Bowling Green, KY 
Phil Moore Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #1 (Taken 3/2011)
4 / --   4 / 450ft.   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Long and Open

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 95  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: 1. Really large Tee Pads

2. Chances to Air out a lot of shots

3. There's a couple of slightly elevated spots to tee off from

4. near the interstate

5. Good tee signs

Cons: 1. Not much shot variety

2. Very few obstacles on open holes

3. A lot of loose limbs and rocks and logs in woods to climb thru if you throw your disc off path
Other Thoughts: This is the first course we went to when we played 111 holes in one day and not a bad spot to start out if your course bagging. It gives you a chance to warm up but does have some long holes that will make your round sort of long. This is a pretty boring course overall and it's not all that tricky to navigate but theres a couple of spots where you could get hung up. It took us (2 avg Disc golfers) 2:19 Minutes to play

 Phil Moore

1    3/30/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phil Moore Park hosts a lengthy and challenging par 61 course. There's an acceptable mix of shots on a half open/half wooded layout. A few holes take advantage of some elevation changes and are a welcomed change of pace from the flat open areas. Longer holes define the open part of the course and will definitely satisfy the appetite of big arms. OB areas are scattered around to keep you on your toes. Number nine's elevated basket is a nice touch on an otherwise boring hole. The wooded holes are scenic and have you playing near a river. Hole three requires a toss over water but only shanked or overthrown shots will get wet. Overall the wooded side requires fairly precise shots with some tighter than others. Lots of risky shots and present a reasonably good challenge. Hole eighteen caps off the round with a fun downhill finishing hole.

Nice tee pads, signs, and good baskets are all here. It would appear that the course is maintained fairly well including mowed grass in the fairways and clean fairways in the woods. Overall it's a nice setting for a disc golf course.
Cons: Many long wide open shots can get boring and repetitive, especially to weaker arms or new players. For the bigger arms, wind and artificial OB are the only things that'll make these holes difficult/challenging.

Losing discs along the river/creek could be an issue for errant shots.

Evidently the course can get marshy or even flooded after significant rain.
Other Thoughts: Although this is not one of my favorite courses in Bowling Green it's really not too bad. If you play in the Am Championships this course is a nice addition to keep the course types interesting and different. But to be fair, lots of players I talked to dislike the course.

Overall, it's worth playing to get it on your "courses played" list but if you are in Bowling Green with only enough time to only play a couple I believe there are more enjoyable courses in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed feelings

1    5/10/2009   7/26/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with some heavily wooded areas and some open rolling fields. Half of the holes play through dense woods with thick rough and tough punishment for errant shots, and a nice variety of lines to hit. The open holes rely on distance and o.b. stakes for difficulty, but offer a range of lengths from reachable to a 900'+ bomber, with some minor elevation and a raised basket on this part of the course. There are nice large concrete tees that make good surfaces to throw from. The baskets are in great shape and catch well.
Cons: The wooded holes don't feel finished, with lots of brush and branches on the fairways, and some more clearing needed. The open holes get a bit boring, even with the contrived o.b. lines they're still just open holes with only a few small trees (they'll be a nice obstacle in a decade or so, but not yet). The signage was inconsistent throughout the course, with a few tough spots in terms of navigation and some missing tee signs. There were some random people wandering around the course that didn't seem to know what we were doing, a little surprising in an area like B.G. where the sport is so popular.
Other Thoughts: The course has potential, with some nice distance and difficulty that will challenge most players. There are a few too many of the open holes, and the course doesn't feel quite finished, but it still has enough interesting holes to make it worth a stop if you're in the area. Beginners will likely be frustrated by the tight lines in the woods and the distance in the open. More experienced players will find some nice challenges here, and some variety in shot shapes required on the wooded holes.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing special

1    3/27/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: indydiscgolfer
Played: 75  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 35.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety. Many of the woods holes were very scenic, challenging, and fun. Several long holes to challenge the big arms.
Cons: Looking out over the open area of the course you see a large sloping, open expanse with a lot of white stakes everywhere. Most of the open holes felt the same and seem to be forced into this area (not crowded, but forced in the sense that they had to utilize the stakes and OB's to create fairways and separate the holes). Not much excitement except for the risk of going OB. Perhaps when the small saplings get bigger the fairways will be better defined and shots will have to be shaped more precisely.
Other Thoughts: This still appears to be a young course and also seemed to have recently been flodded, with large logs and debris scattered through the course by high water. This course could have championship potential some day but for now it is nothing special.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/13/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.9 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Phil Moore is the newest addition to Bowling Green Disc Golf. The course is less than a year old, so the large, concrete tee pads, signs, and baskets (DGA) are all in great shape. The biggest asset of the Phil Moore Disc Golf Course is the potential that it has.

I like the idea of the layout, but there is a lot of work that needs to be done in order to help this course reach its' potential. The course layout takes you in and out of open areas and moderate to heavily wooded areas that border a small river running along the edge of the park. I like this feature of the course, you aren't throwing all open or all technical holes, but a mix of both as you navigate through the course. The course is comprised of two complete loops, each returning close to the parking area. There are no crossing fairways, and some fairways are defined while others lack definition. The tee for No7 is near a field used for other activities, I actually had some people walking directly through the fairway here, so be aware of others as you play through this area. A unique feature of the course is the basket on nine that has been raised a couple of feet with a man-made structure, which adds a little challenge and visual appeal to this otherwise wide open par3.


There is a good variety of hole length, ranging from around 200ft up to 911ft. Several holes on the front nine over 700ft, but unfortunately, these are basically long, wide open holes, not a lot to them. The technical holes are designed to offer a variety of shots, including hyzers and anhyzers, but need some foliage maintenance and better definition to the fairways. Restrooms are available near the baseball fields, but I am not sure if they are open all the time, I'm guessing just during the ball games. There is plenty of parking for the course, and it is not typically crowded.
Cons: Unfortunately, Phil Moore is a long way from its potential. The open holes are pretty much that, wide open with little to no obstacles. Some of the holes have had trees planted, but it will take several years for the trees to become an obstacle and improve the visual appeal of the course.

For the most part, the technical holes do not have defined fairways, and are infested with tall grass and trees that seem to require more luck to clear than skill. There are only slight to moderate elevation changes, no drastic up/downhill shots or side hill lies. The course pretty much offers very long, but open holes with little challenge other than the length, or shorter technical holes that need a lot of work and better definition of the fairways. The visual appeal of the course is in the making, but not there yet.

Keep a close eye on your disc through the technical holes as the tall grass, etc. can make it difficult to find. The river is close enough on a few of the holes to be an issue as well, so watch your release through these areas.
Other Thoughts: Again, I think there is potential here. As the course is developed over the next few years, I think we will see it increase in challenge, visual appeal, and popularity. If you are in this area frequently, it would be great to play now, and then play again and see how it changes and develops. If you do not make it to the BG area very often, and are limited on time, I would check out some of the other courses in the area. My top 3 in BG are Kerieakes, Lovers Lane, and Hobson Grove.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A work in progress

1    9/1/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly bland course but there a several tight, wooded holes that will hurt you more than the 800-900 footers! The best thing about this course is that you will have it to yourself if you try it. There is the chance to really air it out if you like to let 'er rip from time to time. I played it 3 days in a row over Labor day weekend and did not see another DG'er. Kinda nice when you are used to waiting behind large groups at other nearby courses.
Cons: Like a previous poster mentioned, "Haven't we done this already?" Very similar feel to most of the holes...they are either long and featureless or noxiously wooded with little to denote a fairway. This course will eat your discs for lunch if you miss by even just a little when near the river.
Other Thoughts: This is a relatively new course that still needs some time to mature. I really think that the designers did the best that they could given the floodplain area that they had to work with. Some vegetation abatement on the wooded holes would help its appeal tremendously. It is a welcome option when you just want to get away from the crowds and give it a good heave.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Improving...

2-4    2/19/2011   7/15/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of woods and open, with holes ranging in length from 200 to 900 feet. Nice scenic views of the river on some of the wooded holes, and water can come into play. The open holes have defined fairways with lots of OB stakes (like in real golf.)

*Update- most of the wooded holes have matured nicely in the past 2 years to what one would expect a technical woods course to be.
Cons: Wooded holes had narrow blind fairways and ma couple actually lacked fairways, and not just because of trees but from very high, deep rough stretching all the way across from tee to basket. Nettles abound everywhere, everytime you get your disc out of the rough your legs and hands sting for several minutes. (I hope with more traffic over time and some weed eaters this will improve.) We started sending spotters down the hole to see where drives landed because wondering through the stinging nettles started to become painful.

*Update- I played again in the winter, and the thick undergrowth was not there, but it looks like it would be in the summer. Only #17 still lacks a fairway- close your eyes and hope for the best.

The tee signs are nice, but are on large "t" shaped posts in front of the teepads. Some are close enough they almost become an obstacle (at least a mental one!!!) I prefer my signs behind the tee.

*Update- Many of these nice tee signs are gone. The distance and mandos are "drawn" on the teepad.

*Update- I prefer Machs over Discatchers personally, but this is one course that needs those yellow bands. Many of the woods holes are blind, or at least have baskets behind trees. The open holes are very long and make it difficult to see the basket from the tee (especially if you long range vision is not perfect.) There are also lots of other objects (posts, stakes, exercise trails, running signs, etc.) that cause the baskets to blend in. I would also like to see a couple of next tee signs added. Where the course crosses itself can be a little confusing. Take a good look at the map, and you won't have problems, but you literally step over 11's tee (with no sign) to get to #3.

The course was not flooded when I played it, but I could see how half the course could be unplayable after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind that this is a new[er] course. With a little more work and fine tuning, and some time for the newly planted trees to grow on the open holes this could be a really good course.

*Update- The trees on the long open holes are still little and have no impact. These holes are just very long and very wide with no obstacles at all. If you like to bomb it, here is your chance, but I find these holes to be boring and not much in the way of risk/reward.

*I feel like this course is now closer to a 3.0, but it still needs some work and more time. I also want to see what it is like in the full bloom of summer.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center