Disc Golf Center
Cheyenne, WY 
Mylar Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #4
3 / 325ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
#4 uphill



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Subpar Course with Dirt Teepads

5+    3/28/2014   5/3/2014
Review By: zmangin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Short course that can be played in under an hour.
2. Mowed grass on almost every hole.
3. Short baskets that are aceable with one tough uphill basket (#4).
Cons: 1. Hole #8 is across a pond, but I have always been able to throw over that pond. A handicap teebox exists just to the upper left of the pond if staring at the basket.
2. Dirt teepads like most other courses in town excluding Dry Creek.
3. Last two holes are usually infested with Canadian Geese and their droppings.
Other Thoughts: Short, fun course with little differences in distance/shot approaches. I think it is Hole #4 that is toughest, a shot uphill and with wind, this shot is nearly impossible. Hole #5 has a great view of some of the airport and it is a semi-blind shot downhill.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Little Park Course

2-4    4/11/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 57  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a typical park course with lots of mowed grass and a few trees. The pond is used on one hole to add interest. A hillside is also well used to add an elevation element to several holes.

A couple of holes tucked the basket in behind the available vegetation, creating additional challenge.

Hole 5 required a blind drive over a crest of a hill which was interesting, especially with the brisk incoming wind.

Hole 8 (teepad 8A) requires a drive over the pond. While the water carry isn't excessive (maybe 150') it is interesting to drive across a pond. A second pad (8B) is provided for those who don't want to mess with the water.
Cons: Dirt teepads. These pads can be rough/uneven, and suffer from players moving closer and closer to the pin until you have a pad that is well out in front of the tee post. Some sort of front delineation would be helpful.

No tee signs. A 4x4 post with hole number marks the pad location. No distance or par information provided.

Overall this is a pretty short course, so if you're into bombing drives you may not enjoy it.
Other Thoughts: There is a hike/bike path running through parts of the course and I had to hold up a few times to let walkers and joggers clear. This was on a weekday morning, so I imagine that weekends might be challenging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun little park course...

1    10/26/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 119  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course was fairly easy to navigate. There was a beaten path between most of the holes.
-Baskets are in good shape, catch well, and their blue color makes them easy to see.
-Several holes on the course made use of the available elevation. Hole 5 was a fun blind downhill shot.
-Used the trees and brush in the park well for some nice pin placements, to make the course more challenging than it would be without them.
-The course featured a pretty good variety of shots. There were some open shots, some slightly wooded shots, a shot over water and some uphill and downhill shots.
-The course used the available obstacles it had pretty well to make some fun holes.
Cons: -No tee-signs with distance or layout of the hole, just a post marking the next tee-pad.
-The tee-pads were terrible. Hole 6 didn't give us enough room to tee off, we had to tee off in front of the post for the hole. Hole 7's tee-pad was uneven and in a very small area. Tee-pad 8A was uneven and I was a little afraid, I was going to slide into the pond after my throw.
-Course didn't have much in the variety of distances. None of the holes seemed to be over 330 feet and most seemed to be less than 300 feet.
-The tall bushed and grass near the creek could be an easy place to lose discs in, especially since some of the baskets are placed really close to the rough.
-Holes 4 and 5 played really close to each other and might interfere with each other if there were multiple groups on the course.
-Holes 8 and 9 had a lot of goose poop on them. Hole 9 was also very muddy.
-Overall, the course didn't provide too much challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course was your typical 9 hole park course. There was nothing spectacular about it, but it still featured some fun holes. If you are in the immediate area and need to kill some time give it a try, but don't go out of your way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/19/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is pleasant with some older trees, nicely mowed grass (mostly), a bit of elevation, and a small lake in the middle.
There are a couple of nice shots here. Hole 4 goes over the lip of a hill to a basket on the other side. Hole 8 throws across the lake, although there is an alternate tee pad if you don't want to risk it (it's not a very far shot, maybe 100-125 feet).
Cons: The fairways are defined by the mowing in several holes, which I really don't like. I spent more time than I would have liked searching for discs in the taller grass. It's not so high that you won't find it, but high enough that you'll get frustrated. As I was searching for a disc, I got a painful mini cactus stuck on my leg with about six spikes.
The chance for a lost disc in the thicket along the lake and creek, however, is high. This is not very beginner friendly for that reason. Baskets are located near these areas, and I can easily see a bad approach going in and never being found.
Navigation wasn't great, even with the map. It's not horrible, but a couple times I couldn't tell where the next hole was.
Tee pads are dirt, and tee signs are just wooden posts.
Other Thoughts: Many of the holes play on a drier, less manicured part of the park (which also has few trees). This is an okay round if you're close by, but I wouldn't stop for it. I did drive through part of Cheyenne looking for a Dairy Queen to tide me over for the long drive through the vast expanse of Wyoming, and it looks like a very nice town. Who knew?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner course

5+    10/14/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 20  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The foliage amount is perfect for a round in my opinion. Enough to make your technical shots count, but not so much that it defines the round.

Good mix of shots that are forced left/right.

Multiple ace holes. 1,2, 5,6,7,9 are all within distance that even a beginner can reach them.

The up/down holes on 3-5 are awesome. If you can clear the hill on 5, it goes a long way.

The 7th hole is a lot of fun, Very short, but has a creek to the left, so if you go for glory, you can be fishing.

The 8th hole is over a bigger lake, but it is easy to clear if it doesn't get into your head. It has a side tee for less experienced players.

They just updated the baskets
Cons: Very short. While the holes are reachable, you don't get many opportunities to go for it.

Disks tend to go missing on #5. It is a blind throw over a hill, and it has a tendency to roll a LONG ways. I've lost two discs on the hole alone.

Dirt tees. They are well taken care of, except for 8.

Insect problems. My buddy brought his two year old and he was bitten by some red ants the whole time. I've been stung by a bee before, and I'm not alone.
Other Thoughts: Because of it's short nature, I would recommend this course to a plethora of players. It helps an experienced player work on their shorter drives, and it helps a beginner work on their overall game w/o the frustration of 500+ ft. holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long Walk To First Tee!

1    7/19/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The city definitely wanted to keep the disc golfers away and hidden from the regular folks. They kept us well away from the neighbors and then barely let us intrude onto the pretty green, grassy section of the park. Once you arrive at the # 1 tee box, you see simple signs, just showing a number. The pads are natural. Numbers 1, 2, 7 and 9 are all possible ACE runs.
# 3 is a somewhat intimidating throw over a rugged canyon. It's listed on my on-line map as being 260'. My local partner and I guessed it would take about a 315' toss to clear it. Being the orginal noodle arm, I chose the safe route around. # 5 is a blind 315' throw over the hill to a basket down near the creek.
I wouldn't call this course beginner friendly, I'd label it recreational.
Cons: The long walk in and the long walk out after your round. There is now an on-line map with the distances. The short distances don't bother me. They're just part of course's make-up. If you're looking for more of a challenge, drive yourself over to Dry Creek for a longer version.
The fact that the park's department will get all excited if someone occasionally goes into the nasty-ass pond fishing out a disc.
Other Thoughts: The throw over the pond is just intimidating enough that my local partner usually skips it (And he throws an easy 350'). That what throwing over water does to some players minds. And then he found a brand new floatable disc (with no name) near the edge. Write your name on your discs cowboys. You might get a call!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Cheyenne

1    7/12/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 341  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great elevation changes, hole 5 especially. That hole you throw up and over a little ridge before it drops about 50 feet to the basket which is just short of the long grass and possible water hazzard. The hole before that is very much uphill.
-Good use of the water on 8. It is fun to shoot over water without worrying too much about not making it. There is also a alternate tee for this hole.
-A few ace runs, 1,2,6,7 especially. They all have a few obstacles so they aren't too easy.
-Not busy at all.
-Tees marked by wooden post with distance and hole #
-The flow is alright, after hole 2 keep walking past the basket and you will find 3. That's the only thing I remember finding hard.
-This part of the park is pretty much for disc golfing. I did have to watch out for some kids on the last hole when the course winds back to the main part of the course.
-Blind tee shots are created without a lot of trees. Holes 3 and 5.
-Solid variety here for a 9 hole course. They used the limited land well.
-I was the only disc golfer on the course when I was there. I don't think disc golf is big in Wyoming.
-Good for teaching beginners the game without intimidating them too much. They should have fun here.
Cons: -Can be very, very windy.
-Tees could get muddy
-There are a few places to lose a disc, blind holes 3 and 5 and water on 8.
-The course is a little on the shorter side. On a calm day, I could see good players shooting very well. Every hole is birdie-able.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course in Wyo's capital. They only have 3 courses and I played the other decent one. I found this one to be more fun. It definitely is geared toward the beginner or intermediate player but on a windy day could present some solid challenges. If you are cruising by on I-80 I would recommend a stop here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

5+    6/30/2009   1/26/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Actually a pretty decent nine hole course for the small space and rocky terrain they put it on. There are good elevation changes, with one tee box overlooking the air guard playing into a blind throw and a 50' drop to the pin.

Three holes play along Dry Creek (as the name suggests though unless it's April or May the creek usually isn't an issue however the long grass can be.) Hole 8 plays over the water and can be tricky in the high wind, but the distance is fairly short so it's not a real issue for experienced players. For newbies, there is an alternate tee on the far left side of the lake that skips the water.

New players will be challenged, and experienced players should enjoy the elevation shot variation. The tees are clearly marked with big wooden posts, but you'll have print off yardage from this site since it's not marked anywhere. One other noticeable feature is the additional collar in the ground for every hole. All pins are currently in the "long" position, but being able to shift pins to keep the course fresh is a definite plus in my book.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; #8
Cons: Being on a fairly constricted piece of land, this will probably only ever be a nine hole course - but with the additional collars and varied terrain, it'll still get plenty of play.

Wind is always an issue, and the course plays by the greenway, so you'll need to be aware the people coming through on the path.

The dirt tees can get nasty after a storm, especially by the pond. Plus, even though the tees are clearly marked, it's aggravating not see any posted distances. I don't know why they can't mark off both pin locations on each hole and make some kind of map that could be at least posted online.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #7
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for people in Cheyenne who want a change from the Dry Creek Parkway course on the East side of town. The course clearly isn't to Dry Creek standards and overall course difficulty, but does has the true elevation holes that Dry Creek lacks. It also is much more polished and in a more popular spot than Ramero Park DGC, which does have good elevation shots.

Overall, this may be the go to course for the next year or so until Dry Creek construction gets finished. Plus, Ramero looks to be under construction for much longer than that, so this course does a great job at satisfying your disc golf needs in the mean time. If you want a quick quality round of golf in Southeast Wyoming, Myler Park should at the top of your short list.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Like a Track

5+    3/29/2008   3/29/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set up very well from basket to tee, it's almost like a track, 18 holes can be had in short time. After nine you are asking for more. Number 5 has a pretty sweet view of the airplanes sitting at the Air National Guard from the tee box. There are maps at one. It is nice that Cheyenne has a park course. The elevation changes are pretty unique for the area. I believe this course is slightly more difficult than most park nine hole courses. Mylar has all the amenities that a person would expect to find at a park
Cons: Trees are not forcing you to alter much of your game here since Cheyenne, even in a park, just doesn't have that many trees. I believe they sacrificed much good land to give the nearby homes a wide birth, so that we will not be hopping into backyards. Overall its too short, Only 5 and 6 are plus 300 feet. Negative scores are too common. 9's A pin placement is much too short. For a more complete round go to Dry Creek.
Other Thoughts: The city seems to be pretty uptight about the presence of disc golfers drinking in the park so don't come here to drink. The city also does not want anyone in the pond. It seems to me like they are asking for people to be quiet at a concert. However we should still respect the city's wishes and stay out of the pond. 8 has an alternate teebox for those who cannot clear the water. I recommend this course mostly for beginners but those with more experience should still have a good time.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course

3/28/2008   3/28/2008
Review By: DGadvocate
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 39 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2008
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety for a little 9 hole course, 1 and 2 are short holes with a few trees to make it interesting, some change in elevation on 4 uphill and 5 downhill and you're shooting blind on both which adds a good challenge, 8 shoots over a pond.
Cons: Short placements are very short.
Other Thoughts: Another little 9 hole course to get newbies into the sport in Cheyenne. It's the only Cheyenne course with restrooms available. Located in a neighborhood and should get heavy usage. The bike path runs through it, which you can follow to the Dry Creek Course 5 miles East. Scenic little park. Nice place for a picnic in the summer.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.