Bowling Green, KY 
Phil Moore Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #18 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / --   3 / 360ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Half and Half

2-4    3/31/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage, marked OB always, Good baskets, Elevated basket and lowered basket interesting addition, tee pads are nice and big, When you are in the woods that is the place to make up ground but you really have to work a disc to get those birds.
Cons: The wide open holes can be monotonous but test your ability to throw long and straight. Flood plains can cause trouble with recent rains never experienced that personally.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course, even though there are three holes 700+ straight and flat, that still test your ability to golf, if you spray your distance shots you can easily add a stroke on those i watched a guy throw 350' straight and had real nice scores on those holes. The wooded holes are amazingly shaped and a lot of fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not as Exciting as Expected

1    4/2/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a semi-championship course; distance and marked OB make it a challenge in anything other than calm conditions. The signs were very accurate and the tee pads were always easy to spot from the previous basket. Something that really struck me as an excellent use of a relatively plain plot of land was the use of posts to mark OB. I don't think there were too many holes that didn't have some sort of OB on them. In general the Pars were marked according to the average amount of throws it should take a person to get to the holes plus 2 putts. There was an elevated basket on hole 8, which was a change to the course; it definitely took a different mentality to play it. Some of the holes played along the river, which added some extra difficulty to the shorter holes where you might think you have some easy deuce runs.
Cons: The course was pretty bland, lots of open hole throw with no real shot shaping. I can't think of a single hole that really made me throw something different other than a normal backhand. While there was a lot of OB, which made the course play tighter; at times it really just became boring, repetitive and not really needed. The wooded holes were definitely the deuce holes on the course; unfortunately in some cases they didn't really have a route. Hole 17 in particular had to direction as to what you needed to do what so ever. It was basically a throw and pray type scenario.
Other Thoughts: They tried to do a lot with some pretty lame land, but in the end it really just seemed like a course where all you did was air your arm out. The wooded holes were a nice change of pace, but they were such an extreme difference from the rest of the course I didn't really feel like they belonged. Most of the posts out there were to mark what I am assuming is a cross-country course, so you may find that it is unplayable during certain portions of the year.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 still a work in progress

2-4    4/10/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: gdub58
Played: 112  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Decent mix of open and wooded holes.
- In a nice park with good facilities (when they're open) and plenty of parking.
- Good tees and baskets.
- Some really well-designed holes that will challenge all golfers regardless of skill level, including three holes 700' or more.
- Can add to your challenge by playing the available OB (white stakes).
Cons: - The wooded holes are still really rough, with too much long grass, partially downed trees, and little/no signage.
- The long, open holes can be miserable in the wind (which is quite common).
- Non-golfer traffic is fairly common and can be a bother.
- Being so close to a large stream produces a lot of bugs, so between that and the wind this course is probably quite unpleasant some days. According to locals, this course is under water after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: A difficult piece of land to design a really good course, in that it is at the bottom of a valley and consists of a huge expanse of flat land with some heavy woods between the open land and a large stream.

So, about half of the holes are wide open bombs, and the other half are in heavy woods that have not been been properly cleared. Also, there is a cross-country course winding through the open holes with white stakes defining the running lanes. These white stakes serve as OB lines for some of the open holes.

In some ways, it feels like they ran out of resources before finishing the course. Some of the wooded holes need more clearing and some don't have signs on the tees so you will need a map to properly navigate this course.

I played this as part of the BG Ams and if I were to come back to this area to play this course would not be high on my list even though it had a few really good holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potintial!

1    3/17/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2009
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I can see a GREAT design in this course but it's NOT there yet. It has a good mixture of LONG and short holes with some GREAT use of elevation and a RAISED basket on a mound. Also has a good mixture of wooded holes and open holes. Every shot you have in your bag could be utilized on this course.
Cons: The shorter, wooded holes had WAY to much luck envolved. Small trees in the middle of narrow, blind fairways is HORRIBLE course design.

There were to many holes in the 350+ foot range with zero obsticles.

The OB on MANY of the open holes only comes into play if you're HUNDREDS of feet off your mark.
Other Thoughts: It's a promising course, and I can see it being a GREAT course but it still needs a bit of work.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.