Disc Golf Store
Corydon, IN 
The Fun Farm Share
Uploaded By: MulliganStew Hole #19
4 / 409ft.   3 / 409ft. Par / Distance:
Looking towards the office



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Course

1    7/10/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All the holes were well marked with good Tee Pads.
Two pin locations on many of the holes and several holes have two tee boxes.
Very good use of the land and hills.

As with several other reviewers have stated, about 1/2 the holes are wide open up and down the hills. The other 1/2 are tight wooded shots.

I was also given a map when I paid my greens fees. This was needed in that a few of the holes are tough to figure out.
Cons: The course does not get enough play to clear out the rough on the wooded holes. Don't throw off the fairway or you will be looking for your disc for a long time on some of the holes. (I left with one disc more than I started with, remember to always put your name on your disc)

The day I played the course the grass was a little high. I had a hard time finding a few of my drives.
Other Thoughts: $5 is reasonable price to play this course. I would like to see a little more clearing in the woods and mowing the grass if I were to live in that area and played it all the time.

However I know why the course does not get much play, there are several courses nearby that are good courses and are in public parks.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Harvest the Fun!

1    3/26/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun Farm DG provides a fair mix of 20 or 21 holes (depending on how you play it). The course begins on a few large, rolling, grassy hills. Elevation changes and a few scattered trees provide the thrills and spills until the course finally makes its way into a wooded area for #11. Once in the woods, Fun Farm truly shines. The wooded holes possess tight, unforgiving fairways with slight to moderate elevation changes throughout. A fair-sized rock-bottomed creek comes into play in a couple of places. Eventually the course emerges back onto the grassy slopes and finishes near the pro shop with a downhill ace run protected by a stream behind the basket.
- Concrete tees were sufficient overall, but a bit short on some holes.
- Dual pin positions on most (if not all) holes. Some holes also have am tees. Different pin positions probably go a long way towards keeping the open holes fresh and interesting.
- Great descriptive signage shows a detailed map of the hole, pro and am pars and distances, as well as OB and the direction to the next tee (denoted by "NT").
- The layout is 20 or 21 holes depending on how you want to tackle the last hole.
- Although the first (and maybe only) trashcan appears at #11, the course is kept nearly spotless.
- Fun Farm has done much to prevent potential injury in the riskier places: rope railings on steep slopes, a net to protect one tee from another nearby tee's shanked shots, and the use of mandos on the more open holes to keep adjacent fairways as far away from each other as possible.
- Many other amenities on site including paintball, laser tag, go carts, etc. A small but decent array of discs are for sale in the pro shop.
Cons: - The first half of the course can get a little repetitive; however, the open holes become more difficult with a decent wind.
Other Thoughts: - A $5 disc golf fee and safety waiver form must be submitted prior to play. The waivers are not for show: one of my crew went down HARD in the rock-bottom of a stream. Potential for serious injury exists in a few places here, so exercise caution while at play.
- To an outsider, the Fun Farm appeared a bit cultish at first glance; however, once in the family-oriented "Fun Center" those running the show will quickly put you at ease with their outgoing and inclusive attitudes.
- Expect sporadic bursts of paintball battles to punctuate your round.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation, trees, and sandtraps, oh my!

2-4    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course sits on a hilly piece of land with both wide open shots and wooded shots. Baskets in the open take advantage of trees and electric line poles for interesting placement. Holes 13 and 14 are tough holes, but an absolute thrill to birdie or par (I birdied hole 13 and it made me feel great!). This course has every type of shot and will really make you use everything in your bag to shoot well! The course will wear you out if playing multiple rounds!
Cons: It would be nice if there were trash cans and benches on every hole. One hole has 4 or 5 tree stumps to sit on and another has just one tree stump. Also I only saw a few trash cans. The course does not loop back to the parking lot in the middle of the round. Some of the holes (13 and 14 especially) could use some branch clean-up. Also some of the walking paths could be dangerous when wet. The course is pay to play and a waiver is required.
Other Thoughts: Overall the pros definitely outweigh the cons. The $5 is definitely worth playing the course! A great day could be had with a picnic basket; you could stay there the entire day and not be bored!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Property for Disc Golf

1    2/9/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice open holes allowing for a little bit of a warmpup before heading into the technical tight wooded holes.

2) Nice range of distances on holes ranging from 170-706'. The short ones aren't simple though, they have some individual character.

3) Nice used of mando's to keep people from just throwing away on all shots.

4) Incredible use of the extremely varied terrain. The downhills you need to throw completely differently from the uphills (obviously) but some of the downhills are extreme and some are gentle slopes. Some of the uphills range in difficulty, and there are even a few that use sideslopes to really make interesting shots.

4) Accurate and readable tee signs. Most baskets are visible from distances that are reachable, but some only would be visible when leaves are off of trees.

5) Variety of shots required to do well. Bring every shot you have in the bag.

6) Friendly and helpful staff.

7) Signs help you find the property just about from I-64.
Cons: 1) $5, not that big of a deal though as I would pay $5 for any course that I would rank a 4-5 rating.

2) Not realy beginner friendly as many of the throws up and down the slopes and in the woods are very difficult. The walks are tough on a few holes too, however some wouldnt be as bad with the tree branches out of the way.
Other Thoughts: Great course, Great property, Helpful and Happy Owner. Nice Locals! (Thanks guys!) I would go back any chance I had when I was in the area.

I had a blast and I'll be back.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/13/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2008
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Fun Farm Course is a 50/50 mix between open and technical holes. This is a pretty new course, so everything is in great shape. The course uses the DISCcatcher baskets, and all baskets are practically brand new. The concrete tee pads are level and sized appropriately for the length of the hole, shorter holes have smaller pads, and longer holes have more of a standard size tee pad.

There are multiple tee pads on many of the holes, and tee signs on all holes with hole layout, mandos, and OB clearly marked. The tee signs accurately define the location of the next tee which makes the course easy to navigate (maps are also available at the office if you want them).

The course does not loop back to the office until the last hole, it is pretty much a continuous loop from start to finish as opposed to a pair of loops, each returning to the starting point. There are no crossing fairways, but there are a couple of holes where tee to tee interference or basket/tee interference is possible. The tees for 3 & 4 are relatively close, but there is a safety net installed behind the 4th tee to help reduce the possibility of interference.

The first 10 holes are mostly wide open, and at any time, there are multiple baskets in view, but the
tee signs help keep the navigation pretty straight forward. The fairways on the technical holes (11-18) are clearly defined and quite challenging. I don't recall any benches or trash receptacles on the course. There are several nice elevation changes throughout the entire course, not very many flat holes. You will see uphill, downhill, and sidehill lies with extreme elevations on 13, 14, and 20/21.

The extreme elevations on 13 & 14 will be all but impossible to walk through in bad weather, and the scorecards provided at the office actually list a warning to skip these holes when weather does not permit safe passage. I did get to play these two holes, and they are very challenging. On 13, you are throwing from the top of a steep hill down across a creek to a basket tucked back into a small clearing in the woods. On 14, you throw back up the hill you just came down. No14 is just over 200ft, but will play much longer considering the extreme uphill elevation. Once you reach hole 20, you can play to the short basket, then play 21 to complete the course, or you can throw to the long basket from the tee at 20 and skip 21 (long basket on 20 is the same basket for 21).

For the experienced player who can throw 400+FT, there will be a lot of drive and putt holes, especially on the open holes, with the average hole length only 310FT/hole. The course does offer a variety of shots (hyzers, anhyzers, rollers, flex shots, etc...) over a wide variety of elevations. There is a small parking lot that is shared with guest participating in various other activities offered by this facility. I would imagine in the summer when the trees are in full bloom that there would be a lot of visually appealing holes. The back drop on the 21st basket is great with trees and a small creek wrapping around the green, very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: I think the addition of some trees on the wide open holes would add a lot of visual appeal and increased challenge to the course. Holes 13 & 14 are a little difficult to navigate, it was wet when I was there, and I definitely did some slipping and sliding on the way down 13 and up 14. It is probably much better in the summer, but with all the leaves on the ground right now, it was a little tricky to get through these two holes. Maybe their is something that could be put into place to make this section a little easier to get through?, especially in wet conditions. Some benches and trash receptacles scattered around the course in select locations are always a positive addition.
Other Thoughts: All in all a nice course, and the $5 entry fee is a fair price.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/3/2010   12/5/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all: long, medium, short, open, wooded, lots of elevation changes, hyzer, anhyzer, strategically placed OB, extreme up and downhill shots, mandos, sandtraps and some true pro par 4 holes. It will really test all aspects of your game.

The course is split roughly half and half between open and wooded holes. I really like that you find holes of all length in both the open field and the woods, meaning the long holes are not just in the open areas and the shorter holes are not confined to the woods. I love the variety and it really helps make the course great.

The elevation changes are found on nearly every hole.

Just because half the course is open, don't think they're all holes you can rip a drive and not worry about accuracy. Trees, mandos, OB and sandtraps are used effectively to punish shots that lack control.

Map and scorecard are right next to the counter when you sign in at the office. Tees are nice and long with signs displaying the rec and pro par as well as the distance.
Cons: It is a pay to play course, but $5 to play a course of this caliber seems like a deal to me, plus you can play as many rounds as you want while you're here. Season passes are available and are good for 1 year from the date of purchase.

A couple of the tee pads aren't aligned quite properly with the fairway (12 and 15 come to mind) but as long as you're aware of this it shouldn't be much of a problem.

The course is normally closed on Monday's and Tuesday's, but it's possible to play those days if you call ahead to make sure someone's there.

The course should use some benches and trash cans.
Other Thoughts: While CV is still the hardest course in the greater Louisville area, the Fun Farm is easily my favorite course around here. Definitely worth going out of your way to play.

Discs, snacks and drinks available in the office where you sign in and pay. This course is long, very hilly and there is little shade in the front 9; I suggest bringing a drink!

***NOTE ABOUT THE EXTREME HOLES, #13 & 14***
If you want to walk up and down the massive hill to play these holes, then go for it. I think these two holes are unique and a lot of fun. If you'd prefer not to traverse the hill or if it's muddy because it's rained recently, then these two holes are easily skipped. 15's pad is 75ft left of hole 12's pin, just look at the map you got from the office. To me, this is the best of both worlds because the choice is yours. If you don't like the choice you made, please don't take it out on the course when you review it!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.