Fort Worth, TX 
Greenbriar Community Center Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #8 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 256ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Throw straight down around the trees and over the creek and the basket is located slightly to the right



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Adding to list of played courses

1    8/2/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Well maintained mostly. Good baskets, Some elevation. Some use of water and mostly dry creek bed. Not very busy (except around pond).
Cons: No tee signs. No direction arrows. A little tough to figure out which tee pad goes with which basket. Lots of non Disc golf traffic around pond.
Other Thoughts: This is an average course that is good to add to your course count. Nothing spectacular. Two holes (13 and 14) run inside the creek bed. It is probably mostly dry so it works but 13 was being replaced or wasn't there when I played. Water can come into play on 15 and 18 depending on pin position.
There seem to always be people fishing around the pond which can cause some problems on 15 and 18.
I would say if you are in the area, play the course to add to your course count. Bring a new friend to play all but the water. But I would not go out of my way to play this course. Obviously, the fishing is good, so bring a pole and fish after you play a round.

Greenbriar

1    8/27/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: multiple pin positions
good baskets
uses elevation well
uses existing trees and creek well
map available at first tee
fairly decently manicured park
Cons: short tees
lacking in signage
navigation/layout is tricky
I went in the summer when it was dry, but I could potentially see how creek crossings could be hairy with recent precipitation

This doesn't have anything to do with the course itself, but when I was there I had someone from the neighboring community center inform me that I couldn't have my dog running around off the leash (in all fairness, this is posted on a sign at the parking lot) at the risk of being cited.
Other Thoughts: This really could be a great course with a little love. Some signage and longer teepads would make a world of difference. Definitely take a picture of the map with your phone or something if you play here by yourself the first time. Or bring someone who knows the layout. I got lost the first time I played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

not so bad

1    12/16/2012   2/17/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -some good elevation
-creek and pond come into play on half the holes
-concrete pads (2 on most holes but they're a little small)
-nice discatchers
-convenient parking
-clean and maintained
Cons: -few trees, little shade, many open holes
-no signs, navigation can be tricky
-frequently crossing the creek but there are no bridges
-always people around the lake, use caution
-holes 13 & 14 are pretty overgrown
-fences around park border federal property. call the number on the signs to get discs over the fence. they actually come over pretty quickly.
Other Thoughts: This city park course has a pretty decent flow and uses the terrain well (elevation and water hazards). The baskets and tees are nice but the lack of signs makes it tricky for the first timer. The park is usually clean, mowed, and well-maintained.

There are many looks at a duece out here but there is also plenty that can go wrong. There are many challenging pin positions; many are located near the water or on hillsides.

Seems to get little traffic and for good reason: there are such better courses nearby here. That said, it is always great to have another course and this is a decent place to bring beginners, apart from the pond.

I wouldn't be disappointed if this were the closest course to my house. The course is definitely worth playing to see what it is like but most of the time I'd rather go to Zboaz, Saddle Hills, or Gateway if I'm looking for 18 holes in Ft. Worth.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Greenbriar Rundown!!!

5+    1/1/2010   1/8/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -All holes have concrete pads...most have a set of them
-Makes decent use of hill side, creek, pond, and the few trees
-"island simulated" hole is a pretty good idea
-Nice park in general
-Quiet and quick round being not many play there.
-"battle of the birdies" course on a good day

Cons: -No shade when it's hot out.
-Trees are pretty spotty
-All Year round...look out for poison ivy near the creek. Lots of it!!!
-Pretty squishy after a rain.
-Un-navigatable if you don't have a map.
-Park-goers to come in to play with the fishing and trail.
Other Thoughts: Over all, it's a decent course. Used to be only 9 holes, but they made decent use of a long hillside and creek. There aren't a lot of trees, again, but if you're lookin' for a decent wind practice course, this is it.

I play it a lot, especially when you need a break from Z Boaz. Makes for a good round.

Go play it. Some like it, some don't. I do. Not the most challenging, but worth a 20 min drive or so.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Change of Pace

5+    12/13/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 85  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to HWY
Never Crowded
Easy Birds
Lots of Ace Runs
Pro/Am Boxes
Cons: Small Tee Boxes
Some Poorly Designed Holes
Wierdos Fishing on Hole 18
Walking Path is in Play
Other Thoughts: It's a good place to play if your tired of everywhere else. Seems to always be windy. Not a lot of trees to block wind.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 pretty bland.

2-4    5/15/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a lot of pros really.The creek holes are about the only redeeming quality of this course.But they feel thrown together.

Number 9 is an "island" green which is unique.

The baskets are in good shape and for the most part the tees are good albeit short.
Cons: Thrown together feel to the layout.Since the 18 went in the layout is very hard to figure out.

Very likely to loose a disc at this course.There is heavy vegetation in the creek bed and private GOV property on the back nine.

This is a heavily used park that becomes an issue on 1,16,17and 18.

Ridiculous carry over water on 18!

Poison plants abound in the creek areas.
Other Thoughts: Can't really recommend this course.And unlike gateway there really isn't much potential for a great course here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 long open course

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to get to location off of 35. Nice new baskets. Cement teepads on nearly all holes. Nice new signs added that can dramatically help with navigation issues. Mowed throughout so it is easy to locate discs.
Cons: The design of the course doesn't flow very well, not quite sure how to explain it. Not a whole lot of trees on this course therefore there are quite a few long open holes. Don't come here expecting great scenery.
Other Thoughts: This could be a somewhat beginner friendly course. Most holes are open, just let them fly. The design maximizes the use of the terrain available, but unfortunately it lacks the heavily wooded holes that I enjoy. The course itself is in great condition which is always a plus. Unless a bunch of trees are added, I think the challenge will remain a little on the low side.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

1    3/7/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1.Not too many trees with a very spread out type of playing field.
2.Very likeable seenary with a pond.
3.Nice easy play conidtion for beginner players. There is also a driving range.
Cons: 1.The holes are not marked very well.
2.In windy conditions this course can be very hictic.
Other Thoughts: I would play again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 in the ghetto...

1    1/20/2009   1/26/2009
Review By: the seeker
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well this is an 18 hole course and its on a pretty decent piece of land, and kept in great shape. a good mix of shots and great use of elevation. good baskets. the tee boxes that are in do just fine. once the lay of the course is figured out(sheesh) it plays well. good use of creek, from which disc retrieval is easy. the pond is a different story.
Cons: since it used to be a 9 hole they abandoned some of the tee boxes misleading u a little bit. the wind just screams through here-you cant get a break. not all tees are concreted in. the flow is pretty bizarre, but makes a little more sense after you play it i guess. a couple of the holes are just downright dumb/stupid. getting over the fence is like breaking out of the fed (it is govt property-hence all the cops). you have no idea how frustrating it is to see your badest disc on the ground just feet away but it might as well be abu dhabi. the pond has all sorts of fishermen, tho i seriously doubt theyve ever caught anything. they were doing some construction so theres absolutely no where to park off hole one.oh and did i mention its totally in the ghetto?
Other Thoughts: i thought this course had some really good holes and id play again but i probably wont go too much out of my way. and i dont mind too much where i play,tho, as long as i beat my previous round there! I see good potential with a litlle more vision- we'll see what happens im not sure theyre 100% committed to the set-up- but i really do appreciate the work that was put in by the community center!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 nice and room to improve

6/12/2008   6/12/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice open course for the most part (except 4 and 5), its a good 9 hole course, 6 over the pond and 9 over the pond makes for a good challenge, it plays quickly and follows a path well, all tees are marked with number and suggested flight patern. multiple tees make it easy to make into an 18 hole course. but its nice to play a quick 9 (we played short 9 in under 40 mins today), course really didnt need a map as all shots are visible (except 4)
Cons: its only 9 holes (but ive heard that they are considering 18, and would be easy to do with amount of space left in park) hole 4 is hard to see where your disc lands inless you want to lay up and take a par or bogey) easily reachable in 1 as i have layed it up twice within 5 feet now (but ended up taking me awhile to find the disc as i had not idea where they were when it went into the woods, hole 8 is rough because a fence comes into play and is very hard to retreive disc if it goes out as its a govt area with 6 foot high fence and 2 foot of barbwire on top. hole 4 is a straight drop, so it makes it hard to walk down make sure you have good shoes on
Other Thoughts: great for a quick 9, becareful on 8 as you may loose a disc that is visible, yea thats the worse when you can see your disc and cant do anything about it

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.