Disc Golf Store
Peoria (Marquette Heights), IL 
Marquette Heights Park Share
Uploaded By: DGfan68 Hole #5 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 124ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short and Sweet

5+    9/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 87  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Easy to get to

- Flow from hole to hole is quite nice and easy to manage

- Good use of elevation

- Next Tee Posts
Cons: - Dirt Teepads

- A lot of the teepads are at a wierd slope

- The baskets were assembled upside down so there is a smaller area that catches the disc.

- Some of the teepads are so worn down that they have roots exposed and become a hinderence when throwing.
Other Thoughts: When all is said and done this is not a course that you should go out of your way to play but I still like to play it.

I use this course for learning new mids and putter and I like to do a lot of one disc forehand rounds here for practice.

If you take the course for what it is it really isnt that bad.

And for it being so short it is stil quite hard to have a perfect round because there are a couple of tricky holes out there and even the easy ones have enough obsticles in the way that make the course a little bit of a challange.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Little course. Easily played in 20mins

1    5/18/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: XxBenNastyxX
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not a lot of walking involved. Pretty well taken care of.
Cons: Super easy course. No hole brings much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area stop in and play it, but by no means go out of your way to make the stop. This course could be much better than what it is but we still had fun playing it I suppose.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 grab your putter and roc(k)

1    5/21/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: notBOB
Played: 135  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: i was pleasantly surprised by this course; it was a great cool down between some more serious golf offered in the area.

- park is in a nice area, not too much traffic or garbage
- the course has good flow from hole to hole with only minor navigation issues given posts and distance only
- course plays really short but offers fun lines, upshots
- great use of elevation as well as trees and limited space
- all tees are relatively flat being natural, with a few exceptions
- plays really quick- 30 min chillin
- notable holes: #2- tight shot downhill OB right, #5 tight gap over drop- plays short, #6- mellow downhill ace run over the gulley and thick
Cons: - all the baskets are a smidge short from top ring to basket. kinda wierd..
- course is really short, but doesnt have much land
- minor navigation issues hole to hole, nothing overwhelming, look 4 posts/signs- baskets have the correct numbers
- certain holes play close to others- take caution when its crowded, if ever
- fun for a putter only round; not completely satisfying for even the average golfer
Other Thoughts: unless some changes were made at marquette heights, i fail to see eye to eye with the current rating. i give it the benefit of the doubt. i have played much worse.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Redesign finished

1    8/28/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small wooded neighborhood park. There are some small elevation changes that add some fun shots, including a little ace run hole across a small ravine. There are enough trees that you have to hit some tight lines to score well, and there's an interesting mix of hole shapes. There are 9 newish baskets that are in pretty good shape, and 9 tee posts with distance on them. The park is nicely mowed and free of trash and vandalism.
Cons: 7 of the baskets were put together with the top and bottom parts of the basket way too close together. It makes the target area much smaller vertically, and makes the baskets look quite stupid. This is fixable, but seems like an odd mistake. The tees aren't well defined, many of the tee posts aren't on level ground, so you just have to pick the least sloped spot near them.

There are a couple holes that really need a little clearing of the low branches and brush to be good holes, they have potential but at the moment there really aren't well defined lines to the holes. Hole 9 finishes out in the middle of the park, so you have to walk back through the beginning of the course to get to the parking lot. The course is very short overall, and doesn't offer much real challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice beginner course, with reasonable lengths, not too much punishment for errant shots (but enough for less skilled players to have to get creative through the trees), and a variety of hole shapes. More experienced players won't be challenged, but there are a couple holes that make playing a quick putter round here fun. Don't go out of your way for this one, but it's more worth a stop now that it actually has tees and baskets if you want to check it off your list.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Marquette Heights

1    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very empty with lots of parking!
-There's a nice park on the other side of the street.
Cons: -Usually you need baskets to play this game...but, as the past reviewer said, only 3 of the baskets were there. And even those were really rusty.
-The signs were all rusted and falling apart.
-Apparently the fairways go through each other...I couldn't really tell.
Other Thoughts: I drove by here because it's right in between McNaughton and Bradley park (both of which I recommend).
As my dad and I were playing here, all of the people that drove by either laughed or had confused looks on their faces. This showed me how much they care about disc golf here, right?
I was actually surprised at the potential of this park. It really could have been something if they redo the signs, tees, and baskets.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Redesign should have potential

1    8/8/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 365  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course has pretty good land to work with: good elevation, good thick woods where holes can be cut out, good amount of trees in the "open" meadows. This course has some potential to be a good course after the redesign.
-A lot of wildlife: I saw 2 fawns just kind of laying down. Got within 50 ft of them before they took off.
-It looks like the course gets maintained(grass was mowed)
Cons: -I only found 4 of the 9 baskets and holes for that matter. Only baskets for 4,6,8,9 were present
-Six of nine tee signs were missing or rusted out. All that remained of the rest were posts. So you had no idea where to throw. The only intact holes were 4,8,9.
-Natural teepads overgrown
Other Thoughts: This course is supposed to be revamped sometime in the future. But as of right now don't even bother playing this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 This shouldn't even be listed as a course...

1    1/24/2009   1/24/2009
Review By: mmunter
Played: 104  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: None, really.
Cons: As mentioned before, no tees. Many of the holes didn't even have tee signs indicating where the tee was supposed to be.

Multiple baskets were nowhere to be found.

Two holes had so many downed trees between the tees and baskets that they were virtually unplayable.

No maintenance appears to have been done in quite a while.
Other Thoughts: This course is listed here, on the PDGA website, and on the Peoria Disc Golf club website, but it should be taken off all of them. It looks like a completely abandoned course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie that's sadly not a goodie.

1    10/18/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: ForehandMAN36
Played: 103  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only pro is that a course is in existence.
Cons: NO TEES! Tee signs rusted, marked up, or just flat out missing. Baskets rusted and warped. A few appeared to have been victim to a sledgehammer. I'm not kidding. Very poorly maintained course.
Other Thoughts: We took a disc golf trip to Peoria since there are a handful of course within driving distance of each other. Sadly we took precious daylight time off our trip checking this course out when we could have spent that time on another course. With many other good courses in the area players should pass on this one. I had only wished a review of this course was on here before we took our trip. The course appears to have never been touched since it was made. Even the tees have no "tee box", the grass next to the tees makes it seem no one ever plays the course. AVOID this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.