable level of challenge for intermediate to advanced players.

It does have some cons, which I list below. None are enough to keep me from playing, but it certainly isn't my top choice course.
Cons: 1) Snakes. As a born-and-bred Texas boy, I don't have any particular problem with snakes, but this course is snake city, and venomous snakes in particular. You've got all four out there - coral, copperhead, water moccasin, and rattlesnake, and there's a lot of dense brush. Be seriously aware about it - this is easily the most likely course anywhere around Austin to get a snakebite, even outdoing East Metro. Don't wear flip-flops and shorts.

2) At least one ridiculously hard hole. This is what I meant by too much variety. #5 in particular (I think #5) is about 500 feet but ends with a 200-foot completely unavoidable shot over water to a virtually non-existent green protected on the right by a large tree. It is just a stupid-hard hole - even a good shot by a pro could end up in the water or deep in the woods. People also complain about #7, which is a completely blind tunnel shot. I don't like that hole but it's not as bad as #5, because you at least have to throw badly to get into trouble. #14 also strikes me as quite difficult. There's quite a bit of water on this course, and in particular water where you can lose a disc on several holes.

In general the holes feel very mismatched. 1-3 are extremely easy, then 4-7 are pretty hard to stupid-hard, then 8-13 are ludicrously easy again (8 is a virtually guaranteed 2 even if you try for the ace, and 9-12 are across wide-open fields), then 14-18 ramps up the difficulty again (with the exception of 15). I feel like this could have been a really great nine-holer but just doesn't fit 18 very comfortably. (In fact, playing 1, 3, 4, 12, 7, 13, 14, 16, 17 makes a good nine-hole course with only a couple of longish walks on 4-12 and 14-16.)

3) Barbed wire. There's some old barbed wire fences left in the middle of the course, in the rough between 13 and the big field where 9-12 are. Really take a look at them before stepping over them - sometimes there's more barbed wire just beyond them. I've been tagged and seen another player get a permanent scar. Another reason not to wear shorts or flip-flops.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/12/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun short 18 holer. I really liked that the park offered bathrooms and had a course map at the parking lot. The tee pads are little cap stones so they are all pretty easy to find( except 11 but i'll get there later). I enjoyed how the course offered short ace runs to longer holes that force you to hit a landing zone. The pond on hole 5 made for an interesting hole because of the difficulty. You have to land on the left side of the pond then throw across it again with a tree on the right side of the basket taking away the hyzer line. Also 16 and 17 were fun holes were water came into play. Hole 16 has a pond behind the basket not more than 15 feet and 17 you tee off over that same pond( walk across the bridge to find the tee pad for 17). 18 was a very challenging hole because you have to hit the landing are then a flick shot through the trees with a very tight angle Friendly locals.
Cons: Even though most holes have the cap stones not all of them do. For example, I did not see one for hole 11 so I skipped the hole. ALso I didnt see hole 12's either. I probably wouldnt have found 17 if it wasn't for a local who pointed me the right direction. There were a few fun holes but there were too many wide open holes like 6,9,10,11,12 ( i made up my own tee pad for 11 and 12). The course became a little boring because of the lack of obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This course is a very quick 18 holer due to some extremely short holes like 8 and 9. I finished it in about 45 minutes. Take a picture of the map and actually use it unlike myself so you can actually find your way around on 11,12,17,18. This course is nothing spectacular but it is still worth a play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Starting to break in?

1    1/30/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Djza
Played: 61  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We didn't get to finish all the holes, but were able to get a general feel for this new course.
For being built between suburban subdivisions, there are some very interesting holes here, crammed into a creek bottom.

It is nice to see Leander getting some disc golf courses, and as this one gets more use and tamed a bit, it will shape up to be a fine course.

I like that you get started with a few open holes, though the back yards on three come into play, and that isn't any fun. Once your arm is warmed up then you get into some pretty hairy alley holes. Though there are fair tunnels on all the holes we saw, the rough is still pretty fresh and nasty. I imagine that this will slowly beat back as the course gets used.

All in all a good mix of open and technical, just give yourself some time to find it the first time.
Cons: Well the primary rough on the open holes has apparently been mowed, because I didn't find this to be a problem. That being said, there are still some pretty frightening little thickets to put your disc into here.

Also, the "pond" on hole 5 I think was mostly dried up and looked shallow, but the mud is quicksand variety, and expect to sink up to your knees if you venture too close. With the pin just across the "water" accuracy is at a premium and the beginner and int. players I was with decided to save some time and anguish and skip this one.

There were a lot of kids running loose in the park when we were there, but they did not interfere with our game.

It is definitely easy to get lost until you figure this place out. I thought it was interesting that there is a sign on the practice basket, to let you know it is for practice, but there were no other signs on the course, with the exceptions of numbers on the baskets.
Try to follow someone, or just imagine kinda a figure eight that starts by the practice basket goes out to the right, crosses over, swoops back around and crosses over again back to the car. (That prolly doesn't help, but what the heck).

We were able to jump some holes to make it back to the car by dark without just having to walk a bunch and miss opportunity to play.
Other Thoughts: I wonder what this property looked like before the course was here. I suspect is has some history to it. I look forward to playing again here and getting in all 18 holes. I'll just make sure I've got my dog to rescue any discs I can't get.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

1    11/23/2008   12/4/2008
Review By: joeyr
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like a course that forces you to stay on the fairway. Play clean and you are rewarded, play off the fairway and you loose strokes. Some fun and interesting holes.
Cons: Needs to have signs.
Other Thoughts: Fun tricky little holes and some long narrow tunnels. Plenty of OB and a little water. Has a good mix of fun stuff. Hole 18 was pretty cool with a big annie on second shot for a drop in 3. I will play this course again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting holes, overgrown rough

1    8/6/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
Pros: Several interesting holes where water came into play along with several moderately wooded holes.
Cons: Like others have said, they keep the fairways mowed, but the rough grows several feet high and has many sticker-burr weeds in it. The tees are just dirt and, while the course was pretty easy to follow, it was not marked. Virtually no significant elevation changes on any of the holes.
Other Thoughts: If they would tend the rough just a little this course would warrant at least a 3 rating.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.