Milford, MI 
Kensington Toboggan Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
4 / 516ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Seasonal

1    5/31/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2010
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Toboggan is a long, tough, but fun course! The best thing about it is the good use of elevation. Even though almost every hole has wide open fairways, the hills play a big factor on every shot.

-The scenery of this course is really nice, since the course is only open about one month a year it stays looking like a brand new course every time you play it.
Cons:
-Since its only open seasonally, there are no permanent tee pads or tee signs. It can also be hard to navigate if you've never played it. The rough is always thick too, so stay on the fairway!
Other Thoughts:
-Overall Toboggan is my favorite Kensington course, I like it better than Black Locust and the old Tunnel course.

-Some of the holes tee positions were moved in 2009 to make the course slightly longer. Every year the courses open and close dates are different, so if you want to know when exactly you can play you have to just call the course, but its usually open between mid May and early July.

-You can hate on my rating if you want, but I just can't rate a course higher if it doesn't even have permanent "anything". The course layout itself is great, I just wish it was open longer than a couple months.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Go big or go home!

5+    6/20/2007   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 233  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 23.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: HUGE elevation changes. So much fun to bomb down those hills. Super challenging course. Tough par 4's that require good drives and you've got to execute on your 2nd shots to get your birdies. Holes 6 and 7 are as demanding as any holes you'll find. Playing this course is like taking a long hike. Its real exercise. Heavy rough will severely penalize bad shots.
Cons: Not a well-manicured park, but its great for what it is, just don't expect to bomb any roller shots out here. Probably not a course you'll want to go play every day, but its one you'll remember forever if you do play it.
Other Thoughts: A few holes out here I'd change if I had the opportunity. Hole 1 I'd like to be straightened a bit and back farther, so more deuces would be taken. Every tourney round I've played here, most everybody on my card has 3'd the hole. Not alot of deuces, but not tough to 3. Holes 8 and 9 are also too tough to deuce and too easy to par in my opinion. I really think 9 needs to be shortened or lengthened to make it a better hole.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game!!

5+    5/23/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 184  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2013
19 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: BIG elevation changes and long, sweeping fairways (average length 490 ft) really emphasize the unique characteristics of your combination of disc choice & throwing style. Disc selection and shot execution are rewarded or punished accordingly.

Spacious rubber tee pads (only present VERY close to tourney time) provide sure footing for drives.

SUPERB shot variety: Long downhill runs, humbling uphills, left and right doglegs, overhands, S-shots - no Ace runs here! Course was designed by and for serious disc golfers. Don't assume Par 3's for everything: a round here can require every disc in your bag, and every shot in your arsenal. You really may need a distance driver, fairway driver, midrange, and putter all on the same hole - even without a bad shot.

Not likely to come across groups or individuals that don't practice proper etiquette. Pretty much only serious golfers are left after the 3rd hole.

Pix simply don't do this place justice. Set on rolling hills, you're often on an elevated tee pad, with well defined, neatly mowed fairways sweeping down and away from you, sometimes back up to an elevated basket. Interesting and unique sight lines make this course worth while for non-golfers or novices to walk along with you, so bring the wife and kids - you'll want to use them as spotters.

If you're tired of the same 'old disc golfing experience, make it a point to play the Toboggan next summer!

Black Locust offers 27 more wonderful holes of DG for the same park entry fee. Plan on taking a whole day to play both.
Cons: The rough truly is ROUGH, and you could make the arguement that the penalty for going off the fairway on some parts of the course is excessive. The threat of losing a disc is very real. If the thought of losing your favorite driver scares you, leave it in your bag. Then again, this course was never intended for casual players. Most of the points below are really advice stemming from this:

- Look discs down, or you WILL spend lots of time searching.
- Recommend playing in groups rather than solo to minimize risk of losing a disc. The more eyes tracking your shot, the better.
- As wide as the fairways are, you can't just bomb it or you can end up in some really thick stuff. Some of the elevated tees are unforgiving: shots that aren't nose down can have a long way to faaaaaade, leaving discs on a nasty lie, or in some deep brush - perhaps never to be seen again.

Course is physically demanding - lots of uphill and downhill walking and hard to find shade for stretches. Suggest being well rested and bring food and water.

Navigation can be tough for first timers. But since it's a temp course, locals make it a point to hit it when it's open, so there's usually someone to help you.

Grass/Dirt tees are really starting to show wear, although not to bad as of date of last update).

Missing a shot over water, too bad there's no water near the course.
Other Thoughts: Because this is a temp course you need to plan ahead (check http://www.usadgc.com to see when the Am Nationals will be held any given year).

Loaded with memorable holes: 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 14, 15, 17...there's just something about 6 I really like and you have to see 12 to believe it.

10/12/09 - did not change rating, but I tried to provide more useful info.

Has always been, and will almost certainly remain, a TEMPORARY course. It exists solely for Discraft's hosting of the Am Nationals. I'm not going to downgrade it for not having signs, concrete pads, or similar fixtures - they're simply not feasible here. In my opinion, the fact that it's a temp course (only up for one month of the year) adds to its special flavor, and keeps it from getting run down like neighboring courses. Playing the Toboggan is an event to look forward to and the course always looks great!

The Toboggan is as demanding as disc golf gets: not for casuals, newbies or the faint of heart. It's an experience best shared with others and a course you'll want witnesses for if you get that really great shot off!

The sheer scale of this course means it takes time to play. Scenic layout in a pleasant setting; take your time to appreciate the surroundings and enjoy nature on this one. Last time I played here, I came across some baby raccoons in the base of a hollow tree trunk - not likely on a course with heavier traffic for more months of the year.

I gave this course five discs because I truly believe this is among the very best disc golf experiences a serious player can have - not because I'm local. Even if Idlewild, Highbridge and Flip City are better, the Toboggan belongs in the conversation, which to me means it's among "the best of the best."

19 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 A season of fate's perfection

5+    9/1/2006   3/23/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 143  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.4 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely amazing disc golf
--Great elevation changes
--Well manicured fairways and greens
--Benches
--A mentally challenging round where accuracy is just as important as power
--Very private, scenic views
--A convenient party store near the main entrance
--Great par 4 & 5s
--Every holes presents some kind of challenge
Cons: --Shade can be hard to come by unless you are off the fairway
--Not a con but bring food and lots of water!!!
--Very long rounds and you can be waiting for lost discs to be found
--SEASONAL
--Few trash cans
Other Thoughts: Michigan has a metropark fee that is very reasonable if you plan on playing the course over and over again. The regular course on-site is also a lot of fun. This park is beautiful and the course is one of my personal favorites. In fact, every one I know who has played this course raves about it. What I really like about this course is that you have holes where you can rip it as far as you can, but you need to be accurate as well. Also, for a few of the par 4s you need to throw an accurate 275-325ft shot to set up for your upshot, then birdie putt. Every hole is not grip and rip. The pics here do not give this place justice. It requires finesse and power, with a little luck. It is worth a drive to come and play this beast of a course. Enjoy

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/11/2008   2/11/2009
Review By: milesdavis
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2010
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Where do I start. This is my favorite course by a long stretch. Big time elevation. Fantastic design. Almost every hole is down or up a BIG hill. It is a deceiving place. On one hand every hole is long and big. But yet still requires great accuracy if you want to score well. You will get yourself into big trouble if you miss fairways.

It is a blast watching your disc fly down these hills. On the other hand throwing up a hill will give you a reality check. real quick.
Cons: none.

Some people seem to think that it only being open for 3-4 weeks is a con. I belive it is a good thing. It makes you appreciate it that much more. It adds to the mystique.

It's like if Christmas was celebrated once a month it wouldnt be nearly as special.
Other Thoughts: If I could've given this course a 10, I would have. The layout is that great.

I'm sorry to say this is not a course for beginners or casual players. It's just too difficult. It'd be like a novice ball golfer playing pebble beach. It's just too much, too long, not enough room for error.

Prepare to be tired after playing. Pack a lunch and two gatorades.

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 PLAY THIS COURSE!

2-4    6/20/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 89  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2008
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a great course definitely one of my top 5,huge elevation changes and hole variety is pretty amazing ,challenging and lots of fun at the same time,mowed fairways when course is open,nice park,beaches and picnic areas close,
Cons: Temporary course,easy to lose disc,hard to navigate 1st time around,
Other Thoughts: This course will test everything you have in your bag you will not be dissapointed,Metro park pass required $4 daily $20 yearly,

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Pushes Every Part of Your Game

5+    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: Dark Strangely
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 39.3 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: this course pushes every part of your game.... this is what disc golf should be about when there is enough land available ....this course humbles EVERYONE that plays it
Cons: only a temp course
Other Thoughts: Play this course whenever the opportunity presents itself

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/12/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: Nickwells
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Big course! Plan on being there for a good 3 hours. A lot of nice long downhill holes. You'll use every shot you've got in your bag. Great scenery. You'll probably find a disc or two.
Cons: Leave your favorite disc in the car 'cause you'll probably loose it. You should bring some extras 'cause you'll need them. Really hard to find <i>your</i>disc. Bring bug spray & lots of water. Make sure you know someone that's played the course 'cause it's real hard to navigate. A lot of big up and downhill walking; be prepared to take a cople breaks. only around for a couple weeks
Other Thoughts: It's a temporary course... so play it when it's around. It's worth the sore muscles the next day.

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course to date!

5+    6/16/2007   3/25/2008
Review By: goalkeeper19
Played: 130  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2010
8 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is a disc golf paradise. No two holes play the same, and the more shots you know how the throw, the better. Elevation is used to great effect to create a LOT of shot variety. There are several true par 4's (simple dogleg and double-dogleg) and a tough 700' uphill par 5. The course is completely picturesque, with great opportunities to let it rip (3, 13, 17), and the challenge isn't just to park-and-putt, but to play smart placement golf on every hole, including the shorter par 3 holes. Well balanced between lefty-friendly and righty-friendly holes.
Cons: Only playable at Am Nationals or DGLO, temporary course. It's open for about 2 weeks per year. When it's open, rubber teepads are used. PUNISHING rough.
Other Thoughts: The course is mostly open, with trees marking fairway routes. Significant elevation is in play in most holes, and having experience playing up and down extreme hills is very useful. Be sure to bring water, since a round going up and down these hills can be very draining. It's a long course, so big arms tend to have a little advantage. Stay out of the rough (especially on Hole #3), and play conservative! This course is definitely not for beginners, so come prepared.

8 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.