Leander, TX 
Benbrook Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: BELLYRUBS Hole #3 (Taken 1/2009)
4 / 462ft.   4 / 462ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Fairway: Basket is on other side of narrow creek



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 North Austin GEM

5+    5/22/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: discgolf512
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I will take the leap and call this course a "Hidden Gem"
I see no reason this course shouldn't be as popular as; cat hollow, wilco, bart or pease (rip).
This course is technical with a wide variety of shots required.
There are several tight tunnel shots that require finesse.
Some wide open holes with distance (for the big guns). A couple of ACE runs and... a really fun shot midway through the course (hole 7), requiring a big hyzer or thumber over tall trees - you make it and deuce... if not, good luck :)
Throughout the course there is a creek and several ponds that come into play. If you can manage to stay out of those, the trees will try to grab your disc and leave you in the thorns.

The best hole has to be 18!!! It is a combination of the whole course in one long par 4. There is a creek, a pond, and more trees... all waiting to get one last shot at you. Brilliant!
Don't be scared though... slowly the course is getting more popular and the trees are getting worn in (and thus a little more forgiving).
Cons: The course needs better upkeep from parks dept. even when they do mow, they tend to just cut a 10' swath through the waist high weeds (the winter is great out here).
The tee boxes are hard to find, tee signs are badly needed out here... bring a map and have a great time.
Other Thoughts: What this course REALY needs is to be adopted by a disc club!
Just a little TLC and this gem will sparkle. I can't wait for someone to run a tourny out here.
UPDATE: 4the chains ran a tournamet! They did a lot of work marking teeboxs and clearing brush. Not only was the course in awesome shape, but one of the golfers at the tournament works for the parks dept. and told me the course will be mowed every two weeks.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Benbrook

5+    2/1/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: ian j.
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Challenging
-Long and short holes
-Variety of different shots
Cons: -Very woody
-No signs at tee boxes
-Not mowed very often
-Dirt tee boxes
Other Thoughts: Fun if you are fairly good at disc golf. Not a beginner course. Make sure you know where your disc lands after every shot or else you might lose it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Benbrook

5+    2/8/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: musicman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: -Great course for beginners and pros alike
-has a good variety of holes
-water comes into play on at least 4 holes, which can be a good or a bad thing
I'd say it's worth the drive
Cons: -Not well manicured
-no distinct teeboxes
-very hard to navigate for the first time. My first time I played there, I found myself looking for dirtspots.
-the vegetation will "literally" eat your discs
-the water holes are like quicksand
Other Thoughts: Make sure to catch this course when it's been mowed. Also, play it with a local if it's your first time out.

 On the fence

1    10/23/2010   11/20/2010
Review By: cfmack
Played: 52  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.9 Years
Pros: Considering the course around this one, it has potential. It is one of the only near by 18 hole courses and has a unique and challenging lay out.
Cons: The tie boxes are poorly marked. Poison ivy was all over the place. I would gladly walk away from any disc that landed in the "pond", which smelled like dead bodies where disposed of in there.
Other Thoughts: The grass was higher than most well kept courses but I've seen worse

 No good for visitors

1    9/26/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: jeremybaynai
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can see the potential in this course.
+Seems to be a nice layout.
+Holes laid out in a variety of lengths and directions.
+Only public/free/18-hole course in the area.
+Fairways well mowed
Cons: I'll preface this with the fact that I'm not a newbie. I've been playing for year and have played dozens of courses in MI, NC, TX, and CO.

NO TEES!! I saw some reviews talking about maybe some gravel or mulch, but after the first tee box (which is just a patch of dead grass), I literally just teed off from wherever seemed to be a slightly worn area. Maybe no one plays in the summer so everything is over grown, but seriously, i looked at the course map and just guessed as to where I should tee off from. I understand some public park courses not having the funding for nice cement pads and tee markers, but can't someone from the area go out there with a shovel and make a real tee?

Along with no tees, comes the fact that you have no idea where the next hole is because you don't know which direction you should be going. I saw another reviewer make a comment on this, and just assumed they were being overly critical, thinking "Of course you need to scout out where a basket is if you've never played the course before". But usually you have a general idea of where you're going. But even with the course map loaded on my phone, I literally wandered around looking for the basket, and once i found it, I walked back to where i had come from trying to figure out what would function as the fairway.

Be careful assuming anything. I threw my disc into a pond when i over shot the WRONG hole. I was throwing at what i believed to be 3, over shot it by 10 feet, only to find out that was the 17th basket anyway.
Other Thoughts: If you live real close and can take the time and effort to get to know the terrain, I believe this could be a pretty decent little course. But for anyone that is considering making a trip to head up and play the Leander courses, most are on private property, and this one is just not worth it, stay at home.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Bring your boots!

2-4    1/11/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: therschleb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very challenging for newbies like me due to the course being very thight in spots. Good or bad, since the trees dropped their leaves, it made it easier to find your disc and get through holes that wouldn't normally be there. The stream and ponds all had water in them, which added to the difficulty.
Cons: Due to the rain this fall/winter, this course was VERY muddy. In fact, sometimes you had to invent your way to the next shot/hole due to the conditions.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if the city would put in permanant tee pads instead of the bark chips.

 EeEk

5+    11/25/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: WhoMikeDank
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: Challenging course with many different types of holes. Technical shots as well as wide open and short and long. Creeks and ponds to add to the mix.
Cons: Rough can be pretty rough, sometimes hard to find your disc.
Other Thoughts: The course is starting to shape up more and more, grass is mowed more often now a days and the rough is becoming less thick :)

Jungle Course

5+    9/1/2013   10/7/2009
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2013
Pros: **New** So, the Parks Department has taken a renewed interest in their course and have recently installed Tee Signs on all 18 holes (excluding the long tee boxes I designed for tournament use). Course is better maintained then it has been in the past, and the fairways, however narrow they may be, are always mowed. The rough, however, will leave you questioning your decision to even get close to the hairy jungle of sharp stingy things that is the Benbrook rough. (Generally referred to as Hell Bush) - The annual event at this course is named 'Children of the Thorn' and for good reason!

This park gets a good rating from me because its better than a decent/typical course. They made good use of the available land and created several interesting shots. Smart play is required on this one. Tee signs are placed near the standard tee boxes, there are long boxes on a handfull of holes, but they are not properly marked for use.
Cons: Hellbush, briars, and everything that is sharp, stings, or is itchy resides in this park. Be cautious and stay in the fairway or else!
**New** If you're on hole 4, it may be wise to peek out passed the basket and look down what is now hole 15's fairway to make sure you dont take a disc to the face while putting on 4. Terrible re-design of hole 15 has now placed players on hole 4 at great risk, be advised!
Other Thoughts: When this course is trimmed up it is a blast. Some holes lack creativity but, you do what you can with what you have.

  

2-4    7/31/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: BBBrutal
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very overgrown with vegetation in some spots, which makes accuracy a must, as well as being fluent with a variety of shots. Throwing a tomahawk here and there is a lot easier than trying to throw a hyzer or anhyzer around a patch of brambles or trees. Great for accuracy building, this is one of my harder practice courses. If you dont have good accuracy now, you will learn :]
Cons: The thorn bushes, trees, weeds, and general vegetation prove to be a problem when finding discs. Unless you have a hawks eye, be prepared to search for a while. Also, on hole 5, there is a pond right in front of the basket. Although it has dryed up a great deal, it is now much like Quicksand! Watchout out!
This course is not beginner frendly, and definitely not disc friendly.
Other Thoughts: Bring your Golden Retriever.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 benbrook

5+    8/10/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: austin aero
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's good to have a tough course in the area. Aside from Wilco, the other courses in Leander tend to be 9 hole beginner neighborhood park courses. I played this course before it opened and again recently. The open holes are easier when the grass has been cut. The "creek" holes have gotten tougher as vegetation has continued to make the fairways tighter. There is a good mix of holes challenging you to throw a sidearm here and a tomahawk there.
Cons: Definitely take a map the first couple times. The tee pads need a lot of work. If the parks dept. can keep some of the fairways cut to a decent height, play can run a lot smoother. I remember when Cat Hollow opened, it had the same problem and now play on it is faster with maintained fairways.
Other Thoughts: Tough holes are the ones you remember and make the game memorable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.