Cheyenne, WY 
Mylar Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #9
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
#9



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Subpar Course with Dirt Teepads

5+    3/28/2014   5/3/2014
Review By: zmangin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Short course that can be played in under an hour.
2. Mowed grass on almost every hole.
3. Short baskets that are aceable with one tough uphill basket (#4).
Cons: 1. Hole #8 is across a pond, but I have always been able to throw over that pond. A handicap teebox exists just to the upper left of the pond if staring at the basket.
2. Dirt teepads like most other courses in town excluding Dry Creek.
3. Last two holes are usually infested with Canadian Geese and their droppings.
Other Thoughts: Short, fun course with little differences in distance/shot approaches. I think it is Hole #4 that is toughest, a shot uphill and with wind, this shot is nearly impossible. Hole #5 has a great view of some of the airport and it is a semi-blind shot downhill.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Little Park Course

2-4    4/11/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 75  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a typical park course with lots of mowed grass and a few trees. The pond is used on one hole to add interest. A hillside is also well used to add an elevation element to several holes.

A couple of holes tucked the basket in behind the available vegetation, creating additional challenge.

Hole 5 required a blind drive over a crest of a hill which was interesting, especially with the brisk incoming wind.

Hole 8 (teepad 8A) requires a drive over the pond. While the water carry isn't excessive (maybe 150') it is interesting to drive across a pond. A second pad (8B) is provided for those who don't want to mess with the water.
Cons: Dirt teepads. These pads can be rough/uneven, and suffer from players moving closer and closer to the pin until you have a pad that is well out in front of the tee post. Some sort of front delineation would be helpful.

No tee signs. A 4x4 post with hole number marks the pad location. No distance or par information provided.

Overall this is a pretty short course, so if you're into bombing drives you may not enjoy it.
Other Thoughts: There is a hike/bike path running through parts of the course and I had to hold up a few times to let walkers and joggers clear. This was on a weekday morning, so I imagine that weekends might be challenging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long Walk To First Tee!

1    7/19/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The city definitely wanted to keep the disc golfers away and hidden from the regular folks. They kept us well away from the neighbors and then barely let us intrude onto the pretty green, grassy section of the park. Once you arrive at the # 1 tee box, you see simple signs, just showing a number. The pads are natural. Numbers 1, 2, 7 and 9 are all possible ACE runs.
# 3 is a somewhat intimidating throw over a rugged canyon. It's listed on my on-line map as being 260'. My local partner and I guessed it would take about a 315' toss to clear it. Being the orginal noodle arm, I chose the safe route around. # 5 is a blind 315' throw over the hill to a basket down near the creek.
I wouldn't call this course beginner friendly, I'd label it recreational.
Cons: The long walk in and the long walk out after your round. There is now an on-line map with the distances. The short distances don't bother me. They're just part of course's make-up. If you're looking for more of a challenge, drive yourself over to Dry Creek for a longer version.
The fact that the park's department will get all excited if someone occasionally goes into the nasty-ass pond fishing out a disc.
Other Thoughts: The throw over the pond is just intimidating enough that my local partner usually skips it (And he throws an easy 350'). That what throwing over water does to some players minds. And then he found a brand new floatable disc (with no name) near the edge. Write your name on your discs cowboys. You might get a call!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Cheyenne

1    7/12/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great elevation changes, hole 5 especially. That hole you throw up and over a little ridge before it drops about 50 feet to the basket which is just short of the long grass and possible water hazzard. The hole before that is very much uphill.
-Good use of the water on 8. It is fun to shoot over water without worrying too much about not making it. There is also a alternate tee for this hole.
-A few ace runs, 1,2,6,7 especially. They all have a few obstacles so they aren't too easy.
-Not busy at all.
-Tees marked by wooden post with distance and hole #
-The flow is alright, after hole 2 keep walking past the basket and you will find 3. That's the only thing I remember finding hard.
-This part of the park is pretty much for disc golfing. I did have to watch out for some kids on the last hole when the course winds back to the main part of the course.
-Blind tee shots are created without a lot of trees. Holes 3 and 5.
-Solid variety here for a 9 hole course. They used the limited land well.
-I was the only disc golfer on the course when I was there. I don't think disc golf is big in Wyoming.
-Good for teaching beginners the game without intimidating them too much. They should have fun here.
Cons: -Can be very, very windy.
-Tees could get muddy
-There are a few places to lose a disc, blind holes 3 and 5 and water on 8.
-The course is a little on the shorter side. On a calm day, I could see good players shooting very well. Every hole is birdie-able.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course in Wyo's capital. They only have 3 courses and I played the other decent one. I found this one to be more fun. It definitely is geared toward the beginner or intermediate player but on a windy day could present some solid challenges. If you are cruising by on I-80 I would recommend a stop here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Like a Track

5+    3/29/2008   3/29/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set up very well from basket to tee, it's almost like a track, 18 holes can be had in short time. After nine you are asking for more. Number 5 has a pretty sweet view of the airplanes sitting at the Air National Guard from the tee box. There are maps at one. It is nice that Cheyenne has a park course. The elevation changes are pretty unique for the area. I believe this course is slightly more difficult than most park nine hole courses. Mylar has all the amenities that a person would expect to find at a park
Cons: Trees are not forcing you to alter much of your game here since Cheyenne, even in a park, just doesn't have that many trees. I believe they sacrificed much good land to give the nearby homes a wide birth, so that we will not be hopping into backyards. Overall its too short, Only 5 and 6 are plus 300 feet. Negative scores are too common. 9's A pin placement is much too short. For a more complete round go to Dry Creek.
Other Thoughts: The city seems to be pretty uptight about the presence of disc golfers drinking in the park so don't come here to drink. The city also does not want anyone in the pond. It seems to me like they are asking for people to be quiet at a concert. However we should still respect the city's wishes and stay out of the pond. 8 has an alternate teebox for those who cannot clear the water. I recommend this course mostly for beginners but those with more experience should still have a good time.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course

3/28/2008   3/28/2008
Review By: DGadvocate
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 39.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2008
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety for a little 9 hole course, 1 and 2 are short holes with a few trees to make it interesting, some change in elevation on 4 uphill and 5 downhill and you're shooting blind on both which adds a good challenge, 8 shoots over a pond.
Cons: Short placements are very short.
Other Thoughts: Another little 9 hole course to get newbies into the sport in Cheyenne. It's the only Cheyenne course with restrooms available. Located in a neighborhood and should get heavy usage. The bike path runs through it, which you can follow to the Dry Creek Course 5 miles East. Scenic little park. Nice place for a picnic in the summer.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.