Milford, MI 
Kensington Toboggan Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #18 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Epic Course, Epic Workout

1    6/5/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an amazing test of will on the backside of Kensington Metropark, it plays up and down the sledding hills and is one of the most challenging courses I have ever played.

Your alternating between beautiful downhill bombs and uphills that only the superhumans can drive up.

The teepads are all huge grippy rubber mats, and the baskets are all perfectly balanced especially considering they are only there for a few weeks a year.

Many of the steep downhills have wooden tracks alongside, this probably serves some purpose for winter sports, I don't know for sure since I don't do cold, but it makes for a good reference point and if the course was wet like when I played it makes a good walking path.

It was a torrential downpour when I was playing but it trudged through and didn't shoot too badly, and somehow managed to keep all my discs.

It's an amazing challenge and a true endurance test.

It's a beautiful park, and this is the crown jewel of the lad for about a month out of the year.

The locals are great and I bounced through a few groups as a few gave up as the rain got harder.

Bring your full bag of tricks, if you have a shot chances are you'll need it here.
Cons: The cons are there are only a few days of the year you can play. But that's part of it's charm and what keeps the land so darn beautiful.

You cannot play there without a guide or spotter, there isn't any signage and you will lose discs.


Other Thoughts: If you are in the general vicinity of this course during the time it's open, play it. You have to, it's a true experience.

I have to give major kudos to BogeyNoMore for letting me know it was open! Thank you sir.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Real Disc Golf Course

5+    6/8/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Epic design on an epic piece of land. This is one of the few courses that I have found that feels like a true golf course in every sense of the historical reality of what golf is supposed to be like. This course is a true par 62 gem which requires placement shots and good putting to score well. There are so many different types of shots that one must throw here and even a good shot can be wasted with a bad next one. The requirements for this course do not end with accuracy, distance is also important. It simply put requires the best. The terrain is very hilly and well used. Most holes are going up or down hill some way or the other. The parks department has done a good job of really going through this property as of late clearing out invasive plant life. Fairways get mowed for the course when it is in the ground. The local crowd that has made this course happen and continues to get permission for it year after year truly loves this place and the fact that they can host major tournaments here. Without the people that are involved with this course it would not be what it is.
Cons: The very short term temporary nature of this course is really sad and is the biggest con to this course. Additionally there is a park entrance fee per day just to get to the course. This is a very small price considering the quality of the course. This years rendition fo the course had literally one thing wrong with it. While there were very nice rubber tee pads on every hole, the ground underneath the tee pads was less than ideal. It appeared as though they put down sand in an attempt to make them more level but sand does not maintain its shape, especially early on in its settling process. This made for some tee pads that were less than ideal and forced tournament rules to allow space on either side of the rubber mat to throw from.
Other Thoughts: There is a good history to this course and it really is one of the must play courses in the world. There is a good reason that The United States Amateur Disc Golf Championships does not move around like most other majors (minus the USDGC of course). It is one of the few courses that feels more like a real golf course where every shot matters and any mistake is punished to some extent. Having the invasive plants does provide for some new lines on holes that apparently were not there before and allows some bad shots to not be punished as much as they used to. For any serious player, this is a must play course at least once in your life. Be sure to plan to spend at least one Memorial Day in this part of Michigan in your life or find some way to play one of the tournaments that are played on this course. During my trip there this year I literally only played this course and never felt like I missed out on potentially playing other great courses in this area. This course really is amazing. Bring a map as things are not permanent.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Monumental

1    5/24/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic--area, while temporary, is disc golf exclusive while the course is in the ground. the area is a winter sports/rec area during the winter.

Baskets-- great, nice repair and somewhat visible. Could potentially use tall flags to increase visibility

Challenge-- Holy hell. this course is an absolute beast! almost 9000 ft and only 18 holes is friggin monumental.

Variety-- yeah, there's variety here. Huge is the name of the game here, the shortest hole is 285 (I believe) but most holes are 400' +. Up, Down, Left, Right (BABA select start) and truly monsterous holes...

Challenge-- this course will kick your ass six ways from sunday. It will challenge EVERY shot in your bag and leave you wanting more.

Routing/Nav-- Fairly easy after finding the first pin. the map provided shows it as a harder right but the basket position is along the tree line to the (slight) right of the tee.

#8-- one of the most unique holes that I've ever played. stands out to me as one of the biggest risk v reward holes without water out there!
Cons: Let me preface this by saying that when I was there a lot of the ammenities that are normally there for tourneys weren't there.

Teepads-- sandy skids in the grass. During tourney times it's said to have flypaper or rubber mats.

Teesigns-- none there when I was there, I'm sure during tourney times, there are some form of teesigns

Temp course-- the fact that it's a temp course is a true shame. This could be an amazing destination course during all but the winter... The Black Locust course is nice but this course is phenomenal!

NOT BEGINNER FRIENDLY! this course is NOT for beginners (let alone 3yrs experienced).

Rough-- the rough is killer, but you're not supposed to be in the trees now are you?
Other Thoughts: I couldn't believe that on a friday before noon the parking lot was FULL.. this course, while in the ground, is a true destination.
This course kicked our butts and left me (not b3nder) wanting more...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Elevation rocks!

5+    6/7/2012   10/9/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The elevation here is out of this world and you really need to know how to change your throws throwing up and down the hills. There are many par 4s and one par 5.

Hole 1 is a big left to right downhill hole. It takes a very accurate shot to get a look at birdie. Watch out for the rough right of the basket.

Hole 2 is the par 5. It is flat for the first 270 than steep uphill all the way to the green. The fairway is pretty wide. If you figure out how you can best play this hole to your strengths it should be an easy birdie. Going for the eagle is super dangerous.

Hole 3 is the biggest downhill drive on the course. A good drive can fly around 700 feet! It takes two solid drives to have a look at birdie. Right is death no matter where you are on the fairway. Even if you fly a mile left you should be be in good shape even if it doesn't look it from the tee.

Hole 6 is a great par 4. The drive to the landing zone around the corner is longer than it looks. There is no real laying up on this drive.

Hole 7 is a good uphill par 4. Just get out of the gap on the drive and you should be in good shape.

Hole 8 is a long right to left hole that is tricky to birdie.

Hole 10 is one you want to birdie. It is around 300 left to right. The green is sloped down and left though so you really need to try and land flat. Early and right is death along with straight and long. Some lay up so as to not bring bogey into play.

Hole 11 is definitely one you want to birdie, an uphill open shot.

Hole 12 is a fun hole but it is a tweener hole for sure. It is too dangerous to go for the big left to right birdie so must lay up with midranges.

Hole 13 is where you can show off your distance bombing up the hill. It is an easy birdie for the big arms.

Hole 14 is a downhill hyzer.

Hole 15 is a great par 4 that slopes down and right and then up to a dangerous tilted green. It is a tough 3 to get.

Hole 17 is a wide open bomb first drive and then an approach way up the hill to a plateaued green.

Hole 18 is a big left to right up the hill. Righty backhand players never really get into the circle here.

Signs are good when the course is in.
Cons: Hole 4 is a tweener hole that is very hard to two, and easy to bogey. It is a tricky hole.

Hole 5 is a blind uphill short hole that is a poke and hope hole.

Hole 9 is a tweener uphill right to left hole. It is too long for most anyone to birdie. Going for the green is dangerous if you have the arm as the green is super small.

Hole 16 is a blind big stall hyzer or a flex forehand for the birdie. I just don't really care for this hole.

This is a temp course with fly pads when it is in for the USADGC.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes are blind here. Use a spotter.

USADGC is my favorite event.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

2-4    6/10/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: 1978
Played: 155  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. Beautiful vistas, awesome spectator course. It is rare to have so many holes where you can marvel at the full flight of a disc. Half of the holes are breathtaking. You start with a massive downhill anny 400ft+ par 3 then right back up the hill with a par 5. Distance AND accuracy are important here, then back down again a monster hill with awful mean dense brush to the right on #3. Brush hogging here really made the difference, thanks guys. Then you weave in and out of woods emerging bloodied, tired and elated to see even more open bombs on 14. Layout is very fair maybe only benefiting HUGE sidearm throwers and lefties slightly. Most of us arent in that big sidearm crowd so it plays fair. Baskets were in great shape and greens offered a number of risk reward roll away threats. Grass on the green was short and perfect, blue lines painted for the Am Nats were a nice touch showing you 30'. This course is a photographers dream. I would make any flight to get back here and play again.
Cons: There were a few nit pick things to mention that keep this from a 5* in my book. I am mindful of the fact that this is a temp course, so every year you basically have to "build" a course for the Am Nats event. Rubber tee pads were nice and sticky but not level and bumpy. We were given the option to tee from the grass because of this. A few of the holes like #6 and #12 are poke and hope. There are only 2 baskets visible from the teebox. There are few ace runs. Greens are SMALL. On a number of holes you have to lie on your belly to get a putt from 15' (4, 6, 11, 12, 13 etc) Hole 11's basket is blocked by a tree with very low hanging branch and there were a few spots where some tree limbing would make the holes a little more fair. The Toboggan is a disc eater. In my final round I hit a tree and knocked out 2 discs including myown. I found (and returned) 8 discs while looking for my own errant shots.
Other Thoughts: Despite the Cons I listed, the course was amazing and a MUST PLAY. Everyone plays the same course and if you don't like putting from 20' from under a bush, make a better upshot or drive. Thanks for giving us this gem 30 days out of the year. We appreciate it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely Amazing

1    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: kw83028
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Terrain - The giant hills of Toboggan are extremely fun!
-Shot selection
-Variety
-New Baskets
-Very well maintained
-I thought navigation was pretty easy, but I printed out the satellite map of the course and that made it a breeze
-Restrooms at the start
-Huge parking
-Almost everything!
Cons: -Tee signs - The tee signs are a joke to me. The only thing they are good for is telling you what hole you are on and the distance. They picture they actually give for hole layout is down right hilarious. They are way off. There are many signs that show you throwing out 300ft, making a 120 degree turn then throwing backwards 100 ft. lol. They aren't even close to how the holes are actually laid out unfortunately
-Not a con to me, but some would say distance, it's a huge course
-Pretty unforgiving if you don't stay in the fairway
-Not many trash cans or benches
-Definitely not for the beginner
Other Thoughts: I know my review probably will get a bunch of unlikes, but it's hard to put this course in to words.

This course is amazing. The view, terrain, and pretty much everything else about it are beyond words. Just go out and play it. My only problem was the tee signs were a joke. Using a spotter on quite a few holes is a necessity and saved us a lot of possible lost discs today. Bring a lot of water, sun screen, and bug spray. Be very prepared for a long round and enjoy this course when you can!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 See you next year

1    5/24/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is out of hand. As if God himself had come down and bestowed this fine course to his devoted followers. This is, hands down, the best course in the Metro Detroit area. There isn't much I can add that the previous reviewers haven't already said. Play this course while you can. It's open now, and I think the tourney is the second weekend in June this year.
Cons: My level of ability.

I underestimated the massiveness of this behemoth. If you are not the best DGer in the world, play for fairway accuracy throughout the course, and try not to get frustrated by the sheer length of it all. If you play "threes", you will easily be +20 by day's end.

In talking with some folks there, it seems that the park has let some of the lines grow in a bit. I don't know if these will be trimmed back for the tourney or not.
Other Thoughts: My God, those downhill blasts are the most incredible shots I've witnessed. Too bad you have to walk UP the hills as well ;-)

My only beef(s) would be no water hazards, but the hazards are aplenty. Anything off the fairway is asking for lost plastic. Don't bother trying to locate the pin from the tee. Just pick a spot and aim; every hole is a hike!

Some memorable holes are the one on the edge of a cliff in which you better be able to launch it all the way down to the fairway, which doesn't pick up until 150-200 feet downhill over some treacherous treetops. The other is a massive downhill after you walk along the park road. BOMBS AWAY

There is surprisingly great variation between holes on fairly static land. Elevation is the biggest factor, and since that's so rare around here, it's more than a welcome attribute.

Overall a spectacular course and definitely worthy of tourney status. I will make this pilgrimage every summer and test my DG mettle.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A season of fate's perfection

5+    9/1/2006   3/23/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 121  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely amazing disc golf
--Great elevation changes
--Well manicured fairways and greens
--Benches
--A mentally challenging round where accuracy is just as important as power
--Very private, scenic views
--A convenient party store near the main entrance
--Great par 4 & 5s
--Every holes presents some kind of challenge
Cons: --Shade can be hard to come by unless you are off the fairway
--Not a con but bring food and lots of water!!!
--Very long rounds and you can be waiting for lost discs to be found
--SEASONAL
--Few trash cans
Other Thoughts: Michigan has a metropark fee that is very reasonable if you plan on playing the course over and over again. The regular course on-site is also a lot of fun. This park is beautiful and the course is one of my personal favorites. In fact, every one I know who has played this course raves about it. What I really like about this course is that you have holes where you can rip it as far as you can, but you need to be accurate as well. Also, for a few of the par 4s you need to throw an accurate 275-325ft shot to set up for your upshot, then birdie putt. Every hole is not grip and rip. The pics here do not give this place justice. It requires finesse and power, with a little luck. It is worth a drive to come and play this beast of a course. Enjoy

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 PLAY THIS COURSE!

2-4    6/20/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 79  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2008
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a great course definitely one of my top 5,huge elevation changes and hole variety is pretty amazing ,challenging and lots of fun at the same time,mowed fairways when course is open,nice park,beaches and picnic areas close,
Cons: Temporary course,easy to lose disc,hard to navigate 1st time around,
Other Thoughts: This course will test everything you have in your bag you will not be dissapointed,Metro park pass required $4 daily $20 yearly,

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.