Fort Worth, TX 
Greenbriar Community Center Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 313ft.   3 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket To Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 long open course

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to get to location off of 35. Nice new baskets. Cement teepads on nearly all holes. Nice new signs added that can dramatically help with navigation issues. Mowed throughout so it is easy to locate discs.
Cons: The design of the course doesn't flow very well, not quite sure how to explain it. Not a whole lot of trees on this course therefore there are quite a few long open holes. Don't come here expecting great scenery.
Other Thoughts: This could be a somewhat beginner friendly course. Most holes are open, just let them fly. The design maximizes the use of the terrain available, but unfortunately it lacks the heavily wooded holes that I enjoy. The course itself is in great condition which is always a plus. Unless a bunch of trees are added, I think the challenge will remain a little on the low side.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First Impression

1    5/3/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: DFWDiscGolfTrader
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has a very long straight eternal fairway if that makes sense. The extension to 18 from original nine makes for some close tight play between holes. Lots of creekside play that will eat your disc. 13th hole is a challenge with a dog leg left approach from tee. Worth a try at least once if you are in the area.
Cons: Not mowed and after a heavy rain will be soggy and not very fun without good shoes. I would almost avoid it after a rain. More and longer Concrete tees would be nice all the way around.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

1    3/7/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1.Not too many trees with a very spread out type of playing field.
2.Very likeable seenary with a pond.
3.Nice easy play conidtion for beginner players. There is also a driving range.
Cons: 1.The holes are not marked very well.
2.In windy conditions this course can be very hictic.
Other Thoughts: I would play again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun And Not Too Challenging!

5+    5/23/2010   3/29/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a really nice course with plenty of elevation throughout most of the course. There is a good mixture of basic short and long open shots. This is a good course for beginners learning the sport with multiple concrete tee pads for different skill levels. The baskets are new bright yellow DISCatchers that are visible from almost every tee. Hole #13 is a unique hole that you don't see on any other courses, you throw down in a creek to the basket and then drive back out of the creek. The course is never crowded so you will most likely have the whole course to yourself to get a nice, quiet round in. The course is really clean and very well maintained with trash cans and benches throughout most of the course. There is a practice basket at the beginning of the course to warm up before your round. Don't forget to check out the course map located by hole #1 because you will need it.
Cons: The biggest problem playing this course is navigation. There are only two tee signs on hole #1 and hole #2 and the rest your on your own. There are little hole numbers on some holes but not all are clearly marked. The best thing to do is print out a course map from this sight because you will probably need it. There is no shade on this course so be well prepared for these hot summer days with plenty of water and sunscreen.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice, easy course that is not to difficult to play. It is definitly a well laid back course to play and is worth the stop if your in the in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 in the ghetto...

1    1/20/2009   1/26/2009
Review By: the seeker
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well this is an 18 hole course and its on a pretty decent piece of land, and kept in great shape. a good mix of shots and great use of elevation. good baskets. the tee boxes that are in do just fine. once the lay of the course is figured out(sheesh) it plays well. good use of creek, from which disc retrieval is easy. the pond is a different story.
Cons: since it used to be a 9 hole they abandoned some of the tee boxes misleading u a little bit. the wind just screams through here-you cant get a break. not all tees are concreted in. the flow is pretty bizarre, but makes a little more sense after you play it i guess. a couple of the holes are just downright dumb/stupid. getting over the fence is like breaking out of the fed (it is govt property-hence all the cops). you have no idea how frustrating it is to see your badest disc on the ground just feet away but it might as well be abu dhabi. the pond has all sorts of fishermen, tho i seriously doubt theyve ever caught anything. they were doing some construction so theres absolutely no where to park off hole one.oh and did i mention its totally in the ghetto?
Other Thoughts: i thought this course had some really good holes and id play again but i probably wont go too much out of my way. and i dont mind too much where i play,tho, as long as i beat my previous round there! I see good potential with a litlle more vision- we'll see what happens im not sure theyre 100% committed to the set-up- but i really do appreciate the work that was put in by the community center!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 They say it happens all the time. ;o)

5+    11/11/2009   9/15/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Due to the course upgrade from 9 holes to 18, this is now an updated 18-hole review.

This is a great creek run course. You not only play along the creek and throw over a pond for at least half of this course, but you also play in and across the creek on some holes. The baskets are in great shape. There are multiple tees on most holes and right now they are a mix of concrete and grass, but will be upgraded to concrete soon. There are elevation holes, some great technical shots, and an island green #9. This course is a great challenge off the longs.
Cons: Some of the concrete pads are really too short to be of real run-up use. As there are currently temporary tee pads, look for little blue flags marking them. It is difficult to navigate your first time out, so get your copy of the course map at the community center. If you are there after or before hours they have it posted in the window by the front door. There are tons of people out fishing and hanging out all along the pond portion of this course (even on weekdays it is crowded). With that said, you may have to tone down a couple of shots due to human traffic. IF you lose a disc in the 2 "over the pond" shots, it is not likely you will get those back. There is an O.B. fence along the course that is not made for climbing. One part of the fence protects a police station and there is a military facility of some kind on the left side of hole #17. If you thrown one over this fence, the only way you are going to get it back, is to flag someone driving to work and ask them to get it for you. The people you flag down say it happens all the time. ;o)
Other Thoughts: The Fun Favtor here is rather good for me. I must say I loved playing right down in the creek, it was amazingly unique. A few of the holes were a real challenge and fun to navigate. The Island Green is of course a nice thrill. There are a few plain out in the open holes that didn't get me too excited and the non-players are plentiful. The area is not the best, but the police are patrolling and sitting in their vehicles at this community center much of the time. Everyone fishing and walking were really nice and were great about the "HEADS UP" when throwing over them. This course is designed well and I will be coming back here often!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointed

2-4    7/28/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are good quality and brand new. There are concrete tee pads on most holes. Although there are a lot of open holes here, they are all situated in a way that presents a challenge, with either trees to avoid off the teebox, near the pin, or some elevation change to deal with. There is a fun island hole...something that is rare to find outside of tournament play. There is a fun hole that runs up top on flat ground and hyzers down into a gulley about 30 feet deep where the basket is. The hole that follows it up is a tightly wooded shot along the creek and back out into the open field. There are some long bombs here and nothing that is too short. Another fun hole plays over the water, but can be tough to play sometimes because there seems to always be someone fishing right beside the pin.
Cons: The tees dont have signs and there aren't distances posted. The tee pads are too short and make your approach awkward. Most holes are wide open with no shade and nothing to block the wind. The course is a part of the community center property. Even mid-morning there were people and kids in the way of a few of the holes. Hole 18 had fishermen 30 feet to the right of the basket, cars 30 feet to the left and the pond 30 feet in front. That's what you call a high risk tee-off.
Other Thoughts: This course just recently went from 9 holes to 18. This course is worth a short drive to play once in a while, but isn't one of the best around the area. This is a fun practice course that I'd play much more often if I was closer to it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

7/8/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: slacker
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a good course for only 9 holes, being the 3rd 9 hole I have played today it is the best.It has good length and fairly challenging from the long boxes.
Cons: hole 4 basket was a little hard to find it is in the creek to the left along w/ tee #5.
Other Thoughts: the concrete tees are a little short but work and could use signs at tee boxes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice and room to improve

6/12/2008   6/12/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice open course for the most part (except 4 and 5), its a good 9 hole course, 6 over the pond and 9 over the pond makes for a good challenge, it plays quickly and follows a path well, all tees are marked with number and suggested flight patern. multiple tees make it easy to make into an 18 hole course. but its nice to play a quick 9 (we played short 9 in under 40 mins today), course really didnt need a map as all shots are visible (except 4)
Cons: its only 9 holes (but ive heard that they are considering 18, and would be easy to do with amount of space left in park) hole 4 is hard to see where your disc lands inless you want to lay up and take a par or bogey) easily reachable in 1 as i have layed it up twice within 5 feet now (but ended up taking me awhile to find the disc as i had not idea where they were when it went into the woods, hole 8 is rough because a fence comes into play and is very hard to retreive disc if it goes out as its a govt area with 6 foot high fence and 2 foot of barbwire on top. hole 4 is a straight drop, so it makes it hard to walk down make sure you have good shoes on
Other Thoughts: great for a quick 9, becareful on 8 as you may loose a disc that is visible, yea thats the worse when you can see your disc and cant do anything about it

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9-hole course

6/9/2008   6/11/2008
Review By: aclay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 29.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has cement tee pads (although they are kind of short), and a map of the course and restroom facilities in the rec center building. There are no tee signs, but each tee pad has the number spray painted on it with an arrow pointing you toward the basket. The design makes good use of limited terrain changes and trees. Holes 4-5 (into and through the woods) and 9 (over a pond) are nice.
Cons: This course is in a multiple-use park where on some holes (6, 7 and 9), you could be in close proximity to other park users. There are some strange out of bounds in the middle of the course related to a walking path. For example, if you cross the sidewalk and land in the adjacent fairway, that is out of bounds. The aforementioned short tee pads weren't as problematic as they could have been because. ... there is only one hole longer than 400 feet. No. 8 is a slight dogleg left that plays 525/625 around an OB fence, which is the only thing that keeps it from being a straight, flat shot with no obstacles The course plays 2482/3115. Holes 1-2 and 6-7 are pretty pedestrian.
Other Thoughts: No. 4 is a blind 90-degree left turn into trees and over a very small creek. It plays 175/300. I had to walk ahead to find the small opening in the trees that I was shooting for. There is a new playground on site, and you are seldom out of sight of it or more than a couple of hundred yards away, so this course would be good for anyone forced to bring kids along who don't want to play disc golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.