Fort Worth, TX
Greenbriar Community Center Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #17 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 531ft.   3 / 630ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Greenbriar

1    8/27/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: multiple pin positions
good baskets
uses elevation well
uses existing trees and creek well
map available at first tee
fairly decently manicured park
Cons: short tees
lacking in signage
navigation/layout is tricky
I went in the summer when it was dry, but I could potentially see how creek crossings could be hairy with recent precipitation

This doesn't have anything to do with the course itself, but when I was there I had someone from the neighboring community center inform me that I couldn't have my dog running around off the leash (in all fairness, this is posted on a sign at the parking lot) at the risk of being cited.
Other Thoughts: This really could be a great course with a little love. Some signage and longer teepads would make a world of difference. Definitely take a picture of the map with your phone or something if you play here by yourself the first time. Or bring someone who knows the layout. I got lost the first time I played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

not so bad

1    12/16/2012   2/17/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -some good elevation
-creek and pond come into play on half the holes
-concrete pads (2 on most holes but they're a little small)
-nice discatchers
-convenient parking
-clean and maintained
Cons: -few trees, little shade, many open holes
-no signs, navigation can be tricky
-frequently crossing the creek but there are no bridges
-always people around the lake, use caution
-holes 13 & 14 are pretty overgrown
-fences around park border federal property. call the number on the signs to get discs over the fence. they actually come over pretty quickly.
Other Thoughts: This city park course has a pretty decent flow and uses the terrain well (elevation and water hazards). The baskets and tees are nice but the lack of signs makes it tricky for the first timer. The park is usually clean, mowed, and well-maintained.

There are many looks at a duece out here but there is also plenty that can go wrong. There are many challenging pin positions; many are located near the water or on hillsides.

Seems to get little traffic and for good reason: there are such better courses nearby here. That said, it is always great to have another course and this is a decent place to bring beginners, apart from the pond.

I wouldn't be disappointed if this were the closest course to my house. The course is definitely worth playing to see what it is like but most of the time I'd rather go to Zboaz, Saddle Hills, or Gateway if I'm looking for 18 holes in Ft. Worth.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Nice

1    8/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 38  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good use of trees. Uses elevation well, and puts the creek and lake into play. Several holes where your tee drive has to go through and under trees (5 being a good example). 13 and 14 are very unique and in interesting places around the creek. A number of the baskets are elevated, making them a bit more unique.
Cons: The layout can be very difficult to navigate, you absolutely need to bring a map with you. There is no signage outside of 1 and the course sign (I cannot understand why they go to the trouble to make a nice course with nice tee pads and don't throw in the extra few $ to put in signs). The western edge of the property borders some part of town that's not the best. I was half-way scared that someone was living under the bridge that's near hole 8. There isn't a whole lot of shade during the summer, so be prepared.
Other Thoughts: There are some fences you can throw over. Some of them border FWPD property, but others (around holes 14 -17) border a FEMA depot, which is federal property. This should be common sense, but going onto the fed property is big time bad news. They've got a phone # posted on the fence to call, please just do that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Playable

5+    4/22/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 44  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *usually always well maintained
*very empty course, Ive played multiple time and usually see no more then 3 or 4 players on it
*concrete tees
*easy lay out to get around
*good parking area
*long walk=good exercise
*this is a course i take new players to so they get a feel of the game without too many obstacles, and allow them to take time to play
*baskets in good shape
*considering land area, they have put together a decent 18 hole course
*alot of open holes to let disc "fly"
Cons: *repition, variety does come until final few holes
*community center, so kids/families may be on holes 1, 15,18 (always seems to be somebody fishing by basket 18)
*can become challenging on windy days (really no wind block)
*fence along 16/17, there is a number to call to get disc back, but be prepared to wait on security guard
*almost never get to play 18th hole, as there is always someone around basket
Other Thoughts: great first course for new players
*does have a little creek that comes into play on several holes, but not deep enough to loose disc
---i saw on previous post that IOM, put it in, since its the course closes to home, would like to know how to get in contact maybe donate

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 This ain't no country club.

5+    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: cosmic womb
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Another course to play, baskets to throw at. I have a hard time complaining about something that is free and without the hard work of an individual to make the best and turn nothing into something, wouldn't exist.
Cons: People complaining without knowledge of how a course was put in or who worked hard to see more baskets go in the ground even though the land available was ok at best. This isn't a country club.
Other Thoughts: When things like the lack of trees is brought up, don't be stupid, want more trees go buy some and plant them yourself or shut up. Fort Worth didn't do squat IOM did it.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    9/20/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an OK course at best, and there are alot of things that make it that way. The baskets are discatchers which are my favorite so thats a big bonus, thats about it. The concrete tees are nice except for the fact that they are very short. Very well kept course and very clean for the most part. There are a couple of very neat holes that make the game interesting and change it up a little. The elevation is a change and it used to the max! This course is very righty/lefty friendly due to it being pretty open and is beginner friendly for the most part as well. The pin placement makes you think on just about every hole, as there is some sort of OB/hazard nearby.
Cons: The tee signs or lack there of are a big hit! This makes navigation a kick in the shorts unless you have a map that is provided on here. There are a couple of "gimicky" holes out here that make it a little meh to me. For those that like not thinking about shots will not like it because almost every hole out there has OB within 30-40 of the pin. Some of that OB looks like it can be bad if the water is up or after a big rain. Crossing the creek over and over, not only for the hole but, to go to the next tee/hole gets very redundant and boring. That navigation looks like it could be nasty after a rain, as it was a little today and it hasnt rained in awhile. The water behind 18 is NASTY!
Other Thoughts: Not bad if you are in the area but there are way better courses nearby that are way more worthy of a visit. Not a bad course and I have seen well worse. I was hoping for a little more but was disappointed just a bit. Will probably hit this up again when Im in the area and have time to kill. The effort of the city to do this park is awesome, just would like a little more.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hard

2-4    3/17/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: tland447
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -challenging
-many chances for aces
-away from playground
-driving range
Cons: -tees are too short
-the federal center is a danger
-can loose your disc in the water
-hole 18 is very close to parked cars
Other Thoughts: I like most of the course but it is very difficult.
Hole number 17 is very hard to keep out of the federal center.(I usually skip it). There is also a driving range around the corner at the park.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2009   9/24/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -nice big park
-some big open holes
-nice rolling hills
-just enough trees to make it a challenge
-lots of birdie/ace opps
Cons: -very windy when i was there
-grass is kind of sparse, had lots of weird skips
-summer in texas is too hot for ohioans
Other Thoughts: this is a fun course i had the chance to play while i was stopped in the area. had alot of fun even though it was about 110 with 40 mph winds that felt even hotter

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Some very difficult pin positions (#13)
-Water comes into play on a few holes
-Great ace opportunities
-Some great chances to air out some bombs
-Great locals.
-Hole 9 - Island green!
Cons: -In a park that seems to be very busy with non disc golfers on the weekends
-Lots of poison ivy on 13-14 path
-Water is deeeeeeep
Other Thoughts: Really well planned course. The natural terrain comes in to play quite often. Creek comes into play on quite a few holes. Bring some long pants if you are allergic to poison ivy and are not accurate with your drives. Print out the map on here if you are going to help guide your way. Some boxes kinda hide from ya.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  I DIDNT LIKE THI COURSE

1    5/21/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: ilovedg10
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: nice course nice locations
Cons: good signs on first two holes then no signs unless u look for em and there hard to find and it took longer to look for them then it did to play
Other Thoughts: fix em and ill be back ortherwise i wont

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.