Brevard, NC 
Brevard College DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8 (Taken 1/2009)
4 / 480ft.   3 / 480ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Good mix of medium to long shots and risk/reward drives.

5+    6/13/2016   6/14/2016
Review By: jnecessary
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good quality baskets. Pretty good course flow, could use improvements and as I understand it there will be some rearranging due to construction at the college.

Course provides a lot of opportunity to work on the 300-425' drives. Depending on your skill level this is either a great way to work on your mid-range and high speed driver skills or your driving and upshot skills. Course is mostly open with a couple tight shots. Lots of risk/reward in going for birdie due to brush and brier on some holes.
Cons:
No tee pads. In most cases, lack of teepad is not a problem. Hole 15 needs sign/tee area moved up away from drainage ditch.

No benches (bring a stool if you have one).

Over half of the holes are in a campus setting, mostly open, little shade and several have potential for pedestrian conflict. Be careful of your surroundings and remember that the property is a college campus first, and a disc golf course second. The biggest con here might be that holes 1-5 tent to play through populated areas (hammocks, people chillin' in the grass or playing in the creek and soccer fields).

The brush and brier on the course can be seen as a negative and if you have trouble controlling your shots you could have a hard time with it or lose discs. Personally, I enjoy the challenge of avoiding the brush while making a good shot. Play it safe if you are more concerned with a quick round, play it risky if you want to chase the birdie.
Other Thoughts:

Overall the course is challenging. Shooting par (54) or better requires some good drives and avoiding big mistakes which can happen. Holes 9-15 are where rounds are made and broken.
-9 is a fairly long shot with very tough brush on the right, stay left and card an easy 3 or go for 2, but risk the brier. Most players are taking a 3 here.
-10 is long and wide open, about 400' and you throw over a mound so the basket is obscured. Only risk here is going too long and getting into briers. Most players are taking a 3 here as the basket is just out of reach for many.
-11 is a big score separation hole. Tunnel shot for placement to throw an upshot across the creek and through trees to the basket. Lots of people are tempted by a big hooking hyzer that crashes the green for a look at a 2. The smart play is to throw something straight up the middle, lay up and take your 3. 3 is a very good scorer here, 4 is very common.
-12 Top of the World...a quick hike from 11's basket up to the tee for 12 and you're throwing a 450+' drive through a tight downhill gap to the basket. Lot of 3's here as most drives will clear the mess even if they are off line, upshot accuracy is key.
-13 This might be my favorite hole at BC. Long left to right dogleg shot. Throwing out of a tunnel with very tight brush on your righ. This is a super challenging tee shot for RHBH players. I like to throw an old and beat up driver on a hyzer for control, but let if flip and track towards the basket. This shot can be played just like 11 in that a straight and safe shot to the fairway, followed by a simple upshot gives a highly probable 3. The 2 is the risky shot, but so fun to try!
-14 is a very reachable shot. Slightly uphill, rough on right and left, and a backstop behind the basket. Easy 3 for a straight thrower, and 50/50 birdie for those that can air it out a bit and throw it straight.
-15 is an uphill drive, lots of trees on left, powerlines and trees/gravel road on right. If you play the road as OB this becomes a long and narrow fairway and a great challenge.

The stretch of 9-15 is my favorite by far. There is more strategy to these holes than most of the course where a decent arm can birdie most every shot. You have to hit your lines here, and if you want any birdies you have to hit a line and throw with power. I think these holes force skill development for those that want to compete. For the causual player who just wants to enjoy the time in the park, these might be the least favorite holes since there is ample opportunity to lose discs or spend time climbing in brier and brush to retrieve them.

Other notable holes...
4- really cool shot where the RHBH throw carries over water for most of the flight. Good pucker factor here!
8- This is a cool hole. A chance to air it out at a 400' throw that has to turn right to get close to the basket. Danger right in some of the worst brush and brier on the course, the whole way down! OB long on the ballfield. A long turnover drive that comes back just a touch is the key at a birdie opportunity. This is a real risk reward shot...to get the look at 2 (RHBH) you must go long and you must turn it over...with that you flirt with the danger to the right. Basket is protected by a cluster of mature trees so anything short and left has a bit of a plinko upshot/putt attempt. This is also a favorite of mine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worst Course Yet

1    5/30/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: DylanJustus
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some challenging holes with trees and bushes playing in. There are beautiful views of surrounding creeks and mountains. Open field makes for lots of area to land discs.
Cons: LOTS of briars and weeds. Between my partner and I, we lost 3 discs, and quit and left after the 14th hole because of losing so many discs

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Amazing couse with not enough publicity!

5+    8/6/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: Patton82
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of land! Well thought out course! Good mix of long open fairways, as well as a mix of some elevation changes and pin placements.
Cons: Grass tees, no up to date footage/par signs, very minor water hazard on 4, baskets 7-9 during the summer have a very unforgiving jungle of briars to the right of the fairway...have lost several discs in them. The back half of the course gets neglected lawn care so sometimes the grass is a little high.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice use of the land

1    5/19/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well thought out course. Uses a ton of the land around the college, so it's a good hike. The signature holes (especially the "top of the world") were great fun.
Cons: Not a ton of variety, since a bunch of them basically play through open fields. They add a bit of spice to them by putting the basket in a line of trees, but they're basically just throw as hard as you can holes with little finesse/accuracy required.
Other Thoughts: College campuses are always great spots to put courses, and this is no exception. Could use a bit more variety and maybe a tighter layout and it would be really nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good variety and use of land

5+    11/12/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: MtnMan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good variety of shots
-some short some long
-elevation that is available is used
-water and OB in play on several holes
-friendly atmosphere
Cons: -no tight, wooded holes
-most of the front nine is in the main part of campus, a con if you are used to a more remote/natural golf experience
-no next tee signage
Other Thoughts: -really fun course with a mix of challenge, concequence, and birdie/ace runs
-natural tee pads not really an issue as they are flat and provide adequate grip, concrete is always nice though
-course map is posted here, so no excuse for not being able to navigate the course
-friendly college golf club
-pretty scenery in the French Broad River valley

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good college course when school

1    7/18/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: madcow
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hole 12
varying degree of shots
mix of short/long shots
front 9 and back 9 are 2 different worlds
front 9 is easy
Cons: back 9 is a bit difficult
some shots are in locations to easily lose a disc
some holes hard to find/dont exist
no tees
Other Thoughts: good course. Only the first couple holes are played were activities would be taking place so its great for when school is not in session.

View was amazing.
Hole 12 was pretty damn cool.
enjoyed how the front 9 was open and flat then it changes in teh back 9 to wooded areas and varying elevations.

We couldnt locate hole 2 and hole 11 i think, maybe it was 10.

If you get a chance, check out this course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Brevard is hard

1    6/25/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 74  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brevard is a disc golf course around college buildings. It is very scenic too and I like the variety here (except the wetlands).
-I like the baskets because they are different than you will usually see. They are in great shape and although they are not double chain baskets, it's easy to get your putter into them.
-My favorite hole was number 16! It's downhill and you have to go over the field where the fairway is. There is a small dropoff behind the basket. Although most holes here are over 350" feet long, 7 are less than that with #3 being the only fun ace run on the course and it's downhill. Yet #3 is punishing, you have to avoid the building on the right and trees to the left. Whatever you do, do NOT go too far because water is ahead but it should be easy to avoid.
-Another great thing is that here at Brevard, recreational players can call some of the longer par 3's (1,5,7,8,10,11,13,15 and 17 par 4's. Hole 9 is a par 5 for recreational players. Hole 12 is a par 4 if you are a recreational player or not, it's super downhill and only 500 feet long.
-Although this course doesn't have tons of elevation, holes 12 and 15 have TONS of it. 12 is nicely downhill and 15 is steep uphill, It's a 370 foot par 3 but plays 525.
-College girls are pretty. You might see some girls and if ya do, you can try to impress them.
Cons: -Weeds and other crap is growing a lot on this course. I really don't like the wetlands on number 7 through 9. I also had to take a 5 on hole 12. The reason why is because vegetation was blocking my teeshot and I did NOT want to lose another disc like I did on 8. I had to play safe as I could. This course has no maintenance AT ALL. If no one will work on it, it might as well become extinct. #10's grass is 5 ft tall. I'm serious, you might as well skip holes 7 thru 14 because they are all a mess.
-There are no teepads on the course and that's a problem. This course is on a new level of neglected. No maintenance or ANYTHING! I hope I clearly made it clear that I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS COURSE! I realize that last year when I first wrote this review, it was positive but I played again in August 2013 and I forgot how much of a problem it was.
-Hole 2's basket along with 18's have been stolen.
-Lack of next teesigns and again, the walk from 10-11 was covered in thorns and I found #15 by going to the left instead of straight ahead and #12's tee is close by so I went down the trail and saw #11's basket.
Other Thoughts: -Last year I was too nice and easy on this course and now I know that it needs a better layout. Maybe this course just needs to become extinct because no one is working on it. This course is crammed in. It would be much better off as a 9 holer. I mean, it's an enjoyment tease. The first six holes are very fun and enjoyable and the last four are great too but by the time you are done with #10, I won't be surprised if you quit. Just play 1-6 and 15-18 and you will have a much better time than playing all 18. If you want examples of badly designed holes and poor places to put them, read this below.

#7-WTH is that. You are literally throwing over the running track and you have an approach shot through super tall grass and if you overthrow, you may as well not look for your disc because it would be in the wetlands.

#8-This hole is on a new level of gimmickiness. You can either anhyzer over the baseball field or hyzer over the wetlands to the right and pray that it will be in a cleaner spot in the "fairway" which is mostly tall grass.

#10-THE GRASS IS FIVE FEET TALL. Skip this hole and call it a par because it is not worth losing a disc.

#11-This is one of the worst holes I have played. You can just cross a straight and clean shot out as a viable option because every tree in the fairway has overhead branches down very low and the underbrush to the left is so bad you can hardly see where to go if your disc landed in there.

#13-Same thing as #10. Skip this hole along with #14 which is also overgrown and head to #15 as that is a good hole. Just head to #15 when you are done with #6.

I played here last year in 2012 and it was in better shape than it is now. Imagine how bad it will be next year if locals don't work on it this year. I don't recommend this course unless you like losing discs. I don't think so. With so much potential, why neglect a course like this one. This course can go back to a 3.5 with some maintenance! Let's hope it will!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/3/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 69  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is where i learned how to play. its my home course so i play it frequently. this is a wide open course on a beautiful college campus. the first hole cuts between buildings, second holes curves to the right around one of the buildings (be careful of students) third hole if you overshoot, your taking a swim in the creek, same as the fourth. 7th and 8th holes have a tight fairway with briars and wetlands to the right. hole 9 is a 650 ft par 4. back of the course has recently been mowed (finally) and is a lot of fun. keep your eye out for white squirrels, which are abundant on campus.
Cons: wind is always a factor here. as are the many students and people doing other rec activities. some of the holes are not clearly marked, and especially after hole 10, its hard to find 11.
Other Thoughts: after hole 10, start heading back toward the school along the creek. you will pass a church on the right, and theres a small land bridge going over the creek with a chain blocking it. walk through here, to the right and back to the left. the tee pad is to the left of the little building.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tornadoes!

2-4    11/28/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 12/31/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Decent variety of holes/shots.

- Beautiful campus.
Cons: - Wind. Lots of wind almost always out in Brevard. Not enough wooded holes to cut the wind although it's not as bad from #11 through #14. The mascot of BC is The Tornadoes if that tells you anything.

- The rough is really rough. Some of the holes the fairways are rough. I'd say from #7 to #14 are pretty tough to find discs even if you miss by just a couple feet.
Other Thoughts: Some people I've talked to like courses with natural teepads. Others absolutely hate it. I think I fall somewhere in the middle. Most of the time if "natural" means grass or something mulchy then I prefer natural. If "natural" means roots, rocks and/or mud then I'd prefer something manmade in it's place.

Fortunately at Brevard College there is something for everyone in the natural tee department.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/10/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good for practicing driver. Challenging.
Cons: Extremely long. One hole took me 3 throws with my driver to get reasonably close to the basket. A few holes, maybe 13-16?, were hard to find. Course layout is a little confusing. Impossible to see hole number on baskets from a distance and i even have perfect vision.
Other Thoughts: They could potentially shorten a couple holes and add a couple more. With some basket moving they could make that a 21 or 22 hole course with the same total distance as originally.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.