Leander, TX 
Benbrook Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: BELLYRUBS Hole #2 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 289ft.   3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Pretty nice

1    4/24/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: RRDiscgolfer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very nice course, they had recently cut it and everything was green. there is an awesome hole that you have to tomahawk over some trees to get to the basket, maybe 100ft. pretty cool. There are times when you loose track of what hole you should be on because there is no signs. Just take a map and look for the mulch.
Cons: trees are so thick that if you throw on top of them you cant get your disc. almost like a canopy. lost tye dye valkyrie on hole 13.ug
Other Thoughts: Would be a really great course if they put tee box signs and put maybe concrete tee boxes or just new mulch.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a wide array of shots to be had. There is a beautiful creek that runs through the course that has water in it every time I play it.
Cons: Some high grass at times. Hard to find tees at times. 4-5 really open holes that get boring.
Other Thoughts: A great course located close to 5 more courses in the Greater Austin Area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Starting to break in?

1    1/30/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Djza
Played: 61  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We didn't get to finish all the holes, but were able to get a general feel for this new course.
For being built between suburban subdivisions, there are some very interesting holes here, crammed into a creek bottom.

It is nice to see Leander getting some disc golf courses, and as this one gets more use and tamed a bit, it will shape up to be a fine course.

I like that you get started with a few open holes, though the back yards on three come into play, and that isn't any fun. Once your arm is warmed up then you get into some pretty hairy alley holes. Though there are fair tunnels on all the holes we saw, the rough is still pretty fresh and nasty. I imagine that this will slowly beat back as the course gets used.

All in all a good mix of open and technical, just give yourself some time to find it the first time.
Cons: Well the primary rough on the open holes has apparently been mowed, because I didn't find this to be a problem. That being said, there are still some pretty frightening little thickets to put your disc into here.

Also, the "pond" on hole 5 I think was mostly dried up and looked shallow, but the mud is quicksand variety, and expect to sink up to your knees if you venture too close. With the pin just across the "water" accuracy is at a premium and the beginner and int. players I was with decided to save some time and anguish and skip this one.

There were a lot of kids running loose in the park when we were there, but they did not interfere with our game.

It is definitely easy to get lost until you figure this place out. I thought it was interesting that there is a sign on the practice basket, to let you know it is for practice, but there were no other signs on the course, with the exceptions of numbers on the baskets.
Try to follow someone, or just imagine kinda a figure eight that starts by the practice basket goes out to the right, crosses over, swoops back around and crosses over again back to the car. (That prolly doesn't help, but what the heck).

We were able to jump some holes to make it back to the car by dark without just having to walk a bunch and miss opportunity to play.
Other Thoughts: I wonder what this property looked like before the course was here. I suspect is has some history to it. I look forward to playing again here and getting in all 18 holes. I'll just make sure I've got my dog to rescue any discs I can't get.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

1    11/23/2008   12/4/2008
Review By: joeyr
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like a course that forces you to stay on the fairway. Play clean and you are rewarded, play off the fairway and you loose strokes. Some fun and interesting holes.
Cons: Needs to have signs.
Other Thoughts: Fun tricky little holes and some long narrow tunnels. Plenty of OB and a little water. Has a good mix of fun stuff. Hole 18 was pretty cool with a big annie on second shot for a drop in 3. I will play this course again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting holes, overgrown rough

1    8/6/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: Several interesting holes where water came into play along with several moderately wooded holes.
Cons: Like others have said, they keep the fairways mowed, but the rough grows several feet high and has many sticker-burr weeds in it. The tees are just dirt and, while the course was pretty easy to follow, it was not marked. Virtually no significant elevation changes on any of the holes.
Other Thoughts: If they would tend the rough just a little this course would warrant at least a 3 rating.

 Subpar, overgrown and poorly marked.

1    10/11/2008   10/11/2008
Review By: Dude
Played: 139  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The fairways were mowed nicely and the baskets were quality. Some of the holes had some challenging risk/reward shots but most of these could be easily played around without costing a stroke.
Cons: You have to walk every hole to see where the pin is located prior to teeing off. There are a number of very tight tunnel shots and if your disc goes into the rough you can spend quite a bit of time looking for them in the undergrowth. We played as a twosome at Int-Adv skill level and probably spent 45 minutes looking for discs in the rough. There are a few spots where you have to pass by a basket to get from another teepad to basket so if this were ever heavily played there could be some issues with discs flying at you.
Other Thoughts: I played almost a 3rd of the course with a Buzzz and there was 1-2 which a putter can be used to drive with.

There are a number of holes where water can come into play. I really wouldn't recommend this course for a beginner or someone just starting as an intermediate, not really due to difficulty, but because you'd probably spend more time looking for discs than playing.

I'd play again in a tournament setting, otherwise, probably not worth the drive past Wilco or Cat Hollow.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Benbrook Park

2-4    7/23/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I keep trying this course hoping they have made improvements but they never do. About 1/3 of the holes on this course are very interesting and fun (if you can find their teepads).
Cons: There are no signs but if you find the dirt teepad for #1, just in front of the three large rocks by the parking area, the course can be followed with a little luck.

This would be a pretty good course if they would fix the one major problem; The rough is too punishing. They mow the fairways and leave everything else to go wild. Not if, but when you miss the narrow fairways, you have to search knee high weeds or briar filled woods to find your disc. The weeds are so high that I didn't even know there was a creek down the middle of the course until my disc went in it. All five of our group were covered with scratches from the briars and brambles that make up the secondary rough (outside the neck high weeds). You will lose discs at this course!
Other Thoughts: Let the creek and trees be the hazards, not the weeds. Until then the fun factor is just not there.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.