Leander, TX 
Benbrook Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: BELLYRUBS Hole #3 (Taken 1/2009)
4 / 462ft.   4 / 462ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Fairway: Basket is on other side of narrow creek



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good Ideas, Poor Execution

1    8/28/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: 5c077l20x
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent layout of holes. Makes good use of land available.
-Fairways seem to be kept maintained.
-No tee pads, but tees aren't terrible.
-Pin placements are a lot of fun and can be creative. This leads to a lot of shot variety among holes, but see below as this kind of turns out to be a con for how limiting some holes are.
-Plenty of Parking and nice restrooms by parking lot.
-Not a lot of traffic. Never seen another soul out on the course with me.
Cons: -Pretty rough to navigate. Some tees look out to multiple pins. Map helps, a local could help out a lot more.
-Overall pretty short. Some longer holes, but I've never taken longer than an hour to get through it by myself.
-Though fairways are fair, the rough is ROUGH. Poorly maintained. No paths in or out of brush. Wasps and yellow jackets a plenty.
-Lots of risk for little reward. Specifically thinking of water on 5, brush on 7, and tunnels on 14-16.
-Like I said above, a lot of shot variety and fun lines. But its an odd mix of everything. For is otherwise a pretty casual playing course, there are some odd make-it-or-lose-your-favorite-disc type shots (again 5,7,some of the back 9).
-Related: usually only one option for a line on some of the holes.
-Tee pads/alternate tees would help a lot.
Other Thoughts: Will definitely give this one another shot over the winter when the brush isn't so thick. Could be a lovely sister course to Cat Hollow and Rivery if it was maintained a little better. Alternate tees would be welcome as well. While it's a good introductory course for beginners, be sure your okay with losing a disc or two if you want to take some of the risks the course offers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course with a Few Mediocre Holes

2-4    1/14/2014   1/14/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 74  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course uses a strip of land located between a housing development and a sports complex. There is a wooded creek with a couple of ponds that are well used to create many challenging holes.

There is a paved parking area with clean restrooms near the first tee. A course map with an aerial photo of the course, hole lengths, and par information is located near the Hole 1 teepad.

Many of the holes utilize the thick trees and brush lining the creek to create challenge. If you miss the fairway you plunge into a real tangle of honeysuckle and brier. Getting back out will test your skills and add strokes.

Holes 1 and 2 are nothing special, but a decent beginning. Hole 1 requires a big left turn through a line of trees to the basket. Hole 2 is mostly over open ground.

Hole 3 begins with a wide open drive over open ground, but requires hitting a 30' gap in the brushline. The basket is set just beyond the creek in this gap. Missing left or right will add a stroke as you try to get out of the thick tangles.

Hole 4 is the first of the tunnels through the trees and brush, Like many subsequent holes being able to hit a straight, low drive is necessary to make birdie or par.

Some of the bad reviews for this course focus on Hole 5 which is a tough hole to be sure. The basket is set at the end of a 200' long pond, with heavy brush close behind the basket. The landing area at the basket is small and most approaches require a carry over the pond. Losing a disc is a very real possibility on this hole, and I lost one during my first round. But playing it well is very rewarding. If you want to play it safe you make a series of shorter shots alongside the pond, but even here the landing areas are small. All-in-all a very challenging hole, but I like it.

Hole 7 is a short but tough shot over the creek and treeline. If you have a good tomahawk this is the place to bust it out. I don't, so I have to try to hit a gap up in the trees. I accomplish that about 50% of the time. Miss and you're in the shule.

Hole 8 is a strangely short hole that makes a good ace run. But there are plenty of trees to knock down an errant drive and turn your easy birdie into a par.

Holes 14, 15, and 16 place a premium on a straight drive through narrow tree-lined fairways.

The finishing hole is a nice par 4 requiring a left-fading drive, and right-fading second shot over the creek, and an approach to a tucked-in basket near the creek.
Cons: Teepads are gravel/dirt/mud and they get sticky in wet weather. Some of the tees have a couple of pads dug out, with no specific delineation of the front of the tee or even which pad is "correct".

Tee signs are attractive limestone "tombstones". They blend into the park setting nicely, but the hole maps are crude and in some cases confusing. The Hole 1 sign is a great example, showing the hole running "sideways" (right-to-left) on the sign when in fact it runs straight out with a slight dogleg left.

There are several creek crossings required to play the course. Some of the low-water crossings are partially or totally washed-out, so you either have to backtrack to a bridge or hop across on rocks and logs.

A few holes are long open shots across mowed grass. My least favorite pair is 10 and 11. Hole 10 is an open 452' hole from a slightly elevated tee. You then backtrack a bit to the tee for Hole 11, and play a 385' hole over flat, open ground.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course because of the variety and many challenging holes. Probably not a great course for a new player as the narrow fairways and water on some holes can get frustrating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's not bad, but...

5+    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the course - it's fun and has a good variety of holes. Maybe too much variety. It's well-maintained and generally not very crowded. There are some pretty memorable holes. I think #17 in particular is a lot of fun - a mid-range hyzer over water with the hole nestled against the water to provide all sorts of risk-reward. (If you're a lefty you probably hate the hole.)

There's nothing special about it, it's certainly not championship-level, but it provides a reasonable level of challenge for intermediate to advanced players.

It does have some cons, which I list below. None are enough to keep me from playing, but it certainly isn't my top choice course.
Cons: 1) Snakes. As a born-and-bred Texas boy, I don't have any particular problem with snakes, but this course is snake city, and venomous snakes in particular. You've got all four out there - coral, copperhead, water moccasin, and rattlesnake, and there's a lot of dense brush. Be seriously aware about it - this is easily the most likely course anywhere around Austin to get a snakebite, even outdoing East Metro. Don't wear flip-flops and shorts.

2) At least one ridiculously hard hole. This is what I meant by too much variety. #5 in particular (I think #5) is about 500 feet but ends with a 200-foot completely unavoidable shot over water to a virtually non-existent green protected on the right by a large tree. It is just a stupid-hard hole - even a good shot by a pro could end up in the water or deep in the woods. People also complain about #7, which is a completely blind tunnel shot. I don't like that hole but it's not as bad as #5, because you at least have to throw badly to get into trouble. #14 also strikes me as quite difficult. There's quite a bit of water on this course, and in particular water where you can lose a disc on several holes.

In general the holes feel very mismatched. 1-3 are extremely easy, then 4-7 are pretty hard to stupid-hard, then 8-13 are ludicrously easy again (8 is a virtually guaranteed 2 even if you try for the ace, and 9-12 are across wide-open fields), then 14-18 ramps up the difficulty again (with the exception of 15). I feel like this could have been a really great nine-holer but just doesn't fit 18 very comfortably. (In fact, playing 1, 3, 4, 12, 7, 13, 14, 16, 17 makes a good nine-hole course with only a couple of longish walks on 4-12 and 14-16.)

3) Barbed wire. There's some old barbed wire fences left in the middle of the course, in the rough between 13 and the big field where 9-12 are. Really take a look at them before stepping over them - sometimes there's more barbed wire just beyond them. I've been tagged and seen another player get a permanent scar. Another reason not to wear shorts or flip-flops.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Print a map before you visit

1    6/2/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located on an interesting piece of property and has potential to become a good course with a lot of work. There is nice variety between power and technical requirements, providing a challenge that is well-rounded.

Several of the holes are nicely secluded and there is a nice shade canopy of a good portion of the course.

The course is adjacent to a large subdivision and thereby introduces many new players to the sport.
Cons: This course really doesn't know what it wants to be. While its location brings many new players to the game, it is very unfriendly to beginners in several aspects. On the other hand, while many of the holes provide an expert level challenge, some are just dinks. (i.e. the 94 ft. jump-putt hole 8) The course screams for two tee areas per hole.

The course is poorly marked and the flow is difficult to follow at several points. Most holes have a basic placard with a distance listed and directional arrow, but several are missing. Many of the baskets are tucked blindly, necessitating a long walk-up to visualize the hole before proceeding. The tee areas are natural. The areas that are most frequently used are often uneven. (not a major issue as long as you allow yourself some liberty to throw from a nearby flat spot.)

The course needs an extensive amount of additional clearing. The potential to lose discs is very high for beginner or expert player alike. The areas immediately off the fairways are dangerous with thorns, burrs, hidden drop-offs, and a variety of dangerous snakes.

While the shape of the plot of land doesn't immediately lend itself to easily constructing two loops of nine holes which allow players the option of returning to their vehicle or playing half a round, it is possible. I recognize that many players don't see this as a con, but I find no compelling reason to not employ this concept at every possible opportunity. Imagine bringing the wife and kids out for a leisurely disc golf experience and after 9 holes you've gotten cut by thorns, rattled at by a snake, lost all your discs, and find yourself of a mile from your car.

Some particular hole concerns:

Hole 1: The smart play is to bomb a hyzer line down the walking path, which crosses the hyzer line on hole 2.

Hole 3 is blind from the tee, but points in the direction of hole 16's basket. The hole itself is a classic par 3.5 that would be better 50 feet shorter or 125 feet longer.

Hole 4 and hole 15 are jammed dangerously right on top of each other. (the map indicates the "old" hole 15, which appears to have been much safer.)

Hole 5 is fun concept for a short, expert-level par 4, but the landing area at the basket is insufficient even for top players. For beginner to intermediate-level players the hole is a 50/50 lost disc proposition as there is very little area to bail out left of the pond on the approach shot. Following hole 5, the walking path takes you out within 15 feet of hole 13's basket, oops, double back through the woods.

Hole 6 has a blind basket, but the tee points right at hole 7's basket.

Hole 7 is a blind, overhand/giant spike-hyzer mandatory hole which virtually assures that beginners will lose a disc and/or skip the hole. After teeing, players must walk back within 20 feet of hole 6's basket to get to the "fairway" of this hole.

Hole 8: As mentioned earlier, it's a straight jump-putt 94 foot par 2.

Hole 11: I couldn't find the tee area, so just made up a wide-open hole to follow up the wide-open hole 10.

Hole 16 is another par 3.5. A perfectly placed drive sets up a 100 foot dump shot.

Hole 17 brings the walking path into play too much. Also, after teeing on hole 17, players must walk back within 15 feet of hole 16's basket.

Hole 18 is a nice concept for a short par 4, but the second shot needs some additional clearing to make it really viable without throwing forcing a huge overhand shot.
Other Thoughts: Please leave the course cleaner than the way you found it and allow faster players to play through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/12/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun short 18 holer. I really liked that the park offered bathrooms and had a course map at the parking lot. The tee pads are little cap stones so they are all pretty easy to find( except 11 but i'll get there later). I enjoyed how the course offered short ace runs to longer holes that force you to hit a landing zone. The pond on hole 5 made for an interesting hole because of the difficulty. You have to land on the left side of the pond then throw across it again with a tree on the right side of the basket taking away the hyzer line. Also 16 and 17 were fun holes were water came into play. Hole 16 has a pond behind the basket not more than 15 feet and 17 you tee off over that same pond( walk across the bridge to find the tee pad for 17). 18 was a very challenging hole because you have to hit the landing are then a flick shot through the trees with a very tight angle Friendly locals.
Cons: Even though most holes have the cap stones not all of them do. For example, I did not see one for hole 11 so I skipped the hole. ALso I didnt see hole 12's either. I probably wouldnt have found 17 if it wasn't for a local who pointed me the right direction. There were a few fun holes but there were too many wide open holes like 6,9,10,11,12 ( i made up my own tee pad for 11 and 12). The course became a little boring because of the lack of obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This course is a very quick 18 holer due to some extremely short holes like 8 and 9. I finished it in about 45 minutes. Take a picture of the map and actually use it unlike myself so you can actually find your way around on 11,12,17,18. This course is nothing spectacular but it is still worth a play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Kadedrako
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like the mix of technical holes with easy wide open ones that you can really open up and let em fly.
Cons: Not a big fan of dirt tees and the ponds on 5 and 17 can claim a disk quick. 7 is also an interesting one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 He said it all

5+    6/13/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: atxDG
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its fun to play, more advanced areas, after the first 3 holes its pretty easy to navigate, mostly flat terrain, everyones pretty friendly
Cons: Snakes for sure, carry a stick with you if your going to be walking around the brush and def by the water. Sometimes they leave the "rough" out of control. No need for 3ft of tall grass, its in leander tee boxes
Other Thoughts: Shell out some change for tee boxes. Clean bathrooms

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Snakes and Lost Discs...Hard but Good

1    4/24/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: coachhart25
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The bathrooms at the front were very well kept, maybe the best for a disc course/park I have seen in a while. For the most part everything was trimmed,.. Nets in good condition. The photo of the map of the course at the fornt was nice. Take a picture, you are good to go!
Cons: The "natural" tee boxes were ok. I am getting used to those a little more. No signs, no yardage markers. We lost three discs in the span of four holes...
Other Thoughts: I like how they "mowed" the "fairways" but I do wish they would trip the "rough" having weeds as tall as my waist (I am 6'3) is tough! Throwing over the 17 creek is prety cool, but not near as daunting as some of the other holes... #5? Holy cow. If you throw it left, you lose your disc. then 3/4 of the way down there is another man made pond right in front of the basket...Ouch!

Some very narrow fairways. This is not like Wilco though or Rivery in the fact that if your disc goes in these trees, it is NOT coming down, and you are probably without the disc. I just kept driving with my Viper because I was afraid tho throw my other ones!

There are signs all around to warn you of snakes. Copperhead, rattlesnakes, water moccosins. We saw a copperhead and heard a rattler, but we also didn't venture too far (hence losing the discs.

This courese probably is not for the weekend warrior or the people that just picked it up. I am sure if your skills are good (not me) than this is pretty enjoyable. Holes 10-12 are mirrors in the open, everything else pretty tight. We threw a disc into somones backyard on three (darn wind!)

For us living in Round Rock, I wanted to drive out there to see it. It wasn't terrible, but I don't think even if and when I get bette will I go out anbd play it. Too far for me for it just being like this...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pick Your Own Tee

1    4/17/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in a nice neighborhood park. I liked the variety of holes, even though some seemed kind of repetitive, especially the wide-open holes. The stand-out holes for this course are: Hole 5 with its 150 foot throw over the pond to reach the basket; Hole 7 with its tomahawk (only way to get over the creek and trees) throw to the basket; and the very short hole 8 through the "grove".
Cons: It seems the neighborhood parks and recreation ran out of money before they could put up signs and navigational arrows to help people find their way around. There are restrooms at the beginning of the course and some trash cans but not near enough benches.
Other Thoughts: I found hole 7 unique in the way that it was the first hole I had ever encountered that catered strictly to the tomahawk throwers. I chose to go around the trees and creek and tee just on the other side making it a 150 foot hole instead. (Hey, some of us just don't throw overhand : ) ) Good course. Merits a 3 in my book. If they add some signs and tee markers, it would be a 3.5 easy. If you are in the neighborhood, I would recommend playing this one. Just take a picture of the map up front to help with navigation and you should be good to throw.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Crown of Thorns

5+    3/15/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: Jeffrey Reiling
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course I play with regularity when I'm enduring the long periods of time I can't afford to play the variety involving the little round ball. I am in no way an expert disc golfer and struggle to follow the terminology involving different throwing techniques ie. hyzer, anhyer, etc. I'm a chunker and proud of it. That's about as technical as I get unless faced with a hole like #7. This would be the one with the "tee box" (this term is used very loosly for this course) tucked away in a small clearing across a creek up a slippery when wet muddy path. You can try throwing your disc WAY up high over the bank of trees directly in front of you using a normal "playing catch with a frisbee" technique (is there a name for this-maybe forearm?). Good luck with that. It can be done, but more often than not, my disc catches the tip top of a tree and plunges downward either to the thorny netherworld below or into a tangle of branches only to be seen again in the fall when the leaves drop. So, I learned to throw overhead style (tomahawk maybe). "CLINK" right in the basket! Oh, I forgot to mention that was about the 68th or so time playing the whole, but yes, "CLINK" indeed. My first and thus far only ace obtained during any round of any variety of golf aside from putt-putt. Nope, I have yet to ace the infinitely simpler very next hole #8. Short, straight, and eerily carved out amongst leaning hedge apple trees and a swampy bog, this hole demands a tight controlled dart. A little to the right and you're knocked to the ground by branches. A bit long and your in the quickmud. A smidge too much mustard using a sidearm throw and you pull to the left directly crashing into a tree trunk. This type of variety and its out in the country/woods feel make this course a sheer pleasure to tackle. It has a fair amount of straight-forward open holes as well, making for a much appreciated reprieve from the canopy hugging (especially in the summer) wormholes that make your arm itch to let loose, but you'de better know better.

The pros would be:
1. 18 fun, free and secluded holes (although right next to a neighborhood-you'll never know it except for #3 which hugs several backyard fences).
2. Wildlife abound during the warmer months, including deer, fish, herons, turtles, many many snakes (could be considered a con by some-not me), fox, racoons, and a stunning display of monarchs and argiope garden spiders if you're there at the right time.
3. Challenging and highly varied play.
Almost never crowded. You will often be in your own beautiful world during the week.
4. Different every time you play, as the creeks and ponds come and go with the changing seasons, adding to the feeling of being part of something alive and evolving, just as your game will be required to be.
Cons: The most looming of these would be the inconsistent upkeep and mowing. This is only mildly irritating to me but will be more so to others. The course has been trimmed back and several open areas cleared out considerably over the past year or so. Still, thorny brambles abound which will punish you (I mean this literally) for venturing off the beaten path. I have been dripping blood on more than one occasion. Also, be very careful when romping around not to trip up on vines. I have also taken a couple face plants while searching for my all too numerous misguided discs.
The other glaring con in the ease of getting turned around and heading to the wrong hole. This is especially true right at the start after hole #1. Don't throw toward the pond looking for hole #2 or #3 for that matter. #2 basket is toward the houses right in front of the backyard fences. #3 is out of sight down along said fences across a creek a bit to the left in the trees. Study the map recently installed at tee box #1 if you haven't played here before. There are zero signs or guiding aides on the course once you leave the start. The transition from basket #11 to #12 is also tricky. When at basket #11 look to the left behind the wood pile to find tee box #12. Don't go to the right around the corner, that's tee box #15. You'll see what I mean.
Other Thoughts: Take your family, dog, patience, and long pants. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy the natural world around you and never forget that you're simply one part of it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.