Disc Golf Store
Chico, CA 
Sherwood Forest Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #2 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
I love this course

5+    1/12/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: senanimach9
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect for short-game practices
Tight layout for quick games before/after work
Each hole is perfect for different discs
Cons: Very few holes are suited for long drives
Lots of thorns and dust during certain times of the year
Very short course
Other Thoughts: I will always love this course. I played here many times when I first started and will continue to do so whenever I can.

The Pros and Cons are pretty connected here...its a short little course which is great if you want to play quickly or just get some practice in without hiking for miles.

On the other hand its not a course that will help you grow with your drives and it's not a great place to visit if you're aching for one of those epic hour+ long games.

It's well maintained, away from too much traffic. It's not the end-all of courses and it's far from being a "bad" course. It is what it is, a great little course for practice and quick games.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Perfect beginner course

1    11/25/2013   12/3/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small city park, it didn't seem like there was much interference from other park activities. The course is designed for kids, with a fun Robin Hood theme and large arrows on a couple holes as obstacles. There's a nice course map by the practice basket, and the holes are numbered. All of the baskets are in view from the tee and the transitions between holes are easy to follow.

There are a couple holes that have a protected pin or a slightly tricky line to hit. There is a small amount of brush on the edges of some fairways, enough that errant shots will sometimes lead to the need for recovery shots but not so much that it will be frustrating.
Cons: The course is very short and straightforward. Most experienced players won't need more than a putter and maybe a mid, and the majority of the holes are straight and fairly open. I know that the course was intended for kids, and it's a really nice design for that purpose, but I rate all courses on the same scale.

The tees are tiny, with only room for a standstill shot. There are concrete bumpers in front of the tees, seemed like a tripping hazard on follow throughs. The course doesn't quite wrap back to the first hole, there's a bit of a walk that encourages players to throw past a couple other holes to the practice basket.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course approachable and interesting with the right amount of challenge and fun to keep first time players interested and coming back. Experienced players won't find any real challenge or variety but it's not a course meant for that audience. It can still be a fun place for a fun quick putter round, and it's a perfect venue to teach the sport.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Haters gonna hate

5+    2/17/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: flipphone
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2013
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: You guys can hate all you want, but this course serves the exact purpose it was built for, to have an easy place for kids to learn about playin disc golf. I'm giving it a good rating cause I've seen hundreds of happy kids playing this course.

Every year we through the Awesome Blossom Toss em tourney here for kids age 5 to 13. We bring snacks, we give out trophies and every kid gets a custom stamped disc for participating. This course was built for kids, played by kids and making future disc golfers and isn't that what its really all about.
Cons: Yeah its a small short course, but kids love it.
Other Thoughts: Suck it Bushman!

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 fun in small package

5+    8/7/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: zofo
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Just got into or should I say addicted to disc golf. Being a newcomer this is a great place to start. Short holes but with enough dificulty to make it a challenge. new players wont be too discouraged. Met many experienced players working on their approaches and short game. Great community very willing to give tips and play a round. right next to park so easy access and family friendly.
Cons: Rocky and a lot of stickers and rough brush. Be mindful of snakes and other critters. Can get busy and some tees are close to baskets. Concrete tees are good but some are short and can be ankle killers.

 for the kids

5+    2/26/2012   2/29/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice baskets, unique fake arrows on the 8th hole
-easy access, located in a nice park
-perfect for kids/beginners
Cons: -busy
-short
-flat
Other Thoughts: It's by all means a kids course. As such, it is a great resource for beginners and folks looking to shore up their short game. Also a good place to play when it's windy if you need to learn how to adjust your throws for that. I wouldn't travel a great distance to play here but it serves its purpose well.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The merry course

2-4    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: man in red
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 1/5/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: kids can learn disc golf,
hole 8 has fake arrows,
hard to lose discs,
you only need 2 disc
practice basket
Cons: short.
only one hole has fake arrows
no tee signs
small tee pads
Other Thoughts: nice small course right by a bigger course
and practice course (wildwood)

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where Robin Hood and his merry men got their start

2-4    10/20/2010   3/12/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Great place to take kids to teach them the sport
- Good place to practice long puts
- A couple of holes dogleg slightly providing a little variety
- Only 1 or 2 discs are realy needed to make it through the course, a putter and maby a Roc or Buzzz for the longer holes
- Concrete tee pads *
- Baskets are in good condition, with a practice basket neer hole 1
- Extra hole plays to practice basket and might be the only hole long enough to need a driver
- Huge fake arrows make for a fun obsticle for the kids
- OK mix of open and wooded areas
- Area in creek bed and beyond could be used for adding extra holes for a tourny
- All holes are ace-able *
- Nice sign at the entrance with a map
Cons:
- Concrete tees are so short there is no room for a run up, though most holes are too short to need a run up
- Holes are all super short you realy only need a putter for most holes, but this course was designed for kids so this is to be expected
- All holes are ace-able *
- Rocky ground could be a rough on DX plastic
- No tee signs on the course, they arn't realy needed though as most holes you can see the basket from the tee
- Concrete blocks in front of the tees with the hole name on it seemed like they would end up triping people
Other Thoughts:
A fun and short litte 9 hole course in the city of Chico. The course was designed for kids and is perfect for that. If I were rating it fully on the idea that it is a kids course than I would probably give it a 4, but I feel that I need to rate it against all the other courses that I've played. The holes are all super short and many of them I was having trouble not over driving with my putter. The concrete tees are all short and slightly raised with a concrete block in front of them with the name of the hole on it. The good part is that you shouldn't need a run up on any of the holes out here, so this won't make a huge diffrence. The holes actualy have a decent amount of variety for a course designed for kids, there are a couple of slight dog legs, some holes that make it up to about a medium density of trees, while others are wide open shots. There is even a hole neer the back that has a hand full of giant fake arrows sticking out of the ground, they don't realy stop adults from throwing right over them, but they are a good obsticle for the kids. Not a course that I would recomend traveling a long distance to play, but it is a good course for taking kids to, or playing a quick lunchtime round if your in the area.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A good practice course

1    8/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: jnbeasley
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course for a quick, short game. Also practicing and working on form or taking some beginner friends along. Good baskets. Well kept and close.
Cons: Not very challenging. Not a really isolated DG course being next to Manzanita and hooker oak park.
Other Thoughts: Eagled hole 1!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Quick Course

5+    6/11/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: JohnAmber
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2011
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is certainly a short course, designed for kids as they say (though I rarely see any there).

* Quick drive for most of north Chico
* Usually no waiting past a minute or two per hole
* Amazing course to work on medium shots and putts
Cons: * Snakes like crazy in the summer. I usually avoid tees 2&3, as well as 6 during the hot seasons (run along the creek). Sometimes Chico area rec will even close these holes due to rattlers.
* No real spot to air out
Other Thoughts: I usually make a 10th hole starting just after the 9th in the clearing (you'll see it marked where most people throw from) back to the practice target. There is a much better chance to air out doing this, however, it crosses the throwing lane of the 4th tee, so watch for people there and people near the target itself.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/28/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: gotalan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: well marked, chain baskets, easy access and interesting pin positions on many of the holes make this a well designed course for beginners and those just looking for a quick practice round. Very beautiful, especially in the spring!
Cons: Will certainly be barren and hot in the dead of the summer. It is short, so don't kid yourself (pun intended) into thinking it is something more.
Other Thoughts: Hey, just a warning. there are rattle snakes!!! i walked up on one last time we were out (3/28) Keep an eye out between hole 2 and 3 near the 3rd tee box. Area marked by a stake with pink ribbon. Snake was relatively tranquil, but nontheless, keep an eye out.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center