Brevard, NC
Brevard College DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #7 (Taken 1/2009)
4 / 375ft.   4 / --   3 / 375ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket: Red stakes mark out of bounds wetlands area



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
good variety and use of land

5+    11/12/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: MtnMan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good variety of shots
-some short some long
-elevation that is available is used
-water and OB in play on several holes
-friendly atmosphere
Cons: -no tight, wooded holes
-most of the front nine is in the main part of campus, a con if you are used to a more remote/natural golf experience
-no next tee signage
Other Thoughts: -really fun course with a mix of challenge, concequence, and birdie/ace runs
-natural tee pads not really an issue as they are flat and provide adequate grip, concrete is always nice though
-course map is posted here, so no excuse for not being able to navigate the course
-friendly college golf club
-pretty scenery in the French Broad River valley

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good college course when school

1    7/18/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: madcow
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hole 12
varying degree of shots
mix of short/long shots
front 9 and back 9 are 2 different worlds
front 9 is easy
Cons: back 9 is a bit difficult
some shots are in locations to easily lose a disc
some holes hard to find/dont exist
no tees
Other Thoughts: good course. Only the first couple holes are played were activities would be taking place so its great for when school is not in session.

View was amazing.
Hole 12 was pretty damn cool.
enjoyed how the front 9 was open and flat then it changes in teh back 9 to wooded areas and varying elevations.

We couldnt locate hole 2 and hole 11 i think, maybe it was 10.

If you get a chance, check out this course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Brevard is hard

1    6/25/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brevard is a disc golf course around college buildings. It is very scenic too and I like the variety here (except the wetlands).
-I like the baskets because they are different than you will usually see. They are in great shape and although they are not double chain baskets, it's easy to get your putter into them.
-My favorite hole was number 16! It's downhill and you have to go over the field where the fairway is. There is a small dropoff behind the basket. Although most holes here are over 350" feet long, 7 are less than that with #3 being the only fun ace run on the course and it's downhill. Yet #3 is punishing, you have to avoid the building on the right and trees to the left. Whatever you do, do NOT go too far because water is ahead but it should be easy to avoid.
-Another great thing is that here at Brevard, recreational players can call some of the longer par 3's (1,5,7,8,10,11,13,15 and 17 par 4's. Hole 9 is a par 5 for recreational players. Hole 12 is a par 4 if you are a recreational player or not, it's super downhill and only 500 feet long.
-Although this course doesn't have tons of elevation, holes 12 and 15 have TONS of it. 12 is nicely downhill and 15 is steep uphill, It's a 370 foot par 3 but plays 525.
-College girls are pretty. You might see some girls and if ya do, you can try to impress them.
Cons: -Weeds and other crap is growing a lot on this course. I really don't like the wetlands on number 7 through 9. I also had to take a 5 on hole 12. The reason why is because vegetation was blocking my teeshot and I did NOT want to lose another disc like I did on 8. I had to play safe as I could. This course has no maintenance AT ALL. If no one will work on it, it might as well become extinct. #10's grass is 5 ft tall. I'm serious, you might as well skip holes 7 thru 14 because they are all a mess.
-There are no teepads on the course and that's a problem. This course is on a new level of neglected. No maintenance or ANYTHING! I hope I clearly made it clear that I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS COURSE! I realize that last year when I first wrote this review, it was positive but I played again in August 2013 and I forgot how much of a problem it was.
-Hole 2's basket along with 18's have been stolen.
-Lack of next teesigns and again, the walk from 10-11 was covered in thorns and I found #15 by going to the left instead of straight ahead and #12's tee is close by so I went down the trail and saw #11's basket.
Other Thoughts: -Last year I was too nice and easy on this course and now I know that it needs a better layout. Maybe this course just needs to become extinct because no one is working on it. This course is crammed in. It would be much better off as a 9 holer. I mean, it's an enjoyment tease. The first six holes are very fun and enjoyable and the last four are great too but by the time you are done with #10, I won't be surprised if you quit. Just play 1-6 and 15-18 and you will have a much better time than playing all 18. If you want examples of badly designed holes and poor places to put them, read this below.

#7-WTH is that. You are literally throwing over the running track and you have an approach shot through super tall grass and if you overthrow, you may as well not look for your disc because it would be in the wetlands.

#8-This hole is on a new level of gimmickiness. You can either anhyzer over the baseball field or hyzer over the wetlands to the right and pray that it will be in a cleaner spot in the "fairway" which is mostly tall grass.

#10-THE GRASS IS FIVE FEET TALL. Skip this hole and call it a par because it is not worth losing a disc.

#11-This is one of the worst holes I have played. You can just cross a straight and clean shot out as a viable option because every tree in the fairway has overhead branches down very low and the underbrush to the left is so bad you can hardly see where to go if your disc landed in there.

#13-Same thing as #10. Skip this hole along with #14 which is also overgrown and head to #15 as that is a good hole. Just head to #15 when you are done with #6.

I played here last year in 2012 and it was in better shape than it is now. Imagine how bad it will be next year if locals don't work on it this year. I don't recommend this course unless you like losing discs. I don't think so. With so much potential, why neglect a course like this one. This course can go back to a 3.5 with some maintenance! Let's hope it will!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/3/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is where i learned how to play. its my home course so i play it frequently. this is a wide open course on a beautiful college campus. the first hole cuts between buildings, second holes curves to the right around one of the buildings (be careful of students) third hole if you overshoot, your taking a swim in the creek, same as the fourth. 7th and 8th holes have a tight fairway with briars and wetlands to the right. hole 9 is a 650 ft par 4. back of the course has recently been mowed (finally) and is a lot of fun. keep your eye out for white squirrels, which are abundant on campus.
Cons: wind is always a factor here. as are the many students and people doing other rec activities. some of the holes are not clearly marked, and especially after hole 10, its hard to find 11.
Other Thoughts: after hole 10, start heading back toward the school along the creek. you will pass a church on the right, and theres a small land bridge going over the creek with a chain blocking it. walk through here, to the right and back to the left. the tee pad is to the left of the little building.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tornadoes!

2-4    11/28/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 12/31/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Decent variety of holes/shots.

- Beautiful campus.
Cons: - Wind. Lots of wind almost always out in Brevard. Not enough wooded holes to cut the wind although it's not as bad from #11 through #14. The mascot of BC is The Tornadoes if that tells you anything.

- The rough is really rough. Some of the holes the fairways are rough. I'd say from #7 to #14 are pretty tough to find discs even if you miss by just a couple feet.
Other Thoughts: Some people I've talked to like courses with natural teepads. Others absolutely hate it. I think I fall somewhere in the middle. Most of the time if "natural" means grass or something mulchy then I prefer natural. If "natural" means roots, rocks and/or mud then I'd prefer something manmade in it's place.

Fortunately at Brevard College there is something for everyone in the natural tee department.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/10/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good for practicing driver. Challenging.
Cons: Extremely long. One hole took me 3 throws with my driver to get reasonably close to the basket. A few holes, maybe 13-16?, were hard to find. Course layout is a little confusing. Impossible to see hole number on baskets from a distance and i even have perfect vision.
Other Thoughts: They could potentially shorten a couple holes and add a couple more. With some basket moving they could make that a 21 or 22 hole course with the same total distance as originally.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/5/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 71  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The setting was gorgeous. You can see the mountains all around, and the creek that runs through the campus is pristine (not muddy at all). This is far and away the best perk about playing this course.

- As you can see from the course map, the progression from hole to hole is very logical, with the exception of the holes near the church. That's actually one of the coolest parts of the course, but it feels like a completely different course because it's so separated from the rest.

- While it requires a lot of walking, this is not a strenuous play at all. Maybe it's the college atmosphere or the scenery, but the course almost forces you slow down and enjoy the round.

- The course has a ton of length, so you can air it out on just about every hole.
Cons: - Others have mentioned it, but the lack of tee pads detracts a bit. Sometimes you simply need them to know where exactly to throw from.

- Where there is elevation (holes 12-17), it's kind of nice, but the rest of the course is pretty flat. That's not so surprising since it's a good setting for a college, but I was hoping that the college would have some surrounding woods with a little more elevation.

- The reeds off to the right on holes 7-9 are a major pain for losing discs. One of mine only went about a foot or so in, and it was a bear to find. (I will say that the wooden stakes are good markers for locating discs near the edge.)

- The walkway to and from #12's tee is basically hidden among kudzu, so that leads to a lot of confusion upon finishing #11. Even with a course map, we had no clue where to go. I'm sure it helps if you know it's an elevated tee, but if you don't, then you're screwed. There really need to be signs/arrows or at least a broader walkway that's visible from #11's basket.
Other Thoughts: - The course was basically deserted when we played it, but obviously it's a different story when classes are in session. I would suggest playing it on weekends or when classes are out.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, great views

1    6/5/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, open course around a great, small college in beautiful western NC. The amazing views of the mountains alone make a trip to this course worthwhile.
- Course plays nicely throughout the campus. The first three holes play around campus buildings. From then on, you move away from heavily used areas, until 18, which plays back towards the beginning.
- Most holes are wide open, or have minimal trees. Course offers plenty of length, average hole distance is 380, allowing plenty of chances to unleash some big drives.
- Very detailed tee signs clearly display hole layouts and direct towards next tee.
- Course is mostly very easy to navigate. Only had 2 small issues (which are listed below) that could easily be fixed by arrows.
- The front 9 is very open and flat. The back 9 offers more trees and elevation.
- Scenery can't be beat. Wide open spaces plus mountains means you can see for miles. Every hole has great views of the mountains, making for the perfect backdrop. The day I played, I could see a large storm, with lightning, taking place in the mountains to the south. What a sight!
Cons: Course starts feeling a little repetitive with so many holes being so open and long. Holes #7 - 10 are essentially the same layout, say for #8 basket protected by several small trees and the mound to throw around on #10.
- If you're not a big arm, you may get frustrated with the layout/lack of birdie chances. With so many 400 ft+ open holes, people throwing 250 - 300, will still have longer second shots just to make 3.
- The rough is really tall and thick along the right side of # 7 - 9. Different, and equally, thick underbrush comes into play, to varying degrees on #11 - #14. Smart shot-making should take this problem out of the equation.
- Weird transitions in 2 spots on the course. After finishing #10, you have to walk around a locked gate to get to #11, which plays behind a church building. It shows this transition on the map, but between the gate and the church, it makes you think you're in the wrong place. Also, there's no sign for #12, the elevated tee shot. I walked around for several minutes, and finally found a narrow, slippery path to the tee. Arrows would be a huge benefit, as would a better, safer path to #12.
- Didn't see any public restrooms or water fountains anywhere on the course. There were soda machines in the breezeways of the buildings around #1, but that was the only I saw. You do a lot of walking on this course, so make sure you're prepared.
- Course might not be available, or at least parts of it, when classes are in or when sporting events are taking places. I don't think they'll hold up track meets so DGers can play through on #7 & 17.
Other Thoughts: This is a very solid course. It's a nice change of pace compared to all the wooded courses in other parts of North Carolina. The campus, and Brevard itself, have that wonderful, relaxed small-town comfort.
- There's a lot of walking on this course, so prepare for a longer than normal round. Unlike most courses that take a long time to play (i.e. long, difficult, Renaissance-level courses), this plays more at a leisurely pace. The pace of play almost felt like a (ball) golf round.
- Because of the layout, the course felt like it was broken up into several different cluster of holes/layouts: #1 - 3 played around buildings; #4 - 6 played around soccer field/small road; #7 - 10 were the open, long holes; #11 - 14 were the wooded, elevation holes playing behind the church building; #15 - 18 were the homestretch.
- My favorite hole, and one of the most visually amazing hole layouts I've played is #4. 340 ft shot throwing the length of a tree-lined creek, with the mountains (of course) as your backdrop. Creek is only inches deep, so no risk there. It's a simple par three, but what a view standing on the tee.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 More OB than Trees

2-4    9/21/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 246  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Added Danger Increases Difficulty. You definitely need to respect the OB and disc eating brush on this course. A few of the holes have extremely thick ruff on one side and OB on the other making open boring holes more challenging. Although I don't enjoy going OB 3 times in one round, these features really enhanced the difficulty and enjoyment of the course.
- Open Bombs = Change of Pace. Although I don't personally like wide open bomber holes that are farther than I can realistically birdie, I do enjoy the change of pace. It allows opportunity to tune parts of your game that are not necessarily available at other local courses. And, although mostly open… trees are used effectively around most of the pins.
Cons:
- Dangerous. There are several holes where the course interferes with the school. Dorms, buildings, soccer fields, the track, football practice field, etc… I almost took out a group of soccer players when a drive got away from me - inches.
- Crazy Walks. The front nine flows great… but the walk to 11 doesn't seem logical because you enter church property. Also, the walk to 15… you have to walk past 14's basket and follow the path around to the left, when you re-enter the "school" the tee-pad is on the left (it's a great hole once you get there).
- Lack of tee-pads. Grass tee-pads suck… especially on holes of this length. Probably the single worst thing about this course.
Other Thoughts:
- The Bugs. The nats were terrible. I understand this is probably seasonal and therefore not necessarily a "con"… but, it was bad. They were un-escape-able.
- I will definitely go back to Brevard. It offers a much needed, different golf game than the other local courses.
- My Score: +1

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Jack of all trades, master of none

2-4    8/18/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course does about everything a course can do. It plays between buildings, along a creek, out in a huge field, into the woods, behind a huge hill covered in kudzu, and back again. Some open holes you absolutely have to crank it, while other holes force you to play a precision game.

#4 is a great hole, shooting down a row of trees with a shallow (yet still OB) river running to your right. It feels great to fly out over it and fade back into the fairway.

#8 has one of the best pin placements I've ever seen. 5 feet to the right is OB and to the left, a massive shield of trees. A very tricky and fun approach shot.
Cons: This course is a major disc eater. You have the nature conservancy just feet away from the pin on 3 holes, so think twice about going for that birdie. I've gone in there 3 times, and thankfully found my disc each time, but I doubt everyone is so lucky. It was very poor design to place the pin so close to the weeds every time they were in play. There is also massive kudzu to both the right and left on hole 14.

A few holes feel pretty uninspired. 7, 9, 10, and 16 are all pretty much just open field. The last few holes feel like a bit of a let down after seeing what the course is capable of.
Other Thoughts: This course is a mixture of good and bad. The nature conservancy is very annoying, but would probably be less so if 3 holes weren't 5 feet away from it. Although #8 pulls it off interestingly, #7 and #9 are just a pain and pretty boring too.

It seems like you could put a cool hole in on the walk between 14 and 15. A short shot where you went across the creek to the pavilion area would be awesome.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center