Brevard, NC 
Brevard College DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #10
4 / 425ft.   3 / 425ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 More OB than Trees

2-4    9/21/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Added Danger Increases Difficulty. You definitely need to respect the OB and disc eating brush on this course. A few of the holes have extremely thick ruff on one side and OB on the other making open boring holes more challenging. Although I don't enjoy going OB 3 times in one round, these features really enhanced the difficulty and enjoyment of the course.
- Open Bombs = Change of Pace. Although I don't personally like wide open bomber holes that are farther than I can realistically birdie, I do enjoy the change of pace. It allows opportunity to tune parts of your game that are not necessarily available at other local courses. And, although mostly open… trees are used effectively around most of the pins.
Cons:
- Dangerous. There are several holes where the course interferes with the school. Dorms, buildings, soccer fields, the track, football practice field, etc… I almost took out a group of soccer players when a drive got away from me - inches.
- Crazy Walks. The front nine flows great… but the walk to 11 doesn't seem logical because you enter church property. Also, the walk to 15… you have to walk past 14's basket and follow the path around to the left, when you re-enter the "school" the tee-pad is on the left (it's a great hole once you get there).
- Lack of tee-pads. Grass tee-pads suck… especially on holes of this length. Probably the single worst thing about this course.
Other Thoughts:
- The Bugs. The nats were terrible. I understand this is probably seasonal and therefore not necessarily a "con"… but, it was bad. They were un-escape-able.
- I will definitely go back to Brevard. It offers a much needed, different golf game than the other local courses.
- My Score: +1

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Jack of all trades, master of none

2-4    8/18/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course does about everything a course can do. It plays between buildings, along a creek, out in a huge field, into the woods, behind a huge hill covered in kudzu, and back again. Some open holes you absolutely have to crank it, while other holes force you to play a precision game.

#4 is a great hole, shooting down a row of trees with a shallow (yet still OB) river running to your right. It feels great to fly out over it and fade back into the fairway.

#8 has one of the best pin placements I've ever seen. 5 feet to the right is OB and to the left, a massive shield of trees. A very tricky and fun approach shot.
Cons: This course is a major disc eater. You have the nature conservancy just feet away from the pin on 3 holes, so think twice about going for that birdie. I've gone in there 3 times, and thankfully found my disc each time, but I doubt everyone is so lucky. It was very poor design to place the pin so close to the weeds every time they were in play. There is also massive kudzu to both the right and left on hole 14.

A few holes feel pretty uninspired. 7, 9, 10, and 16 are all pretty much just open field. The last few holes feel like a bit of a let down after seeing what the course is capable of.
Other Thoughts: This course is a mixture of good and bad. The nature conservancy is very annoying, but would probably be less so if 3 holes weren't 5 feet away from it. Although #8 pulls it off interestingly, #7 and #9 are just a pain and pretty boring too.

It seems like you could put a cool hole in on the walk between 14 and 15. A short shot where you went across the creek to the pavilion area would be awesome.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Brevard DGC

5+    9/12/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have to give the people responsible for this course credit. The area on Brevard College's campus is relatively flat and not the greatest for a disc golf course, yet they've managed to design a somewhat decent course all things considered. There is good parking and drink machines near the start of the course. Most of the time at Hole 1, you can find score cards that are very helpful if it's your first time playing, as they define hole lengths, pars, and locations. Signage for the course is also good.

There are a few standout holes here, namely Hole 12. The recent addition of the new holes on the back nine are a huge improvement to the course, as they really break up the open and repetitive feel of the front 9.
Cons: As eluded to above, the front 9 has a few major drawbacks. Hole 1 is basically a narrow alley between two dormitories (great place to lose a disc on their roofs if you're prone to wild throws). In fact, campus buildings come into play on Holes 1, 2, 3, and 18.

There is a wildlife conservation area all along Holes 6, 7, 8, and 9. What this means is there is very tall, untamed grass, weeds, briars, and a creek to swallow your plastic. Speaking of losing plastic, the new holes on the back nine are relatively new, so there is a lot of overgrowth off to the sides that has yet to be worn in by players. All I can say is try to keep 'em in the fairways as much as possible.

Another con is there are no tee boxes. They are simply grass, and many of them are not worn in.
Other Thoughts: I think in time, this will develop into a nice course. If you're planning on playing here, I would try to schedule it around times when students or athletic teams are out because of how the course plays through and around the dorms, the soccer field, the track, the tennis courts, and the football practice areas.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 bevard

2-4    7/13/2000   8/27/2009
Review By: robbiepitzer
Played: 118  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I LOVED THE BACK NINE! Although I couldn't find hole 11 without some locals that helped me out.
Cons: The thick on 14. I lost a groove on the right and my buddy lost a pro destroyer on the left.
Other Thoughts: But other then the lost disc I loved it

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Something different

2-4    8/14/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: masonrph2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very pretty as it winds through campus. Variety of distances and some doglegs. Receives very little play yet well groomed.
Cons: Long. Very few opportunities for even a deuce.
Other Thoughts: Needs some shorter teeing areas as not everyone can blast it 325+

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Brevard Disc Golf Association Course

5+    1/18/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: Legacy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In 2008, the Brevard Disc Golf Association re-modeled the course, adding a back nine, including some of the signature holes on the course. In January of '09, the association added the tee signs for the back nine. there is ample parking at the first tee on the course. The course has professional quality scorecards in a mailbox on the first tee. Most discs that are lost there (with phone numbers or contact info) are returned when found! the course can be played within a day or two of heavy rain and is incredibly scenic! also nice is that the 18th hole finishes near the first hole.
Cons: This Course still has plans for construction, hole 12 (top-of-the-world) should have a new path or staircase constructed on the side of it's hill within 6 months. The course has some minor use conflict on hole 7 where the fairway exists between a track and field and an EPA protected Wetland zone (tight fairway) although there are plans to relocate this hole in the near future.
Other Thoughts: This course is not your typical through the woods walk in the park. Much of the Course is open and grassy as it is on the Brevard College Campus so the grass and landscape is maintained by the college Maintenance department. The Course is long, total of 1.9 miles walking from start to finish. The Challenge comes from gauging distance, and dealing with the wind.
this course has a Facebook Page about plans, events, lost and found, and member benefits! " BrevardDiscGolfAssociation"

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    1/9/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: backpackermike
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a lot of variety. There is open grass, trees, streams, wet lands, conservation area, buildings, and a running track. Each hole has it's own personality. It is very quiet and I always see wildlife.
Cons: After a rain the course stays wet for a couple of days. There is some tall grasses and blackberry bushes that you can lose your disk in. Around the track you might have to wait a minute or two to let some one by. But that is a good chance to check out the beauty all around you.
Other Thoughts: This course is in walking distance of my house. So I get to play often. Evey few months the course gets something new added to it. Like new signs and course maps. This course lets you work on all your skills. In the winter, on a sunny day it is perfect here for an afternoon of fun

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

5+    12/18/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: sneakyalien
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet.
New back nine.
Nice baskets.
Beautifully scenic course.
Cons: Watch out for people on the course!
Tends to stay wet for a couple of days after rain.
Other Thoughts: It is so great to be able to walk over to the college and throw! As a beginner, I really like this course, for both the surroundings as well as the challenges. The holes with water hazards are fun, and each hole varies in difficulty. The course snakes throughout the campus well, and even though it is a fairly open course, there are some difficult spots to watch out for. Overall it's a great place to play.

There are restrooms facilities everywhere, and the grounds crew from the college keep things pretty tidy and the grass cut. There is a conservation area toward the back nine with some wild growth, but nothing too bad.

The course now has scorecards/maps at the first hole, which is cool. Once the signs are up for the back nine this January (2009) and some steps get put in around hole #12, this course will be a fine one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Home course

5+    11/15/2014   12/1/2008
Review By: JBaggett
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 11/15/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quality baskets. Good use of elevation. Plenty of long holes. Many holes have Duce chances. The course is well maintained with all the grass cut. Scenic mountain views.
Cons: When the course was designed the conservation area on holes 8-10 was knee high grass. Now that area is 12 ft high thorns. Locals have cut trails into it looking for disc but it's still brutal.

The natural tee pads are usually not a problem because hardly anyone plays here. But they can be slick and muddy after some rain.

The fairways are open. A player is often not penalized for errant drives. The hole distance and lack of defined fairways make for hard 2s but easy 3s. There are some exceptions (holes 11 and 7). Most drives will be a straight throw around 350 to 400. Some finish right and others finish left but not that hard for someone who can backhand and sidearm.

Disc golf is a low priority for the school and there are lots of sports teams. Holes 2,8 and 18 our often unplayable due to people on the track,softball or soccer fields.

Students keep smashing tee signs and pulling baskets out of the ground. The local club fixes the problems when it happens.
Other Thoughts: I play this course often and it is still fun to play. It is not a destination course but if in the area come check it out. The course has had periods of poor maintenance but that has been solved for now. I'll try and keep this site updated on course conditions. Course needs more diversity of throws and tighter fairways.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Campus Course

1    1/17/2009   7/29/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 88  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open grass course with nice surroundings. Recently added new baskets. Relatively flat terrain that's an easy (but long) walk. Course maps available at hole #1. New tee signs added to all 18 holes.
Cons: Could use a few more "next tee" signs. No benches. Hole 9 finishes well away from parking areas. Hole #12 drives down onto #13's fairway which could lead to trouble. The walk up to #12 tee box is too steep & footing is not good. Plans are in the works for a solution according to club members
Other Thoughts: The course plays through a campus so there are sometimes people in the way of shots & some buildings will come into play. Download or grab a map before heading out.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.