Course Extinct
Pensacola, FL 
Blue Angel Park - Oaks DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #22 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 304ft.   3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #22 Pro Tee: Plays over a retention pond (dry when this pic was taken)



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 More like it

1    8/6/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: More like a normal course than its brother across the street. Good distances without being crazy. Great shade until the end.
Cons: Less amenities than the Palmetto course, mis-numbered baskets, signage issues (see other comments). A bit repetitive.
Other Thoughts: - I don't want to beat this to death because we played while the course was in flux. They are finishing up the 3rd 18 hole course and it borrows a few holes from this course and from the other course. Because of that no baskets have the right numbers, the signs are pulled, there are very few next tee signs and if we weren't there with locals we would have NEVER found our way. This course would have probably dropped to a 3 but I understand this is a very temporary condition. We played 17 holes and had to run but somehow there were 3 left, I know originally it was a 21 hole but it was supposed to be reduced to 18 so we must've played some of the new course as well. Like I said this problem should be remedied rather fast so I didn't feel it was worth beating it up other than mentioning it.
This course has much more realistic flight lines than palmetto, however it also has an abundance of basket out to the left after flying through a gauntlet holes too so it gets a bit repetitive. The terrain is different enough to make it not the same hole over and over again though.
I prefer this course over palmetto, it was fun, not overly long (we did play shorts) and decently challenging without being frustrating.
I highly recommend taking a trip out to Blue Angel for a taste of the courses on hand. We did not get to play the 3rd but you always gotta leave something for next time right?

The course does have small tees but with the accuracy required you don't need to be running all over the place anyways.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A fantastic course

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This is a fantastic disc golf complex! Two courses on-site (24 holes at this one and 21 holes at Palmetto). The course offers challenging holes to both lefties and righties. Dual concrete tees on almost every hole. The tees are all well marked with good signage, including "next tee" pointers on every hole. There are picnic tables with trash containers on almost every hole. There are a couple Porta-Johns available. There's even several 5-gallon water coolers stocked with cold water! The course is almost entirely shaded so even on the sunniest days you play in the shade. Great care was taken with regard to safety, when necessary there's a mando sign and other places have man made barriers like fences to protect vulnerable tee boxes. The course also has character: there are some creative structures like airplanes, propellers, and tire bridges that give this course it's own personality. The main signage is also pretty cool with giant baskets.
Cons:
There isn't much this course is missing: elevation is one thing, but you work with what the land gives you. Maybe a water shot or two. The concrete tees are only 8' long which is a bit too short for some of the 300'+ holes.
Other Thoughts:
We played on a hot July day (heat index ~104F) and the water coolers were a life saver. The bugs weren't bad at all either.

I'll mention there is a minor fee to enter the park and then a $2 per player fee that's on the honor system and let's you play all day. The fact that you can see the attention to detail and work that goes into this course... $2 is a bargain. This is absolutely a destination course, considering you've got two great courses on site, doubly so. After calling the course info phone number they told us we didn't have to be members or military to play. :-)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 the other twin...

5+    3/7/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: jclepa
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the perfect compliment to the Plametto course across the road. The Oaks course features more distances than is little sister, and give you that extra few feet of open fairway. However, you still are going to make sure you hit your line off the tee. Birdies are available on many of the holes, but your tee shot will have to be dead on. Make sure you take advantage of the birdie opportunities in the beginning because you will need those strokes as the course becomes longer and tighter. Getting towards the back end of the course, you finally get out of the woods and get some real long distance drives, just make sure your paying attention to the stiff wind coming off the bay.

The new 6 holes that were added really bring out the character in this course. You'll have to work your lines to suceed in staying on course. Many of the holes offer mulitple lines and gaps from the tee box giving you the chance to use all the shots in your bag.

Cons: Must be military or belong to a local Disc Golf club. Vacationers and other visitors would do well to contact Mike Sidebottom to get permission to play. (Mike's a great guy and it's almost never a problem.)

There is a park entry fee and disc golf fee, but you're looking at around $5 to play two great courses.

And to be very critical, I really don't like the teepad on 17. Because of water runoff and wet conditions, they put a heavy tread on the cement pad. However, I always feel that I'm going to break an ankle because that pad just grips your foot and won't allow for much rotation. Luckliy it's one of the shorter holes, so I've had to resort to a stand still drive.
Other Thoughts: Amenities galore. The camp store sells basic provision and is located just off the back side of the Oaks course (or a short drive down the road from the parking lot.) Water jugs are regularly placed and almost always full of cool water. There are even outdorr showers on the two courses. The course is beautifully maintained by Thomas, Mike and the crew.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Paradise Perfect!

1    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow! Just like its shorter counterpart (Palmetto), this course is a prime example of a perfect blend of fun and challenge. Many holes offer both Pro and Am tees so the player can decide the level of challenge that they desire. The Pro Tees are not simply longer versions of the the Am tees like at many other courses. Often they are placed off to the left or right in addition to being longer. This means that it is almost like playing a different hole altogether. The level of challenge here is relatively difficult but not due to unfair conditions--the fairways are tight but fair. Control players will likely dominate over players who need a lot of height or horizontal space to get their distance. Many holes will require a solid drive followed up with a well placed approach to have a shot at putting for a 3. The overhead canopy requires most drives to be kept relatively low. Those who can throw lazer, line drives will definately have a better chance at a respectable score. There is a diverse mix of hole lengths and fairway turns with several holes that offer a good chance at a deuce. The course flows well and seems to maximize the potential of the land space. Keep an eye out for a number of novel elements like tiki poles, bird houses and other little curios that really help to add another layer of character to an already beautiful course. There are sprawling coastal oaks, Southern pines and palmetto plants aplenty--very scenic. The park is right on Perdido Bay! 24 holes!!! The last 6 have a little more open feel to them but have unique hazards all there own. A true gem of a course that is conveniently located right next to another...folks it just doesn't get any better than this!
Cons: Really have to nit-pick here to try and find fault but for the sake of being fair and balanced: The tee signs are a little lacking and only the Am signs show the direction of the hole. Not really a con but, since the land is coastal FL it is as flat as a pancake. The course does however more than make up for a lack of elevation with the variety of holes and scenery. I feel guilty for even bringing this up--again, simply rambling and nit-picking here.
Other Thoughts: Getting an opportunity to play these courses was the highlight of an already awsome vacation to the Perdido Key area. Mike and the crew have done an incredible job of designing and maintaining these two premeire courses. The love of the game is strongly evident as you navigate the holes through the beautiful woods of NW FL. The hallmark of a great course is not just what you experience as you play it but a lasting impression that drives you to want to return again and again. The Blue Angel courses and especially The Oaks course capture that essence perfectly. The small entrance fee and honor box donation of $2 is very small price to pay for the indulgent DG experience that Blue Angel provides. It's like getting steak and lobster for the price of a happy meal. You will not find a cleaner, better maintained DG course around.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 OAKS

1    6/10/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: FLX BUZZZ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 24 HOLES. EXCELLENT UPKEEP. LONGER THAN PALMETTO, VARITY OF SHOTS. EASY TO NAVIGATE FROM HOLE TO HOLE. DUAL PADS ON EACH HOLE.
Cons: NONE, I ONLY WISH IT WERE CLOSER TO TENNESSEE
Other Thoughts: LOVE THE COURSE, PLAYED PALMETTO FIRST , THEN THE OAKS,
42 HOLES OF GREAT DISC GOLF

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 wonderful course

1    5/1/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: polingtravis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The cleanest and best layed out course i have played. Every hole has nice tee boxes and accurate signs. There is ice water every couple of holes. No trash
Cons: None excellent course.
Other Thoughts: Two courses side by side. Two bucks to get in the park and another two in an honor box to play the courses. Or buy a season pass for ten bucks and get in free.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/24/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well maintained beautiful course with a good layout and flow,you will need all your shots on this course.it is a must play! also has long and short teepads on a lot of holes so it plays well for the ams or pros.
Cons: none,this course has it all
Other Thoughts: I wished I lived closer,worth the drive from anywhere.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center