Disc Golf Store
Browns Valley, CA 
Hammon Grove Park Share
Uploaded By: renotahoedg Hole #7 (Taken 12/2009)
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee - Blind Drive



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 well...

2-4    3/23/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: kwmowery
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: We decided it was a nice day and went looking for a course near me...
It is challenging...bot the course and trying to dodge the poison oak...I managed to get a spot on my arm. Guess I need to work on my accuracy.
Love the elevation changes. That is the best part.
We were the only ones out there for 3 hrs.
They do have a practice hole near parking.
Cons: poison oak. be mindful.
mind your step as well as there can/will be snakes there
Other Thoughts: Overall good course...I have played on 5 diff courses in the past 2 months and have to say this one is competing for one of the top 2 I have played.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9'er

2-4    12/25/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: InnocentCrook
Played: 83  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging compared to most 9 hole courses I've played. The designers used the given topography (steep drop-offs, hills, valleys) and foliage very well to create some interesting shots. Good variety of shots required and a decent amount of length. The course flows pretty well from hole to hole.

The few times I've played here, I was literally the only person on the course. Clean, tidy, and well maintained.
Cons: As others have mentioned, there is a bit of poison oak on the course. In the warmer months you need to be alert for rattlesnakes.

The tee signs are useless, they're all blank! No distance, no layout, no par. Why even install the things if there isn't any info on them? Maybe this info will be added at a later date. If it is updated, I'd have no problem adding a half point to this course.

There are several tee pads that were placed on an angle. (#1 especially.) Also, there is one area where there are a couple baskets that are pretty close to each other. I believe it's the baskets for 4 and 7. The problem is that you can see #4's basket from #7's tee and that appears to be what you should be aiming for, when in reality #7's basket is farther to the left and blind from the tee. If they had decent tee signs I doubt it would be much of an issue.

There's a bit of old rusty metal throughout the course, some of it is in small ditches, some of it is just laying about. I assume it's from whatever this land was used for before it became a park.
Other Thoughts: Overall a pretty well designed and fun 9 hole course despite some flaws. I think my favorite holes would be #5 and 6, definitely the signatures, with an honorable mention for #8. #5 isn't a very long hole, but you really have to hit your line because there is a STEEP drop to the right. If you end up down the hill, you'll have a tough, blind, and well guarded shot towards the basket area. #6 is a cool hole, throwing from an elevated tee box. Hit the gap in the tree line, clear the valley, and make sure you end up far enough up the hill for a decent putt at the basket.

Fairly rugged course, no benches, no trash cans. Pack out your trash! Definitely not a con, just the way it is.

If you're in the area, Hanging Oaks (Penn Valley), and Condon Park (Grass Valley) are both very nice courses worth a visit.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    5/27/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: yscombat
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great early spring and winter course
Best 9 hole course you'll ever play when conditions right
Elevation changes, and layout make it very challenging
Flows pretty easily after you've played it
Not very many people on the course ever, no waiting
Cons: Poison oak, tall grass, rattlesnakes in the late spring and summer
Signs could use some work
Needs to be mowed and groomed in the late spring and Summer
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best 9 hole courses you'll ever play. It's a county park. Too bad they don't put more time into grooming this course so more people could come out and play in the late spring and Summer. Poison oak is so bad on hole #1 right now you might as well skip it. Definantly could have 2-3 more holes in some of the open space. Heard a rumor that the county bought the RV park west of the park and will have more holes in the near future

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Finish for the Hwy 20 Trifecta

1    12/14/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: renotahoedg
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging topography
Concrete tee pads
Some signage
Quiet, had the course to myself
Close to Penn Valley and Grass Valley, so you can play all three in one day.
Shorter and more technical, as opposed to open and long, which suits my wimpy arm.
Cons: Signage could use some improvement.
Only one basket placement per hole.
It is a great 9-holer, but one can always hope for 18
Other Thoughts: This is the best 9 hole course that I've played. I had a great time and loved the use of elevation and available obstacles.

I don't think they'll ever get 18 in the available land, so it will struggle for players due to the proximity of Penn Valley and Grass Valley. But, that's ok. I enjoyed having it to myself.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Winter Course

2-4    2/15/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: Decoski
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Close to my home (Yuba City).
*Varied and interesting elevation changes.
*Close to the Yuba River access (fly fishing).
*Great for winter (poison oak and rattlesnakes absent).
*Fun to play with a variety of creative shots.
*For the most part, course is well laid out. We didn't have any problem finding out where to go on each hole.
Cons: Just getting my taste for it and then it is over! Hopefully, this can be expanded to an 18 hole course with two big dogleg holes (a right and a left turn) and at least two more long shots and I will give the course at least a 4 rating. The current course has mostly straight shots and only one long shot. Baskets for holes 4 and 7 are too close together, but that is nitpicking. I will take the previous poster's advice seriously and will avoid the summer hazards of poison oak and rattlesnakes by making this my winter course. I think with more use, and groundskeeping, the poison oak problem can be mostly eradicated.
Other Thoughts: Great place to take your kids in the winter. My five year old son had a blast and keeps asking me to go back again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long pants please

1    10/26/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: J.Koeberlein
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best 9 hole course we've played. Short but very narrow paths to throw. If you hit them you're golden but if your just a little off left or right you could be in a 20ft deep pit or 'disk eating' bush.
Cons: The signs at the pads don't have distances or pin locations. Sometimes the next hole is hard to find. (We got lost after 6) On top of the poison oak and rattle snakes watch out for the star thistle. Long pants a definite must and bring mosquito spray or wipes.
Other Thoughts: We talked to the ground keeper and he said that they were going clear the paths a bit better and finish the signs. Nice views nice course the Turkey Vultures fly so low you can hear the wind in their feathers!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Poison Oak Alley

5+    7/2/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: nick95901
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A little challenging but not too bad. Each tee had a sign to let you know where about the holes were. Just not the distance of them. Close to the Yuba River.
Cons: A lot of poison oak so watch out. It is RATTLESNAKE COUNTRY. Seen one while playing. So be carefull and watch your step.
Other Thoughts: Not too bad of a course. Might be a good one to play during the winter months.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.