Leander, TX 
Benbrook Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: BELLYRUBS Hole #6
3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Fairway

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Best of Leander

1    10/17/2015   8/21/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 61  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - the course offers a wonderful variety of tee shots. starting right off with hole # 1, which is a bender to the left. you will have to get creative several times during your round.
- hole 8 is a tight short tunnel shot. fun hole to unload all the putters in the bag.
- lots of chill opportunities along the course.
- good shading from the trees to guard from the Texas heat, exception 2 and 9-12.
Cons: - some of the tees were in rough shape.
- the course was very overgrown when my group played. hole 3 had insanely tall grass. we spent upwards of an hour searching for discs threw-out the round.
- lots of great opportunities to lose a disc. i think our group lost 3 of them (holes 3, 17 and 18) don't throw it in the water on 17, there will be no point looking for it.
- the newly constructed houses along 3 come into play, especially if its windy. i threw mine over the fence. The nice owner was home and retrieved it for me.
- the open holes 9 - 12 were not fun to play in the 20-30 mph gusts.
Other Thoughts: - In all, this is a decent course. If you live in the Austin area, you should check it out at some point. However if you are just visiting the north side, check out Brushy Creek MUD (aka Cat hollow) or Williamson County as first play options.
- although much time has passed since my review, this course can be quite challenging if there hasn't been a recent overgrowth removal or grass cutting. I suggest playing in the winter when all the vegetation is dead.
- lastly, the course could also really benefit from some new concrete tees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pick Your Own Tee

1    4/17/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 30  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in a nice neighborhood park. I liked the variety of holes, even though some seemed kind of repetitive, especially the wide-open holes. The stand-out holes for this course are: Hole 5 with its 150 foot throw over the pond to reach the basket; Hole 7 with its tomahawk (only way to get over the creek and trees) throw to the basket; and the very short hole 8 through the "grove".
Cons: It seems the neighborhood parks and recreation ran out of money before they could put up signs and navigational arrows to help people find their way around. There are restrooms at the beginning of the course and some trash cans but not near enough benches.
Other Thoughts: I found hole 7 unique in the way that it was the first hole I had ever encountered that catered strictly to the tomahawk throwers. I chose to go around the trees and creek and tee just on the other side making it a 150 foot hole instead. (Hey, some of us just don't throw overhand : ) ) Good course. Merits a 3 in my book. If they add some signs and tee markers, it would be a 3.5 easy. If you are in the neighborhood, I would recommend playing this one. Just take a picture of the map up front to help with navigation and you should be good to throw.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Bring your boots!

2-4    1/11/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: therschleb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very challenging for newbies like me due to the course being very thight in spots. Good or bad, since the trees dropped their leaves, it made it easier to find your disc and get through holes that wouldn't normally be there. The stream and ponds all had water in them, which added to the difficulty.
Cons: Due to the rain this fall/winter, this course was VERY muddy. In fact, sometimes you had to invent your way to the next shot/hole due to the conditions.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if the city would put in permanant tee pads instead of the bark chips.


2-4    7/31/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: BBBrutal
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very overgrown with vegetation in some spots, which makes accuracy a must, as well as being fluent with a variety of shots. Throwing a tomahawk here and there is a lot easier than trying to throw a hyzer or anhyzer around a patch of brambles or trees. Great for accuracy building, this is one of my harder practice courses. If you dont have good accuracy now, you will learn :]
Cons: The thorn bushes, trees, weeds, and general vegetation prove to be a problem when finding discs. Unless you have a hawks eye, be prepared to search for a while. Also, on hole 5, there is a pond right in front of the basket. Although it has dryed up a great deal, it is now much like Quicksand! Watchout out!
This course is not beginner frendly, and definitely not disc friendly.
Other Thoughts: Bring your Golden Retriever.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.