Fort Worth, TX 
Greenbriar Community Center Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #3 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 324ft.   3 / 371ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  I DIDNT LIKE THI COURSE

1    5/21/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: ilovedg10
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: nice course nice locations
Cons: good signs on first two holes then no signs unless u look for em and there hard to find and it took longer to look for them then it did to play
Other Thoughts: fix em and ill be back ortherwise i wont

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful park!

5+    5/2/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: domingomadagascar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful park with an 18 hole course that is done very well considering the amount of space that is av. Makes for a nice solid round on calm days and becomes very difficult when the wind is blowing, which is most of the time. Nice cages that are now all there and even a practice basket. It looks like Ft. Worth is making an effort to rebuild this park and they should, because it is beautiful! I've never left here thinking "What an awesome course", but I have a good time everytime out and feel challenged everytime I throw over the pond.
Cons: It is always windy here and the win usually blows toawaards the OBs and water sources, so before. If you take it lightly you will lose a disk or two. Two of the throws are actually over the large pond, which is challenging and fun, but also results in lost disks. They keep the grass pretty long, so I would not recommend it for our handicapped players or anyone who is physically challenged. A couple of the wholes requite climbing down stone steps. Watch out for other patrons of the park. Remember that it is a community park and is used for many different reasons.
Other Thoughts: Great course for a quick round in a beautiful park. Not the most challenging, but a couple of holes will challenge every level of player. Most importantly, I always have fun here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't be so hard on this place

5+    3/11/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is the spot if you need to get a quick fix. There is hardly ever any one out here. This makes this one of my more frequented spots.

I know it is not that challenging to some because there are no trees, but go try to play it in the WIND!!!!!! It's set up like a links course, like in regular Golf. There are no trees but you battle winds, but there are a few holes, mainly on the back, that bring trees and a bit of elevation into play.

I feel that Ft Worth will keep improving this place, and it will become a more popular disc site.

BTW, played yesterday glad to see the baskets on 2 and 4 back!!!!!! Although too bad about the gripey fisherman, I liked 18 over the water!!!!!
Cons: *Not alot of trees

*Can get monotinous (I reccomend swithching tee boxes on different holes, you know, to mix it up)

*Holds water after BIG rains

*Can gobble up discs with water and OB

*No maps and signs incomplete (this isn't a big deal to me, seeing as how I play here 2 or 3 times a week. I do, however, see how it could be tough for a newbie to navigate around)
Other Thoughts: All in all, I enjoy playing here. Like I said you can go 45 minutes before dusk and finish, well as long as you don't play a 5 or 6 some!!!

Also seems to have good locals, I guess I am one of 'em, I had lost a disc a few weeks back and the other day got a call from the guy who found it. Thanks for getting my Starfire back to me!!! I always return to places where there are good people!!!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Greenbriar Rundown!!!

5+    1/1/2010   1/8/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -All holes have concrete pads...most have a set of them
-Makes decent use of hill side, creek, pond, and the few trees
-"island simulated" hole is a pretty good idea
-Nice park in general
-Quiet and quick round being not many play there.
-"battle of the birdies" course on a good day

Cons: -No shade when it's hot out.
-Trees are pretty spotty
-All Year round...look out for poison ivy near the creek. Lots of it!!!
-Pretty squishy after a rain.
-Un-navigatable if you don't have a map.
-Park-goers to come in to play with the fishing and trail.
Other Thoughts: Over all, it's a decent course. Used to be only 9 holes, but they made decent use of a long hillside and creek. There aren't a lot of trees, again, but if you're lookin' for a decent wind practice course, this is it.

I play it a lot, especially when you need a break from Z Boaz. Makes for a good round.

Go play it. Some like it, some don't. I do. Not the most challenging, but worth a 20 min drive or so.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 oh hum

2-4    1/5/2010   1/6/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: does make use of the few Trees, creek and pond. It is by no means a pitch and putt course.
Tee Pads.
#18 is the signature hole
#16 is pretty good from the Pro tee too
#15 is a good hole
Island hole for #9
Benches on most of the holes.
Cons: No tee Signs on many of the holes, however most do have at least spray paint on the tee boxes.
2 baskets (#2, #4) missing
A map is the only way I figured out the layout.
Other Thoughts: Not all that bad of a course for Texas. It does make use of the one hill, the few trees, and two shots over the pond.

However, because 2 of the baskets are missing, I don't think I will be playing this course again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Change of Pace

5+    12/13/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 85  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to HWY
Never Crowded
Easy Birds
Lots of Ace Runs
Pro/Am Boxes
Cons: Small Tee Boxes
Some Poorly Designed Holes
Wierdos Fishing on Hole 18
Walking Path is in Play
Other Thoughts: It's a good place to play if your tired of everywhere else. Seems to always be windy. Not a lot of trees to block wind.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This course has Potential

1    11/28/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The holes along the creek and pond are nice. Definately has some potential.
Cons: Missing 2 baskets!

Tee boxes are way too small.

Missing a lot of tee signs.

Front nine has a lot of shots that are just a basket in a wide open field.

Alt tees are weak, they are just a few feet behind the other tees and really don't add any value.
Other Thoughts: Do not play this coruse if you are passing through. Its missing 2 baskets.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Raw

2-4    7/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Challenging from long tees
- Good shot variety for open course
- Island OB hole ( no water) #9
- Shots over water #14, #18
Cons: - No distances
- Many pin locations are 30 feet from nasty rough
- Poision Ivy on 12, 13
- Barbed Wire Fences on 16, 17
Other Thoughts: - Usually very windy
- Layout is unmarked but not too tricky
- Course is still raw and needs to have some rough cleared out

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    6/26/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: DWood32006
Played: 55  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The creek shots are challenging, baskets are nice and concret tees. There are champ tees on most.
The island hole is pretty cool
Cons: Pretty open and not much shade, bad summer course.
A few real places to lose disc.
Most holes are prettty boring
Other Thoughts: Not the best course but worth it if your in the area. I thought the layout was pretty self explanitory.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 pretty bland.

2-4    5/15/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a lot of pros really.The creek holes are about the only redeeming quality of this course.But they feel thrown together.

Number 9 is an "island" green which is unique.

The baskets are in good shape and for the most part the tees are good albeit short.
Cons: Thrown together feel to the layout.Since the 18 went in the layout is very hard to figure out.

Very likely to loose a disc at this course.There is heavy vegetation in the creek bed and private GOV property on the back nine.

This is a heavily used park that becomes an issue on 1,16,17and 18.

Ridiculous carry over water on 18!

Poison plants abound in the creek areas.
Other Thoughts: Can't really recommend this course.And unlike gateway there really isn't much potential for a great course here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.