Bowling Green, KY 
Phil Moore Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #1 (Taken 3/2011)
4 / --   4 / 450ft.   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Long

1    10/12/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 33  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee pads, the 911' hole has a laughably long pad, well maintained
Cons: Signage was confusing. Threw the wrong way twice b/c the sign is on both sides of the pole and the pictures were vague. No arrows pointing to the next tee. Too long.
Other Thoughts: Just because I can throw it over 350 doesn't mean I want to twice on 4 different holes. A creative 400 is much more fun then a demoralizing drive that is still 2 drives away. The OB adds an interesting twist on otherwise long and boring open holes. The half of the holes are wooded are fun and well cleared of brush and such. I actually really like this course. I just played with guys getting owned by the length

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Course

1    4/13/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -MAX D DRIVES!!!!
-tight wooded holes
-did i say max d drives?
-both FH and BH were needed in woods to score well
-elevated basket on 9, some elevation change on both woods and open holes.
Cons: -some of the wooded holes didn't seem very defined for the path to the basket.
-poor drainage caused some VERY wet holes, new creeks and water hazards to spring up
Other Thoughts: I loved this course overall. my 2nd favorite in BG (of the 4 I played) It was an interesting situation to throw a drive as far as I can, and then have to figure out how far to throw the second shot, knowing you still had almost a full driver to go. It was fun to air it out.

The woods holes, while needed to counter the wide open holes, seemed a bit rushed. On a few I felt like it was a "let's just throw and see if anything good happens" not "lets hit that line and it'll be good".

I thought the OB stakes and paths provided a level of risk on the open holes that wouldn't have been there without it.

The elevation change on a few holes added a level of thinking to the shots that wouldn't have been there without it. 360' downhill is way different than 360' uphill or flatland.

I will be hitting Phil Moore again on my next trip to BG. The wind wasn't too bad (maybe 10-15mph?) the day I was there, but the layout of the open holes makes it so you throw at least once into each wind direction (L to R, R to L, Tailwind, Headwind) so you really have to know what discs will do to score well on those holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated Course

2-4    4/10/2008   1/16/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a truly pro caliber course. It is also clearly a young course. I feel that in a few years, surely by the middle of the decade, people will begin to see what H.B. Clark saw in this design when he designed it. There is a nice mix with 9 open holes and 9 wooded holes. Almost every open hole has trees planted that will make the hole an interesting play in the future. The holes aren't too clumped, with holes 7-11 being the worst clump of open holes.

Hole 2 is a great example of a hole with potential: with a row of baby pines and risky OB to the sides you can see where it will challenge big arms one day. The choice of whether or not to lay up well short of them to get a clear second shot, or to attempt to throw over/through them will be very risky.

The wooded holes are pretty solid as well. They are very technical, with only a few luck shots. A couple of the more difficult ones have "big" routes out left for the giant anhyzer. I use big in quotes, though, because they aren't massive routes, but you need to be able to hit a high sweeping anhyzer with a mid or putter to pull it off.

Well designed with a lot of variety and potential for the future.
Cons: As has been mentioned: flood plain. On top of that hole 3 is in a frustrating location. It isn't meant as a water hole, but early in the spring you're going to be dealing with some massive casual water. Hole 3, along with hole 15, is also a luck shot (15 more specifically once you hit the green - you throw a good drive and then pray you finish clean). On top of this - another present-day con is that it is raw. With so many young trees on the open holes, those holes aren't great yet. That's a problem in the now.
Other Thoughts: You have to have patience with a course like this. One day, half a decade down the road, you're going to have to rethink what you know about this course though. I give it a 3.5 despite the fact that right now it plays like a 3.0 or even lower for most lower-division players - no offense to Am2s and 3s, but this course is clearly designed for advanced or better golfers. I don't see that ever changing - Phil Moore Park is clearly for guys that can hit tough lines and have to make decisions that are 450' down the fairway.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/1/2008   4/15/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Yeah, this course was built for Pro's! If you can throw big and play in Gail force winds you should excel at this course. Good use of Ob's on the fairways with no obstacles. The wooded holes that boarder the river have gotten much better than they were last year. There are some really technical holes bordering the river.Will test your mental ability to play in very strong winds.
Cons: The Open holes could use some obstacles. I see there are very young trees planted that might be in 10+ years or more.
VERY WINDY! Guess there is nothing that can be done about that.
Other Thoughts: Played this course last year and the course was partly flooded. I originally gave it a bad review. After playing it a second time in better weather (was dry, but winds reached 40+mph) I have changed my opinion of it. Although it is still somewhat of a novelty course designed for the biggest arms in disc golf. There are a few of the wooded holes that you must rely on technical ability, otherwise it is all about how big you can go! At least now I will recommend this course to people, just not REC and JR players.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.