Disc Golf Center
Brevard, NC 
Brevard College DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #4 (Taken 4/2008)
3 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    6/5/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 88  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The setting was gorgeous. You can see the mountains all around, and the creek that runs through the campus is pristine (not muddy at all). This is far and away the best perk about playing this course.

- As you can see from the course map, the progression from hole to hole is very logical, with the exception of the holes near the church. That's actually one of the coolest parts of the course, but it feels like a completely different course because it's so separated from the rest.

- While it requires a lot of walking, this is not a strenuous play at all. Maybe it's the college atmosphere or the scenery, but the course almost forces you slow down and enjoy the round.

- The course has a ton of length, so you can air it out on just about every hole.
Cons: - Others have mentioned it, but the lack of tee pads detracts a bit. Sometimes you simply need them to know where exactly to throw from.

- Where there is elevation (holes 12-17), it's kind of nice, but the rest of the course is pretty flat. That's not so surprising since it's a good setting for a college, but I was hoping that the college would have some surrounding woods with a little more elevation.

- The reeds off to the right on holes 7-9 are a major pain for losing discs. One of mine only went about a foot or so in, and it was a bear to find. (I will say that the wooden stakes are good markers for locating discs near the edge.)

- The walkway to and from #12's tee is basically hidden among kudzu, so that leads to a lot of confusion upon finishing #11. Even with a course map, we had no clue where to go. I'm sure it helps if you know it's an elevated tee, but if you don't, then you're screwed. There really need to be signs/arrows or at least a broader walkway that's visible from #11's basket.
Other Thoughts: - The course was basically deserted when we played it, but obviously it's a different story when classes are in session. I would suggest playing it on weekends or when classes are out.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, great views

1    6/5/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 223  Reviewed: 217  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, open course around a great, small college in beautiful western NC. The amazing views of the mountains alone make a trip to this course worthwhile.
- Course plays nicely throughout the campus. The first three holes play around campus buildings. From then on, you move away from heavily used areas, until 18, which plays back towards the beginning.
- Most holes are wide open, or have minimal trees. Course offers plenty of length, average hole distance is 380, allowing plenty of chances to unleash some big drives.
- Very detailed tee signs clearly display hole layouts and direct towards next tee.
- Course is mostly very easy to navigate. Only had 2 small issues (which are listed below) that could easily be fixed by arrows.
- The front 9 is very open and flat. The back 9 offers more trees and elevation.
- Scenery can't be beat. Wide open spaces plus mountains means you can see for miles. Every hole has great views of the mountains, making for the perfect backdrop. The day I played, I could see a large storm, with lightning, taking place in the mountains to the south. What a sight!
Cons: Course starts feeling a little repetitive with so many holes being so open and long. Holes #7 - 10 are essentially the same layout, say for #8 basket protected by several small trees and the mound to throw around on #10.
- If you're not a big arm, you may get frustrated with the layout/lack of birdie chances. With so many 400 ft+ open holes, people throwing 250 - 300, will still have longer second shots just to make 3.
- The rough is really tall and thick along the right side of # 7 - 9. Different, and equally, thick underbrush comes into play, to varying degrees on #11 - #14. Smart shot-making should take this problem out of the equation.
- Weird transitions in 2 spots on the course. After finishing #10, you have to walk around a locked gate to get to #11, which plays behind a church building. It shows this transition on the map, but between the gate and the church, it makes you think you're in the wrong place. Also, there's no sign for #12, the elevated tee shot. I walked around for several minutes, and finally found a narrow, slippery path to the tee. Arrows would be a huge benefit, as would a better, safer path to #12.
- Didn't see any public restrooms or water fountains anywhere on the course. There were soda machines in the breezeways of the buildings around #1, but that was the only I saw. You do a lot of walking on this course, so make sure you're prepared.
- Course might not be available, or at least parts of it, when classes are in or when sporting events are taking places. I don't think they'll hold up track meets so DGers can play through on #7 & 17.
Other Thoughts: This is a very solid course. It's a nice change of pace compared to all the wooded courses in other parts of North Carolina. The campus, and Brevard itself, have that wonderful, relaxed small-town comfort.
- There's a lot of walking on this course, so prepare for a longer than normal round. Unlike most courses that take a long time to play (i.e. long, difficult, Renaissance-level courses), this plays more at a leisurely pace. The pace of play almost felt like a (ball) golf round.
- Because of the layout, the course felt like it was broken up into several different cluster of holes/layouts: #1 - 3 played around buildings; #4 - 6 played around soccer field/small road; #7 - 10 were the open, long holes; #11 - 14 were the wooded, elevation holes playing behind the church building; #15 - 18 were the homestretch.
- My favorite hole, and one of the most visually amazing hole layouts I've played is #4. 340 ft shot throwing the length of a tree-lined creek, with the mountains (of course) as your backdrop. Creek is only inches deep, so no risk there. It's a simple par three, but what a view standing on the tee.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 More OB than Trees

2-4    9/21/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 395  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
- Added Danger Increases Difficulty. You definitely need to respect the OB and disc eating brush on this course. A few of the holes have extremely thick ruff on one side and OB on the other making open boring holes more challenging. Although I don't enjoy going OB 3 times in one round, these features really enhanced the difficulty and enjoyment of the course.
- Open Bombs = Change of Pace. Although I don't personally like wide open bomber holes that are farther than I can realistically birdie, I do enjoy the change of pace. It allows opportunity to tune parts of your game that are not necessarily available at other local courses. And, although mostly open... trees are used effectively around most of the pins.
- Dangerous. There are several holes where the course interferes with the school. Dorms, buildings, soccer fields, the track, football practice field, etc... I almost took out a group of soccer players when a drive got away from me - inches.
- Crazy Walks. The front nine flows great... but the walk to 11 doesn't seem logical because you enter church property. Also, the walk to 15... you have to walk past 14's basket and follow the path around to the left, when you re-enter the "school" the tee-pad is on the left (it's a great hole once you get there).
- Lack of tee-pads. Grass tee-pads suck... especially on holes of this length. Probably the single worst thing about this course.
Other Thoughts:
- The Bugs. The nats were terrible. I understand this is probably seasonal and therefore not necessarily a "con"... but, it was bad. They were un-escape-able.
- I will definitely go back to Brevard. It offers a much needed, different golf game than the other local courses.
- My Score: +1

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Jack of all trades, master of none

2-4    8/18/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course does about everything a course can do. It plays between buildings, along a creek, out in a huge field, into the woods, behind a huge hill covered in kudzu, and back again. Some open holes you absolutely have to crank it, while other holes force you to play a precision game.

#4 is a great hole, shooting down a row of trees with a shallow (yet still OB) river running to your right. It feels great to fly out over it and fade back into the fairway.

#8 has one of the best pin placements I've ever seen. 5 feet to the right is OB and to the left, a massive shield of trees. A very tricky and fun approach shot.
Cons: This course is a major disc eater. You have the nature conservancy just feet away from the pin on 3 holes, so think twice about going for that birdie. I've gone in there 3 times, and thankfully found my disc each time, but I doubt everyone is so lucky. It was very poor design to place the pin so close to the weeds every time they were in play. There is also massive kudzu to both the right and left on hole 14.

A few holes feel pretty uninspired. 7, 9, 10, and 16 are all pretty much just open field. The last few holes feel like a bit of a let down after seeing what the course is capable of.
Other Thoughts: This course is a mixture of good and bad. The nature conservancy is very annoying, but would probably be less so if 3 holes weren't 5 feet away from it. Although #8 pulls it off interestingly, #7 and #9 are just a pain and pretty boring too.

It seems like you could put a cool hole in on the walk between 14 and 15. A short shot where you went across the creek to the pavilion area would be awesome.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Brevard DGC

5+    9/12/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have to give the people responsible for this course credit. The area on Brevard College's campus is relatively flat and not the greatest for a disc golf course, yet they've managed to design a somewhat decent course all things considered. There is good parking and drink machines near the start of the course. Most of the time at Hole 1, you can find score cards that are very helpful if it's your first time playing, as they define hole lengths, pars, and locations. Signage for the course is also good.

There are a few standout holes here, namely Hole 12. The recent addition of the new holes on the back nine are a huge improvement to the course, as they really break up the open and repetitive feel of the front 9.
Cons: As eluded to above, the front 9 has a few major drawbacks. Hole 1 is basically a narrow alley between two dormitories (great place to lose a disc on their roofs if you're prone to wild throws). In fact, campus buildings come into play on Holes 1, 2, 3, and 18.

There is a wildlife conservation area all along Holes 6, 7, 8, and 9. What this means is there is very tall, untamed grass, weeds, briars, and a creek to swallow your plastic. Speaking of losing plastic, the new holes on the back nine are relatively new, so there is a lot of overgrowth off to the sides that has yet to be worn in by players. All I can say is try to keep 'em in the fairways as much as possible.

Another con is there are no tee boxes. They are simply grass, and many of them are not worn in.
Other Thoughts: I think in time, this will develop into a nice course. If you're planning on playing here, I would try to schedule it around times when students or athletic teams are out because of how the course plays through and around the dorms, the soccer field, the track, the tennis courts, and the football practice areas.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/13/2000   8/27/2009
Review By: robbiepitzer
Played: 120  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I LOVED THE BACK NINE! Although I couldn't find hole 11 without some locals that helped me out.
Cons: The thick on 14. I lost a groove on the right and my buddy lost a pro destroyer on the left.
Other Thoughts: But other then the lost disc I loved it

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Something different

2-4    8/14/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: masonrph2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very pretty as it winds through campus. Variety of distances and some doglegs. Receives very little play yet well groomed.
Cons: Long. Very few opportunities for even a deuce.
Other Thoughts: Needs some shorter teeing areas as not everyone can blast it 325+

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Brevard Disc Golf Association Course

5+    1/18/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: Legacy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In 2008, the Brevard Disc Golf Association re-modeled the course, adding a back nine, including some of the signature holes on the course. In January of '09, the association added the tee signs for the back nine. there is ample parking at the first tee on the course. The course has professional quality scorecards in a mailbox on the first tee. Most discs that are lost there (with phone numbers or contact info) are returned when found! the course can be played within a day or two of heavy rain and is incredibly scenic! also nice is that the 18th hole finishes near the first hole.
Cons: This Course still has plans for construction, hole 12 (top-of-the-world) should have a new path or staircase constructed on the side of it's hill within 6 months. The course has some minor use conflict on hole 7 where the fairway exists between a track and field and an EPA protected Wetland zone (tight fairway) although there are plans to relocate this hole in the near future.
Other Thoughts: This course is not your typical through the woods walk in the park. Much of the Course is open and grassy as it is on the Brevard College Campus so the grass and landscape is maintained by the college Maintenance department. The Course is long, total of 1.9 miles walking from start to finish. The Challenge comes from gauging distance, and dealing with the wind.
this course has a Facebook Page about plans, events, lost and found, and member benefits! " BrevardDiscGolfAssociation"

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    1/9/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: backpackermike
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a lot of variety. There is open grass, trees, streams, wet lands, conservation area, buildings, and a running track. Each hole has it's own personality. It is very quiet and I always see wildlife.
Cons: After a rain the course stays wet for a couple of days. There is some tall grasses and blackberry bushes that you can lose your disk in. Around the track you might have to wait a minute or two to let some one by. But that is a good chance to check out the beauty all around you.
Other Thoughts: This course is in walking distance of my house. So I get to play often. Evey few months the course gets something new added to it. Like new signs and course maps. This course lets you work on all your skills. In the winter, on a sunny day it is perfect here for an afternoon of fun

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

5+    12/18/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: sneakyalien
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet.
New back nine.
Nice baskets.
Beautifully scenic course.
Cons: Watch out for people on the course!
Tends to stay wet for a couple of days after rain.
Other Thoughts: It is so great to be able to walk over to the college and throw! As a beginner, I really like this course, for both the surroundings as well as the challenges. The holes with water hazards are fun, and each hole varies in difficulty. The course snakes throughout the campus well, and even though it is a fairly open course, there are some difficult spots to watch out for. Overall it's a great place to play.

There are restrooms facilities everywhere, and the grounds crew from the college keep things pretty tidy and the grass cut. There is a conservation area toward the back nine with some wild growth, but nothing too bad.

The course now has scorecards/maps at the first hole, which is cool. Once the signs are up for the back nine this January (2009) and some steps get put in around hole #12, this course will be a fine one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.