Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Fort Riley, KS 
Riley's Conference Center Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Lost, lost, lost

1    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: DisCat13
Played: 110  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 15.4 Years
Pros: Long and wide open. This course is quiet and peaceful to play.
Cons: No signs, no maps, no directions. I didn't know where to park, where to start, or where to go from hole to hole. The previous review indicating where to go on each hole is a bit outdated and I could only successfully navigate about 8 holes. Thoroughly disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Long drive to get to, unless you live on site or in JC, and not worth the navigating troubles from hole to hole.

 CAUTION

5+    8/3/2009   6/3/2010
Review By: PurpleRick
Played: 59  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Some seriously long bomb tosses. Good use of elevation around the Riley Conference Center. Nice baskets.
Cons: No tee pads or course signage.
Other Thoughts: A buddy of mine told me that course is not being mowed so far this summer (2010). He said that as of June 1st there's grass growing up through the baskets! I posted a course map today, just in case it becomes playable again, in the winter, or who knows when...

  Great course!!!

2-4    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: chinds
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet area in old Fort Riley, course is renovated golf course with beautiful rolling hills and old trees. Well maintained with newer baskets.
Cons: Lack of course markings. Not techincaly open to the public as it's on a military installation.
Other Thoughts: Park next to the tennis court on opposite end of parking lot from conference center.
Hole 1: start from elevated manhole next to tennis court, long par 4 or par 5.
Hole 2: Look 90 degrees to your right, par 3.
Hole 3: Follow wood line for a long par 3 or 4. Be cautious of the tree line, I lost my favorite driver in the brush (if you find it I would like it back).
Hole 4: Trace the line of trees for soft uphill approach. Par 4.
Hole 5: It's the only hole you can see from hole 4, no obstacles, par 4 or long par 3.
Hole 6: Just left of large evergreen, slight downhill, par 4 or short par 5.
Hole 7: Make a line from hole 5 to hole 6 and follow through the evergreen to a downhill basket obstructed by trees and brush. Par 4 makes for a difficult birdie shot.
Hole 8: Across jogging path, no obstructions. Par 3.
Hole 9: With your back to the road, aim for the tallest tree in the line, hole is difficult uphill approach, tricky par 5.
Hole 10: Only hole that's visible from hole 9. Par 3 or short par 4.
Hole 11: Located to the left of hole 10, nestled in a grove of tall evergreens. Makes for a tricky par 3.
Hole 12: To the left, beside jogging path. Par 3.
Hole 13: Make a line from hole 11 to hole 12 and follow across the small valley to a distant basket on top of the hill. Long par 5 or par 6.
Hole 14: facing back toward hole 13, look to the left for the small walking bridge, basket is to the left in the elm grove. Par 5.
Hole 15: Trace the walking path to the left and the hole will be on top of the hill, low trees make for a short but challenging par 4.
Hole 16, look to your left across the road for a downhill basket on the edge of a drop off. Par 3.
Hole 17: Easiest way to find this hole is to throw towards the main road and follow the small valley that runs that direction, once you know where it is it makes for a long par 4 or respectable par 5.
Hole 18: By far my favorite hole on the course. Throw back towards the parking lot across the hills and valleys towards a basket that's in a small group of poplar trees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/26/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: KC Red
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well maintained.
Cons: Did not see any indications of where to tee off from so we just tee'd from one basket to the next.
Other Thoughts: Were in a hurry to avoid the rain so only played the first 5 holes. Once we located #1 and #2 it was easy to determine the layout of the course. The guard at the gate didn't know what we were talking about so don't expect any help locating the course. Find Hubner road and drive until you see the sign for 'Riley Convention Center' We parked down near the pool.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf on Post

5+    10/8/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Tryondm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintianed, very challangeing, lots of hills, trees in just the right spots. There is concret tees, the holes are well labled. There is a good flow of the course. It is a old golf course so some of the distances are quite a walk. The longest distance is roughly 500 meters with a huge valley in between holes.
Cons: There is no map. Once you walk around and figure out the course it is real simple. There is no score card so you can't figure out the par for the hole or course. The distance between holes is really really long for some and really short for others. Only a few of the holes have tees so it is a little difficult to figure out where you are going if you don't recon it first.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course for people on post. It is real nice but could really use a map and score card.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center