Corydon, IN
The Fun Farm Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #14
4 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 14: Looking back down toward the tee from the basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Better available

1    6/8/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes in the fields are generally fun and make appropriate use of the terrain. Though most courses in the region are generally hilly, the hills on this course are much steeper than usual and thus give you some fun shots to play with. Normal shot variety, course does not favor one particular type of throw. Seems to be a low traffic course, we had the entire thing to ourselves. Pads and tee signs were in decent shape and the map on the scorecard will help you find your way around as well.
Cons: The woods holes, in a word, are miserable. My ideal courses are wooded and tight, think Idlewild in Burlington, KY, and even I found the wooded holes to be ridiculous. Before we went out, the worker inside mentioned he had recently cleared out the woods. If that condition represented "cleared out" then I would hate to see it grown over. Some holes barely had walking paths, much less paths for your throws. Going off the paths meant two things: an overly difficult next throw and a long, difficult hunt for the disc.

The other major beef is this is a pay course. I didn't take any discs off the rating for this, but in my book it is a major con.
Other Thoughts: The woods holes really killed this course for me. If it were a free course I'd play again, skipping the woods holes in the spring/summer/fall. Once the undergrowth dies off and trees lose their leaves the woods holes may take on a new life. However, for the $8 it costs to play I will not be going back.

The day I played the course the grass was in a mown state. I heard from locals on other courses in the area that sometimes the grass gets long and, when that happens, the course is not worth playing.

A final note: this course was played in June and everyone in the group had to pick off at least one tick per hole once we got into the woods. Watch out!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Difficult but Truly Fun

1    10/26/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: DarrinTenn
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome elevations
Nice tees
Great views
Any kind of shot imaginable
Cons: Navigation is tricky. You can waste some time in the very hilly woods.
Other Thoughts: The fun farm is a load of fun but a load of energy to play. Each hole has elevation as a major factor. I used almost every disc in the bag. 21 holes is cool. This course will challenge anyone no matter how good you are.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    7/10/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All the holes were well marked with good Tee Pads.
Two pin locations on many of the holes and several holes have two tee boxes.
Very good use of the land and hills.

As with several other reviewers have stated, about 1/2 the holes are wide open up and down the hills. The other 1/2 are tight wooded shots.

I was also given a map when I paid my greens fees. This was needed in that a few of the holes are tough to figure out.
Cons: The course does not get enough play to clear out the rough on the wooded holes. Don't throw off the fairway or you will be looking for your disc for a long time on some of the holes. (I left with one disc more than I started with, remember to always put your name on your disc)

The day I played the course the grass was a little high. I had a hard time finding a few of my drives.
Other Thoughts: $5 is reasonable price to play this course. I would like to see a little more clearing in the woods and mowing the grass if I were to live in that area and played it all the time.

However I know why the course does not get much play, there are several courses nearby that are good courses and are in public parks.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Won't be back

1    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are concrete pads and signs for every hole. The first half of the course is wide open with some open field trees directing the shots. Most of the field shots give players with big arms the opportunity for deuces while leaving those with shorter ranges to make easy pars.
Cons: Where to begin. I am basing this review on a one time play but the course was awful. The grass was really tall (knee high and higher). This made it hard to find your disc, even on the open holes. Hole 3 made no sense as it was a super short hyzer shot. When we got into the woods everything fell apart. All the woods had bad undergrowth and if you got off the path then the undergrowth was ridiculous (as well as fallen trees and limbs). We crossed the creek that runs through the woods twice and the rocks in and around the creek are super slippery (this is why you sign the waiver). Pay attention to each sign at the pad because there are no directional signs to guide you through the woods. These things may not be that bad of a deal on most courses BUT if you are Paying to play then you should be paying for a higher quality course. I really don't know what I'm paying for if the course isn't kept clean.

It is worth the walk to find the basket first, and then go back and throw. It seemed to me that all the wooded holes were just novelty holes and not true golf style holes. I really would not want to play those holes again. When you get out of the woods you are looking at a gorgeous long field shot. This was point in which I realized I did not like the wooded holes. They just did not make since to me.
Other Thoughts: I gave the low score for this course because of its condition. The course is not worth the money when you can go east and play Seviren Lang (a very well designed,FREE, and kept up course). I think this course should be rethought and made into a true golf course and not just a novelty course. It really did seem like paint ball is number one there and rightly so I guess. Just don't ask me to pay to play a course that is shoddy in comparison to the free courses surrounding it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Harvest the Fun!

1    3/26/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun Farm DG provides a fair mix of 20 or 21 holes (depending on how you play it). The course begins on a few large, rolling, grassy hills. Elevation changes and a few scattered trees provide the thrills and spills until the course finally makes its way into a wooded area for #11. Once in the woods, Fun Farm truly shines. The wooded holes possess tight, unforgiving fairways with slight to moderate elevation changes throughout. A fair-sized rock-bottomed creek comes into play in a couple of places. Eventually the course emerges back onto the grassy slopes and finishes near the pro shop with a downhill ace run protected by a stream behind the basket.
- Concrete tees were sufficient overall, but a bit short on some holes.
- Dual pin positions on most (if not all) holes. Some holes also have am tees. Different pin positions probably go a long way towards keeping the open holes fresh and interesting.
- Great descriptive signage shows a detailed map of the hole, pro and am pars and distances, as well as OB and the direction to the next tee (denoted by "NT").
- The layout is 20 or 21 holes depending on how you want to tackle the last hole.
- Although the first (and maybe only) trashcan appears at #11, the course is kept nearly spotless.
- Fun Farm has done much to prevent potential injury in the riskier places: rope railings on steep slopes, a net to protect one tee from another nearby tee's shanked shots, and the use of mandos on the more open holes to keep adjacent fairways as far away from each other as possible.
- Many other amenities on site including paintball, laser tag, go carts, etc. A small but decent array of discs are for sale in the pro shop.
Cons: - The first half of the course can get a little repetitive; however, the open holes become more difficult with a decent wind.
Other Thoughts: - A $5 disc golf fee and safety waiver form must be submitted prior to play. The waivers are not for show: one of my crew went down HARD in the rock-bottom of a stream. Potential for serious injury exists in a few places here, so exercise caution while at play.
- To an outsider, the Fun Farm appeared a bit cultish at first glance; however, once in the family-oriented "Fun Center" those running the show will quickly put you at ease with their outgoing and inclusive attitudes.
- Expect sporadic bursts of paintball battles to punctuate your round.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun open holes, Challenging wooded holes

5+    9/4/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 218  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides a good challenge to score well for players of all most skill levels. As being a private course several amenities are provided; refreshments, snacks, large scorecards, maps. The layout utilizes the elevation very well with several extreme changes both up and down both in the woods as well as the open. Each hole incorporates elevation changes. The open holes use the existing trees to give the holes better character than just wide open holes without an obstacles. Several holes use mandos and sand traps to force you to shape your shot more accurately on a line as opposed to just flinging it towards the basket. The wind can be a large factor and will probably add a few strokes if you're not paying attention. The wooded holes can give some people headaches if they aren't played cleanly. Tight gaps and good basket placements are what make these holes great. The course finishes off with several big downhill holes where you can really let them fly. These holes are great on the legs considering how much elevation is traversed on the rest of the course.
Cons: During the summer months if there isn't a lot of golfers out at the course, they tend to let the grass get pretty long. This leads to headaches trying to find your discs. Personally, tee pads leave a little something to be desired. They are grippy but several have noticeable dips in them that will hold water after rain. Also the size of the tee pad is size dependent on the length of the hole. They didn't take into consideration that you'd be throwing uphill or downhill. The rough can get ridiculous if you're unlucky enough to have to venture there. After a few large storms in the last few years a lot of large trees have come down and a lot of dead hanging limbs still come into play. The fallen trees are pushed off the fairway but still within distance of a disc to get there and bury itself into deep trouble. The extreme wooded holes (#13 and 14) can be unplayable after rainstorms although the former has a rope to lead you down the hill. With being a private course, its surprising that there are hardly any trash cans on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course has many birdie opportunities and can become aggravating when you miss them. I think the wooded holes for the most part are better than the open holes. More skilled players shouldn't have trouble scoring well while it may leave less skilled players frustrated. My rating got knocked down one half star due to the lack of maintenance in cleaning up fallen trees in the woods and the lack of uniformity of tee pads. The people working there have the tools to clean this up, they just don't. Overall, I'd say it is worth the five dollars if you're going to play multiple rounds while you're there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun as a relative term...

5+    9/22/2009   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very demanding course; and really enjoyable for either pro's or amateurs. If you are a novice you will enjoy the 'open air' holes; however the woods may drive you to distraction! Hole 1 is deceptively long in that it goes straight up a hill; and you have to work around a tree and bush almost directly in front of the tee pad...welcome to the 'fun' farm! Hole #13 you throw off of a neo-cliff towards a basket you cannot see. It is then advisable to hold onto a provided rope to get down the 'bank' to the creek area below. (NOTE: The term creek is basically just a trickle; so no worry about having a disc sink into oblivion! Having said that, the rough on all sides of this hole are definitely disc eaters; so let the thrower be forewarned!). The course has an extra 3 holes, which is nice; and you can combine 20 & 21 to make a very long 'safari' hole. When finished playing, go blast some paintball!
Cons: Some of the roughest 'rough' you will EVER encounter! This course is seriously in the 'boonies' which is good in that you typically will not have to deal with other golfers; however it is a pretty fair bit of driving to get there.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is my favorite course to play in the metro Louisville Kentucky area. If coming from points west of Louisville (Evansville, St. Louis, Columbia, KC, Omaha, et al) I would suggest playing the Patoke Lake State Park course in the morning; and then play The Fun Farm in the afternoon for an excellent day of disc golf!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun!

2-4    11/6/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 88  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 24.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Here is a challenging course layed out on mostly open hillsides with a good mix of shots, utilizing obstacle, OB, mando and elevation (some extreme). Various deceptively long/short holes, given their elevations, and others, offer good risk/ reward as well as birdie ops aplenty. The seven woods holes add variety and increased technical aspects with a couple of great pin placements.
Good baskets, tees and decent signs with a few potential "signature" holes: #19 gets my vote.
Cons: Seemed somewhat dilapidated with bent signs and a questionable bridge or two. Benches and trashcans would be an improvement while the woodpiles need be burned or removed. There appears an imbalance in maintenance between the open and wooded parts.
Other Thoughts: Holes #13 and #14 are fun, challenging shots, incorporating a creek and island, but rappeling to a hole and "mountainclimbing" to the next are questionable as course fixtures; it doesn't seem feasible to install steps on either. This is a demanding course for pros and ams alike (not beginner friendly) which will test your skill as well as your stamina.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Farm vol 2

2-4    10/11/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: g1nked
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: test the gambit of your skill shots from long distance to short technical shots. Well designed for pros and amatuers just not best for novice and recreational players. Dave Greenwell designed it and is the area GURU for a reason. Well sought after designer.
Cons: the whole park is on a hillside. the woods are still over full of damaged down tree piles and 13 and 14 are extreme holes or as we were told after a near death experience"We like to call them challenging" Staff seemed like paintball was their bread and butter and then when the cast of 300 crew got took care of then the disc golfers where attended to.
Other Thoughts: Probably a little rough for your novice . Pros love it! one monster hole and the rest are uphill/back downhill challenges!
Good one to check out if you dont mind the waiver everytime

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation, trees, and sandtraps, oh my!

2-4    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course sits on a hilly piece of land with both wide open shots and wooded shots. Baskets in the open take advantage of trees and electric line poles for interesting placement. Holes 13 and 14 are tough holes, but an absolute thrill to birdie or par (I birdied hole 13 and it made me feel great!). This course has every type of shot and will really make you use everything in your bag to shoot well! The course will wear you out if playing multiple rounds!
Cons: It would be nice if there were trash cans and benches on every hole. One hole has 4 or 5 tree stumps to sit on and another has just one tree stump. Also I only saw a few trash cans. The course does not loop back to the parking lot in the middle of the round. Some of the holes (13 and 14 especially) could use some branch clean-up. Also some of the walking paths could be dangerous when wet. The course is pay to play and a waiver is required.
Other Thoughts: Overall the pros definitely outweigh the cons. The $5 is definitely worth playing the course! A great day could be had with a picnic basket; you could stay there the entire day and not be bored!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.