Disc Golf Store
Corydon, IN 
The Fun Farm Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #12
4 / 311ft.   3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 12: Straight down the hill



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Elevation, trees, and sandtraps, oh my!

2-4    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course sits on a hilly piece of land with both wide open shots and wooded shots. Baskets in the open take advantage of trees and electric line poles for interesting placement. Holes 13 and 14 are tough holes, but an absolute thrill to birdie or par (I birdied hole 13 and it made me feel great!). This course has every type of shot and will really make you use everything in your bag to shoot well! The course will wear you out if playing multiple rounds!
Cons: It would be nice if there were trash cans and benches on every hole. One hole has 4 or 5 tree stumps to sit on and another has just one tree stump. Also I only saw a few trash cans. The course does not loop back to the parking lot in the middle of the round. Some of the holes (13 and 14 especially) could use some branch clean-up. Also some of the walking paths could be dangerous when wet. The course is pay to play and a waiver is required.
Other Thoughts: Overall the pros definitely outweigh the cons. The $5 is definitely worth playing the course! A great day could be had with a picnic basket; you could stay there the entire day and not be bored!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Has it ALL!

2-4    7/2/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: worth every penny of the $5 admission. its about 50% woods and 50% open. well maintained, grass mowed frequently. elevation plays a big role on most holes. every hole as a unique set of obstacles. The woods are tricky and a little longer than most narrow tree holes, yet they still are designed to reward a good shot. Dave Greenwell, the designer, has a great reputation for building courses and this is a perfect example of milking every bit of the land given to make a fun course.
Cons: Not fun to waste time in the pro shop signing waivers every time you play. it's also a paintball facility so they must assume that disc golf involves similar risks :) It's hard to nitpick anything else. its not a fun place to learn the game but the intermediate and up players are guaranteed to enjoy it!
Other Thoughts: In the louisville area, this course is tops with Charlie Vettiner Park (another Greenwell creation) in terms of difficulty, length, and variety.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 No Thanks

1    7/30/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: benbobbins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This had a ton of opportunities on the front ten to let a monster drive rip (or a baby drive like mine) and possibly deuce a couple. The front ten had good changes in elevation and was well-maintained. Several of the wooded holes were well put-together and were fun to play. The staff was friendly and it was easy to find. All of the pads are concrete, but some are different sizes.
Cons: I simply don't understand the reasoning behind designing some disc golf courses and holes so that they are treacherous and dangerous to navigate or impossible to find your disc after a bad throw. At first I thought it was a lot of fun, hiking down and up 13 and 14 in and out of a creek, but then I realized that I never wanted to do it again. It was a novelty hole, only interesting because it was unusual. As far as I'm concerned, it is this type of hole that negatively reflects on disc golf as just an oddity instead of a serious sport. Go to Valhalla (or nearly any ball golf course) and see if they design holes over enormous creeks and valleys. It gives their sport legitimacy to design challenging holes and obstacles without having to venture on a jungle safari like you do here.
Likewise, the 704' hole was excessive, but at least it was out in the open. Without the map they give you, travel to the next tee without knowing the layout would be very difficult.
Other Thoughts: I nearly lost three discs on bad throws and almost gave up on them just before finding them. This course would be marginally better without the dense overgrowth of summer, but it was still just an unenjoyable course to play on.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun times at the fun farm

1    4/25/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 751  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers many different challenges. The beginning and end of the course are in open, well-mowed fields with tons of elevation change. These holes play up, down, and across hills with some scattered stands of trees. Two long bomb holes out in the open, one over 700' over a small rise and across a big hill, and one 600' downhill shot with a very steep hill down to the blind basket.

The middle of the course plays through dense woods, with the same big elevation changes. Many of these holes are 300'+ making for some tough holes.

Nice concrete tee pads on every hole, and nice signs with hole layout, distance, and directions to the next tee. Easy to navigate and follow, even in the woods, and maps/scorecards available at the shop make it even easier. This course uses the natural terrain very well, and offers unique challenges on many of the holes. It was nice to have some easier holes mixed in with the more difficult ones, especially for the newer players we were with.
Cons: No real issues with the course, though there were some places in the woods where dead trees and branches could be removed from the fairways, and some erosion control on some of the steep wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: All kinds of things to do aside from disc golfing, including paint ball and rock climbing. The shop has a decent selection of (Innova only) discs, and actively sought suggestions on the course and on their disc selections.

Check their hours before you go, when we went they closed a while before sunset (though they were very nice about it, and let us park outside the gate and play anyway).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 If you're looking for a challenge...

1    3/20/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Designed by Dave Greenwell, this course doesn't fail to deliver on a thorough challenge, whipping your rear at most every turn. With awesome views from much of the course!

Memorable holes:
1 - Very deceiving, only listed at 200-something feet, but plays up a fairly steep hill, and hard to judge
4 - have to play between a creek and road, and cross the creek right before the basket, takes some finesse.
7 - 700'+! Plays over a rise, then you have to hit a 30' wide window between mando trees, the cut right, over to the basket, tough hole!
10 - Also has a tight mando just before the basket, requires either a fairly long annie, or lay up short and throw through. I did NOT hit the mando, LOL.
11 - This was my butt-kicker hole, two routes through the trees, down a slope and back up, good luck not having your disc become a woodpecker!
13 - AWESOME view down from the tee, over a creek, very tough to hit the lay-up zone without going into the OB creek. Definitely a signature hole.
17 - Not super long but the right curve makes it seem like you're never going to throw far enough to reach the pin, another 6 strokes for me, DOH.
20 - I played the long pad to the long basket, heck of a long open shot, down a huge hill. Again awesome visual hole.

The facilities are great, and due to having other activities there (paintball, etc) they have a nice pro shop, with some innova discs for sale, as well as drinks, snacks, restrooms. Not a TON of parking but it seems adequate, although I think they will have to expand the parking for the A-Tier tourney that will be there in September.

High quality Innova baskets, concrete tee pads throughout, and great tee signs on every hole.
Cons: Hole 3 seems out of place at under 200 feet, gentle hyzer. It was nice to have at least one deuce, but it doesn't seem to fit with the rest of the course.

Hole 13 and 14 are navigable when dry, but would probably be murder when wet or leaf-covered. Really could use some rails, steps, something to help walking down and up that hill.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot, and it was well worth $5 to play, although I think I will wait to play it again until I can throw a little better or more consistently, it is a little disappointing getting the kind of score I got, LOL.

If there has been rain recently, be prepared for some rough times on the big hill, or you can skip easily from 12-15 and still get 18 in with the extra holes.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Property for Disc Golf

1    2/9/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice open holes allowing for a little bit of a warmpup before heading into the technical tight wooded holes.

2) Nice range of distances on holes ranging from 170-706'. The short ones aren't simple though, they have some individual character.

3) Nice used of mando's to keep people from just throwing away on all shots.

4) Incredible use of the extremely varied terrain. The downhills you need to throw completely differently from the uphills (obviously) but some of the downhills are extreme and some are gentle slopes. Some of the uphills range in difficulty, and there are even a few that use sideslopes to really make interesting shots.

4) Accurate and readable tee signs. Most baskets are visible from distances that are reachable, but some only would be visible when leaves are off of trees.

5) Variety of shots required to do well. Bring every shot you have in the bag.

6) Friendly and helpful staff.

7) Signs help you find the property just about from I-64.
Cons: 1) $5, not that big of a deal though as I would pay $5 for any course that I would rank a 4-5 rating.

2) Not realy beginner friendly as many of the throws up and down the slopes and in the woods are very difficult. The walks are tough on a few holes too, however some wouldnt be as bad with the tree branches out of the way.
Other Thoughts: Great course, Great property, Helpful and Happy Owner. Nice Locals! (Thanks guys!) I would go back any chance I had when I was in the area.

I had a blast and I'll be back.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/1/2009   1/1/2009
Review By: dgjunky27
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I liked the diversity of the course. It's playable for both lefties and righties. Very challenging course. I like the tight wooded holes and the way it challenges your accuracy. my first time there I shot a 65 for the 21 hole layout.
Cons: Nice course and it would be even better if it had benches and trash cans on every fourth or fifth hole. Didn't like the Mando on the 700ft hole either.
Other Thoughts: It's worth the 3 + hour drive up there and the $5.00's to play.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth travelling too

1    12/31/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: surge99
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The 21 hole layout is a nice change of pace. The course layout is easy to follow. Discs can be purchased in the office and they also have restrooms there. Tee signs seemed to be accurate and easy to understand.
Cons: Teepads are very inconsistent, very hard to get a feel for them because they are several different sizes. The baskets are very old and several are rusty. I enjoy a challenging hole, but some holes were a bit much. Hole 7 which is a 700+ ft hole, has a double mando at about 500 ft which is not is line with the perceived route to the basket. Holes 13 and 14 were treacherous. Hole 13 plays down at very steep hill, across a creek and then slightly up another hill. It is VERY steep and slick traveling from the teepad to the basket. It has no steps, or rails, and then a player must cross the creek that is fairly wide and does not have a bridge. Then hole 14 plays right back up the steep hill that you just came down. Which means you must cross the creek again and climb back up the steep hill. There are also several blown down trees in 14's fairway that need to be cleared.
Other Thoughts: This could be an excellent course with some serious clean up of the wooded holes and some steps and bridges on certain holes.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/13/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2008
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Fun Farm Course is a 50/50 mix between open and technical holes. This is a pretty new course, so everything is in great shape. The course uses the DISCcatcher baskets, and all baskets are practically brand new. The concrete tee pads are level and sized appropriately for the length of the hole, shorter holes have smaller pads, and longer holes have more of a standard size tee pad.

There are multiple tee pads on many of the holes, and tee signs on all holes with hole layout, mandos, and OB clearly marked. The tee signs accurately define the location of the next tee which makes the course easy to navigate (maps are also available at the office if you want them).

The course does not loop back to the office until the last hole, it is pretty much a continuous loop from start to finish as opposed to a pair of loops, each returning to the starting point. There are no crossing fairways, but there are a couple of holes where tee to tee interference or basket/tee interference is possible. The tees for 3 & 4 are relatively close, but there is a safety net installed behind the 4th tee to help reduce the possibility of interference.

The first 10 holes are mostly wide open, and at any time, there are multiple baskets in view, but the
tee signs help keep the navigation pretty straight forward. The fairways on the technical holes (11-18) are clearly defined and quite challenging. I don't recall any benches or trash receptacles on the course. There are several nice elevation changes throughout the entire course, not very many flat holes. You will see uphill, downhill, and sidehill lies with extreme elevations on 13, 14, and 20/21.

The extreme elevations on 13 & 14 will be all but impossible to walk through in bad weather, and the scorecards provided at the office actually list a warning to skip these holes when weather does not permit safe passage. I did get to play these two holes, and they are very challenging. On 13, you are throwing from the top of a steep hill down across a creek to a basket tucked back into a small clearing in the woods. On 14, you throw back up the hill you just came down. No14 is just over 200ft, but will play much longer considering the extreme uphill elevation. Once you reach hole 20, you can play to the short basket, then play 21 to complete the course, or you can throw to the long basket from the tee at 20 and skip 21 (long basket on 20 is the same basket for 21).

For the experienced player who can throw 400+FT, there will be a lot of drive and putt holes, especially on the open holes, with the average hole length only 310FT/hole. The course does offer a variety of shots (hyzers, anhyzers, rollers, flex shots, etc...) over a wide variety of elevations. There is a small parking lot that is shared with guest participating in various other activities offered by this facility. I would imagine in the summer when the trees are in full bloom that there would be a lot of visually appealing holes. The back drop on the 21st basket is great with trees and a small creek wrapping around the green, very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: I think the addition of some trees on the wide open holes would add a lot of visual appeal and increased challenge to the course. Holes 13 & 14 are a little difficult to navigate, it was wet when I was there, and I definitely did some slipping and sliding on the way down 13 and up 14. It is probably much better in the summer, but with all the leaves on the ground right now, it was a little tricky to get through these two holes. Maybe their is something that could be put into place to make this section a little easier to get through?, especially in wet conditions. Some benches and trash receptacles scattered around the course in select locations are always a positive addition.
Other Thoughts: All in all a nice course, and the $5 entry fee is a fair price.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/3/2010   12/5/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all: long, medium, short, open, wooded, lots of elevation changes, hyzer, anhyzer, strategically placed OB, extreme up and downhill shots, mandos, sandtraps and some true pro par 4 holes. It will really test all aspects of your game.

The course is split roughly half and half between open and wooded holes. I really like that you find holes of all length in both the open field and the woods, meaning the long holes are not just in the open areas and the shorter holes are not confined to the woods. I love the variety and it really helps make the course great.

The elevation changes are found on nearly every hole.

Just because half the course is open, don't think they're all holes you can rip a drive and not worry about accuracy. Trees, mandos, OB and sandtraps are used effectively to punish shots that lack control.

Map and scorecard are right next to the counter when you sign in at the office. Tees are nice and long with signs displaying the rec and pro par as well as the distance.
Cons: It is a pay to play course, but $5 to play a course of this caliber seems like a deal to me, plus you can play as many rounds as you want while you're here. Season passes are available and are good for 1 year from the date of purchase.

A couple of the tee pads aren't aligned quite properly with the fairway (12 and 15 come to mind) but as long as you're aware of this it shouldn't be much of a problem.

The course is normally closed on Monday's and Tuesday's, but it's possible to play those days if you call ahead to make sure someone's there.

The course should use some benches and trash cans.
Other Thoughts: While CV is still the hardest course in the greater Louisville area, the Fun Farm is easily my favorite course around here. Definitely worth going out of your way to play.

Discs, snacks and drinks available in the office where you sign in and pay. This course is long, very hilly and there is little shade in the front 9; I suggest bringing a drink!

***NOTE ABOUT THE EXTREME HOLES, #13 & 14***
If you want to walk up and down the massive hill to play these holes, then go for it. I think these two holes are unique and a lot of fun. If you'd prefer not to traverse the hill or if it's muddy because it's rained recently, then these two holes are easily skipped. 15's pad is 75ft left of hole 12's pin, just look at the map you got from the office. To me, this is the best of both worlds because the choice is yours. If you don't like the choice you made, please don't take it out on the course when you review it!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center