Matthews, NC 
Squirrel Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #1 (Taken 2/2009)
4 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
#1 fairway - at the turn looking up at the basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Woods, woods, woods

2-4    9/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging. Tight fairways, great use of elevation. Holes were very easy to navigate. The woods are not brushy, so you won't lose your disc.
Cons: Fairways are VERY tight. Don't play this course unless you're up for a challenge. Requires long, controlled shots.
Other Thoughts: I generally liked the course, but my game was not up for the challenge. It got very frustrating before I finished. I'm sure it fits a niche, but not mine.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Squirrel Lake Park

5+    11/7/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: borndasaur
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a wildlife habitat park this course offers a variety of right turning, left turning and straight holes. All but #6 are in the woods and #6 has woods on the left before turning left into the woods. Elevation changes abound. Signs at all tee pads with the #4 and #6 sharing an L-shaped pad. Distances are listed on the signs. Very technical with a premium on accuracy, this course was designed to minimize the impact on the wildlife habitat.
Cons: Even though the park offers a playground, fishing lake, and picnic pavilion, the only rest room is a Porta-John. Course maps are not available and the tee pad signs don't offer hole diagrams. Sometimes, there is a map posted next to the first tee but it is usually missing. Since this is a wildlife habitat, there are no trash cans in the woods. There is a trash can and bench at the #4,6 tee pad.
Other Thoughts: There are approved plans to expand this course to 18 holes after the park finishes expansion of the greenway. Also, permanent toilets are planned. If you use Google Maps for directions, the park entrance is NOT Privette Rd. It is about 500' south of Privette Rd. and there is a sign directing you into Squirrel Lake Park. Course maps are available on-line at the Charlotte Disc Golf Club website. Since this is a new course, this review will be updated as improvements are made.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    2/7/2009   9/24/2008
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed my round here. Tight fairways but not much underbrush, you have to try to lose a disc.
-Nice tee signs, though would be nice to have a hole map.
-Secluded feel if there aren't many people on the course.
-New baskets.
-Easy to navigate, and really easy to find the first hole.
-Nice use of available elevation.
-A beautiful walk through the woods.
Cons: -12 holes here leave me wanting more, this isn't a slam on the course, just wish there were 6 more.
-Hole 6 has the road in play(for my wild wide sidearm shot), not sure how often this is a problem but during my round someone was parked on the road. That caused me to pull up on my drive.
--If you play late in the day the sunlight on 2 and 3 is brutal to focus on the basket for your 2nd shot.
-For me personally I like a little wider tee pad, but it only took me 2 holes to adjust.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. It's tight, lots of trees, and well laid out. I would like to see a hole layout on the tee signs, but this is only an issue the first time you play. Otherwise they are great signs. I only hope they find enough room for 6 more holes here. The poisen ivy that was mentioned before is not an issue anymore, I assume they sprayed. I'm a big fan of Killborne for the secluded feel and I get this here with tighter fairways. The holes aren't as secluded, but the park and the feel of the course is. Kudos to the designers of this beautiful course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Charlotte's secret

2-4    6/8/2008   6/9/2008
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 80  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Not crowded at all. I don't know if it's that people don't know about this course - or park - but it hardly ever has much traffic.

- Very tightly-packed course. You never get too far away from the main road/parking area. I always consider that a plus because if the course ever DID get crowded, it's easy to skip holes or start off on a different hole. For instance, if there's a wait at #1, you could always walk to #4/#6 and start there. Or, you could play 11 and 12, or 10-12, etc.

- The wooded holes are tight and challenge you to keep it in the fairway on most drives. It's a very punishing course if you get deep into the woods.

- Yellow baskets are a major plus on a wooded course like this. I can think of a number of wooded courses where it was tough to pick out the basket among all the trees.

- I saw a family of deer running through the course on one occasion. The official name of this park is "Squirrel Lake Wildlife Habitat," and it definitely stays true to its name.
Cons: - Most tees are easy to find, but two in particular are a bit confusing:

1) When you finish #6, you are actually right near the tees for #9 and #10. You have to walk backward a bit to get to #7. There are signs that point you backward to the next tee, but they could conceivably be pointing you to #9 as well.

2) When you finish #9, you have to walk back up that fairway to find the tee for #10. There is no tee anywhere near the basket for #9, so without knowing what to do there, you could walk around aimlessly for a good while and not find anything.

- Some tee pads don't give you much room to maneuver. They are a bit too short for taller players that need more room.

- On a few occasions, mosquitoes and gnats have been an issue. They were particularly bothersome around the tee pads, for some reason.

- A few holes - 9-11 in particular - come up close to the edge of the park near the housing development behind it. With the trees around the basket, you shouldn't have a problem sailing a disc into someone's yard, but it takes away from the secluded feel of the park a bit to see the houses back there.
Other Thoughts: -12 holes is an odd number for a course, and I'm still not sure how I feel about it. On one hand, it feels a little incomplete; but, on the other hand, it's nice to have something a bit longer than 9 but not quite a full 18. Ultimately, I think I appreciate that the designers realized that 12 holes was the best fit for this park.

- One small quirk: #4 and #6 share the same tee pad at a 90 angle.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/8/2008   6/9/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2011
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun, challenging course. For local comparison, it's a tougher, better version of Reedy Creek.
- Good variety of holes. A couple of major doglegs really challenge your game. The course seems to have more LHBH-esque holes than many courses. Not a bad thing, just an extra challenge for most throwers.
- My favorite hole is #10. Sharp dogleg to the right. It takes 2 good shots to get to the hole.
- Quiet, small neighborhood park. Lack of park traffic means course isn't crowded. I'm impressed how you can get such an "out in nature" feel in such a small park.
- Holes are close to each other. Signs point to next hole.
Cons: Poision ivy all over the course. Needs some serious spraying. This is hopefully a temporary problem. NOTE: As of August '09, it's still a problem. Pay attention when playing the course.
- Course map or diagram on holes would be helpful for first timers.
- On several holes you have to walk up the fairway to the tee pad. For example, after finishing #7, the path leads you to the fairway for #8, where you then walk up the fairway to the tee pad. You'll need to pay attention to make sure you don't walk in front of someone teeing off.
Other Thoughts: The course looks like it'll be staying 12-hole course. Local board has voted against adding an extra 6 holes for the sake of the nature preserve.
- If the course were 18 holes, it'd deserve a 3.5 rating. I only gave it a 3 because it's only 12 holes.
- Course is actually more wide open than I would have thought. Very little underbrush, trees are usually your only obstacle. You do have a chance to redeem yourself if you get off the fairway.
- No restrooms (porta jon only) or water fountains at the course.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 A secluded course

4/26/2008   4/26/2008
Review By: powell7020
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2008
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is new so signage and a markers from hole to next tee are great. The course makes you throw a variety of shots because of tree placement. This challenge makes it a fun place to play.
Cons: Heavily wooded making some of the holes very diffcult. The holes are also longer than you would think.
Other Thoughts: As I was playing I saw a family of deer within 30 feet of me. Wildlife is abundant.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.