Fort Worth, TX 
Greenbriar Community Center Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #8 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 256ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Fun small park course

1    8/1/2015   8/1/2015
Review By: Piker
Played: 66  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: The course has multiple tee pads, but they are small. Thought overall it was pretty easy to get around only playing it the one time. The basket positions were superb. Nearly every hole had some sort of challenge (basket on the side of the hill, near the creek, guardian trees)
Cons: Small tee boxes, no signage at the tees. It was easy enough to navigate (got confused once but was easy to figure out just looking.)
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed the course. Playing with a friend that was new to the game, he was able to enjoy it, and there was enough challenge there to keep me entertained as well. I was really surprised that on a Saturday morning around 9:00am we were the only ones out there, besides a few people fishing.

1    6/14/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: jlh900
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this has a good mix of short approach shots long bombs elevation changes and water that runs along most of the course. this is a good beginner course it is mostly open with little chances of loosing discs
Cons: two unplayable holes due to grass and plants growing up chest/head tall and one basket completely taken out. makes the flow of baskets pretty upsetting there

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/22/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 67  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *usually always well maintained
*very empty course, Ive played multiple time and usually see no more then 3 or 4 players on it
*concrete tees
*easy lay out to get around
*good parking area
*long walk=good exercise
*this is a course i take new players to so they get a feel of the game without too many obstacles, and allow them to take time to play
*baskets in good shape
*considering land area, they have put together a decent 18 hole course
*alot of open holes to let disc "fly"
Cons: *repition, variety does come until final few holes
*community center, so kids/families may be on holes 1, 15,18 (always seems to be somebody fishing by basket 18)
*can become challenging on windy days (really no wind block)
*fence along 16/17, there is a number to call to get disc back, but be prepared to wait on security guard
*almost never get to play 18th hole, as there is always someone around basket
Other Thoughts: great first course for new players
*does have a little creek that comes into play on several holes, but not deep enough to loose disc
---i saw on previous post that IOM, put it in, since its the course closes to home, would like to know how to get in contact maybe donate

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    9/20/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an OK course at best, and there are alot of things that make it that way. The baskets are discatchers which are my favorite so thats a big bonus, thats about it. The concrete tees are nice except for the fact that they are very short. Very well kept course and very clean for the most part. There are a couple of very neat holes that make the game interesting and change it up a little. The elevation is a change and it used to the max! This course is very righty/lefty friendly due to it being pretty open and is beginner friendly for the most part as well. The pin placement makes you think on just about every hole, as there is some sort of OB/hazard nearby.
Cons: The tee signs or lack there of are a big hit! This makes navigation a kick in the shorts unless you have a map that is provided on here. There are a couple of "gimicky" holes out here that make it a little meh to me. For those that like not thinking about shots will not like it because almost every hole out there has OB within 30-40 of the pin. Some of that OB looks like it can be bad if the water is up or after a big rain. Crossing the creek over and over, not only for the hole but, to go to the next tee/hole gets very redundant and boring. That navigation looks like it could be nasty after a rain, as it was a little today and it hasnt rained in awhile. The water behind 18 is NASTY!
Other Thoughts: Not bad if you are in the area but there are way better courses nearby that are way more worthy of a visit. Not a bad course and I have seen well worse. I was hoping for a little more but was disappointed just a bit. Will probably hit this up again when Im in the area and have time to kill. The effort of the city to do this park is awesome, just would like a little more.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/17/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: tland447
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -challenging
-many chances for aces
-away from playground
-driving range
Cons: -tees are too short
-the federal center is a danger
-can loose your disc in the water
-hole 18 is very close to parked cars
Other Thoughts: I like most of the course but it is very difficult.
Hole number 17 is very hard to keep out of the federal center.(I usually skip it). There is also a driving range around the corner at the park.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/16/2009   9/24/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -nice big park
-some big open holes
-nice rolling hills
-just enough trees to make it a challenge
-lots of birdie/ace opps
Cons: -very windy when i was there
-grass is kind of sparse, had lots of weird skips
-summer in texas is too hot for ohioans
Other Thoughts: this is a fun course i had the chance to play while i was stopped in the area. had alot of fun even though it was about 110 with 40 mph winds that felt even hotter

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful park!

5+    5/2/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: domingomadagascar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful park with an 18 hole course that is done very well considering the amount of space that is av. Makes for a nice solid round on calm days and becomes very difficult when the wind is blowing, which is most of the time. Nice cages that are now all there and even a practice basket. It looks like Ft. Worth is making an effort to rebuild this park and they should, because it is beautiful! I've never left here thinking "What an awesome course", but I have a good time everytime out and feel challenged everytime I throw over the pond.
Cons: It is always windy here and the win usually blows toawaards the OBs and water sources, so before. If you take it lightly you will lose a disk or two. Two of the throws are actually over the large pond, which is challenging and fun, but also results in lost disks. They keep the grass pretty long, so I would not recommend it for our handicapped players or anyone who is physically challenged. A couple of the wholes requite climbing down stone steps. Watch out for other patrons of the park. Remember that it is a community park and is used for many different reasons.
Other Thoughts: Great course for a quick round in a beautiful park. Not the most challenging, but a couple of holes will challenge every level of player. Most importantly, I always have fun here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Raw

2-4    7/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 91  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Challenging from long tees
- Good shot variety for open course
- Island OB hole ( no water) #9
- Shots over water #14, #18
Cons: - No distances
- Many pin locations are 30 feet from nasty rough
- Poision Ivy on 12, 13
- Barbed Wire Fences on 16, 17
Other Thoughts: - Usually very windy
- Layout is unmarked but not too tricky
- Course is still raw and needs to have some rough cleared out

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    6/26/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: DWood32006
Played: 55  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The creek shots are challenging, baskets are nice and concret tees. There are champ tees on most.
The island hole is pretty cool
Cons: Pretty open and not much shade, bad summer course.
A few real places to lose disc.
Most holes are prettty boring
Other Thoughts: Not the best course but worth it if your in the area. I thought the layout was pretty self explanitory.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First Impression

1    5/3/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: DFWDiscGolfTrader
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has a very long straight eternal fairway if that makes sense. The extension to 18 from original nine makes for some close tight play between holes. Lots of creekside play that will eat your disc. 13th hole is a challenge with a dog leg left approach from tee. Worth a try at least once if you are in the area.
Cons: Not mowed and after a heavy rain will be soggy and not very fun without good shoes. I would almost avoid it after a rain. More and longer Concrete tees would be nice all the way around.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.