Albany, OR 
Bryant Park Share
Uploaded By: frasnow Hole #16 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 YES!

2-4    11/7/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: gwillim
Played: 156  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Variety of shots (amazing variety, really!)
-Modern course design: par 3s, and 4s
-Great use of terrain on both field and forest holes
-Course flow is good (start and stop at parking lot)
-Dog-legs
-Shots to stretch out for Big D
-Shots that require *nearly* impossible pinpoint accuracy
-Well thought-out green locations
-Bathroom near parking lot (not sure of winter hours?)
-Practice basket near parking lot to warm up on
-Baskets in good shape
-Plenty of covered shelters for picnicking, etc
-Very Challenging
-Fairly scenic
-Fairly secluded once you enter the woods
-Requires very technical upshots (great practice!)
-At least two B-Tier large tournaments have used the course each of the last two years
Cons:
-Not all concrete tees, wooded holes have carpet!
-No permanent tee signs
-No course maps available (u need a guide first time!!!)
-Can't remember any benches
-Only remember one trash can in the wooded section
-Woods still needs quite a bit of work to clean up fairways.
-Many small (< 6") trees/bushes need to be removed on wooded holes to reward good tee shots more
-Course floods occasionally in winter
Other Thoughts:
I am really falling in love with Bryant Park. It has a little bit of everything I desire from a challenging course. Par 3's, Par 4's, and even a couple holes that could potentially be considered par 5s. The wooded holes are tight and VERY technical. They reward solid control of midranges and fairway drivers off the tee, instead of just blasting speed 13 drivers to the basket. Also, the open field holes are well thought out and are very enjoyable to play.

My one beef with Bryant is the tee pads. The pads in the woods are all carpet. Much better than gravel or mud, but still not nearly as nice as having solid concrete that you can trust under you. It appears that the local club has been busy putting in the concrete tees for the field holes, and I hope that they continue and put concrete into the woods as well.

One more issue with the course is the lack of signage. If you've never played here before, you will have no chance of navigating the course by yourself. With proper signage and concrete tees, this could be in the top five of Oregon courses, and I would gladly rate it a 4.5. With the tees, signs and a lot more work in the woods, this could be a gold level 5 star course! Thanks to the Albany DG club, and Jeromie Fields and Scott Duvall. You guys are rocking it!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Still needs some work

2-4    9/26/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Good mix of wooded holes (200-300')
- Good mix of open holes (400-900')
- Baskets are good (DGA)
- Some change in elevation, but it's not too bad.
Cons:
- Many of the teepads are still natural or rubber. Some are concrete.
- Most of the wooded holes are still over grown and very tight and unforgiving.
- During the winter/rainy season, the course floods and is unplayable.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential, but it still needs a lot of work (which I know the Albany Disc Golf Club is doing). I would recommend this course to experienced players, but not to new players.

I look forward to playing again as is, but will be really excited when this course reaches it's full potential.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bryant Park

1    10/11/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bryant Park is a very challenging disc golf course located in between where the Calapooia and Willamette rivers Collide. I played this course in October and I can tell you that this time of year it is very pretty with the two rivers nearby, a waterfall and of course the wonderful fall colors all around you. Like Cefire stated in his review the course and especially the more open bomber holes are in immaculate shape. Navigation is made much easier by the little pieces of tape on the basket as you simply walk in the general direction of where the tape is pointing. The only basket where the tape was wrong was on hole number 3 and this basket looks to be loose so that people could spin it. Simply walk back towards the grass fields as the next hole is long par 4 semi-open bomber field hole. I still recommend bringing a printed map.

The main draw to playing this course for me is the massive amount of challenge and overall skill level needed to tame this vicious beast. One thing I noticed was after 13 or 14 holes is that I had used almost every single disc in my bag. The more open holes are very long and require a large shot to get to birdie or even par territory and when combined with the tree obstacles guarding certain lines and making some lies very tough it makes these holes harder than you realize until after playing them and I found that most of these holes made me have to make decisions on where to land after every single throw. Accurate, calculated bomber shots is what these holes are all about so if you're not throwing at least 350 feet it's going to be a long day for you. Then you get into the nasty holes in the back that make you want to cry uncle! These are very tough lines, usually low ceiling and heavily wooded but still very long holes that are made even longer by the fact that you have to throw uphill, perfectly straight or extremely low to the ground to get anywhere but into a tree and kicked off into the abyss somewhere.
Cons: There are a couple of pin placements that are a little crazy to me and seem like they were put there just to be hard instead of being a good challenge to your skills. Hole 7 is a prime example as the drive is a low ceiling, dead straight shot with a hill in the middle of the drive and this is very hard hole that only people with that skill or shot in their bag are going to be able to hit but then the upshot or putt is towards this basket that is behind a WALL of trees with the largest line being 2 feet wide so you go from a drive that takes a ton of skill to a putt/upshot that is mostly luck. I'm not sure if this hole should be moved out of that and closer or if there should be some clearing but there are at least a couple holes out here that could use some help in this sense.

This place is going to be extremely tough on just about anyone who hasn't mastered hitting tight lines with long accurate drives and newer players will become frustrated quickly. There isn't a ton amount of brush and hardly any on the fairway but newer players are going to find the thick stuff and even experienced players might find it as well with a strange kick off a tree, which happens quite a bit to be honest.

The other con is that the course gets flooded in the winter from the nearby rivers. I'm not sure how long it takes to dry out but it might make this course only playable for half the year which is a bummer for such an excellent course with so many good holes.
Other Thoughts: This place is best suited for players at least in the 920 PDGA rating range and above, maybe even 950 or more. Your gold level players are going to enjoy the combo of long bomber holes and long wooded holes. I guess if the disc golf is too much you could always go to the other area courses or take a lovely walk or just sit down and enjoy the scenery.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 An under-rated course in Oregon?

2-4    9/5/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located next to the Willamette river in a well-used community park, Bryant DGC offers a superb mix of challenging open and tightly wooded holes. One of the most unique characteristics of Bryant is the frequent shifting from relatively flat and open-bomber field holes on a soft field of grass to winding and treacherously tight fairways through densely wooded forest.

This course seems geared towards silver and gold level players and the wooded holes especially may frustrate those newer to the game. Most of the open holes require 350-400' drives with only moderate accuracy required while the wooded holes demand pinpoint accuracy off the tee and technical saves when trees are (inevitably) hit. One of the key features to this course is the constant changing from open to wooded holes. This back and forth shift gives the course a manic feel and never allows the player to settle comfortably into either driving pattern.

Navigation - Navigation has been greatly aided by the addition of small colored tape to the bottom of each basket. Although you may see a tee nearby (especially on the field holes) do not assume that it is the next tee as you may be weaving into/out of the woods for a 2 or 3 hole detour. Especially over the final few field holes, a marker of some sort might be helpful for marking the positions of the tees which are flush with the ground.

Maintenance - The park has looked immaculate both times I have played it, which were early and late summer. I would imagine that the wooded holes become very muddy with rainfall and have noted that the course experiences frequent flooding during the winter due to its proximity to the river.
Cons: The course is difficult for the first-time player because several of the ideal landing areas for the par 4 holes are not obvious at all off the tee, both wooded and open holes included. Local players are going to have a pretty large advantage in knowing the highest percentage areas to land drives especially on holes like 17 where the only high ceiling approach to the pin is obscured by early trees off the tee. New players will throw left-fairway towards the more obvious looking opening but will have an extremely low-ceiling approach to the pin. Course veterans will be able to take advantage of the right-to-left gap in the trees along the right-center of the fairway. I'm almost not sure if this is a 'con' but it is something to note for first-time players and those headed to tournaments here.

Seasonal - As the course description states, this course does not likely lend itself to winter play with packed mud fairways in the forest and low-lying land adjacent to the river.

Trim - I hesitate to mention this but a few of the wooded holes would benefit from carefully planned pruning and trimming of trees to open lines in the fairway. I am all for holes with percentage success rates rather than completely open 'guaranteed' fairways, but a few holes and approaches currently border on total poke-and-hope.
Other Thoughts: I would have to argue that, certainly according to the reviews thus far, this is one of the most underrated courses in Oregon. So far, I've played almost 80% of Oregon courses and would rank this one as 3rd best, behind only Whistler's Bend and Milo McIver.

Another nice feature of the course is its close proximity to downtown Albany which sports some nice restaurants and of course the Calapooia Brewery which deserves a special shout-out for their support for courses and tournaments in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

5+    12/2/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: The Bird Man
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great combination of open holes and wooded holes. It is a very technical course that requires a well rounded game
Cons: It is too long for me. Long walk outs, Too many long wooded holes. . Difficult doesn't always equal fun. It is a seasonal course and gets closed in the winter.
Other Thoughts: I wish it was open all year.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  One of the best courses around

1    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: NateDizz0420
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Amazing holes. great shot variation. lots of elevation changes. a fair amoount of long hyzers open in the field. a couple really long holes. some forehand holes. just an awesome course that is very challenging. the variation of shots and long distances for each hole makes this course one of my favorite courses around that is reasonable to drive to from many areas. i like natural teepads which arent too roough.
Cons: beautiful, fun course... just a blast
Other Thoughts: they could clean the thing up and more people would come and discover this hidden gem that has potential to be one of everyones favorite courses around.. it has been for the 6 ive showed it to and myself

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course, Hidden from the Masses

2-4    5/3/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: Oregon Southpaw
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice blend of easy open holes and ridiculously challenging wood holes. Think it starts out borderline boring? Just wait.

Requires players to have many types of shots. Particularly the hammer. Man, this is a hammer-friendly course. If you're a one-trick pony thrower, you will hate this thing.

Though some of the holes are tough, they are all pretty fair. Landing areas can be super tight though.

Very few people playing, particularly compared to other close courses.

I like the bright orange beacons to direct you: flags suck as tee pads sure but look on the basket to see an orange stripe which tells which cardinal direction the next tee is. Every course should have this.

People generally call you for lost discs / items.

Gorgeous park.
Cons: Underbrush is out of control on some of the wooded holes - landing areas are almost non-existent. Also the grass / weeds are vicious both on the legs and for snatching and hiding your disc.

Orange utility marking flags are not tees. And people have misplaced / F'd with many of them.

Some sketchy people / behavior happening.
Other Thoughts: HAMMER!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  A Newb's Perspective

2-4    10/17/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: John
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course with some great long holes. The potential of this course is amazing with a good verity of holes that make use of some great elevation changes and out of bounds areas.
Cons: The holes in the woods are no where near finished!! It seems like the designers went more for distance in the trees just because they had the space instead of designing technically difficult holes.
Other Thoughts: To spite the fact that the course is not finished it really does have some great potential as a future "Favorite Course"

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential...worth seeking out

7/22/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of available Park space
Awesome use of wooded area
Very technical holes in the woods
Forces one to think strategically
Tone poles replaced with baskets
Local DG club/players really created great wooded holes in a briar jungle
Cons: Tee areas in the open park area not very well marked--some little flags/sticks missing
Baskets not numbered
Wooded baskets could have colored tape or flags to be more easily spotted
Other Thoughts: This course is worth seeking out, especially if you like being challenged with tight wooded holes
If you throw errant drives (sharp hyzers or anhyzers) you should have a spotter because the wooded fairways are narrow and the "rough" is dense (and mainly briars)
My friend and I loved this course and we are amazed at the vision and tenacity of the guys who carved out the briar jungle!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be great someday

5/17/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: OR_Crayfish
Played: 70  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is going to be a great course someday and SOON!!!. The Albany (OR) disc golf club and others are working hard to make this yet another premiere course in Oregon. There is now a full 18 hole course as of a couple weeks ago (May 2008) consisiting of a few Tone Targets and baskets. Many of the new woods holes are still thick with underbrush and will require some serious clean-up but one can see the potential. You should have a local guide for now. Just look up the DGCA (Disc golf club Ablany website and hollar at someone. A few local Pros live near the course and will gladly show ya the ropes. This went from an easy scratch round to a few up just recently. Sweet
Cons: Tons of blackberry, poision oak, and nettles. Wear long pants and be ready to get scratched up. This course fights back. You will be in trouble on all drives in the woods if not placed in the fairway (if there is one...ha!)
Other Thoughts: Thanks to all the DGCA folks for making this a reality (i.e. Brandon Hill, Scott Duvall, Jeorime)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.