Alpena, MI 
Eagle Country DGC Share
Uploaded By: deBebbler Hole #5 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very Pleasantly Surprised

1    5/8/2014   5/8/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays around a school and through an athletic field over a creek and through some woods. Being this close to a school and the apartments, I'm sure errant throws and people walking through will occur.

Teepads-- good and bad here. the front 9 is concrete where the back 9 is dirt. the back 9 are seriously rutted out in most places.

Teesigns-- again good and bad here. the teesigns on the front 9 are extremely nice. distances, par, hole # great!!. back 9, not so much, marked by dueling posts (in most places) the locals MAY have sharpied the info on the poles, and they may not have.

Variety/Challenge-- there is a ton of variety here. very short, longer, lefts, rights, water, meadow shots... seriously a LOT of dg in a very small course.

Risk v Reward-- the creek provides a beautiful backdrop to a lot of the holes here.and provides some risk when throwing over it!

Baskets-- nice. all here and in good shape. BRIGHT orange bands help with visibility.

Blind shots-- nice, in comparison to lumberjack, the baskets are more hidden for sure here.
Cons:
Back 9-- very short holes(in most cases) and shared baskets (and fairways) with the front 9 could cause a lot of confusion/congestion/crossfire issues.

Uncontrollables-- wet and bugs. I'm sure as the summer progresses, they get worse.
Other Thoughts:
It's odd, but I really almost liked this course more than lumberjack. one of two really good 9-hole courses I played this day.

whats to hate here?

5+    9/2/2012   8/21/2013
Review By: Duff-Dyed
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5
Pros: great open shots and good use of dog legs both left and right. long bombs and short holes mixed nicely. even having to shoot the course backwards, it was still a good redirect from the original hole. i loved playing here when i lived up there.
Cons: could use a bit of signage directing you to the next holes. at times i could use a mow but nothing to bad.

 Great Play!

5+    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: Todd Wiley
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'll start off by mentioning that I host regular events on this course including league and tourneys.

~ Concrete Teepads on the front 9 are large and Hole Signage is pretty great! (except for the vandalism)

~ Well defined fairways make navigating easy on the front 9

~ Interesting mix of holes will have you throwing different shots

~ Great Baskets, Plenty of Benches and Trash Cans, Shade!

~Hole 1 starts at the parking lot and whether you play 9 or 18, you will finish at the parking lot

~ Minor elevation changes are used well on this course

~ Definately a course to take your family to (stroller friendly)
Cons: ~ Back Nine Holes use same baskets at front nine, but alternate natural teepads marked by posts in the ground - vandalism has occured and some posts were removed from holes completely

~ Back Nine can be confusing to follow for a first time visitor, pathways exist, but no directional signage or course map on location, so find a local guide (Me)

~ Back Nine fairways can cross Front Nine fairways, so please be watchful for other disc golfers

~ The course sits really close to a residential area (apartment complexes) which is off to the right side of holes 1, 2, and 3.... a very errant throw to the right could end up in some interesting spots.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fantastic play. Shorter distances but technical shots are required to make some birdies.

The water hazard holes have a seasonal water runoff that runs through the property. Spring Thaw can get the water pretty high and fast moving, but is pretty dried up during the summer months (June through August).

I work on maintaining this course through the local disc golf club and there are plans to put in pavers for teepads and new signage for the Back Nine Holes. I will continue to update my review as necessary.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quality, surrounded.

1    11/20/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tees
-Oh man, the signage. Aside from hole 6, which was broken (I repaired it to some small extent) the signs were everything you could ask for. Visible, descriptive, and containing maps, distance, and sponsorship. Some of the best I've seen.
-A nice mix of shots. A few open distance shots in the field. Small windows to shoot through, hyzers into the woods. S-lines across well shaped fairways.
-Good flow. It was always clear where to go.
-Seemed well maintained.
Cons: -Crowded. Not on the course, but around it. The first few holes you're shooting alongside what appeared to be an apartment complex, definitely in danger of being hit with a bad shank. There was a wooden barrier on the first hole, but wild shots could certainly hit a parked car, a building, or a resident. The danger gets slightly better later on, but with all the residences, and the ACES Academy nearby, you never feel secluded and should certainly keep an eye out.
-No really tight fairways, some nice tight windows on a couple holes, but if you're looking for a narrow line to surgically weave your discs through, you're at the wrong park.
-Some trash. With all the residences and the school nearby, this'll probably remain an issue.
-No indication of reputed "Back 9"
Other Thoughts: This is a really good 9 hole course. I found it odd that in northeastern Michigan, with all this undeveloped land, that the best course is right within the town limits of Michigan's Advenshore, Alpena. Nonetheless, it was quite an enjoyable play, and I would have made it back for another round had life not intervened. I was sad to read that there was supposed to be a "Back 9" setup, as I did not notice in time to play it, but could certainly see how the layout could be give me another good game in a different configuration. Hopefully their sponsors can erect a course information sign that would make you aware, even if they can't fund another 9 concrete tees with signs. Speaking of sponsors, I enjoyed seeing the local businesses helping to fund the tees and signs. It warmed my heart to see a community come together to enrich themselves, and the general public. I would certainly patronize those businesses should I have opportunity to do business is Alpena again. This course is a nice counterbalance to the sprawling roughness of Lumberjack Meadows, and is a credit to the town.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 hole course I've played

1    6/18/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful signage on the front 9, including distance, hole diagram, and local course sponsor.

Bugs were not an issue.

Excellent concrete tees.

Water hazzards on 1/3 of the course.

Nice rolling landscape which is both accessible and challenging at the same time.

Well manicured fairways which were very tight, and excellent basket positioning.

A very friendly flow to the course, with benches and trash bins aplenty. Incidental amenities like colorful birdhouses in the forested areas add to the pleasant character of the course.
Cons: "Back 9" tee signage nothing more than posts, with only a hole number, and lack meaningful next tee signage.

Back 9 tees natural, not concrete.

All holes but one favor a RHBH thrower.

Since it is only 9 holes, it would have been nice to have more than just the one hole > 400 ft.
Other Thoughts: This course was a welcome surprise, and a refreshing change after playing Lumberjack Meadows, which is *very rough* around the edges. These two courses' strengths complement each other well.

This course has wonderful individual holes. The flow, however, would be improved if there was a better balance between left/straight/right turns. This RHBH bias was somewhat compensated for by the 3 legitimate water holes. Hole 6 was my favorite design. A beautiful looking hole with great water and an unforgiving rough.

I wanted to play the back 9, or even the front 9 again, but we ran out of time. I was especially interested in the back 9 as it is not just as simple as playing the same holes again from AM tees. Hole 10 throws at basket 2, not basket 1, so not only do you conveniently end with 18 throwing at basket 1 but you are often coming at the baskets from completely different directions. So while the back 9 tees are shorter in general, it doesn't seem so much like the same holes a second time. This is something of a double edged sword, as back 9 players can criss cross front 9 rounds. Paying attention is a must.

From a design and aesthetic feel, this is the best 9 hole course I've ever played. There isn't much around Alpena, so coming here to play disc golf is a bit of a chore, but two great courses not even 2 miles apart is a compelling reason to make the trip.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/2/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Adam_Valk
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice Teepads, Good Signs, and Tough holes for the layout of the course.
Cons: - Only 9 holes with the back nine using same baskets just different tee boxes.
- Back nine hard to follow.
- No Restrooms
Other Thoughts: Course would be better if a back nine was put in. They have enough room to do so I believe.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

7/12/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 81  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice wooded course, front 9 has great tee pads and signs
Cons: Some holes a little rough around the edges, back 9 re-use same baskets with natural tees most seem like a set of AM tees
Other Thoughts: Pretty cool to see local businesses sponsor individual holes, if back 9 played like front 9 this would be an excellent course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.