Bowling Green, KY 
Phil Moore Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #11 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Kinda wanted to heave

2-4    4/26/2015   4/27/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 225  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 3.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technically the second longest course in town (Ephram White has more total distance), the Phil Moore course is known for its three huge bomber holes of 760', 800' and 911', more so than the nine wooded and water hazard holes it could just as well brag about. If you look at the course map, you'll see some open 'shorter' holes, but even these are more in the 370' range, so just a bit too long for the casual to Recreational player to enjoy. So the overall takeaway I have for Phil Moore is this: if you can easily throw open drives in the 400 foot range and can carve a line through woods at around 300 feet, you'll gain stroke after stroke over those with a shorter game, no matter how well they can control their throws. That means this course might appeal to Advanced level players. You are forewarned in tourney play right from the start: the posts beyond the path on hole one must be cleared, or you take a stroke penalty and go to the drop zone. Beginners who can't make the shortest spot at about 250' (off to the right) might just want to try another course.

It has really good concrete tees, including an extended pad for the longest holes. Excellent tee signage and a course map, an occasional bench and trash cans, DGA baskets, and pretty easily spotted posts for most of the OB lines used in tournaments, are all plusses. There's plenty of parking (you can even park way down at the far end of the course if you need to), and ball fields, a playground, and so on, as the course shares space with a cross country trail.

The disc golf play itself requires a wide selection of shots, due to the 'open and woods' variety of holes. It did seem like there were more left to right finishes on the technical holes, so if you're a long, controlled, rhfh player, this might be a plus. Personally, I enjoyed the top of the world shots on 10 and 18, and the use of available elevation. I suspect the creek-side and pond-crossing holes (3-6 & 12 & even 15) might be the most fun during dry seasons. There are many challenges and gut checks out here when it's wet and/or windy!
Cons: The use of artificial OB to constrain the bomber holes has not always held as much appeal as you'd think, and can be frustrating in the frequently windy conditions for which Bowling Green is known. When it's wet, many of the water holes are actually unplayable, as was the case for 5 & 6 for BG Ams this year. I nominate hole 12 as the next candidate: the clay mud running the entire length of the fairway is treacherous when wet, and ankle deep in mud if you try to get to the stream to retrieve your tree-kicked discs. This year, hole three over the 'pond' also had a huge tree (branch?) debris fall obstructing the green, which was not removed for the tournament. It's already a tough hole, with trees to knock you into the buggy looking water, and I thought they might've cleared that out before the big event.

Which leads me to another observation...as the rough greens up in the woods, this course still has a ton of poison ivy and thistly weeds, along with debris piles big enough to give you fits if you don't hit the perfect line. I know there's an interest in keeping things 'natural', but it just gives the impression that Phil Moore doesn't get a lot of solid, casual play (due to its lack of appeal to lower level players?)

There are a few places where you'll walk as much as 400' to get from one basket to the next tee (6 to 7), adding to the immensity of the course. And take the map, because there are places where you'll need some help finding the next tee. Finally, there are actually safety concerns where the hyzer line (rhbh) on hole 13 throws right at the 14th tee pad, and the 18th goes straight over a trail-side bench and (if you go long) directly at the playground.
Other Thoughts: When I first started playing, I committed myself to giving courses multiple looks before considering writing a review, so it's actually been a few years between plays for me here. This time, I'm trying not to let my disappointment in my own play (and the loss of two discs to the water) flavor my review inordinately. But when it is wet, the technical woods holes here are too rough on lower level players like me (900 rating or so), and the open field shots are a little too long and redundant. I like to give ratings as a combination of the disc golf challenge and the fun factor, but tend to give a little more weight to the fun, which I struggled to find here. It pulled my number down to 'average'. Sorry.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Long and Open

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 122  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Really large Tee Pads

2. Chances to Air out a lot of shots

3. There's a couple of slightly elevated spots to tee off from

4. near the interstate

5. Good tee signs

Cons: 1. Not much shot variety

2. Very few obstacles on open holes

3. A lot of loose limbs and rocks and logs in woods to climb thru if you throw your disc off path
Other Thoughts: This is the first course we went to when we played 111 holes in one day and not a bad spot to start out if your course bagging. It gives you a chance to warm up but does have some long holes that will make your round sort of long. This is a pretty boring course overall and it's not all that tricky to navigate but theres a couple of spots where you could get hung up. It took us (2 avg Disc golfers) 2:19 Minutes to play

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long

1    10/12/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee pads, the 911' hole has a laughably long pad, well maintained
Cons: Signage was confusing. Threw the wrong way twice b/c the sign is on both sides of the pole and the pictures were vague. No arrows pointing to the next tee. Too long.
Other Thoughts: Just because I can throw it over 350 doesn't mean I want to twice on 4 different holes. A creative 400 is much more fun then a demoralizing drive that is still 2 drives away. The OB adds an interesting twist on otherwise long and boring open holes. The half of the holes are wooded are fun and well cleared of brush and such. I actually really like this course. I just played with guys getting owned by the length

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/12/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 236  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 11.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phil Moore is a diverse course with about half the holes being long grip it and rip it holes, the other half are shorter and wooded and there are elevation changes on some of the holes. The discatcher baskets are in good shape, there are tee signs and amply long concrete tees. There's a large course map near hole 1 and a practice basket. Water and restrooms are near by in the gym if it's open.

The open and wooded holes are split up so you play a few in the open, then a few in the woods, go back into the open, then back in the woods and finish with a fun downhill shot out into the open.

The open holes are generally long and flat, although two of them tee off from elevated tee pads and hole 9 has a raised basket. There is some OB on the open holes, but it really only comes into play on hole 1. All this really helps to add some variety to the open holes.

The wooded holes are shorter and some are fairly technical. They have more elevation changes in play and the large creek looms near by on most of them as OB and discs are generally unretrievable from it.
Cons: Hole 18 is a little dangerous. It's a downhill hyzer shot with a playground just right of the basket. So a shot that goes too straight could wind up there, in fact I've seen it happen there before. A hole where it is a distinct possibility that discs can land in a playground is major design flaw IMO.

The course is in a flood plain. Water tends to pool on some of the wooded holes and make them muddy. The hill on hole 12 looks treacherous, muddy and like an accident waiting to happen.

The tee signs are adequate, but the diagrams seem less than accurate on the wooded holes.

The open holes are long for the sake of being long and boring. To make matters worse holes 1 and 7 are tweener holes, meaning they're in between par 3 & 4. They're so long only a small percent of people can throw long enough to get a 2 on them, but they're short enough a 3 is very easy.

Hole 15 has so many trees protecting the basket it seems like pure luck as to whether a good drive will get through.

The shot selection here is poor. Two of the wooded holes call for a RHBH anhyzer or RHFH shot.

Navigation is a little confusing in a couple places. After hole 2 you walk right by hole 11's tee to get to hole 3. After hole 6 there's a long walk to hole 7. Hole 17's tee pad can be a little tricky to find. Of course once you've played the course these things aren't a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I want to like the diversity this course presents, the wooded holes are ok but the open holes are boring and there's little shot diversity on this course. There are lots of courses in BG and unless you want to add to your list of courses played, I would suggest playing another course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Course

1    4/13/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 52  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -MAX D DRIVES!!!!
-tight wooded holes
-did i say max d drives?
-both FH and BH were needed in woods to score well
-elevated basket on 9, some elevation change on both woods and open holes.
Cons: -some of the wooded holes didn't seem very defined for the path to the basket.
-poor drainage caused some VERY wet holes, new creeks and water hazards to spring up
Other Thoughts: I loved this course overall. my 2nd favorite in BG (of the 4 I played) It was an interesting situation to throw a drive as far as I can, and then have to figure out how far to throw the second shot, knowing you still had almost a full driver to go. It was fun to air it out.

The woods holes, while needed to counter the wide open holes, seemed a bit rushed. On a few I felt like it was a "let's just throw and see if anything good happens" not "lets hit that line and it'll be good".

I thought the OB stakes and paths provided a level of risk on the open holes that wouldn't have been there without it.

The elevation change on a few holes added a level of thinking to the shots that wouldn't have been there without it. 360' downhill is way different than 360' uphill or flatland.

I will be hitting Phil Moore again on my next trip to BG. The wind wasn't too bad (maybe 10-15mph?) the day I was there, but the layout of the open holes makes it so you throw at least once into each wind direction (L to R, R to L, Tailwind, Headwind) so you really have to know what discs will do to score well on those holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown love

5+    3/15/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: SARRS
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some really valid long distance ripping holes, decent technical wooded holes, and water hazards along Drake's Creek. You are going to have a good time.
Cons: It's a newer course! This course flooded big time a while back and did some damage, but it's bouncing back.
Other Thoughts: Great course during the dryer months.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Phil Moore

1    3/30/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 99  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phil Moore Park hosts a lengthy and challenging par 61 course. There's an acceptable mix of shots on a half open/half wooded layout. A few holes take advantage of some elevation changes and are a welcomed change of pace from the flat open areas. Longer holes define the open part of the course and will definitely satisfy the appetite of big arms. OB areas are scattered around to keep you on your toes. Number nine's elevated basket is a nice touch on an otherwise boring hole. The wooded holes are scenic and have you playing near a river. Hole three requires a toss over water but only shanked or overthrown shots will get wet. Overall the wooded side requires fairly precise shots with some tighter than others. Lots of risky shots and present a reasonably good challenge. Hole eighteen caps off the round with a fun downhill finishing hole.

Nice tee pads, signs, and good baskets are all here. It would appear that the course is maintained fairly well including mowed grass in the fairways and clean fairways in the woods. Overall it's a nice setting for a disc golf course.
Cons: Many long wide open shots can get boring and repetitive, especially to weaker arms or new players. For the bigger arms, wind and artificial OB are the only things that'll make these holes difficult/challenging.

Losing discs along the river/creek could be an issue for errant shots.

Evidently the course can get marshy or even flooded after significant rain.
Other Thoughts: Although this is not one of my favorite courses in Bowling Green it's really not too bad. If you play in the Am Championships this course is a nice addition to keep the course types interesting and different. But to be fair, lots of players I talked to dislike the course.

Overall, it's worth playing to get it on your "courses played" list but if you are in Bowling Green with only enough time to only play a couple I believe there are more enjoyable courses in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Half and Half

2-4    3/31/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 117  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage, marked OB always, Good baskets, Elevated basket and lowered basket interesting addition, tee pads are nice and big, When you are in the woods that is the place to make up ground but you really have to work a disc to get those birds.
Cons: The wide open holes can be monotonous but test your ability to throw long and straight. Flood plains can cause trouble with recent rains never experienced that personally.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course, even though there are three holes 700+ straight and flat, that still test your ability to golf, if you spray your distance shots you can easily add a stroke on those i watched a guy throw 350' straight and had real nice scores on those holes. The wooded holes are amazingly shaped and a lot of fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

5+    1/15/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: entangled
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenic area with great blend of tough shots to weed out the nubes, whiners, and sissys.
Good signs, benches, cans. Come here to drive some awesome long slammers. Rookies beware this place is a disc eater since alot of the holes are along a creek with pro pin risk reward placement early on. Pro Caliber. BG needs to realize what they have.
Cons: Wind is harsh in BG but you have to be able to play in it if your gonna do tourneys ever. Flood plains are a problem check weather before making the trip. Should be okay for most of the season.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play again. The 911 shot will test your chops.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not as Exciting as Expected

1    4/2/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a semi-championship course; distance and marked OB make it a challenge in anything other than calm conditions. The signs were very accurate and the tee pads were always easy to spot from the previous basket. Something that really struck me as an excellent use of a relatively plain plot of land was the use of posts to mark OB. I don't think there were too many holes that didn't have some sort of OB on them. In general the Pars were marked according to the average amount of throws it should take a person to get to the holes plus 2 putts. There was an elevated basket on hole 8, which was a change to the course; it definitely took a different mentality to play it. Some of the holes played along the river, which added some extra difficulty to the shorter holes where you might think you have some easy deuce runs.
Cons: The course was pretty bland, lots of open hole throw with no real shot shaping. I can't think of a single hole that really made me throw something different other than a normal backhand. While there was a lot of OB, which made the course play tighter; at times it really just became boring, repetitive and not really needed. The wooded holes were definitely the deuce holes on the course; unfortunately in some cases they didn't really have a route. Hole 17 in particular had to direction as to what you needed to do what so ever. It was basically a throw and pray type scenario.
Other Thoughts: They tried to do a lot with some pretty lame land, but in the end it really just seemed like a course where all you did was air your arm out. The wooded holes were a nice change of pace, but they were such an extreme difference from the rest of the course I didn't really feel like they belonged. Most of the posts out there were to mark what I am assuming is a cross-country course, so you may find that it is unplayable during certain portions of the year.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.