Layout Extinct

Broomfield, CO 
East Interlocken Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: TheBrownZombie Hole #6 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Not sure it should be there

1    5/29/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: orion487
Played: 111  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very short 9 hole course tucked around a path in the Interlocken business park. Most of the holes are located near the path, and a drainage channel runs along a few of the holes.

The landscaping is neatly trimmed and looks great. Much different than the prairie grass covering other courses in the area. Even though its a short course, the hole designs are well thought out and use the limited space well, protecting the baskets as much as possible. Also, there's no trash of any kind, this course is really clean.

Signature Hole - I suppose it would be #3. Its another short hole, but with a quick slope downhill to the creek to the left and the drainage canal off to the right, requiring accurate distance and placement.
Cons: This course is dangerous. The pavilion and parking lot come into play on hole 7 and 9, respectively, and if there's anyone on the walking path the course follows, watch out. Number 6 plays parallel to Highway 36 (the hole you can see from the road), and while its not that long, an errant shot from someone who doesn't know what they're doing could get way too close.
Other Thoughts: A well-designed course for where it is, but I'm not sure it should have been installed here in the first place. Even with modest gatherings at the pavilion or softball field, multiple holes become unplayable due to the risk of hitting other park users or their cars. There's no need for anything faster than a putter or possibly a mid.

If you're hosting a picnic or bbq at the park, bring the discs and introduce some people to the game on this short course. Otherwise, head to Westminster or Arvada for a more enjoyable time. I play disc golf to get away outside and relax, and worrying about pedestrians and cars is too frustrating to me to make up for the lack of space and length

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little park

1    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent amount of trees
-Has a few elevation shots
-Some water hazards- though the water is pretty nasty
-Easy to understand tee signs and all of the tee pads are either marked on the sidewalk or have their own concrete pads
-Despite most of the holes being short straight shots if you want there is room on many holes to practice many other types of shots
Cons: -All of the holes are pretty short and straight, except for hole 7 you could probably easily play this course with just a putter and midrange
-Lots of sidewalks running through the course (the course was not crowded when I played but I could see some issues if it were crowded.)
-A little hard to figure out the flow of the course the first time but most of the teepads for the next hole can be seen from the last basket
-The nasty water
-A couple holes play close to roads so if you mess up a shot or over through you might end up in the road.
Other Thoughts: This is not the greatest course ever and I rated higher than I would normally a similar course because while it is most definitely not a championship course or even a tournament course, I still had a lot of fun playing and trying out different shots on the holes. I don't recommend going out of your way to play it but if you are in the general area definitely give it a chance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good if you live nearby

2-4    5/26/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: This course allows you to mess around with different styles of throwing and different discs. There is only one hole over 300 feet, and most holes could be thrown with a midrange if necessary. Having said that I enjoy coming here to experiment with new throws and new discs... it is a great course for that. Not too large, with some semi-technical holes. There is truly only one hole (hole 5) that is not a straight shot, but there are a good amount of trees considering the park size. EVERY HOLE HAS A SIGN AND A TEE BOX (or cement path) DESPITE WHAT THE PICTURES SHOW
Cons: The park can get fairly crowded, and there are often large groups playing. Since it is such a short course, larger groups seem reluctant to let you play through. There are also many pedestrian and bicycle paths running through the park which can be VERY annoying, especially considering a few tees are on these paths. The park is frequented by non-discers so be prepared for a few hold-ups (pending on the time of day). the water at this course. While I enjoy the fact that water comes into play on many holes, from March-June the water is extremely stagnant and disgusting in certain places. I have never had the pleasure of entering the water, but if I did I would be reluctant to grab my disc. Once the water starts flowing in June the water is much more manageable. Finally I would suggest sketching some sort of map your first time. After you play once the course is easy to understand, the but the first time could leave you lost a few times.
Other Thoughts: This is not a destination: It is a course to play if you live near by.

  Practice Practice

5+    3/23/2011   3/26/2011
Review By: MEnnis
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Offers the opportunity to practice mid range throws and throws with drivers thru some tight channels.
- If you live close to this course it is convenient to stop in and throw a round.
Cons: - Majority of the holes would be considered short by "Advance" standards.
- This course is not a destination course by any means.
- When there are non-disc golf people in the park it is congested. Even with other disc golfer playing it is congested because many of the holes play to common baskets.
- No signage
- No separate tee boxes. Spray paint on the sidewalk indicates hole number.
- Course lay out is difficult too follow. If you have never played you will struggle with finding the next tee box.
Other Thoughts: The people that put this course in did the best they could with a very small area. It is a good opportunity to practice different shots and techniques otherwise it is just a reasonable "course."

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sharpen Some Skills

5+    3/13/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the holes have some thought behind them and can be fun. Kind of a make up your own shot course. Nice baskets to throw at.
Cons: If there is any kind of crowd there forget about it. Spray painted numbers on the bike path act as tee markers.
Other Thoughts: If you are open to using a little imagination you can have some fun at this course. A good place to work on specific shots in your game. With some improvments this course does have potential to be decent.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/8/2010   12/8/2010
Review By: chaser
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As said use the 19 hole map. This makes what would be a boring course fun. Just moved to Broomfield and have played this course 4 or 5 times. I hesitated to review it because the first few times were just 9 hole jaunts. The 9 hole course really is pretty boring but i finally took the time to figure out the 21 hole layout today. That being said it is really fun, with a great mix of holes. the terrain is awesome for playing, with water, trees, manmade obstacles, etc. coming into play. Nothing too long, and just enough water hazards to make it interesting. Definitely worth checking out if you live in the area and with Westminster and this course within 4 or 5 minutes from my house I am a happy camper.
Cons: You can't play the 19/21 hole layout if its busy, and around 5:00 on weekdays it gets busy with the after work crowd. I'm gonna try and stick to mornings with this course. Otherwise you're stuck with the 9 hole layout which is quick and boring but still a good excuse to go enjoy some sunshine and maybe a beer. It is in a park setting and plays through a bbq pavillion and soccer field but i've never seen anyone there.

No tee pads but oh well...my former home course was a stick course so I'm not spoiled.
Other Thoughts: Good variety if you play the 19 hole map. Great practice course without too much commitment. Never had an issue with bringing my disc golf savvy dog with me. Definitely not the best course in the area but still a really fun diversion that i'll probably play once a week.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun with a map

5+    11/12/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: -Fun local course with a bunch of different shots if you use the map.
-Number 9 (on the map) is a scary shot over the water, but if you make it, then it is fun.
-Challenging overall
-Drainage ditch that runs though the course is concrete and easy to get discs out of, even in the summer.
Cons: -You need to use the online map for this one to make it fun.
-The muddy bog sucks to get discs out of.
-It is a 9 hole course, but a lot of people play it as 18 or 20 holes, so if it is busy then there are a lot of intersecting holes
-No signs and tee boxes are not always marked well.
Other Thoughts: This course gets a bad wrap. It is a good course, if you know your way around. I go there after work a lot and get in 9-18 holes before dinner.

 Fun

2-4    8/5/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting obstacles including several tree shots and water shots. The baskets are nice and the course is fairly easy to follow. The park wasn't too crowded and it was well maintained.
Cons: There are no official tees, but the spray paint is clearly visible. The only tee with troubles was number 9. The water hazard is precariously close to a couple holes and the steep slopes make for easy penalty strokes. Hole 7 is terrible. It is (guessing) 50 feet in length.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Potential to be Better

1    7/8/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice piece of property that has water in play down the middle of it, and some minor elevation changes that mix in well with the large trees. The course isn't very long, probably coming in at just under 2500', but the beginning half of the course makes up for it with trees. There is also a 19 hole layout that is marked with spray paint throughout the course, but you'll need the map from the links page to truly be able to play this layout.

BEST HOLE/S: #2
Cons: There are no real marked tees on this course. Fortunately, there is walking trail that doubles for many of the concrete boxes, but this is a real annoyance that affects this place ever being real quality course. Plus, playing from basket to basket on the traditional layout has a few confusing transitions from #1 to #2 and then from #4 to basket.

#7 and #8 can't be more than 150' with a small hill and lone tree being the only obstacle on #8. There is a soccer field located around #4, #5, and #6, so it can be an issue competing for space with the other park users. The water is great, but just note that if you throw you disc in the drink - it's going to be gone in the fast moving current.

WORST HOLE/S: #7
Other Thoughts: I love a course with potential. Part of me wishes this was my home course just so I could try and fix it. It has some really great areas by #2, #3, and #4, and you could tweak the design a bit and add some good tee markers I think you could have a really strong nine hole course. #7 and #8 would really have to be addressed since most would consider them throwaway, but this place was enjoyable even in its current shape. Plus, although I didn't play the 19 hole layout, it shows that people enjoy and care about this place, so unlike North Midway Park down the road, I think this course may have a bright future.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Make up your own course

1    7/19/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was very difficult to find the course because of poor directions, but when I first saw the well maintained little park it seemed to have lots of promise. There are some nice Mach III baskets among old eucalyptus trees, a stream with cat tails, and a nice hill with some elevation change. There's also a big open soccer type field and a nice concrete irrigation canal but...
Cons: …There are no permanent tees! Someone has made marks on some of the sidewalks, but these are often very hard to find. I wonder if somebody in Broomfield thinks you don't need tees? (The nearby course at North Midway Park doesn't have any tees either.) Some local players told me that there were 20 holes that could be played, but I could only find 6 tees marked. The first 4 holes are hard to navigate. I don't think I would have ever found the marks for the 1st tee if a local hadn't shown me. The rest of the course is horrendous to navigate. Tee 5 is very hard to find because you have a long walk on the other side of creek to get to it. Then tee 6 is a huge long walk of at least 600 ft from basket 5. I never could find any markings for tees 7-9.
[NOTE: After I played there, a map with 19 holes was posted at DiscGolfCourseReview.com. I don't know it this an "official" course, though, or just someone's version of how to play there. Some of the holes on the map are different from what the local players I met showed me.]
-Since there are no tees there are no signs and no hole lengths. Except for the cryptic sidewalk markings there aren't really even set fairways that I could find.
-There are no amenities such as score cards, warm up basket, or message board.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = I guess it's White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925), but without tees and hole lengths there's really no way to say for sure.

Without tees it was incredibly frustrating, and as Harold Duvall says, "Frustration Foils Fun". I had lots of frustration and only a little fun. This course desperately needs permanent tees. Personally, I think that courses without tees are a waste of time. It feels like you're just making up a course. After I gave up trying to find tees 7, 8, & 9 I left in frustration thinking, "what a waste of potential!" Play it if you don't mind making up a safari course, but I won't go back until they get some well marked tees.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my file with a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.